Bar Harbor house rental - Front Exterior
Front Exterior
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Bar Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedroom, 2 bath, sleeps 8

Built in 2004, the Fern Way home is a delightful blend of modern convenience and rustic style. Designed by a local architect to integrate with the beautiful natural setting of Mount Desert Island, at every turn Fern Way celebrates the natural world.

A gently curving driveway through the woods leads to the quiet 4.5 acres that surrounds Fern Way. The attractive exterior is Adirondack style live edge siding, complemented by cedar posts supporting an entry porch overlooking the large lawn. Entering the house, two French doors lead you into a large open floor plan allowing for ease and comfort of a large group or family gathering.

Classic post and beam details include a stunning custom banister in maple and a soaring two story stonewall that defines the sunny living area. The large kitchen is ideal for preparing family meals with ample counter space, appliances and gadgets.

A screened porch with dining table and futon couch is the perfect spot to start your day with coffee and end it with sunsets through the trees. The basement includes a home gym with top of the line Bowflex weight machine, Sole elliptical trainer, yoga mat and props, exercise bike and Nordic ski machine.

The large master bedroom with a king bed is located upstairs as well as a bedroom with a double bed, a bedroom with two twin beds, and a full bathroom complete with a two-person jetted tub to helps ease tired muscles after a fun filled day exploring Acadia. Downstairs is a bedroom with a double bed, a bathroom with shower, and the screened porch with a new futon, which can be used as an extra bedroom or by those wishing to sleep in the fresh air of the Maine woods.

More Details
Hide Details

Adam and Jen have a deep love and understanding of the natural beauty surrounding the Acadia/Mount Desert Island area. Jen grew up summers on Long Pond and Adam on a 110-acre farm in Western Maine adjoining the Appalachian Trail. They met here in Bar Harbor working as sea kayak guides in the summer of 1993.

Over the years, they have hiked, biked, paddled, and sailed every conceivable route on and around Mount Desert. Adam completed his goal of hiking every trail on the Island in the summer of 1994 and Jen authored The Sea Kayaker's Guide to Mount Desert Island published by Down East Books in 1997. Together they paddled the Maine Island Trail, a 175-mile 28-day kayaking trip from Portland to Machias, up the entire Maine coastline.

In the summer of 2000, Jen and Adam started Mountain Sea Properties with a single house, Eagle Cliff, where they were married that same summer. The owner had approached them expressing her frustration renting the home through larger rental operations on the island. She complained that her house was one of hundreds represented so the service she received was minimal. She also stated that those who rented the house were not as well informed as they could be. The tenants were also one of hundreds and the service they received was minimal.

Adam and Jen offered to represent the house committing to providing top quality service to both owners and tenants by representing a limited number of houses and providing personalized vacation services.

Since then, Mountain Sea Properties has grown along with the Wales family. As year-round members of the Island’s community, Adam and Jen are dedicated to the vitality of the people of Mount Desert Island. Thus, each year they donate a portion of their proceeds to local organizations devoted to sustaining the beauty and well-being of the Mount Desert Island area.

Jennifer Wales purchased this house in 2004

16 Reviews of Property 119384 in Bar Harbor, Maine

Unique Nature Inspired New Home Adjacent to Lake
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Unique Nature Inspired New Home Adjacent to Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119384
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Cleveland, OH
5

Great house and location, highly recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Our family stayed here in June 2009, and based on our experience, would recommend for anyone looking for a great vacation home.

The property is new, very well maintained, clean, and as described. In fact, the photos do not quite do justice to our favorite features including an excellent kitchen and a screened-in porch with a quiet, serene view of the surrounding woods.

The location is convenient to access both the park and nearby activities like Long Pond and Beech Mountain.

The owners were terrific to work with and helped with many great tips and advice before and during our stay. They also provide loads of current local information, organized in a big file box with maps, brochures, menus, etc. The small library of books was handy as well - covering everything from bird watching to sea kayaking and hiking guides.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Unique Nature Inspired New Home Adjacent to Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119384
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New York, NY
5

Great home, great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was our best vacation ever! Jennifer made the welcome easy and was very helpful in recommendations for places to visit. Long Pond is a 5-10 minute walk from the house. My kids (ages 5,7,9) were in heaven for the week. When not swimming in Long Pond or canoeing or exploring the wooded area of our home, we were hiking in the mountains (Beech Mtn -- 15 minute drive to this fantastic hike), Acadia Mtn, Flyinig High Mtn., Wonderland, South Harbor, and much more. The vistas atop the mountain are amazing! And kids loved the hikes.

The home is immaculate, full of every amenity possible and high end. Take a look at the pictures!

