Carova house rental - Wild Horses on the Beach
Wild Horses on the Beach
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Carova House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Loft, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 11-14)

Coastal Living magazine readers have just voted Carova Beach as the nation's Best Beach! (2.14) http://outerbanksvoice.com/2014/01/24/coastal-living-readers-choose-carova-as-nations-best-beach/

Fabulous oceanfront location in North Carolina's Outer Banks. Updated 5 bedroom home plus loft. Sleeps 11-14 (11 in beds 3 on couches). This home has a hot tub, a children's bedroom , two King bedrooms, two Queen bedrooms , new decks , a fifth bedroom, and premium siding,

Outside lies the best part: The oceanfront location with a high dune, landscaped yard, wide uncrowded beach and the privacy that one desires in coming to the beaches of the 4 Wheel Drive area. This is also a wild horse sanctuary-the horses roam freely and they will come to visit!

Relax, Swim, windsurf, sail, water ski, jet ski, canoe, kayak, golf, miniature golf, ATV and lighthouse tours, shopping, restaurants, marinas, hang-gliding, see the wild horses, stroll on the beach, fish, watch the sunrise and sunset from the decks or the dune, sit in the hot tub, play horseshoes or croquet, or just sit on the beach and get a tan while building sandcastles. Visit Duck and Corolla villages, Whalehead Club, Alligator River Nature Refuge, Wright Brothers National Memorial, Audubon Nature Sanctuary, Nags Head and Kitty Hawk.

Please Note: A 4WD VEHICLE IS NEEDED AS ONE DRIVES ON THE BEACH TO REACH THE HOUSE!

Now with unlimited national long distance calling, and high speed internet, including Wi Fi access (bring your own computer). Linens are available for an economical $150/stay. NC tax is 12.75%. Pet fee is $75/pet,

Keywords: Vacation Home, Four Wheel Drive Area, Wild Horses.

More Details
Hide Details

I live in Maine with my wife and 4 small children whom I have taken, along with two big dogs, to vacation at this house.

Morry or Nina purchased this house in 2003

Beautiful outdoors area with lots of things to do with the family.

This is a great family vacation destination. There are lots of activities in the area, a great, uncrowded beach, and lots of nature.

22 Reviews of Property 184823 in Carova, North Carolina

Oceanfront Getaway, with Hot Tub and Incredible Oceanviews!
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 22 reviews
business
Oceanfront Getaway, with Hot Tub and Incredible Oceanviews!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184823vb
2074391033
Carova Outer Banks
New Jersey
5

Relax, relax, relax............

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2007
  • Stayed: Sep 2007
This house was everything advertised and more. the drive up the beach was long but well worth the trip! Low tide is definatley the best time to travel but I didn't have much trouble having to go up higher on the beach if the tide was coming in. I would suggest if you drive higher on the beach (closer to the dunes) in the softer sand that you do let air out of your tires, 20 psi is plenty to keep you from getting stuck and ALWAYS use 4 wheel drive. I had not taken a vaction in probably 5 years and this was a great way to get back into the swing of things. I am planning on a return trip next year! Also, the 2 individuals over seeing the propery during my stay were terrific, any time I had a question or needed anything they were just a phone call away and they came over within a few hours to deal with any problem or concern. This is a great house to rent if you have a dog(s), a short trip over the dune to the beach and you are at the water. The porches have great views and the steps can be easily blocked off with a baby gate so the pooches can hang out on the deck without escaping into the yard or like mine would have done, if given the chance: Head to the ocean for a swim that they never could get enough of! Terrific place can not say enough good things! Looking forward to my next visit!
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Oceanfront Getaway, with Hot Tub and Incredible Oceanviews!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184823vb
2074391033
Carova Outer Banks
New York
5

