Portland apartment rental - Front of House
Front of House
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Portland Apartment Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Beautiful 1908 Craftsman home (Garden view unit) in the heart of one of the most sought after neighborhoods in Portland! You will never stay in a nicer garden view unit! This is urban living at it's finest. Beautiful high historic end homes, gorgeous tree lined boulevards, wonderful people, and extremely close to many wonderful restaurants and shopping. This is one of the best neighborhoods in Portland without a doubt. The wonderful and energetic neighborhoods of Alameda, Beaumont-Wilshire, Concordia, Laurelhurst and Grant Park all surround Historic Irvington, but she is the Grand Dame of them all!

A car is not absolutely necessary, walk to the MAX (transportation system - 10 minutes) and the bus line is around the corner. You are a 5-10 minute walk from literally 20 restaurants! 5 minutes walking to Lloyd Center and 8 minute walk to the Rose Quarter. Downtown is a 7 minute drive or 9 minutes on the MAX.

Your garden view unit is almost 600 square feet and has been completely restored with the original hardware. The sofa folds down to sleep a total of 4. Why stay in a hotel when you can live like a local?

The vast majority of the vacation rentals in Portland operate illegally, but this house has the rare and therefore coveted 'Conditional Use' permit that the city requires in order to run a vacation rental for short term stays.

Our caretakers live onsite, tucked away in an apartment on the main level. Feel free to ask them for help at anytime.

This apartment is extremely well furnished, with everything you need to make your stay wonderful, giving you maximum comfort. Large windows ensure the unit is well lit, and a brand new hydroponic heating system ensures warmth on cold nights. Stainless steel appliances, travertine countertops, wireless internet, a 30' flat screen TV, DVD player and a Bose Stereo give you the luxuries that you have in your own home! Your own illuminated, private entrance on the side of the house guarantees you complete privacy.

You will get our personal recommendations for shopping, dining and activities and complimentary coffee and tea.

This is our part time home, and we absolutely love it. We guarantee you will feel the same. Come and be part of our family as you sample all that Irvington Neighborhood and Portland have to offer!

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

My name is Mark Reinoso, and my wife's name is Abigail Stewart. I have a daughter, Lauren, from my first marriage, and Abby and I have a 5 year old son, Rocco and a 2 year old daughter Zara

We spend a lot of time in Portland, and we certainly want to welcome you to our home!

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2005

I have always loved the Pacific Northwest, though my daughter, family and my business are in Phoenix. Most of my maternal family is from this area, and many relatives still live near here.

My mother was born in Vancouver, WA and used to come down to the Lloyd Center to shop with her mother when she was very young. She has fond memories of this place. When she first saw this house and this neighborhood, she literally cried.

I have always had a great time here. I love the neighborhood. I love my neighbors and the general vibe that Portland has. I love the people, and even the weather(most of the time) I love the fact that you can go hiking or biking in the AM, and be back in time for lunch at a fabulous restaurant. I love that nothing looks the same, that everything is unique. This is definitely not suburbia.

I guess I could go on and on, but I really like the urban lifestyle. You can walk anywhere from the Irvington Neighborhood. The gardens and yards are just unbelievable. There are tons of great restaurants and coffee shops everywhere you turn. Portland is such a great destination in every way, and I think Irvington neighborhood is the crown jewel of it all.

I have put tons of money and my heart and soul into this property, and I think and hope it shows. I hope you enjoy this house as much as I do.

24 Reviews of Property 120133 in Portland, Oregon

Garden View Hideway In Irvington Neighborhood
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 24 reviews
business
Garden View Hideway In Irvington Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120133vb
(602) 430-8709
Portland Oregon
4

90th birthday celebration for mother

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Location is everything and this house had the ideal location for us. It was easy to get to all our distinations from this Irvington house and then we were able to returned to this quiet and enjoyable neighborhood. The apartment had everything we needed, wonderful stocked kitchen, comfortable and clean bathroom and a nice bedroom. We had our adult daughter who used the sofa bed which work out fine, but with using this bed we could have used an additional blanket but all in all we were confortable. I was a little surprised that it was not mentioned that it was a basement apartment, but it did have plenty of outside light coming in and I did love the view of the flowers at each window. I have already recommend this property to others and will come back for another stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Garden View Hideway In Irvington Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120133vb
(602) 430-8709
Portland Oregon
5

