Southwest Harbor studio rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Southwest Harbor Studio Rental Photos and Description
- studio sleeps 3, 1 bath w/shower

'Manset Studio,' newly built and situated in a peaceful wooded setting ,is minutes away from the Seawall area of Acadia Nat'l Park. Tastefully furnished, this second floor studio offers a large deck, full kitchen, and open living area. A new queen-sized bed is located in the built-in sleeping alcove.

The living room has a comfortable, new double futon couch. HDTV, DvD player ,iHome for iphone and ipod are provided. Stairs from the sunny deck lead down to a spacious yard..with Weber grill, picnic table and fire pit (perfect for evening campfires) .. firewood provided ,as are comfortable chairs. There is ample parking . Explore MDI and Acadia National Park from 'Manset Studio' on the free bus service provided by Acadia National Park.

15 Reviews of Property 118810 in Southwest Harbor, Maine

Quiet Wooded Setting near Acadia National Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Quiet Wooded Setting near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118810
207 244-4051
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New York, NY
5

Wonderful vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at Manset Studio during our truly wonderful vacation to Maine! While the studio is attached to the owner's home, we found it to be very private and serene. The owner, Mary, was easily accessible from the time of booking. Her hospitality extended beyond our stay, as she was even kind enough to send me a pair of shoes I left behind!

I'd recommend a vacation to Maine to just about anyone! We had so much fun preparing our own lobster dinner (bought from a lobsterman just down the road), and we found the apartment to have everything we needed. The beauty of Maine and Acadia National Park far exceeded our expectations. So many great memories, many thanks to the owners!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Quiet Wooded Setting near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118810
207 244-4051
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Lovely stay on the Quietside of MDI!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our time at Manset Studio was so happy and relaxing! We enjoyed many of the hiking and carriage trails that Acadia had to offer but were always so glad to come "home" to Manset Studio. It is a very private place with your own side yard, fire pit, and boats. But, we most enjoyed coming back, cooking a meal, having some wine, planning our next days adventures. Mary was incredibly helpful with suggestions on best first day "starter hikes." She gave thoughtful recommendations on restaurants, best lobster (Thurstons), great blueberry pancake breakfast (Sea Biscuits Cafe), desserts (Quietside Cafe). Manset had everything we needed, Mary even provided a basket of supplies... coffee, milk, fruit, cheese and bread... so we could settle in, get our bearings before finding the local market. It was a wonderful location and lovely quiet cabin.
business
Quiet Wooded Setting near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118810
207 244-4051
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Wonderful rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We came to the Manset studio to have our honeymoon and had a wonderful time! The place looks exactly like the pictures on the site, and we found it spotlessly clean, with nice towels, linens and books! The bed is comfy, as is the living-room futon couch. The shower has great pressure and lots of hot water! When we arrived there were brownies and fresh organic berries on the counter and a bottle of nice white wine in the fridge! It was a lovely start to our two-week stay there.

We used the outdoor grill, which was clean and easy to use, as well as the fire-pit in the evenings. (Don't forget the bug spray!)

The location is very quiet, with lots of birds (and a few deer!) all around. Echo lake and Long Pond (for swimming and kayaking) are minutes away by car, as is Wonder Land, where the tide pools are magnificent! We found Southwest Harbor to be more to our liking than Bar Harbor. It doesn't have as many restaurants and shops, but it has a lot less tourists!

I would highly recommends this place, and plan to return!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet Wooded Setting near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118810
207 244-4051
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Very enjoyable stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Manset Studio. The owners were very thoughtful, providing just about everything that one could think of, from a welcome basket with goodies to games and movies and a fully equipped kitchen. The unit is very private, with a yard, fire pit, and grill, and situated down a gravel road well away from the nearby small highway that leads to the beautiful Seawall area of the park. We (a young couple with a baby) would highly recommend it.
business
Quiet Wooded Setting near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118810
207 244-4051
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
5

An ideal place to relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I could not ask for a better place to spent this week of rest. The studio, surrounded by trees, is very peaceful and private, however near everything: village, convenience stores, hiking trails and seashore. Everything is cozy, clean and nothing is missing. The owners are very welcoming and generous. A basket filled with delicacies was waiting for me at my arrival, a delicate attention I truly appreciated. I will definitely come back!
business
Quiet Wooded Setting near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118810
207 244-4051
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

A Peaceful Respite

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
After a somewhat stressful time period, I was able to come to this charming apartment for a time of respite. The apartment is in the treetops with a quiet woodland setting surrounding it. Birds at the feeder and on tree branches right outside the window make it the perfect place to rest and relax. I was greeted with a basket of goodies, and a note welcoming me with the assurance that the owners were nearby for any assistance.

The furnishings are lovely, the kitchen completely furnished with all the necessary cooking supplies, and the apartment in general is cozy, clean, quiet and comfortable. There is wireless capability, a television with DVD player, games, puzzles, and many books! Having been a winter visitor these were wonderful amenities!

Even in winter this island is lovely and there are restaurants and shops open. So, consider the possibility of staying in this lovely apartment in the off season. You will not regret it. However, do not hesitate to stay in this apartment for your stay on Mt. Desert Island in any season, You will not regret it!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Quiet Wooded Setting near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118810
207 244-4051
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Wisconsin
5

This beautiful studio is our "home" in Maine.

This beautiful studio is our "home" in Maine.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My husband and I have stayed in the Manset Studio for six years in July or August (one or two weeks/year), and every single day has been a pleasure. The studio itself is beautifully designed, and furnished. Mary and Tom are perfect hosts. We enjoy boiling up a couple lobsters that we buy from a nearby pound, the studio includes a BIG lobster pot (any anything else you'd want for cooking). We love the nearby Seawall area, the hiking in the Park, the restaurants, and there is an excellent series of chamber music on the Island.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet Wooded Setting near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118810
207 244-4051
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
London, UK
5

Summer scorcher at MDI

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We arrived from the UK to a heatwave on Mount Desert Island which was a bonus for our stay but the buggest bonus was the Manset Studio provided by Tom and Mary. This place is a perfect spot for a couple and although we were only there for 5 nights we would have been happy to stay there muh longer. If you are staying on mount desert island I highly recommend this as a place to stay; it is cosy but spacious with all you could need for a relaxing break.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Quiet Wooded Setting near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118810
207 244-4051
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
5

The Personal Touch

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
While I am not a typical tourist to Mount Desert Island because I have family here, I am a frequent visitor and have stayed at several different rentals in the Southwest Harbor vicinity. This is one of my top picks! I have stayed at Manset Studio on three separate trips and look forward to more. The space is well layed-out as well as beautifully constructed and decorated. The kitchen, while tiny, is fully functional and very well-equipped with designer-quality dishes. The bed nook is cozy and the bed extremely comfortable. The wireless internet works perfectly and the owners now provide satellite tv. The location is private and quiet and there are lovely sunsets and wildlife to be seen from the deck!

Unlike the sterile atmosphere in a lot of rentals, the owners provide lovely, personal touches that make you feel at home, such as a nice selection of teas, fresh flowers or potted plants and lots of wonderful books! Mary goes out of her way to be thoughtful. On one trip I got a stomach bug and she brought soup to my door! I came for Easter another time and since she knows that my young granddaughter is a frequent visitor, she had juice boxes in the fridge and an Easter basket with fruit and candies waiting for us.

If you are a small party, can handle stairs and don't need an in-town location, consider Manset Studio as your home-base on the spectacular Mount Desert Island. It is full of warmth and charm.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Quiet Wooded Setting near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118810
207 244-4051
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
albuquerque
5

Great experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
We enjoyed our stay at the Manset Studio. Mary's gift of cookies, apples, and blueberries made it especially welcoming. Accommodations were roomy for two. Shower worked great. The second floor walkup was fine for us, but people with infirmities might find it challenging. Overall, a great experience and the price was right.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4