Puako house rental - Imagine relaxing here with family or friends
Imagine relaxing here with family or friends
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Puako House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Kohola View

The first thing that greets you when entering this magnificent four-bedroom home is the stunning view of Wailea Bay and the Kohala coastline. From the home’s vantage point on a private oceanfront cliff, Mother Nature is your caregiver--relaxing you with her gently rolling waves, enticing you with white sand beaches just a short walk away and then transfixing you at the end of each day with her colorful sunsets… culminating in Hawaii’s famous “green flash.”

This 3500 square foot cedar home is designed to let the environment envelope you from any spot on the property. Enjoy the tranquil atmosphere from a comfortable lounge chair or hammock on the 2300 square foot lanai (patio) before easing into the infinity pool or hot tub. All four bedrooms have ocean views and separate sliding doors opening onto covered lanais. You can rinse away a day of play in the surf and sand under one of the two-hot/cold garden showers.

House design:

Kohola View consists of three detached hales (houses), all with stunning views of the ocean. In the center of the estate is the main hale, which we call the “Pavilion.” This spacious great-room features a professional kitchen with an island work station, fully equipped bar, and a seating area with a sizeable custom designed down sofa. Additional features of the Pavilion are a koa dining table, a full bath with a walk-in shower and an efficient laundry room. Should you need to reach the outside world; the home is equipped with a high-speed, wireless internet connection.

“Alison’s Hale” on the north end of the property, has two ocean-view bedrooms plus a full bath with both indoor and outdoor showers. The larger of the two bedrooms has a mini refrigerator. Both bedrooms have entrances from the covered lanai as well as an adjacent outdoor seating area. In addition to the ocean and pool views from this hale, outside each window, lush tropical plantings flourish.

“Anne’s Hale” on the south side of the Pavilion, also has two bedrooms and one full bath, which have a tub/shower combination. Additionally there is a small living area with two twin punees (day beds), which can be a fun children’s sleeping area, or, upon request, the twins can be joined to make a larger bed. This hale also has seating areas on the lanai and spectacular views of the ocean and the surrounding landscape including a very contented Buddha lounging in the garden.

This home is managed on behalf of the owners, by Mary Fox, R(B) 2 Papayas, LLC. Mary holds an active real estate broker's license in the State of Hawaii.

Keywords: puako house, oceanside house, seaside cottage, waialea bay house, 4 bedroom house

More Details
Hide Details

Aloha, I am Mary Fox, R (B) and owner of 2 Papayas, LLC. I manage this wonderful Puako home on behalf of the Owners. I would love to help you and your family find the perfect home for your stay on the Big Island. I am a Waialea Bay resident, myself, so I am available to greet you upon arrival, answer any questions you may have, or attend to any concerns or requests that may arise during your stay. Until we meet in Paradise....

26 Reviews of Property 120089 in Puako, Hawaii

Beautiful Home overlooking Wailea Bay with Pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 26 reviews
business
Beautiful Home overlooking Wailea Bay with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120089vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Berkeley, CA
5

Couldn't have been more PERFECT.

Couldn't have been more PERFECT.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I just wanted to add my review of this magnificent house to the list.
We just returned from a week long stay with our family of 10 and Kohola View couldn't have been more perfect. It is situated between the best beaches (in my opinion) on the island - Beach 69 and Beach 67 (though if naked folks bother you better to stay on 69...but the snorkeling here is the BEST) both are easy walks down a path. We spent our mornings on the beach and our afternoons at the pool. There was no need to drive anywhere else - except to get groceries and more beer! The house itself is designed so that privacy isn't an issue as it's 3 separate houses...2, 2 bedroom cottages and 1 main room with the kitchen, bar, livingroom - all opening onto the infinity pool with the best view of the ocean I have ever experienced. It was great for our family as we were able to be together without being on top of one another. The house has everything you need including lots of pool toys, snorkles, boogey boards ect. We had a 1 year old and they even had a port-a-crib and high chair.
I will miss the sunsets, the pool time, the early morning beach swims.
Thank you Mary Fox for everything.
We had the BEST time.
P.S. One word of advise...the road into the property is a little rough. We ended up trading our very small compact car for one with more clearance as we were worried about taking out our oil pan but believe me it was worth it. This place is PARADISE.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Home overlooking Wailea Bay with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120089vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Sacramento, CA
5