Michelle G. (Bainbridge, New York)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a great stay. We were looking for an escape for our harsh New York winter and we found it. The weather was warm and sunny. The house was nicely maintained and in a perfect location to see wild horses. We saw wild horses each day and once they grazed around the house all day! It's just a very short walk over the dunes to the ocean. It is situated in a nice location and our kids loved the 4wd beach driving. We highly recommend this rental home and will come back again!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Oceanfront Getaway, with Hot Tub and Incredible Oceanviews!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184823vb
2074391033
Carova Outer Banks
Bulverde, Tx
2

family vacation

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Great location and nice house but NEEDS ATTENTION! Multiple switches and lights didn't work. I think the pictures of the place are dated, the floor in the pictures are shiny and polished. In reality, very worn and need to be refinished. A walkway to the beach would be fantastic,very difficult to take chairs, cooler without driving.
Blinds in the main kitchen/living rm area to cut down on the heat would be another plus. Would have opened windows on some of the cooler evenings but only a few of the windows had screens.
Needs to be exterminated, we had roaches!!!
Carport is not anything you can drive under, as a matter of fact, someone apparently used the area for their dog to do it's business.
Loft is a waste of space, should have a bed in there vs a table (not needed). Kitchen table seats 6 and island has 4 more seats.
Only one oven rack, no shell crackers for crab.
Had 11 in our party and sleeping was tight to say the least. Pyramid bed does not handle 3 teens (maybe little ones, not teens). Made a bed for one of the kids on the loft floor but not enough linen was supplied, had to ask the manager and she did allow us to take an extra sheet and towel out of a bag in the downstairs closet (no extra pillow case available).
We've traveled quite a bit to various parts of the country, mostly beach vacations and all in all when you consider the cost of the home, for what you receive.....look at another property!
I don't think the owner has seen the place in a very long time, needs some upkeep.
Owner's Response: I am sorry my place did not meet this guest's expectations. However, please note that all the reviewers over the prior 7 years, and subsequent to this guest's stay, gave the home at least a 4 star review, and most gave it five stars.
I do constantly strive to maintain and improve the home, and some of the issues mentioned have already been dealt with. I have added a futon to the loft for more sleeping options, and am looking to have a walkway over the dune. I do visit this home at least annually, and I am in constant contact with my on site caretaker.
As for bugs and electrical issues, this is the first I hear of it, and no subsequent guests (or reviewers) have noted this. There are indigenous bugs (black and tan waterbugs) that come out in the Summer and swarm indoors when doors or windows are left open. They are definitely not roaches, though sometimes confused for them by those unfamiliar with them. Like any well kept coastal home, it gets routine prophylactic pest control treatments.
What ever switches/sockets were not working have already been repaired.
As for doggy-do, that is from the wild horses that roam the area freely.
I do think the blinds are an excellent idea. I used to have some there that were damaged, and I am in the process of having them replaced. I will also make sure that a full complement of screens is provided, though my caretaker felt only one was missing.
Again, I am sorry this guest was less than satisfied and I think they raise some very good points which I am addressing.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Oceanfront Getaway, with Hot Tub and Incredible Oceanviews!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184823vb
2074391033
Carova Outer Banks
Parish Center, New York
4

Breath of fresh air

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family and I enjoyed our stay very much. The beach was beautiful, the house was very comfortable and we seen horses everyday. The only things I would change is that I would like to see a boardwalk over the dune like the neighbors have because we did see some snakes and that made me drive to the beach instead of walking and the roof leaks but all in all it was a great time.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Getaway, with Hot Tub and Incredible Oceanviews!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184823vb
2074391033
Carova Outer Banks
5

Wildlife Beach Safari

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The house was exactly as advertised, and we had a great time. The owner was very helpful. The water at the beach is not as warm as at other North Carolina beaches because of the Labrador Current, although it is my understanding that it can reach the 70's at some points in the summer. If you want warmer water, a day trip to Hatteras - 1.5 hrs down the road - will put you back into the Gulf Stream. However, despite the cooler water, the beach is striking. It is very broad with a wide water swell, which reflects the sky, creating an otherworldly appearance. It is also one of the few places where dogs can be allowed on the beach. The wildlife, including horses, was so abundant that it felt like a safari. We saw porpoises, rays, diving Osprey, and found whole conch shells. The horses were literally in the front yard nearly every morning.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Getaway, with Hot Tub and Incredible Oceanviews!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184823vb
2074391033
Carova Outer Banks
Wauseon, OH
4

Wildlife Paradise

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We are first-timers to this area but not to the Outer Banks.