Visiting Our 1st Grandchild

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Our stay at the Garden View Hideway in Irvington was wonderful. The apartment had everything we needed for our week stay in Portland. We were close to our daughter and son-in-laws apartment and close to shopping and restaurants. This home away from home was comfortable and had a pub table and chairs which was great for my husband who has trouble getting up off low chairs. We will recommend this listing to our friends who happen to come to the Northwest. We will be coming back to Portland to visit our grandchild again and plan to stay here again. The caretakers of the property were accessable and answered any questions we had. We loved it!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Garden View Hideway In Irvington Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120133vb
(602) 430-8709
Portland Oregon
Grants Pass, OR
5

Perfect place to stay, especially for a couple!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We were meeting our adult kids half-way in Portland. My husband wanted to stay in the heart of Portland. My daughter-in-law and I were drawn to an apartment, house-type of place. The more we looked at hotels, the more we were turned off! Portland does not have parking and wants you to pay daily for parking. We did not want to pay so much for two cars for two days! Then we found this basement apartment in a area very near Lloyd Center. We happened to get in on the rates right before the holiday rate change. So that made it even more ideal for us. It was private and very accessible to the mall and to transportation. We enjoyed walking, not even using our car the whole weekend. We definitely got well-needed exercise! There are a few steps to get in and out of the place, so if you have a problem with that, maybe not the place for you. But it was not a problem for us. We cooked. Everything we needed was available. They have a nice pantry with dishes, pots, pans, spices. We never spoke to management. The key was made available thru private communication. The e-mail communication between us and owners/caretaker was friendly and helpful. When we first arrived and entered the place, we were greeted by a welcoming letter and some coffee beans and a bottle of wine! How thoughtful! They even provided a paper with well-needed instructions on how to use the remotes for the TV, etc! Therefore, we never had a need to bug the caretaker. The bedroom bed was comfortable. The other bed was a sofa bed. Sofa beds are sofa beds. One person sleeping on it is best, unless you put the mattress on the floor! The place had a nice shower. Nice floors, no carpet. So it felt even cleaner! Would be especially nice and cool in there in the summer. But it was fine for the winter, too. There was heating available that was just fine! All in all, we were so happy with the place and would stay there again, probably just the two of us the next time. It is more suited for a couple or a couple with small children. The only draw back for us would be the non-refundable cleaning deposit along with the regular rates. With the $80. rate it was acceptable. The $100. security deposit is re-deposited back into your account in a day or two. Thank-you for making your place so nice for us to enjoy our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Garden View Hideway In Irvington Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120133vb
(602) 430-8709
Portland Oregon
Suttons Bay, MI
4

Perfect cozy place with great access to downtown !!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We rented the lower 1 bedroom unit for 3 nights, it has a comfortable queen bed and a nice pull out sofa. There were 3 of us since our 22 year old daughter stayed with us. The place is nicely decorated and has all the comforts needed to make it homey. The kitchen was well stocked which made it easy to cook in if we wanted to. The backyard was a nice place to relax after a day of exploring downtown Portland by bike. We didn't rent a car until the day we left the unit for a week of traveling to the coast area. The Irvington neighborhood was a wonderful surprise, only a few blocks to a brew pub (Hop House) and many other great places to eat. The bus stop was only steps away from the house. The onsite manager was very nice. The laundry room was a nice touch since we were staying another week of traveling the state. We are from Michigan so I am not sure when we will be back in Portland, but we definitely will stay at the Irivington House again. We had a chance to check out the larger units and were surprised out how big the upper unit is. If you have a few couples or family it is like having your own house. The property was very clean and well kept.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Garden View Hideway In Irvington Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120133vb
(602) 430-8709
Portland Oregon
Denver, CO
5

Anniversary Vacation to Oregon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our stay in the Garden Apt at Irvington House was fantastic! The apt was spotless, quiet, and safe. We always found a street parking spot for our rental car right outside the house, and the apt had everything we needed for our stay. The description on the listing was accurate. The location was very close to fun neighborhoods, downtown, and great restaurants. Allie was our house manager and she was friendly and knowledgable. Both her and the listing owner were great at answering our questions right away. My husband and myself would for sure stay there again! Eat breakfast at Tin Shed, Bakery Bar, or Mother's Bistro, you will not be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Garden View Hideway In Irvington Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120133vb
(602) 430-8709
Portland Oregon
Redding, CA
5