The best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We spent 10 wonderful days here with family and friends and couldn't have imagined a more perfect spot. The house is very comfortable, with a casual, island feel. Everything we needed was there, from kitchen gadgets to beach toys. Whale watching and star gazing were great, the pool was terrific and the fabulous beach was steps away. We really can't imagine our stay having been any better. We're ready to return!
business
Beautiful Home overlooking Wailea Bay with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120089vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Santa Cruz, CA
5

Magical Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This property was absolutely off the charts! My wife and I took our children, their spouses, and grandchildren for a week which all exclaimed was the best vacation week of their respective lives. The property has views to die for and its location allowed all to manage babies, young children, enjoy sun, snorkeling and surf and not be isolated from family members as one might encounter in a hotel. The property has all the amenities, unbelievable infinity pool, and hot tub, excellently equipped kitchen and separate bar area, pool and beach equipment, you name it they have it. The property has also easy access to shopping markets, restaurants, and golf courses along the Kohala Coast, yet provides a wonderful PRIVATENESS from others that no resort property can provide. Stretched before us was an ocean and tropical paradise with whales breaching, dolphin pods passing by, sea turtles to swim with and sunsets which provided a pallet of colors that only can be envisioned by the Universe's Creator. Again as an entire family, young and more mature we could not have had a better experience or time.
Finally, the property management team and home caretakers were all delightful people who were responsive and further made an experience that we will do everything possible to afford again for our family in the years to come.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Home overlooking Wailea Bay with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120089vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Los Angeles
5

You Won't Find Anything Better!

You Won't Find Anything Better!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My family (7 adults and 3 children) just got back from spending 9 nights. It was the best family vacation we've ever had! We are already talking about wanting to make it an annual tradition. Mary and Robbie from 2papayas do such a great job of describing this place, responding to any questions you might have, and assisting you with anything that you might need to make your stay extra special. I wanted to plan something special for the 3 mothers in our group for Mothers Day and they were very helpful in making sure I had everything I needed. I'm one who researches my vacations extensively and I spent countless hours looking at every place for rent on VRBO on the Big Island until I came across this one which looked absolutely perfect. The reviews were fantastic and it lived up to the hype and more. Some of the things that stood out to our family that made our stay so enjoyable:

The Amazing Views-From the minute you make the drive off the main road onto the windy dirt road towards this place sitting by itself on the bluff overlooking the ocean, you just have the feeling that you're going to be blown away by the views-and even though you're expecting it, your jaw still drops when you walk in. Every night we watched the most spectacular sunsets. And from the lanai we even saw manta rays jump out of the ocean on two different occasions.

The Infinity Pool and Hot Tub-The kids love being able to play at the beach during the day and come back to a pool to continue playing (we know kids never get tired!). The hot tub is really nice at nights for the adults and kids. The pool looks even better than the pictures and the views from the pool are spectacular.

Beach Access-The nearby beach is perfect with good sand and lots of shade and is really only a short 2 minute walk (just like other reviewers have noted). A lot of the beaches on the Big Island are full of lava rocks and don't have good sand so it was important to us to be near great beaches-well this place is perfectly situated and has that covered! The water is really calm in the mornings and at sunset if you like to swim, snorkel, kayak, or SUP. And only a mile north is Hapuna Beach which is definitely worth checking out and easy to get to by kayak or SUP.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Home overlooking Wailea Bay with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120089vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Vancouver, WA
5

Simply Marvelous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Stunning views, great pool and a unique house made this a most pleasurable vacation. Spent two weeks in Feb 2012 lounging on the lanai, playing with the Day Geckos and watching the whales and birds.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Home overlooking Wailea Bay with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120089vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Portland, OR
5

