Hawi studio rental - The rugged Kohala coast as viewed from the hike down to Pololu
The rugged Kohala coast as viewed from the hike down to Pololu
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Hawi Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio, Studio + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Yes, the Big Island does have a north shore, SHHHHHH! This unique spot on Hawaii is unspoiled by excessive tourism, traffic, and VOG (volcanic pollution). Come have an island experience the way locals enjoy it! Gaze across the channel at the island of Maui as you breathe in the clean clear air courtesy of the trade winds. Feel the aloha spirit in the quaint small town of Hawi which borders the tropical and dry sides of the island. The north shore of Hawaii is for people who want to go beyond the high priced hotel experience and enjoy the islands the way they have been enjoyed for generations.

From Hawi you can go ten minutes west to dry heat and swimming, fifteen minutes east to lush tropical jungle and the wild Pololu Valley, twenty minutes south to the summit views from the cool Kohala Mountain top or you can walk into Hawi town and enjoy a cup of coffee with the locals then get a massage or shop for locally made treasures in our artist filled community. After a fresh fish dinner at one of the local restaurants you may even be lucky enough to catch some live music by one of the many famous musicians living in our town.

Enjoy the benefits of a kama'aina (local) host, and use our years of island experience to help you get the most from your island stay. Having an on site host opens a vast potential of possibilities that most people never get to experience while visiting Hawaii.

Travelers who come to North Kohala should know that they are forgoing the hot dry heat and touristy areas to be out in the country. Most of North Kohala is very jungle like and therefore includes all animals and critters found in such locations. If geckos, pigs, spiders, mosquitoes, wild turkeys and roosters trouble you, then North Kohala is not for you.

Keywords: Studio

More Details
Hide Details

Our family has deep roots in the Hawaiian Islands. While we certainly do not consider ourselves native Hawaiian, we can however, trace or family back to the early 1900s in Hawaii. Jim's mother grew up in hawaii and spent years in the entertainment industry on Oahu, singing and dancing for the early visitors to the islands.

The aloha spirit is very alive in our family as well as the town of Hawi where we chose to settle down. We invite you to join us and experience the warm hawaiian sun and an even warmer aloha!

The Owner purchased this studio in 2006

It was amazing; we rounded the the tip of the island and went from rain-forest to desert. What had been a tropical deluge of over 3 inches per hour had given way to sunshine and an amazing rainbow. It was in the magic of that 5 minutes that we decided that the big island was the place we wanted to live. It was 3 months later when we became the owners our Hawi home.

The greatest benefit of choosing to stay with us is called aloha. What do you need; adventure ideas, a meal prepared, your shopping done prior to arrival, a ride somewhere, more privacy? You name it and we can get it done for you. It is our goal that you have a perfectly relaxed and enjoyable vacation and then come back to see us again next year!

33 Reviews of Property 119829 in Hawi, Hawaii

Break Free from the Dominant Paradigm, at least for a Week!
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 33 reviews
business
Break Free from the Dominant Paradigm, at least for a Week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119829vbi
(808) 889-5715 (Hawaii, USA)
Hawi Kohala Coast
Seattle
5

Soooooooo AWESOME!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Girls getaway!!!

My three friends and I stayed in Jim and Leah's studio cabin for 3 nights and we loved, loved, loved our stay. It was raining hard when we arrived and Jim immediately greeted us with umbrellas and offered to unload our luggage. Their studio was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the location is located in a quiet neighborhood. Everything you need for cooking a meal at home is there. Our favorite part is the outdoor shower!!

To quote Jim, "You have to have Aloha (kindness) to see Aloha." We felt Jim and Leah's aloha during our entire stay.

We would stay here again!

Lynda (from Seattle)

p.s.: Be sure to schedule your stay through a Saturday so you can visit Hawi's farmers market and to eat Jim & Leah's yummy food at the Sol Kitchen. We ordered Leah's kombucha, their chicken salad and roasted pepper sandwich! Yum..yum...and good for you! So ono!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Lynda,

Every once in a while we have guests who actually slow down enough on their vacation to truly see what a paradise we have here. We are glad that you were among that group of people. It's truly not the physical beauty of the place (although that is a nice plus) that make it a paradise, it's the aloha.

