Boothbay Harbor house rental - Dragonfly Farm
Dragonfly Farm
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Boothbay Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
- 4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 8

Not a cottage or a cabin, Dragonfly Farm in Boothbay Maine is a wonderful antique barn that has been completely converted to a modern, comfortable and very spacious home complete with a wrap-around deck with distant views of the Damariscotta River. Beautiful, open property provides lots of sun for great outdoor living on the extra large deck. Lots of windows keep this home very light and bright. Very comfortable furnishings make this large home the perfect family vacation spot. A short drive to the Harbor, Wiscasset, Damariscotta and more... 'Live in a barn' and 'go fly a kite' on the properties 5 acres of open fields.

Additional Information: Visit vrbo for additional information. http://www.vrbo.com/364447

10 Reviews of Property 119953 in Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Explore the Coast from this Wonderful 'Location, location, location'.
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
business
Explore the Coast from this Wonderful 'Location, location, location'.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119953
+1 800 576-6911
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Milford, CT
5

Dragonfly Farm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2006
  • Stayed: Aug 2006
There are 8 in our family and they range in age from 14 months to 72 years - and we all love Dragonfly Farm. It's located near the water for boating and swimming and there's wonderful shopping in Boothbay Center and nearby Freeport. Good restaurants are abundant - but it's also fun to cook lobsters at "the Farm." Dragonfly Farm is well stocked with cooking utensils. The yard is large enough for father, son, and grandsons to play touch football or baseball. The house is roomy and tastefully decorated. Our family has vacationed here for 2 summers, and we've already signed up for July 2007.

We asked our grandsons "Where would you rather go for a vacation - Disney World or Dragonfly Farm, Maine? All replied "Dragonfly Farm?" I think that that says it all.
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Explore the Coast from this Wonderful 'Location, location, location'.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119953
+1 800 576-6911
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
4

Family reunion

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Dragonfly farm is a family friendly home. We had our son and daughter and families all with us. The yard and deck were fantastic. Lots of frisbee playing, ball throwing and swinging. The breezes were fantastic. We all had our own spaces to retire to. Kitchen was well stocked and easy for several to work together. Satellite and wi-fi worked great. Living area enabled several to be going on at the same time. Bedrooms were a god size. Grand kids liked the air hockey and ping pong in the basement. Unfortunately, we chose the hottest week of the summer. But we could always go outside to get cool. We all agreed heat was better than rain. The house is away from the hustle and bustle but easy to get to restaurants and activities. The town has lots to offer multi generational groups. We sailed, kayaked, ran and went to the aquarium and botanical gardens. One granddaughter wants to know when we will be coming back to Maine!
Owner's Response: We would first like to thank you and your family for choosing Dragonfly Farm for your Maine summer vacation. We chose this area and this home many years ago for exactly the same reasons that you point out in your review. We will be arriving soon with our children, their spouses and our granddaughters to once again make great family memories.
Our Best To You and Your Family,
Jerry & Adrienne
business
Explore the Coast from this Wonderful 'Location, location, location'.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119953
+1 800 576-6911
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
West Simsbury
5

Dragon Fly Farm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This is our FAVORITE vacation home, the house is spacious, light, beautiful inside and out, and very comfortable. The home is perfect for our large family, the rooms are private and quiet, and there are enough baths for all our girls. The deck provides a lovely area for outdoor dining with views, wildflowers and songbirds.
There is something for everyone to do while here in the Boothbay area. The hiking is fabulous, the trails well marked and maintained, the beaches clean and easy access, the shopping to Freeport and Portland just over an hour away. Boothbay is just a few minutes away, with great seafood at family prices at Kalers.
We love it here and look forward to June every year.
business
Explore the Coast from this Wonderful 'Location, location, location'.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119953
+1 800 576-6911
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
connecticut
5

perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We stayed at Dragonfly Farm late june/early july and could not be more satisfied with our decision. The wide open rooms on the first floor were excellent for relaxing indoors. The view off the back deck toward the river makes for a wonderful backdrop for an outdoor barbeque. The rooms are charming and comfortable. The cool breeze at night will ensure a great nights sleep. The property is perfectly situated between downtown booth bay and damerscotta, both a short drive away. Each town had restaurants that we thoroughly enjoyed, but our favorite was cooking at home and eating on the back deck. It was a great time of year to be in maine as the weather was perfect. We also had fun playing ping pong and air hockey in the basement one rainy afternoon. I would recommend this property to anyone and hope you will have a chance to enjoy all that dragonfly farm has to offer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are really pleased that you enjoyed your Maine summer vacation so much at Dragonfly Farm. We realize that there are many properties to choose from and we are very grateful that you chose our property for your summer vacation.
Our Best,
Jerry & Adrienne
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Explore the Coast from this Wonderful 'Location, location, location'.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119953
+1 800 576-6911
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Greenville, South Carolina
4

Convenient Location to see lots of Maine

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
This property is super clean and well stocked. The owners and Pottle Realty were extremely easy to deal with and very attentive to our needs. The ping-pong table in the basement was used every night as well as the Scrabble game provided by the owners. The downside was that the mosquito's were so abundant we could not use the outside deck or enjoy the grounds. Dragonfly farm is very centrally located and we were able to go to Acadia Nat'l Park, Camden, Port Clyde and of course Booth Bay easily. This was our first time renting a house, and from this experience we will definitely do it again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are pleased to know that you found Dragonfly farm "super clean and well stocked." We are also glad that you mentioned the people at Pottle Realty. They do a great job for us. They, and especially Traci, have always been extremely responsive and professional. There isn't much we could do about the skeeters. This year in particular not only Maine but also most of New England had the wettest summer on record causing a huge increase in the mosquito population. Most Maine and New England folks would recommend using "Off", "Skin so Soft" and citronella to repell the skeeters for out door activities. In addition to the points of interest you mentioned we would add Popham and Reid State Parks, Freeport and Portland as great day trip locations.
Our Best,
Jerry & Adrienne
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Explore the Coast from this Wonderful 'Location, location, location'.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119953
+1 800 576-6911
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Connecticut
5

Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Property is amazing but the fact that the house is a renovated barn is astonishing as it feels like such a home. The living areas that stretch out to the deck are so comfortable to enjoy all our meals from but yet it is close to some great restaurants that really give you the flavor of Maine. Overall had some of the best nights sleep of our lives and can't wait to do it all again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are very grateful that you picked our home for your Maine June vacation. We're pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and the area as well. We hope you make it back next year too.
Our Best,
Jerry & Adrienne
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Explore the Coast from this Wonderful 'Location, location, location'.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119953
+1 800 576-6911
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Vermont
4

We'd go back... if we could move it!

We'd go back... if we could move it!
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My husband, parents and I just returned from a week in Boothbay Harbor, where we stayed at the very lovely Dragonfly Farm. We found the house to be everything we expected, and more, with two exceptions: the mattresses on the beds are in dire need of replacement and we were a bit surprised to find only 1 shower. I believe the latter disappointment was my own fault: I had assumed that the jacuzzi tub in the master bath was also a shower; it is, but only in the European sense (no curtain; one "showers" seated with a hand-held sprayer). The one proper shower left us a bit cramped in the mornings, trying to get everyone clean and ready for the day. Otherwise, the house is amazing - comfortable, well-stocked, and lovely. It's really, really nice to be outside of Boothbay itself; it's much quieter and really pleasant to escape the hub-bub of town and it felt really lovely to return to a home after a long day of doing touristy things - sometimes hotel rooms can make one feel even more out-of-sorts.

As for the title of my review - I would stay at the Farm again, but only if we could move it out of Boothbay Harbor. We found Boothbay itself a bit disappointing: lovely shops and things to do, but terrible, overpriced, tourist-trap style food wherever we turned. If you go (and it's worth doing, as the towns around Boothbay are lovely), do yourselves a favor and eat at Bet's Fish Fry and the Center Cafe (you'll pass them on Route 27 on your way into town) or in Wiscasset at Red's or Sarah's Cafe. Our best meals were eaten there, as well as the most affordable ones. If you venture far out of town, try Isabella's Sticky Bun Bakery & Cafe in Freeport; Gritty's Pub (several locations, including Portland) and The Farmer's Table in Portland; all had really great food at good prices.

