Bar Harbor house rental - Front Exterior
Front Exterior
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Bar Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
4 BR, 3.5 BA, Sleeps 8 ( with Guest House sleeps 12)

Eagle Cliff is a beautiful historic home situated on a stunning oceanfront estate. One of the original rusticator “cottages” built before the turn of the century, guests at Eagle Cliff are surrounded by antiques, oriental rugs, and art from around the world with breathtaking ocean views from every room.

The large living room and formal dining room with ample seating, and comfortable kitchen equipped for entertaining, all over look Frenchman Bay and the Porcupine Islands. Four bedrooms and 3.5 bathrooms allow for privacy and comfort. There is a separate Guest House on the property that can also be rented allowing for additional occupancy and privacy.

Upstairs, the large oceanside master suite is complete with deluxe memory foam mattress, private dressing room, and private bathroom with a Jacuzzi bathtub. Another bedroom with a double bed has huge bay windows facing east allowing the occupants to watch the morning sunrise over Frenchman Bay. The third upstairs bedroom has two twins, and there is a full bathroom as well. Downstairs is a bedroom with a double bed and private bathroom. A powder room is located near the kitchen and living room.

The grounds of the Eagle Cliff estate are just as beautiful as the inside. A stone porch overlooks the ocean with outdoor seating and a gas grill- the perfect place to spend an afternoon reading or having a Barbeque dinner. An entry porch with outdoor seating, a gazebo with outdoor games, gardens and a large lawn await you.

A special property sure to please even the most discerning tastes with the perfect blend of quiet and accessibility, historic charm and modern comfort.

More Details
Hide Details

Adam and Jen have a deep love and understanding of the natural beauty surrounding the Acadia/Mount Desert Island area. Jen grew up summers on Long Pond and Adam on a 110-acre farm in Western Maine adjoining the Appalachian Trail. They met here in Bar Harbor working as sea kayak guides in the summer of 1993.

Over the years, they have hiked, biked, paddled, and sailed every conceivable route on and around Mount Desert. Adam completed his goal of hiking every trail on the Island in the summer of 1994 and Jen authored The Sea Kayaker's Guide to Mount Desert Island published by Down East Books in 1997. Together they paddled the Maine Island Trail, a 175-mile 28-day kayaking trip from Portland to Machias, up the entire Maine coastline.

In the summer of 2000, Jen and Adam started Mountain Sea Properties with a single house, Eagle Cliff, where they were married that same summer. The owner had approached them expressing her frustration renting the home through larger rental operations on the island. She complained that her house was one of hundreds represented so the service she received was minimal. She also stated that those who rented the house were not as well informed as they could be. The tenants were also one of hundreds and the service they received was minimal.

Adam and Jen offered to represent the house committing to providing top quality service to both owners and tenants by representing a limited number of houses and providing personalized vacation services.

Since then, Mountain Sea Properties has grown along with the Wales family. As year-round members of the Island’s community, Adam and Jen are dedicated to the vitality of the people of Mount Desert Island. Thus, each year they donate a portion of their proceeds to local organizations devoted to sustaining the beauty and well-being of the Mount Desert Island area.

Jennifer Wales purchased this house in 1990

18 Reviews of Property 119383 in Bar Harbor, Maine

Historic Oceanfront Estate: Stunning Ocean Views, In Acadia National Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
business
Historic Oceanfront Estate: Stunning Ocean Views, In Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119383
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Torrington, CT USA
5

Eagle Cliff

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Our week at Eagle Cliff went by WAY too fast. The house was charming, spacious, fantastically equipped, cozy and very comfortable. The views from almost every window were breathtaking. Enjoying that first cup of coffee on the deck each morning, watching the lobster boats going about their business and listening to the birds call was a slice of heaven and the perfect start to every day. We were enchanted with the wildlife that browsed right outside the kitchen windows. As a family, we enjoyed working on the many jigsaw puzzles that were provided for rainy evenings. A thouroughly delightful week and one we will long remember and cherish. Deb & Ron
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: DebRon,
And thank YOU for bringing the sun with you! I am so glad to hear that your family had such a great time at Eagle Cliff. It sounds like we were successful at meeting our goals of providing a top quality vacation home from which to base your adventures in Acadia National Park. From the sounds of it the highlight of your trip happened right from the comfort of the deck overlooking Frenchman Bay! We look forward to seeing you all again. Jen Wales, MtnSea Properties.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Historic Oceanfront Estate: Stunning Ocean Views, In Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119383
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Orchard Park, New York
5

Location, Location, Location!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
13 of us rented both properties "blindly" from VRBO; may we be that lucky in all our endeavors. The older estates really do have the best locations!!!!! The house had incredible charm, was very clean and well provisioned--nothing was lacking. The view from the dining area and deck was absolutely breathtaking. Many days were spent watching the lobster boats, cruise ships and yachts floating by and many nights were spent star-gazing off the deck.