Perfect For Our Week in Portland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
As we reluctantly prepare to leave after our first visit to Portland, the good fortune of having found The Irvington House is cause for celebration. The accommodations were everything needed, with excellent appliances, sharp knives (a relative rarity for VRBO rentals), spacious and efficient floor plan, superb mattress, good HDTV, and high speed and reliable WiFi. Mark, the owner, was pleasant and made booking easy, and the caretaker Allie welcomed us warmly and made a number of fine recommendations. The Historic Irvington District is well worth a day or two of leisurely walking along the quiet streets with fine examples of distinctive Craftsman, Bungalow, Four-square, Prairie, Mission, Colonial, and Tudor architecture. And, the Irvington Home Tour website has photo tours of the interiors of a good number of the homes that one might find interesting. Irvington House is also convenient walking distance to Broadway for cafes, restaurants, and shopping---everything from Macy's/Nordstrom at the Lloyd Center to Goodwill and the Dollar Store. Of special note is Frank's Noodle House, and Petisco--both on Broadway, and the Hop House, just a block up the street. We are confident that we could not have found a better place for our 7 days in Portland, and will definitely plan to return. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Garden View Hideway In Irvington Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120133vb
(602) 430-8709
Portland Oregon
Scotland, UK
5

Great place to stay in Portland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My wife and I stayed in this property for 5 nights in September 2013. The flat was well maintained and clean, and contained everything that we needed. The flat is on a nice street in a really nice neighbourhood with plenty of food and drink options within walking distance. We walked into downtown Portland on a couple of occasions and this took around 40 minutes but there is a train station 10 minutes walk from the flat if you don't want to walk all the way. Mark the owner, was very helpful and responded to our queries quickly. We would definitely recommend this property to others and really enjoyed our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Garden View Hideway In Irvington Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120133vb
(602) 430-8709
Portland Oregon
Poughkeepsie NY
5

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We really enjoyed our stay in the Garden View Hideaway. The location and neighborhood are just a great place to stay in Portland. On a previous visit we stayed in a downtown hotel, and this was so much better for us. The apartment was nicely lit for us on our late night arrival.

For those concerned about parking, we had no problem parking right out front. We used the car for our day trips, hiking at Mt Hood etc, and quick trips around the city. The location makes it easy to get on major highways. We were able to walk to many of the NE brewpubs and eateries. Convenience of this apartment for using the bus system was really great. We were able to easily access the bus for our SE pub crawl.

The apartment is just as described. The bed is very comfortable. A top concern for us on vacation. The linens and towels provided were of high quality. Everything was clean and in good condition.

The kitchen was well equipped, with a nice closet pantry with all the little extras. Spices, oil, sugar, etc. Wifi worked well. Washer and Dryer right outside the apartment door. Soap provided.

The back patio was really nice with a beautiful garden.

We would gladly rent here again on a future visit.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Garden View Hideway In Irvington Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120133vb
(602) 430-8709
Portland Oregon
5

Beautiful!! Would definitely stay here again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was our first trip to Portland, for our daughter's graduate school graduation. The apartment was beautiful! It was in a lovely, quiet neighborhood, and was an easy walk to the bus, train, grocery store, shopping, and restaurants. We didn't rent a car during our stay -- and didn't need one. The apartment was immaculate, spacious, well equipped, and well maintained. We had laundry facilities right outside our door. The backyard was a beautiful place to enjoy a sunny afternoon and just relax. The caretaker, Dana, was wonderful! She made us feel right at home, and answered each and every question wihin minutes. I would highly recommend the Irvington House to anyway traveling to Portland, and on our next trip, we will definitely check its availability first!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Garden View Hideway In Irvington Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120133vb
(602) 430-8709
Portland Oregon
5

Beautiful Accommodations!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was our first visit to Portland, for our daughter's graduate school graduation. The apartment was beautiful! It is in a lovely neighborhood, and an easy walk to the bus, train, grocery store, shopping, or restaurants. We didn't rent a car -- and didn't need one. The apartment was clean, quiet, roomy, well equiped, and well maintained. We even had laundry facilities right outside our door. The backyard was a lovely place to enjoy the sunshine and just relax. The caretaker, Dana, was wonderful! She answered each and every question within minutes. I would definitely recommend, without question, the Irvington House to anyone traveling to Portland. On our next trip, we will definitely check the availability of the Irvington House first!
Helpful votes: 1/1