I was very disappointed in the condition of this house. Upon arrival, it took 4 of us about an hour and a half to clean the place. Not something I was looking forward to after a 7+ hour drive. The house had a terrible smell and we had to buy candles to try and eliminate the odors. We cleaned the 5+ inches of dust off of the ceiling fans too.
The communication with the owners prior to arriving was great. So, I was expecting the same after I left a voice mail for them. I received ONE follow-up voice mail and that was it! That alone, turned me off.
The house was in a nice location in regards to walking to the beach. But a terrible location if you want to sleep with the windows open. There is a restaurant behind the house. And 158 is a block away. I heard beer bottles clacking all night long and the traffic.
The crows nest was nice. Nice to walk up and see the view. Other than that, I have nothing nice to say.
Once I returned home, I sent the owners 2 emails. I let them know what was wrong upon our arrival that we did not cause and let them know that I had mailed the keys back. I've yet to receive a response or my deposit or refund for the cleaning fee.
Also, this house is up for sale. So, renters beware, they are allowed to show this house when someone wants to see it.
I'd stay CLEAR of this place.
And I do feel bad for writing such a BAD review, but, I was so disappointed that I THOUGHT it was the RIGHT thing to do.
Owner's Response: We are extremely disappointed to receive such a hostile, negative review on our home. We have been renting our 2 beach homes at the Outer Banks for over 12 years. We have always had positive reviews from satisfied tenants on this home in Kill Devil Hills and on our other home in Nags Head (Prop. ID # 152687).
There was, in fact, an unusual oversight on our part in this situation. In error, after our last tenant left, we did not schedule our cleaning company (who ALWAYS does an amazing job cleaning our home). If the reviewer had called us upon her arrival and told us that the house was unacceptable, we would have IMMEDIATELY had our cleaning company go out to take care of the home. However, she chose to clean the home herself and then called us the next day to express her dissatisfaction. At that time, we returned her call leaving a message on her cell phone, and also followed by sending her the following email that very first evening that the tenant called us:
"Pam, We are very sorry that you did not find the house in good condition when you and your friends arrived. After investigating the situation, we discovered that due to an oversight, our cleaning company did not clean the home after the last guests left. We sincerely apologize for this and take full responsibility for the error. We certainly will refund your cleaning fee of $75 and hope that you will accept our apology for all of your inconvenience."
Our family stayed in the home the first week of April for our Easter vacation; enjoying the area & doing EXTRA cleaning on the home! As per REVIEWS FROM OTHER GUESTS who also stayed in our home during the month of April, “This was a perfect location. Easy walking distance to restaurants and the beach. (I have asthma and had no problems with breathing.) The cottage was very clean and comfortable; well stocked with everything we needed.”
Improvements that we have made on this home in the past couple of years include new carpet, new roof, new windows, new vinyl siding and various other upgrades. As stated earlier, we make EVERY effort to provide a clean, safe, affordable and fun beach house for ourselves and our guests to enjoy.
Our home is on the market for sale; however, it will NOT be shown without the permission of the current tenants. Our Realtor, Shane, makes every effort to set up any showings for Sunday, our turnover date, as not to inconvenience our guests.
Helpful votes: 3/4
Did you find this review helpful?