The location of the property to both Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park was an added bonus. You were close enough to walk to the "chaos" of Bar Harbor and experience all it has to offer while living on a quiet, private road just down the street--it was wonderful!!! The Park Loop Road was also just "around the corner" and made the ANP that much more accessible. You could be anywhere in the park within minutes and home in time for lunch or dinner. Compass Cove beach, just a short walk from the property, was gorgeous.

Jen answered all questions promptly and left a wealth of information at the property for the renter on everything the area has to offer.

It was a most enjoyable vacation. Did I mention the location, location, location!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Susan, you hit the nail on the head! Quite and secluded yet right close to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Location, Location, Location and this house has the best. Delighted to hear that everyone had a good time both at Eagle Cliff and around the park and the island. Looking forward to serving your family again in the future.
business
Historic Oceanfront Estate: Stunning Ocean Views, In Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119383
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Boston, MA
5

Absolutely perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had 4 couples at Eagle Cliff and a family of 5 at the Guest House. The location of these properties is stunning and just perfect. We could walk to Bar Harbor, we biked home from Cadillac Mountain, there are several access roads to the Park Look Road closeby. Schooner Head Overlook is one of our favorite places and we could bike there or drive there in just a minute or two. Yet we had privacy and felt like we were in our own little paradise.

We did a lot of cooking as each couple/family took one night to cook for all 13 of us and the house has plenty of supplies and equipment to create a great meal. The view overlooking the water just cannot be beat. My teenage kids loved exploring and climbing the cliffs and caves down at the water.

We took the "Missing Mansion" ranger-led tour which is on the ANP parcel next to the property and it was fun to just walk to it and walk home again.

Jen was a joy to interact and deal with.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Historic Oceanfront Estate: Stunning Ocean Views, In Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119383
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Perfect in every way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Eagle Cliff is extraordinary. You will not find a more lovely, comfortable, perfectly located rental home in Bar Harbor. Our family has stayed there every year for a decade, and we will continue to do so as long as we can!
Owner's Response: MM,
Thank you for the kind words. Your family has stayed every year, sometimes even twice during the same year for 12 or 13 years now. It's clear that the magic of this property and it's view has taken hold of your family and we will continue to welcome you back as family for "as long as we can!".
business
Historic Oceanfront Estate: Stunning Ocean Views, In Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119383
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Highly recommend this house, simply perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Eagle Cliff is the perfect house to rent on your visit to Bar Harbor and
Acadia. The house is comfortable in a lived-in way with ample character but
clean, interesting and with all the amenities. The view from the porch is
incredible, whether the sunrise or fog rolling in, and we ate every
breakfast and many lunches there watching the lobster boats come and go.

It’s a perfect distance from town - we biked or drove to dinner, which was
incredibly convenient. And the proximity to Acadia could not be better.

Our kids favorite part of the trip, amongst the great hikes, bikes and
climbs, was the 5-10 min walk to the "beach" near the house, whose dramatic
tidal changes made for hours of endless fun and exploration.

I recommend this house without reservation, it was simply perfect! And Jen
was very easy to work with and welcoming.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic Oceanfront Estate: Stunning Ocean Views, In Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119383
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Views are incredible!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Thanks for sharing this wonderful home. We arrived late Saturday to a foggy harbor, full of anticipation of what the dawn would uncover for us. We were not disappointed. The views are incredible -- during the day of the ocean and islands and at night the stars -- we even saw lots of shooting stars! The beaches below the house revealed themselves to be gems - easy exploring for the kids, nearby sounds of surf for the adults, and a feeling of a private sanctuary.

Our cyclists immediately took to the park loop, finding it, on early mornings, empty, fast and quiet with good climbs and speedy descents. All tackled the uphill challenge of the ‘Caddy,’ even our 14 year old daughter triumphed. Our 12 year old is determined to own Caddy next year. We tramped and tramped; Mt. Gorham, the Bubbles and Conners Nubble, Great Head trail, Norumbega, and the Cadillac summit. We rode the carriage trails around Eagle Lake and Jordan Pond, and had a sunny lunch at Jordan House - yes, the popovers are very good! We spent a tranquil day sunning ourselves on Sand Beach, and had a brisk and refreshing swim. Beal’s in SouthEast Harbor was fantastic - a great place to dive into one of those lobsters likely caught in the many traps one can see off the coast below.