Cant wait to come back --- we haven't even touched the other things to do here!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Unique Nature Inspired New Home Adjacent to Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119384
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Wonderful House in Mount Desert Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My family (1 toddler, 2 adults) recently stayed at Fern Way and couldn't have been more pleased with the stay. We would recommend for anyone looking for a great vacation home.

The property is new, very well maintained, clean and has an amazing view of the woods. Pictures do not do this house justice.

Fern Way was equipped with everything a family with young children would need. We loved knowing we didn't need to bring anything for our child. Toys, cups, more toys, pack and play etc. We loved knowing we could eat breakfast lunch and dinner at home and enjoy the scenery of Fern Way or drive a couple of miles into town and enjoy Bar Harbor.

Fern Way had everything and anything we would need for a stay. Fresh towels, blankets, cooking utensils, BBQ pit, comfortable bed, TV, etc.

Fern Way was tucked away from the city of Bar Harbor but close enough for us to visit every day. The location is so peaceful especially coming from the busy life in Houston.

My daughter loved the Long pond which was at the end of the road. It was perfect for kayaking, canoeing, or my daughter's favorite, just throwing rocks in the water.

We hiked mountains, visited parks, played on the beaches, and enjoyed a little bit of all New England weather (It was hot, cold, raining, and cold again!)

The owners were terrific to work with and helped with many great tips and advice before and during our stay. Jen even had blueberry jam for my daughter which she loved!

Definitely recommend this vacation rental to anyone wanting to get away and enjoy the scenery of MDI in a wonderful comfortable enjoyable house.



Erica, Dylan, and Olivia (Houston, Texas)
Owner's Response: Erica and Dylan,
It was certainly a pleasure to met your family and I’m delighted that Olivia had such a good time. My kids still love to head down to Long Pond and toss rocks into the water (and feed the ducks and swim at the beach and go kayaking and have a picnic and watch the stars…) Your review truly touches on all the most advantageous aspects of Fern Way as a rental property. The location is so private and quite and yet really close to all the areas of the National Park and various towns on Mount Desert Island. We have attempted to set up the house with all the amenities and supplies that one could need on a vacation. And finally with our vacation services, lists of recommendations, and guides, the house binder full of local menus, brochures and maps, and of course being available to give any particular advice anyone might be looking for, we hope to have made available any helpful information we could. I’m delighted that Fern Way was a successful rental property for you and we certainly hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for such a kind review. Jen and Adam Wales, Mountain Sea Properties
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Unique Nature Inspired New Home Adjacent to Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119384
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

BEAUTIFUL SERENE/SECLUDED GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was our sixth time to Mount Desert Island for vacation in the last 15 years.
The house was awesome, spacious,very quiet other then the noise we made.
So nice to come back to after being at Acadia or Bar Harbor during the day. Nice just to relax, read, take a nap before going out on the town for dinner. Very well located to all attractions. Jen and her husband were very accomodating and a wealth of information if there were questions. We even went out on the pond in a Canoe one day and took our lunch (pond is in walking distance). I loved sitting out on the screened porch with coffee early in the morning and listen to all the birds and sounds coming from the woods around us. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who really wants to relax and truly be on vacation.I have already passed the property details to friends who have asked me where we stayed. Thank you so much for everything.

Craig, Christine, and Emily Adams (Lancaster, Pennsylvania)
Owner's Response: Craig, Christine and Emily-
Thank you so much for your kind words. I too just love the screened in porch, it's my favorite room in the whole house (which is why we put a futon couch out there in addition to the dinning table- sleeping out there is just fantastic!). I’m really glad you enjoyed Fern Way so much. What you touch upon, the quite and privacy yet convenient location to all areas on Mount Desert Island (best of all being Long Pond) is just what we wanted to create when we designed and built the house in that location. I certainly hope we’ll be a stop for you on your future trips up to Acadia; it was a pleasure to meet your family. All our best, Jen and Adam Wales
business
Unique Nature Inspired New Home Adjacent to Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119384
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Child Tested - Mother Approved