A perfect vacation home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
The home is everything you expect from the photos and more. The layout was perfect for our extended family. The beautiful beach is just a minute's walk from the house and we immediately spotted a sea turtle just a few yards from the shore. The beach was not crowded at all. The home is spotless, well-equipped and stocked as though expecting dear friends, not paying guests: cold damp towels in the fridge, Kona coffee, fruit and snacks, brand new beach towels, well stocked with supplies and clean beach toys. Kudos to Mary for taking such good care of the house and the guests. I hope we have the opportunity to visit again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Home overlooking Wailea Bay with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120089vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Sonoma
5

Let's do a RE-DO

Let's do a RE-DO
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Can't imagine anything better. Had my husband's 50th (surprise) week here! And was it ever!
Morning walks, very remote, perfect home for kitchen creations. Magical place and Mary was very informative and typical aloha spirit. Having a car is a must and making the trip to get all the food in one trip is also a must. Great whale watching too!
We are figuring out how we can do a RE-DO!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Home overlooking Wailea Bay with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120089vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Salem, Oregon
5

Fabulous Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
We rented this amazing home a year ago and apologize for not writing sooner. We have told everyone we know about our incredible stay! Mary could not have been more helpful, from greeting us on the road, to showing us the way to the home and helping with things that came up She even had fresh papayas waiting for us! The home is breathtaking the moment you see it. Upon entering... instant relaxation! The living area is very comfortable but we spent most of our time by the spectacular pool! The kitchen was well stocked. The bedrooms were very comfortable but lack privacy. The walk to the beach was short, the water was ideal with a nice sandy beach. We would go down to swim in the ocean every day, returning to the pool to relax! The owners thought of everything when planning this home, the outside showers are perfect! We are dreaming of our next trip. There were six of us, two couples, and two single women. My husband and I have stayed in Kona twice and knew that we wanted to turn left out of the airport! We went to Costco and Safeway after landing to stock up on food and really didn't need much 'til later in the week. The walk to Hapuna beach is interesting over the rugged terrain, fun to explore but we really didn't need to leave the house! Thanks again!
business
Beautiful Home overlooking Wailea Bay with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120089vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Bellingham, WA
5

Kohola View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Our family was in great need of getting away from it all and having some private, quality, quiet rest and relaxation. Being picky travelers we searched and searched to try to find the perfect rental home. Our search led us to the Kohola View where we stayed from March 8th through the 19th. Upon arrival my first thought was that the property looked just like the pictures. The house is perfectly located with less than a two minutes walk down to one of the best beaches in Hawaii. Several times we met people on the beach that had driven 25 minutes or more to get to the beach. It was nice to know I was two minutes from my kitchen, bathroom and private pool and hottub. Early mornings and evenings at the beach as we literally had the beach to ourselves. We hunted shells in the early morning and chased crabs after dark. Wailea Bay is a wonder place to spend two weeks and not be bored. Each morning we snorkeled with beautiful coral, fish, turtles, eels, and twice we were treated to seeing a small octopus. We saw whales through out every day and it was great to watch the mother whales teach the baby whales to breach, tail slap and fin slap. The house has everything you need to walk in and live comfortably. It felt like it is was own house with the great cook ware, appliances, beds, and pillows. Mary from 2Papayas was great to work with and made the rental experience easy and stress free from making the reservation, through getting us to the house from the airport, to returning the rental deposit. The house met or exceeded the expectations that Mary set. I've traveled all over the world and Kohola View is one of the places that you should visit. I think the final thought on the house is what our seven year old son said when I asked him about how he like the vacation. He said, "I hope that is what it is like in heaven."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you thank you, we enjoyed have you at the house, too, and hope you will return to "heaven"
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Home overlooking Wailea Bay with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120089vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
oregon, and naalehu
5

Guestbook Comment

We spent the first of what we hope to be many wonderful weeks at this lovely Wailea Bay home Jan. 14-21 of 2009. Our family of 8 joined us here o...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
We spent the first of what we hope to be many
wonderful weeks at this lovely Wailea Bay home Jan.
14-21 of 2009. Our family of 8 joined us here on
the island and from this beautiful home we enjoyed
whales, huge waves, perfect dinners and sunsets.
Words can only begin to describe what this time
together meant to all of us. Thank you.