At the Oceanarium we learned more about lobsters than we thought possible, even saw a blue one. The visit was a great rainy day distraction, and boy did it rain. We must have gotten 10 inches of rain, awakened at 2AM by rolling thunder and a pounding downpour. The shops in Bar Harbor were well visited, too, finding clothing, jewelry, books, and our favorite purchase, a handmade lamp that we will treasure for the years to come.

As we were leaving our youngest said, ‘do we have to leave?’ He captured what we were all feeling. We will certainly return. Thanks Jen!!
business
Historic Oceanfront Estate: Stunning Ocean Views, In Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119383
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Outstanding home with outstanding views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We just spent a week at Eagle Cliff with four generations of our family including our 90 year old great-grandmother. The house was lovingly appointed and maintained; it was more like visiting a nice relative than staying in a rental house. The welcome note from Mtn Sea, directed at great grandma, was a brilliant touch. We had views from our windows of the sunrise, the Porcupine Islands, and visiting cruise ships (which we could not hear). We were near everything and yet we felt secluded. We cannot say enough about the house or the people who rented it to us. A really classy place, maintained by people who are a real class act.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Gosh James, your making me blush! Thanks so much for your kind words. We strive to not only provide excellent properties but excellent service as well. Family time is so important and it give me great joy to know that I'm doing my best helping other families enjoy themselves in the beauty of Acadia National Park. So glad great-gram liked her card! I'm sure she deserves a little extra-

Jen
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Historic Oceanfront Estate: Stunning Ocean Views, In Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119383
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Fantastic Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
A beautiful, well maintained, classic home aptly named “Eagle Cliff”. It sits on top of a high cliff overlooking the three porcupine islands out in the bay and is just a couple of miles south of Bar Harbor. The house has views from almost every window. We saw several bald eagles and even a juvenile golden eagle while sitting on the lovely stone patio enjoying our morning coffee. Did I mention deer? They were numerous and close by every day munching on the vegetation. We enjoyed setting up a badminton court for our kids to use (many other games are available) and the deer seemed to like it too. One of our videos shows 5 on the lawn there at one time!

We rented Eagle Cliff for a week together with the Guest House which is only a few feet away down the driveway. That enabled us to have a total of 10 comfortably, parents, children and grandchildren. It was a wonderful week that will provide memories for years to come.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Historic Oceanfront Estate: Stunning Ocean Views, In Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119383
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Libbertyville, IL
5

A great place to decompress!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The views from this house are spectacular, the website does not do it justice. Compass Cove is really, really nice at low tide; there is plenty of sand and not crowded. The property is beautiful and very quite and secluded. The house is well appointed and the pine/spruce scented air is wonderful. The reference/information folders were a major plus. This house has a close proximity to Bar Harbor and yet private. MtnSea Properties was helpful, courteous and had excellent information about local points of interest. We had a terrific time and it was a great place to decompress.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Compass Cove truly is a hidden treasure! Although it's located within Acadia National Park, there is no advertising of this spot and so its really a "locals only" location. We are often the only ones on the wonderful sand beach when we go there. Thanks again for sharing the beautiful pictures you took of both the view from the house and Compass Cove. Also good to hear that our information binder with menus, fliers, maps, etc was helpful to you. All the best to your family- Jen, MtnSea Properties
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Historic Oceanfront Estate: Stunning Ocean Views, In Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119383
+1 2072440066
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Bethesda, MD
5

The views from every room are spectacular!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We could not have hoped for a more perfect place for a special family vacation. The views from the patio, the dining room, the living room and basically every room in the house are spectacular! We chose this house (with the guest house too) because we needed plenty of room for a family reunion. Everyone from the youngest (age 9) to the oldest (age 70) loved the house. The common areas are very comfortable and well furnished. The kitchen was roomy and very well stocked with cookware, dishes, spices, etc. The dining room fit 11 people easily. The living room area was spacious and decorated with beautiful and interesting pieces (which I assume the owners collected over the years). The patio was a real delight, and we particularly appreciated the very thoughtful inclusion of an extra propane tank for the grill. Also, the grounds were quite nice and the proximity to hiking trials and the two nearby beaches was a big hit with everyone. The photos don’t do justice to the house, the grounds, or the view! The distance from the house to Bar Harbor is fine for a bike ride or a serious runner but not quite close enough for a stroll. The rental agents (MtnSea) were very helpful both in planning the trip and activities and in responding to questions and requests when we were there. All in all, it was a great experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6