When I said to you that "one must have aloha to see aloha" I was not using the word in one of its many narrow forms. I was using it in its broadest form: Aloha, love, affection, compassion, mercy, sympathy, kindness, sentiment, grace, charity; greeting, salutation, regards; loved one; beloved, loving, kind, compassionate, charitable, lovable; to love, be fond of; to show kindness, mercy, pity, charity, affection; to venerate; to remember with affection.

MAHALO FOR SEEING! THIS IS THE PARADISE WE HOPE ALL OUR GUESTS CAN SEE!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Break Free from the Dominant Paradigm, at least for a Week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119829vbi
(808) 889-5715 (Hawaii, USA)
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

Quiet, lush setting and environmentally friendly

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We love the Hawi area and while this studio is close to town it offers the quiet of a country setting. It is clean, spacious and has all the amenities needed for a pleasant stay. We appreciated the fact that Jim and Leah make a point of composting and recycling, have on-demand hot water and are a basically chemical-free environment. That mirrors our lifestyle and we appreciate enjoying it when we vacation. Jim, Leah and their "littles" are warm, welcoming and available while not being intrusive. The outdoor shower is wonderful and I loved visiting with their chooks and porch kitty. Great place to stay while enjoying the north end of Big Island!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Break Free from the Dominant Paradigm, at least for a Week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119829vbi
(808) 889-5715 (Hawaii, USA)
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

JUST WHAT WE NEEDED

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our stay with Leah and Jim was awesome for us. From the outdoor shower to the cozy studio and tropical surroundings which allowed us to feel at home. They were there if we needed them and they respected our privacy as well. Lots of terrific tips and suggestions on places to eat and visit. The accommodations were delightful. Please note, you are in a rural setting, and there are dogs, birds, cats, frogs, roosters on the loose, so if you need sirens and truck noise, this place is not for you! Thanks Jim, Leah, Bob, Karen, Ava, Mae and Nell, for just what we needed, Kymmothy & Kirk Krueger, Milton, Ont. Canada
business
Break Free from the Dominant Paradigm, at least for a Week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119829vbi
(808) 889-5715 (Hawaii, USA)
Hawi Kohala Coast
-
4

Aloha on the North Shore

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed with James and Leah and their sweet kids in January and had a great time. The Studio is cozy and comfortable, just as described and pictured and has everything you need. The outdoor shower is great! There is a lot to do on the North Shore, again as described here. Our favorite adventure was the hike from Pololu to the third valley (see the cover pic above). It's a great hike if you're in shape and after the overlook bench, will probably have the trail and beaches to yourself. Thanks James and Leah, and if you ever make it to Alaska visit us on the Kenai Peninsula VRBO/150525
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Break Free from the Dominant Paradigm, at least for a Week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119829vbi
(808) 889-5715 (Hawaii, USA)
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

Can't wait to go back!

Can't wait to go back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Amazing hospitality! We stayed 4 nights in Jim & Leah's ohana, and would have stayed longer if we had not already booked other accommodation for the following week. The guest cottage is cozy and comfy and had everything we needed, and more. It was immaculate. Everything was thought of, even beach towels, reed mats, and a cooler for exploring the beaches....and an incredible reading library.

Our kids made fast friends with theirs, and didn't want to leave. The outdoor shower under the avocado tree was awesome! Jim and Leah were always ready with recommendations of things to do and places we would not have thought of. Ask them about their permaculture gardener who is helping build a food forest out of their old mac nut orchard. Or the awesome kombucha Leah makes. Or the different kinds of bananas.

Try to time your stay over a Saturday to hit the fantastic Farmer's Market in Hawi and sample some of their great food. Hawi is a totally relaxed, hip, funky little town with just enough services, a decent grocery store, post office, and some shops for browsing...and some really incredible home made ice cream. It kind of felt like spending all day in a Jack Johnson video. We also loved the ranching country and the town of Waimea, just a few minutes up the road.

Don't worry about having a place with a pool or on the beach somewhere. You need a car on the big island anyway, and from Hawi it's literally 15 - 20 minutes to beaches, snorkeling, hiking, and more. Our kids didn't miss a pool for a second. Hawi is kind of on the dividing line between the wet side and the dry side of the island, so you can literally decide which weather you want in the morning and go for it!

Our second week on the island was pre-booked in a pretty swanky beach condo, which was also lovely, but we all wanted to go back to Jim and Leah's instead. It's the real deal; a real family, a real town, and we loved every minute of it. (Even from our swanky beach condo, we still ended up driving to other beaches every single day anyway.)

Don't go if you want the impersonal, manicured elegance of a 5-star resort, it's not that.
DO go if you want to feel what it's like to live where the locals live.
Mahalo a nui
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: When we created our VRBO page it was with the intention of attracting people like you! We know that you can't really read about aloha, nor can you actually see it, but you can FEEL it! So, come feel what real Hawaii is like in North Kohala.

"It kind of felt like spending all day in a Jack Johnson video." WE LOVE IT!
business
Break Free from the Dominant Paradigm, at least for a Week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119829vbi
(808) 889-5715 (Hawaii, USA)
Hawi Kohala Coast
San Francisco
5

Lovely, Quiet, and Easy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I stayed at Jim and Leah's wonderful ohana for 8 days last month. They are so easy to work with and were helpful as we planned our trip. The ohana is very comfortable and we loved the outdoor shower, complete with purple orchids! It is very convenient to many places on the north Kohala coast, and it was an easy 47-mile drive from the Kona Airport to their house. We are definitely coming back to Jim and Leah's ohana for our next visit to the Big Island - we highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Break Free from the Dominant Paradigm, at least for a Week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119829vbi
(808) 889-5715 (Hawaii, USA)
Hawi Kohala Coast
BC Canada
5

Relaxing slice of heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We were on the last part of our honeymoon, and our last stay was in the Kohala region. We were so fortunate to have found Jim and Leahs little slice of heaven. It was perfect for our needs. All of the sights, beaches, etc., that we wanted to visit were within easy driving distance. Jim and Leah have gone to great lengths to ensure all of the details of comfort and home have been offered, and are such openly careing people that we felt at home in only a few minutes. Their girls were beautiful, and loads of fun. Watch out for Ava, you will be playing dominos in no time, or reading May a book or two! :-) We felt as if we were leaving family behind when we had to say goodbye. A wonderful end to our honeymoon, with new friendships. We recommend this ohana to anyone who likes country living, a family feel, and a small farm atmosphere. Jay and Teresa
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Break Free from the Dominant Paradigm, at least for a Week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119829vbi
(808) 889-5715 (Hawaii, USA)
Hawi Kohala Coast
United States
5

A Taste of the Real Hawaii

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Staying in Jim and Leah's cottage is a wonderful way experience the non touristy part of Hawaii. From the macadamia trees to the chickens, to the exquisite array of plants and flowers, you begin to realize what the Big Island is all about. They are excellent guides to the many beaches and hikes in the vicinity. Go to the northern tip and hike down to a lovely black sand beach and try to observe the manta rays feeding at nights under lights. These were the kinds of experiences I had never had the opportunity to do before. I hated to leave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Break Free from the Dominant Paradigm, at least for a Week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119829vbi
(808) 889-5715 (Hawaii, USA)
Hawi Kohala Coast
Oakland , CA. ,United States
5

delightful retreat !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
this was such a homey quiet beautiful place to stay with lots of help from the owners - everything you need in a lovely garden setting !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Break Free from the Dominant Paradigm, at least for a Week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119829vbi
(808) 889-5715 (Hawaii, USA)
Hawi Kohala Coast
oregon
5

Thanks for the memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
great hospitality, wonderful room, beautiful place and loving hosts!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3