If you decide to try Boothbay, do stay at Dragonfly Farm - I don't think you'll be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are very pleased that you found our home "very lovely...,amazing...,comfortable...,and well stocked". We carefully selected the beds like the rest of the furnishings for their quality and comfort. All of the mattresses were purchased with in the last five years. We have enjoyed hosting hundreds of guests none of which voiced any concern about the beds. Over the years we have had the opportunity to experience the diversity of restaurants in the area from fine dining to hot dog stands. In addition to Bet's Fish Fry and Red's some of our favorites are Bogie's Hideaway, Damariscotta Grill, Dutton's Dog House, Maine 57 Bistro, The Boat House, and The Thistle Inn. We do agree with you and also think that our future guests definitely "won't be disappointed!"
Our Best,
Jerry & Adrienne
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Explore the Coast from this Wonderful 'Location, location, location'.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119953
+1 800 576-6911
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Westfield, Ma. USA
5

Great Place To Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
My family and another stayed here in 2006 and had a great time. Very nice home within close driving distance to Harbor area and nice beaches in the area. Private location with great deck and very large lawn. Hope to make it up there again soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are grateful for all reviews and are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay at "Dragonfly Farm". We hope that you make it back there soon, as well.
Our Best,
Jerry & Adrienne
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Explore the Coast from this Wonderful 'Location, location, location'.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119953
+1 800 576-6911
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
West Simsbury
5

A Beautiful House in a Beautiful Part of Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2007
We have been coming to Dragonfly Farm for the past 2 years and will be returning again this year. My father in law lives about 20 minutes away and this gives us the ability to give him space while we have some space of our own. We are husband and wife and 6 children from age 8 to age 20. Simply, we love the house! The downstairs is totally relaxing (stuffed couches to read in, space to play board games, tables for my daughter to do jigsaw puzzles, etc.) The wraparound deck is wonderful to sit on during the late afternoon to unwind or to take a hot cup of coffee out to enjoy the sunrise! The kids love to go in the basement and play airhockey and ping pong and my wife and I love that we can't hear them making a racket early in the morning because the house is so well constructed.
2 year ago, we had an unfortunate week of rain. Well, my wife remarked on many occasions that week that "it's good that we got a big enough house just in case it rained". Plenty of room to spread out in and "relax and just hang out". The other nice part of Dragonfly Farm is the location. The road is not well traveled so you don't hear lots of cars, but you are only a few miles from stores and downtown Boothbay Harbor. There is also a nice state forest/park down the road where you can take a nice hike which we did with my father in law. The Maine coast is gorgeous with tons to do. On top of all that (don't tell the owners!) I think the price is great compared to other properties we have seen and stayed in. I hope you have as wonderful a time as we have had.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Explore the Coast from this Wonderful 'Location, location, location'.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119953
+1 800 576-6911
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Branford, CT
5

Dragonfly Farm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
My husband and I have rented Dragonfly Farm for 2 years in row. Each time we have invited other family members or friends to join us and we have all enjoyed the house and the area immensely! The photos of the house and rooms on the web site are accurate and beautiful. We all felt "at home" immediately due to the personal touches the owner has provided. Board games, ping pong table, jacuzzi all contribute to a relaxing time. The layout of the 4 bedrooms affords privacy. The yard is amazing - plenty big enough for wiffle ball, badminton and bocce all at the same time! To us the location is great - only 10 minutes from grocery store, movie theater and the town of Boothbay Harbor. It's also a perfect spot to take day trips from to other beautiful towns in Maine.

Boothbay Harbor is a very quaint seaside village with many shops and restaurants. The harbor abounds with various boating excursions, etc.

I would definitely recommend Dragonfly Farm to anyone interested in vacationing in Maine - in fact we are already booked for next year!
Helpful votes: 5/5