Bar Harbor cottage rental - Front Exterior
Front Exterior
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Bar Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 4-6

This 2-bedroom, 1 bath charming coastal cottage is the guesthouse of a historic oceanfront estate. Originally built over 100 years ago, this house was completely rebuilt in 2008 allowing for modern comfort while still steeped in its historic location and feel. Spend your days on the lawn watching deer, take a walk down to a stunning crescent shaped sand beach in Acadia National Park, or stroll into town…the best of both worlds exist with quiet and convenience in this affordable summer cottage.

Opening the front door you are greeted by a charming living room with futon couch, antique writing desk and entertainment center. The kitchen, with ample counter space and appliances, has a separate eating area bathed in sunlight from the French doors that lead to the outside patio, which is equipped with a picnic table and gas grill. The master bedroom has a new double bed and the second bedroom has two new twin beds. The inside of this house is new and fresh, yet has glimpses of history.

Mountain Sea Properties- Personalized vacation planning and property rentals with a community conscience, the best of both worlds.

Mountain Sea Properties invites you to enjoy the beauty of Mount Desert Island, Maine in the comfort of one of our homes. We know from our own experience managing family vacations that it can be quite a job. A little local knowledge and some extra help can make your vacation more enjoyable and hassle free. We offer a number of vacation planning services to our tenants including local information and recommendations, catering, massage therapy and house keeping.

Mountain Sea Properties recognizes the unique value in spending quality time with loved ones surrounded by beauty. Each year, we donate a portion of our proceeds to local organizations that are committed to sustaining the beauty and well being of the Mount Desert Island area..

More Details
Hide Details

Adam and Jen have a deep love and understanding of the natural beauty surrounding the Acadia/Mount Desert Island area. Jen grew up summers on Long Pond and Adam on a 110-acre farm in Western Maine adjoining the Appalachian Trail. They met here in Bar Harbor working as sea kayak guides in the summer of 1993.

Over the years, they have hiked, biked, paddled, and sailed every conceivable route on and around Mount Desert. Adam completed his goal of hiking every trail on the Island in the summer of 1994 and Jen authored The Sea Kayaker's Guide to Mount Desert Island published by Down East Books in 1997. Together they paddled the Maine Island Trail, a 175-mile 28-day kayaking trip from Portland to Machias, up the entire Maine coastline.

In the summer of 2000, Jen and Adam started Mountain Sea Properties with a single house, Eagle Cliff, where they were married that same summer. The owner had approached them expressing her frustration renting the home through larger rental operations on the island. She complained that her house was one of hundreds represented so the service she received was minimal. She also stated that those who rented the house were not as well informed as they could be. The tenants were also one of hundreds and the service they received was minimal.

Adam and Jen offered to represent the house committing to providing top quality service to both owners and tenants by representing a limited number of houses and providing personalized vacation services.

Since then, Mountain Sea Properties has grown along with the Wales family. As year-round members of the Island’s community, Adam and Jen are dedicated to the vitality of the people of Mount Desert Island. Thus, each year they donate a portion of their proceeds to local organizations devoted to sustaining the beauty and well-being of the Mount Desert Island area.

Jennifer Wales purchased this cottage in 1990

18 Reviews of Property 119386 in Bar Harbor, Maine

Guest House on Historic Oceanfront Estate in Park
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 18 reviews
business
Guest House on Historic Oceanfront Estate in Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119386
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Southington, CT
5

Comfy cozy hideout

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
We were so happy with our stay in the Guest House! It was perfect for my husband and I; close to Acadia and downtown, but far enough away for plenty of peace and quiet. It was also fun to explore the trail nearby! The house had everything we might need for the week, and we were able to cook most of our meals in the pretty kitchen. We'll definitely be back again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Jill. I'm glad to hear that you had such a great time on the trails and beach near the house and were able to really settle in and use the kitchen. It really is the perfect blend of privacy and yet so convenient to Bar Harbor. We would love to have you back and look forward to seeing you again. Jen Wales
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Guest House on Historic Oceanfront Estate in Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119386
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

A little piece of heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Dead end road, no traffic, but 2 minutes drive to Bar Harbor and entrance to Acadia! The cottage was so comfortable, well stocked and immaculate. It really felt like I hit the jackpot by finding this place.
business
Guest House on Historic Oceanfront Estate in Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119386
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Southington, CT
5