This home's location is perfect for enjoying the wild horses, deer, and abundant sea life. We saw horses and dolphins every day. It's quiet and a lot more private than other areas of the Outer Banks.

Climbing the dune can be a bit of a challenge, particularly if you have a lot of beach gear to tote along. Fortunately, road access to the beach is close by if you choose to drive instead.

The bedrooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. We had plenty of storage space for clothes, food and other items. The top floor living area has plenty of seating and lighting. We especially enjoyed the upper deck and patio furnishings and the hot tub in the evening, which accommodates 6 comfortably.

The home does have an ocean view but not beach views. There is an abundance of plant life around the home and we enjoyed watching the horses, deer, rabbits, lizards and birds frequent the yard.

The property owner was particularly helpful in answering questions, providing additional information, and seemed genuinely interested in making our stay here wonderful.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Oceanfront Getaway, with Hot Tub and Incredible Oceanviews!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184823vb
2074391033
Carova Outer Banks
5

Best Beach Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I've never rented a home on the beach before and did not know what to expect, but I did conjure visions of what I wanted it to be like and I was NOT disappointed! We invited my family with my 9 yr old nephew, and friends to join us for the week and everyone agreed that this was the best vacation ever! Very relaxing, quiet and tranquil, the uncrowded beach a sheer joy (although plenty of friendly people, think secluded rather than remote), terrific ocean swimming, kayaking and walking. The house was clean, clean, clean, with 2 kitchens that made it so easy for my brother's family in the morning...yet evenings we all gathered to cook upstairs and enjoy each other. Nicely appointed, but not so that you felt that you couldn't relax in it. We thought we would go sight-seeing, eat out, go to the movies, shopping...nah! We chose to stay to ourselves. Although a 10+ mile drive would take you to all those things. My favorite part was all the wildlife that abounds; pods of leaping dolphins, wild horses on the beach and in our backyard, crabs of all sorts, birds galore, only a couple of miles to the National wildlife refuge, and having our much domesticated (and spoiled) dogs with us just made it perfect! I expected to have to leash my dogs on the beach, but it was not necessary and no one complained, and the beach is well patrolled but as long as your dog is under your control they do not interfere. We were prompted by other reviews to bring our own cleaning, paper products, etc...so I did, but there are plenty of pots, pans, dishes, eating and cooking utensils. Also, people did leave left over amenities like dish detergent so we left ours too for others to share. Beach umbrellas and some beach chairs made it easy too. Don't forget bath tissue and soap and laundry detergent. Everyone agreed that the beds were great! A good night's sleep in a comfy bed is paramount for my happiness! I would like to share this advice; when they say let the air out of your tires before driving on the beach (there are NO roads)...let the air out of your tires! Our menfolk were unreasonably resistant to this idea, not having experienced beach driving before they thought it unnecessary with a 4-wheel vehicle. NECESSARY. So ladies, apply pressure to menfolk from the point you leave the road; let out at least 11 lbs in each tire to traverse the beach.
All in all, we were so spoiled by Carova Beach and the house, I don't think we can stay in any other
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Oceanfront Getaway, with Hot Tub and Incredible Oceanviews!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184823vb
2074391033
Carova Outer Banks
5