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Our family and close friends (3 adults, 5 childen) spent 5 days and 4 nights at this beautiful and clean rental home. We arrived prior to the designated check-in time with a cranky toddler, and the owners graciously allowed us into the home so that our 3 year old son could take his much needed afternoon nap. The home and yard were perfect for our 3 year old as there were no breakables in the house that he could get his hands on, no traffic to worry about outside, and plenty of yard to run around in. He very much enjoyed the sandbox equipped with a dozer, truck and shovels as well. The home had everything necessary to sustain the life of two adult women, two teenage girls, and two "tweener" girls as well.......read into that two nice showers, large mirrors, and plenty of space. The home is close enough to surrounding towns that my 3 year old son and I were able to travel around very easily at 5 am to check out the lobstermen loading their boats, vessels coming out of dry-dock and being lowered into the ocean, and area businessmen preparing for the summer season. Likewise, the women were able to go shopping in Bar Harbor and do "dinner-out" without a lot of traveling. Travel in and out of Acadia National Park was simple and we could vary our "tour" of the area as we came and went. We would strongly recommend this home to large families and ones with small children. We had a relaxing week without the worry of breaking something in home or having our children feel out of place. To quote my 11 year old daughter, "this is better than the trip to Disney!"
Owner's Response: Todd and family-
Better than Disney!!!! Wow, that might be the best compliment we've ever gotten!! I know we must be doing something right if I can beat Mickey and the gang. That really just melts my heart. I am so glad that Fern Way worked well for your family and the whole gaggle of girls. Also nice to know that we were able to get your in early, a tired and cranky toddler is never a good thing. I completely agree with you about the central location of Fern Way. It really is located in such a wonderful part of the island. The nearby village of Somesville is so beautiful and Long Pond, just a short walk from the house, is one of the best swimming spots on the island. Just like your family experienced, it’s so easy to explore all of the areas of Acadia on both the east and west side of the island. Fern Way is no more than 10-15 min from anywhere on Mount Desert Island. It was a pleasure to meet you and the whole family. I certainly wish you the best and please do visit us again. Jen Wales, Mountain Sea Properties
business
Unique Nature Inspired New Home Adjacent to Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119384
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Comfortable, Convenient, and Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had the pleasure of staying here for about a week in July. The home was comfortable for 8 adults (including plenty of "move-around-space" without feeling cramped). The location was great! Close enough to attractions (Bar Harbor, Carriage Roads, etc.) but far enough to get away from all crowds. Less than 5 minute walk down to perhaps the best (and biggest) pond I've ever seen. Or sit on the porch with a book and zone out looking into the trees. All in all, could not have asked for a better rental experience and would go back in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Unique Nature Inspired New Home Adjacent to Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119384
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Wonderful Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Fern Way was a wonderful home to stay at for our family vacation. The property is well maintained and spacious easily accommodating 8 people.
The owners were very helpful to work with and provided all the information we needed on local activities, sightseeing and hiking destinations along with local restaurants.
I would go back to Fern way for another vacation and recommend this to friends and relatives.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique Nature Inspired New Home Adjacent to Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119384
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

A lovely base from which to explore Acadia!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We spent a pleasant week at Fern Way. We were delighted with the space, the light, the quiet. Even our rainy days were wonderful, because we had this lovely haven in which to relax. It was great to have Fern Way to return to, after a day of activity in the park. The owners provided information and assistance, and prepared us well to maximize our enjoyment of the house and the surrounding area. I look forward to return trips to Fern Way!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: MM- Happy to hear that Fern Way worked so well for your group. When we designed the house, our emphasis was to work with the natural surroundings to create a "haven" (what a wonderful word to use to describe this home!) that was filled with light and able to work comfortably with larger groups but also allow people to have their privacy. It's wonderful to hear that all those goals were accomplished! We are so thankful to be able to live is such a beautiful place such as Acadia National Park and are always happy to share our passion for this beautiful little island with others. Certainly hope to see you again- Jen and Adam Wales
business
Unique Nature Inspired New Home Adjacent to Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119384
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Madison, Wisconsin, USA
5

Fantastic Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Our stay at Fernway from August 7 to August 14, 2010 was really great. We found that Fernway truly meets the standard of a home away from home!

This relatively new home lies in a secluded, private, very quiet setting and is in immaculate condition. We found the living room area in the open first floor plan with its cathedral ceiling, stone wall, unique balcony, and French doors to be a wonderful gathering place for the six of us. Otherwise, from wi-fi, to kitchen equipment, to great bedding and towels, we found Fernway extremely well-equipped for a comfortable stay.

Special features are a lovely screened porch, a great collection of books, and, most of all, very helpful answers to your questions about things such as attractions and where to get the best lobster from Jen, just up the hill!

At reservation time, I had some concerns about this location being inconvenient. These concerns were totally unfounded! Many attractions are nearby, and we found Mt. Desert Island to be quite small, distances short, and the route to places such as Bar Harbor, and eastern part of Acadia National Park lightly traveled even in the peak of the season.

This is my first vacation rental - I hope that future ones will be as fantastic!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Unique Nature Inspired New Home Adjacent to Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119384
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Sacramento, CA
5

What a great house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
We had a fabulous time at Fern Way! Everything we needed was available. All the comforts of a home away from home. Gorgeous fall foliage. Luscious lobster and scallops, fresh apples…yum. Great weather, peaceful tranquility in the forest. Great hikes to the top of Beech Mountain and Acadia near by- wow.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1