Still love it our second time here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our first visit was back in 2009, and was our first vacation rental experience. Jen made the process so simple and was extremely helpful, so when planning our visit this past June, there was no question that we would be contacting her to rent again! The Guest House was just as we remembered; cozy, inviting and roomy enough for us plus our two young children this time around! This is a great home for a family of 4 or less. The kitchen is perfectly sized for the whole family to move around in comfortably. There is plenty of storage for food/groceries for the week. Jen & Adam also made available a fantastic list of restaurants, points of interest, and family-friendly activities - we tried many and were not disappointed! The kids LOVED their visit to the touch tank at the lobster hatchery nearby, it was perfect for a rainy day! I can not forget to mention the peaceful, quiet area itself where the house is located - there is a great short hike to a beautiful, rocky beach, which was great for the whole family to explore, and was the perfect intro to "hiking" for our young ones. I can not say enough about how great Jen is to work with. We know already that we will be in touch again when planning our next Acadia visit in the next few years!
Owner's Response: Jill- it was great to have you and your growing family back again. I must say you certainly hit the highlights of this wonderful cottage in the park. Hope to see you again and again! Jen- Mountain Sea Properties
business
Guest House on Historic Oceanfront Estate in Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119386
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Great location, clean and comfortable house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We just returned from a stay at this adorable cottage in the woods. Everything is exactly as represented -- clean, comfortable, secluded yet close to Acadia trails and Bar Harbor. The size of the house seemed perfect for two yet would be comfortable with more. We appreciated the access to a fully-stocked kitchen though we took advantage of the proximity to Bar Harbor to enjoy local restaurants too. The wireless connection wasn't completely reliable but that wasn't a concern for us, as we traveled intentionally without a laptop (and used our phones on 3G when needed for maps, etc.). We would definitely stay here again when visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia. It is a wonderful little house!
Owner's Response: Casey,
Sorry to hear about the spotty internet connection! I wish you would have let me know, I could have come over and addressed the problem during your stay. I'll head over to the house now and take a look at things and make sure it's all up and running. We have high speed wireless and haven't had any problems thus far but I'll go and check it out. Other than that, it's good to hear that the Guest House worked well for you. And yes, doesn't Bar Harbor have some wonderful restaurants! We've put together a Dinning Guide for tenants because there are so many places to grab a bite in town that are really top notch. We'd love to have to stay with us again and always offer a discount to returning tenants. The best to you both. Jen Wales, Mountain Sea Properties
business
Guest House on Historic Oceanfront Estate in Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119386
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Perfect getaway spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The Guest House was perfect for our stay on the island. The cottage was clean, comfortable and conveniently located. Most mornings we were able to watch the deer graze outside while we ate breakfast! Jen gave us wonderful tips on things to do and see during our stay. We highly recommend visiting Sand Beach, Echo Lake, hiking South Bubble at Jordan Pond, Bass Harbor Light House, and the little beach near the cottage. Another must is Diver Ed. Our family looks forward to a return visit to the island and a stay at the Guest House.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Maria- Did you see any of the baby dear? There were a couple this summer born near the Guest House and I saw them just about every time I was over that way. Glad you had a chance to visit with our lovely 4 legged neighbors. The Guest House is convenient with it being only 1 mile from Bar Harbor, 1 mile from the auto road into Acadia National Park and yet so quite and private at the end of small little road which is actually in the park. It really is the perfect rental house for a family or couple of friends. We certainly look forward to your return visit and please give my best to the rest of your family! Jen Wales, Mountain Sea Properties
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Guest House on Historic Oceanfront Estate in Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119386
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This little guest house nestled in the woods has a practical layout and plenty of room given it's size. It's clean, well appointed and very comfortable. You can walk to the town of Bar Harbor in about 20 minutes and within five minutes to a lovely cove. It's location on the island is perfect. There are a few movies to watch, lots of children's games and some books, some of which are about the area and they were fun and/or instructive to read. The free WiFi was great to have.
I particularly enjoyed the kitchen area where I could sit at the table and not feel cramped or isolated and the picnic table outside off the kitchen area which was clean and private - a perfect place to have your coffee in the morning. The owners are very helpful and the house was well-prepared when I arrived. In all my years staying on the island, it was my favorite house rental by far. I highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Guest House on Historic Oceanfront Estate in Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119386
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
null
5

lovely location and setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
my family loved this little cottage, casual and right near everything. we have two young kids so i didn't worry about having them 'wreck' things yet the property was lovely. clean, well supplied kitchen! the food around bar harbor is WAY over rated, but come here for the hiking and sites of course. love to visit this house again while kids grow!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Guest House on Historic Oceanfront Estate in Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119386
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Northfield, MN
5

The location near the hidden coves was wonderful.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
I chose this house based on price, it looked clean and rustic and I loved that it had walking paths to the hidden beaches and was close to Bar Harbor and Acadia. There were many pluses! Upon my arrival the house was clean and roomy, wonderful beds and sheets that were soft and warm on cold nights. Location- it was incredible to walk to hose hidden coves and have them to myself! I loved it. And the deer and fox right outside were amazing. I liked MtnSea Properties friendliness, professionalism and donations to wonderful causes. There was a huge file on places to go and Jen was great to work with. I really loved my stay and will be back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Guest House on Historic Oceanfront Estate in Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119386
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Timonium, Maryland
5

Perfect for a family trip to Acadia National Park

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The perfect cottage for a family vacation in Maine. Roomy enough for 4, but cozy and quiet enough for good family time. Quiet location, but close to Acadia and Bar Harbor. We loved it.

Jen and Adam were welcoming and accomodating. Plus, the extra touches were so helpful. We highly recommend this house for a wonderful family vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: B- Really glad to hear that the Guest House worked so well for your family and that everyone had a blast exploring Acadia National Park. Hope you enjoyed the baby birds that hatched right by the door and watching mama bird flying back and forth feeding them all week. Certainly hope to see you again in the future! Jen and Adam
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Guest House on Historic Oceanfront Estate in Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119386
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Southington, CT, USA
5

Quiet peaceful getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2009
We were looking for a comfy getaway for two and given our choices, we preferred the location, the size, the charm and the cost of the Guest House the best. The house was stocked with everything we could possibly need. The file of brochures and guides in the house was so helpful in choosing restaurants and fun day trips in Bar Harbor, we were grateful to have the information on hand and so well organized. We also loved the proximity to Acadia NP and had so much fun exploring the trail right down the road. Jen was so friendly and helpful right from the start! This was the first time we ever leased a vacation rental, so she helped with all my questions and concerns. Also the website is great, and aided our decision to choose the Guest House - the pictures of the cottage and grounds sold us right away! Jen and Adam, we will certainly be back again (this time with our new little one!)
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1