Best Beach Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I've never rented a home on the beach before and did not know what to expect, but I did conjure visions of what I wanted it to be like and I was NOT disappointed! We invited my family with my 9 yr old nephew, and friends to join us for the week and everyone agreed that this was the best vacation ever! Very relaxing, quiet and tranquil, the uncrowded beach a sheer joy (although plenty of friendly people, think secluded rather than remote), terrific ocean swimming, kayaking and walking. The house was clean, clean, clean, with 2 kitchens that made it so easy for my brother's family in the morning...yet evenings we all gathered to cook upstairs and enjoy each other. Nicely appointed, but not so that you felt that you couldn't relax in it. We thought we would go sight-seeing, eat out, go to the movies, shopping...nah! We chose to stay to ourselves. Although a 10+ mile drive would take you to all those things. My favorite part was all the wildlife that abounds; pods of leaping dolphins, wild horses on the beach and in our backyard, crabs of all sorts, birds galore, only a couple of miles to the National wildlife refuge, and having our much domesticated (and spoiled) dogs with us just made it perfect! I expected to have to leash my dogs on the beach, but it was not necessary and no one complained, and the beach is well patrolled but as long as your dog is under your control they do not interfere. We were prompted by other reviews to bring our own cleaning, paper products, etc...so I did, but there are plenty of pots, pans, dishes, eating and cooking utensils. Also, people did leave left over amenities like dish detergent so we left ours too for others to share. Beach umbrellas and some beach chairs made it easy too. Don't forget bath tissue and soap and laundry detergent. Everyone agreed that the beds were great! A good night's sleep in a comfy bed is paramount for my happiness! I would like to share this advice; when they say let the air out of your tires before driving on the beach (there are NO roads)...let the air out of your tires! Our menfolk were unreasonably resistant to this idea, not having experienced beach driving before they thought it unnecessary with a 4-wheel vehicle. NECESSARY. So ladies, apply pressure to menfolk from the point you leave the road; let out at least 11 lbs in each tire to traverse the beach.
All in all, we were so spoiled by Carova Beach and the house, I don't think we can stay in any other
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Getaway, with Hot Tub and Incredible Oceanviews!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184823vb
2074391033
Carova Outer Banks
Jacksonville
5

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This property was a perfect place for reuniting with our grown children and their families. The photographs of the property do it justice, as far as appearance, but cannot adequately convey how conducive this setting is for relaxing, laughing, reconnecting..... Another review mentioned bringing baby gates. This was a great tip. Our dogs and 10-month-old granddaughter had use of the balconies using a system of gates. Most of our meals came off the grill, with the Corolla farmers market providing fruits, veggies & desserts. At first I did not think to check in both kitchens when I searched for measuring spoons, colanders, cookies sheets, etc. There was a full complement of items for cooking--I just had to search in two places. Other review tips to heed: lower your tire pressure for sand driving and do bring a supply of paper products, garbage bags, soap, detergent,and some basic food items. It is a long drive down the beach, but also we did not want to leave our peaceful seclusion to trek down for supplies. I must say that the drives down the beach were always either scenic, or challenging, or entertaining with the wild ponies and sometimes all of the above. Each sunrise and sunset would find us cresting the dunes to capture the moment. If we had a large amount of gear we would use our SUV & drive around to the beach. We rented a surf board in Corolla and visited the lighthouse while we were there. This rental provides a unique experience and an opportunity to make some memories.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Getaway, with Hot Tub and Incredible Oceanviews!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184823vb
2074391033
Carova Outer Banks
Hartsville, SC
5

Relaxing Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My family and I had a great time! The drive down the beach (must have 4WD) was awesome. The house was clean and had everything we needed. We brought our 2 dogs and they loved it. We put a babygate at the top of the steps to keep them in. Remember to bring your food, paper products, and soaps. It is a long way back to town. The hot tub was great at night, after a day on the beach, unless you get sunburned (ouch) We cooked most of our meals on the grill and went shopping and ate out one day. Visited the Currituck Lighthouse. Mostly, just took it easy. We saw plenty of horses, even while laying out on beach! If you have a 4WD (with high clearance) and want a little something different, this is the place to be!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway