DeSoto cabin rental - 'Uncle Jed' full length porch
'Uncle Jed' full length porch
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

DeSoto Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Awesome 1100 square foot Log Cabin nine overlooking a bubbling meandering stream. Smoke-free Cabin is fully appointed with most everything you will need for that relaxing get-a-way! Close to the Mississippi River where you can watch the Eagles soar or rest on a sandbar. Downhill skiing is 30 minutes North in LaCrosse and the famous Outfitter Cabella's store is a short drive South in Prairie Du Chien. The Rush Creek State Natural area (2500 acres) is only moments from your door.

A private hot tub will soak your troubles away as you listen to the whippoorwill outside in the gazebo that is the hot tub area. 3 night minimum required for Holiday weekends.

Visit our FaceBook page at: CabinConnectionWI

Ask about our Guided Caving and/or Rock Climbing trips to add some Adventure to your get-a-way stay!

4 wheel drive Recommended in Winter

Book Early for best availability! Thank you in advance.

Pontoon Boat and Fishing boat packages on the Mississippi River are also available. Ask our manager for more details.

Amenities: Fireplace, TV, VCR/DVD, stereo, CD player, full kitchen, microwave, refrigerator, cooking utensils provided, linens provided, private hot tub, charcoal grill (BBQ), No smoking.

More Details
Hide Details

43 Reviews of Property 119730 in DeSoto, Wisconsin

Quiet- Secluded Streamfront Log Cabin- Hot Tub!
average rating of 4.717949 based on 43 reviews
business
Quiet- Secluded Streamfront Log Cabin- Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119730
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
5

Awesome Secluded Log Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Very nice secluded cabin with plenty of amenities that will make you cut back and relax. The brand new hot tub (saw the 2014 owners manual in the closet) is an absolute game changer. I went with 5 other people having in mind we would fish, ski, and possibly find a shooting range and we never even left the cabin. Once u cross the creek to get to the cabin you feel at rest in your own little personal castle surrounded by a moat. Being there's a creek in the driveway u might have to put your vehicle in 4x4 mode otherwise carry in your supplies, probably a 100 yard walk. Would definitely recommend this place for all looking for a relaxin retreat from the fast paced world... You will also get a break from your cellular device, because there is no tower. Thanks for the rental Joel!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Quiet- Secluded Streamfront Log Cabin- Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119730
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
5

Great Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Stayed for a couple of nights for a mini honeymoon getaway. Nicer layout than pictures show. Wood burner kicked out the heat. Joel was professional to work with and everything was in working order. Very, very happy with the entire stay, we had a great time and loved the cabin.
***A warning to those bringing a dog. We took a walk down the road (with our dog on a leash), a man stopped to warn us that he was trapping on that stretch of road and not to let our dog run. He pointed out one of his traps and it was in the ditch, literally, right next to the road. We were very thankful he let us know.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet- Secluded Streamfront Log Cabin- Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119730
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
Minnesota
4

Great Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Great cabin in a beautiful setting! We had a great weekend and plenty for the kids to do playing outside and hiking. Cabin was clean and a great space for 2 families. The hot tub was a nice treat and perfect for a cool fall evening. The owner was really helpful with all of our questions and providing plenty of information for our stay. We would stay here again!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
business
Quiet- Secluded Streamfront Log Cabin- Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119730
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
WI
5

Great Stay at DeSoto Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderful and exciting stay at this cabin. Joel was able to accommodate us on short notice! Everything we needed was available there, and the hot tub was awesome as well. It was nice to get away from the city, no cell phone reception, and no internet. This place is extremely secluded and the nearest shop is about an hour away, so be prepared. The creek the runs through the driveway was tricky to navigate, but added to the excitement. Joel was very professional and very accommodating. I'd definitely recommend a stay here! Thanks again Joel!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Quiet- Secluded Streamfront Log Cabin- Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119730
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
Chicago
4

secluded spot

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I wanted a last minute getaway for myself and my boyfriend, somewhere secluded, relaxing and out of the way, this cabin certainly ticked those boxes. It seriously is miles from anywhere with no cell phone reception at all, wonderful!!!
Driving over the small stream to the cabin was very pretty, surrounded by woods, idyllic.
The cabin is very quaint and decked out with everything you need, if I was to make any recommendations, they could do with a new grill (whole in the bottom is overcome by the racks put in place to keep coals in) and maybe some more fans to place around the rooms, it can get quite warm.
Sitting on the porch at night, watching the zillion fireflies was magical.
The hot tub was a lovely addition and certainly gets you relaxed as soon as you arrive.
A great last minute decision, loved it! Thank you!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Sue:

Thanks for your nice review. A NEW grill has been installed. It is a "park" model real nice in the ground and all. Sorry we could not get it in sooner for you. Thanks again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet- Secluded Streamfront Log Cabin- Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119730
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
Chicago
5

Excellent Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We hosted a group of friends at this cabin for a small reunion, and the stay was absolutely wonderful. The cabin is in an excellent, secluded location, and is very well maintained. The house itself was perfect for our purposes. Everything was clean, many small supplies (such as seasoning and utensils) are provided, and it was the perfect size to accommodate our group. The outdoor part of the property was equally stunning. The hot tub and fire pit provided nice areas for after-hours, and there was ample privacy.

Joel was also very helpful during the booking process. We inquired very last minute because another house cancelled, and he didn't blink about helping us (even 2 days out!).

We will definitely be returning if circumstances allow. Thanks again for a great time!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Quiet- Secluded Streamfront Log Cabin- Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119730
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
5

Great Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Had a wonderful weekend at the cabin as the leaves were reaching their peak color. It was refreshing to be without a cell phone or TV. In a great location, tucked in-between two large hills, but only a few minutes to De Soto. We did not use the hot tub, but the wood stove kept us plenty warm. All of the appliances were good, as were the utensils. All-in-all, a very enjoyable, clean cabin. We would definitely like to come back.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Quiet- Secluded Streamfront Log Cabin- Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119730
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
Wisconsin
5

Great cabin in a wonderful setting!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We had a wonderful long weekend at this cabin - it was everything I'd hoped it would be. The land is beautiful - wooded, quiet, peaceful - and great for birdwatching. (I agree with a previous review that the pictures can't do it justice.) The cabin is very charming, and it is in great shape: clean and well-maintained. Our kids enjoyed the loft bedroom and the creek that runs across the driveway, and we grown-ups enjoyed the hot tub! I slept better than I have in months in the downstairs bedroom. Joel was very helpful, and he provided great directions for everything we needed. In the area, we enjoyed the Blackhawk Park beach (a short drive away in De Soto) and Mt. Hosmer Park (just across the bridge in Lansing, Iowa - great views of the river!). We also had a nice meal at the Driftless Cafe in Viroqua, which is only a bit further away. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Quiet- Secluded Streamfront Log Cabin- Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119730
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
Milwaukee
5

A wonderful weekend.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My family had a relaxing and recharging weekend at the the cabin. Critters were great. The cabin is well-kept. The surrounding area is great and the road down to De Soto was a blast to drive on. I would gladly stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Quiet- Secluded Streamfront Log Cabin- Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119730
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
Beloit, Wisconsin
4

4-day weekends are the best!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We truly enjoyed our get-away with the kids for a long weekend. We all kind of went through withdrawls of no internet, cell phones, or cable....but it gave us time to play lots of board games and cards. We also brought a DVD collection with us. Master bedroom was terrific. Loft bedrooms weren't quite what we were expecting. Thought they would be seperate rooms and the mice in the ceiling in the loft became quite active at night, but we made due. Wood stove kept the place nice and toasty. Hot tub was fun. Didn't use the fire pit too much..it got a little too chilly at night. Never did catch any of those fish down in the stream! It was a great experience for us. Thank you.
Helpful votes: 2/3