Culebra house rental - View from front deck.
View from front deck.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Culebra House Rental Photos and Description
Perfect for 1 or 2 couples. Sleeps 4

Brisas sits on a hillside surrounded by partially shaded decks and interesting succulent gardens. The many windows & glass doors offer spectacular outlooks of the mouth of the harbor & Caribbean Sea and gardens. On clear days, you will see, the mountains of St. Croix on the horizon. From your hammock, through the trees you can see Fullodoza Bay. Vieques is in the distance to the right. The night lights of St. Thomas can be seen peeking through the hills to the east. Mesmerizing views are interrupted by occasional visits of one of the many birds that wing by. You will almost certainly witness hummingbirds gathering nectar from the brightly colored flowers. Full moon rises over the bay are spectacular. Star gazers will not be disappointed on moonless nights. Early birds can catch the sunrise. Owners live on island but not on property, allowing complete privacy. Brisas is private, peaceful, quiet and a nature photographer's dream.

Further description....: Lazy days, kick back, read and enjoy the sights from your perch on the hillside. Enjoy peace & tranquility, while surrounded by picturesque activity. Follow the dreamy sailboats as they come & go from Culebra to St. Croix, St. Thomas and other neighboring islands. Spy on the humming birds & other birds visiting our gardens regularly. From our dipping pool, enjoy osprey and/or hawk soaring in the blue sky above.

Nights are generally quiet. All winter Orion & the Milky Way are prominent in the night sky. Town lights are just far enough away so as not to interfere. Calm nights dive shops may book night dives & water taxi may offer moon lit tours of the bay.

Nothing is far on Culebra, the nearest beach is Punta Soldado, a coral beach & short swim to one of the many colorful reefs that dot Culebra's shoreline.

A 4wheel drive is necessary, standard & automatics are available on the island.

Please call or email for availability. We find that the calendar is not reliable.

More Details
Hide Details

The property is off the road and very private with incredible views and fabulous breezes.

9 Reviews of Property 118328 in Culebra, Puerto Rico

Brisas del Mar - A Private Hideaway with Ocean & Harbor Views
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 9 reviews
business
Brisas del Mar - A Private Hideaway with Ocean & Harbor Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118328
+1 718440 x 1089
Culebra Puerto Rico
Cape Cod
5

Wonderful vacation rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
Brisas del Mar was so much more than we expected. Everything you could possibly need and more. Jane & George were wonderful and always willing to help with a question or suggestion. House is immaculate and the attention to detail in the landscaping & decorative accents is quite clever and lovely. We plan to return as frequently as time and fortune allow.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow, we love that our renters are so generous with their reviews. It is easy to have a nice home when everyone takes such good care of it. We truly appreciate your kind words.
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Brisas del Mar - A Private Hideaway with Ocean & Harbor Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118328
+1 718440 x 1089
Culebra Puerto Rico
Martinsburg, West Virginia
5

Best vacation...ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We were looking for a get-away that was beautiful, tropical, and secluded. We found that, and more at Brisa del Mar.Simply put, we loved the house. Mornings on the deck, having our breakfast and taking in the beautiful harbor view was one of our favorite activities. We enjoyed Zoni beach the best, because of the seclusion. After the beach, we would go onto the dipping pool, which was relaxation personified. The tropical breezes and beautiful landscaping made an early evening in the dipping pool indescribable. Then we would either cook dinner in, and have it on the deck, or go out to one of the restaurants in town. We also have to give kudos to Jane and George for their cd collection, availability, and attention to detail! We cannot wait to return this time next year! Judy and Louis
Owner's Response: We love being able to share our little slice of Culebra with such guest as Judy and Louis. Perfect guest, respectful and appreciative of the beauty od Culebra... What else could we ask for? So glad you enjoyed your stay. Jane and George
business
Brisas del Mar - A Private Hideaway with Ocean & Harbor Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118328
+1 718440 x 1089
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

Lovely Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I planned my recent return to Culebra at the very last minute, and I felt very very fortunate that Jane and George were able to graciously accommodate me! Their home was recommended by a discerning friend who lives on the island, and it absolutely was a relaxing and fun find. Jane and George were thorough in their introduction to the house and gardens, and very laid back owners to rent from. Their home offers everything one might need for cooking, going to the beach, dipping in the pool, listening to music, having movie nights (there was a fun collection of DVDs and books too) and resting well! Brisas is a tranquil place streaming with sunshine and delightful details that you notice more and more as you settle in. There is lovely local art subtly placed inside and out. There was an ample amount of shade on the deck, which is wonderful for me due to my very fair skin. I sat in the dining area overlooking the deck eating breakfast as the sun rose each day, watching the light change on the water and listening to the birds in the garden. The description of the house and grounds is true through and through....I love nature photography, and found myself crouching with my camera around little sculptured carvings, cacti, birds and plants in the gardens! I am thankful to Jane and George for their generosity and great host- and hostessing.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Brisas del Mar - A Private Hideaway with Ocean & Harbor Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118328
+1 718440 x 1089
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

Beautiful view, peaceful wonderful house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We just returned from a lovely 7 days at Brisas del Mar. It was perfectly spacious enough for my family of four - my husband and I in the bedroom adjacent to the deck, and my 10 and 8 year old kids in the 2nd bedroom. They're used to sharing a double bed on vacations, so that was no problem.

The view from the front deck is beautiful, as the photos accurately illustrate. Though an earlier review suggests the living area might be too small for 4 people we didn't find this to be true at all. We were there to spend most of our time snorkeling and hanging out on different beaches so were planning on being out all day. However, one of the kids was sick for part of the week so we ended up spending more time in the house than we expected to, and there was plenty of room. The small dipping pool in the back is fun for small kids, and a nice cool down for adults. The deck in the front is where we would spend much of our time, but we did find the need to go indoors from time to time when the mosquitos came out. The breezes from being up on the side of a hill are the house's best asset - and these breezes kept the few bugs away most of the time. We cooked at home most nights and would definitely recommend Zacos Tacos for a delicious, affordable meal out.

We were happy to be able to use the house's 4 beach chairs, 4 beach towels and a beach bag. The one racket of Culebra I'd say is that the jeep rentals are overpriced, but oh well. We had an amazing time snorkeling right from the beach and saw sea turtles, rays, and a variety of fish. The waves can pick up every once in awhile at Playa Flamenco which can be fun for boogie boarding or just playing. Playa Zoni is gorgeous. All of the beaches were remarkable in the scarcity of people there!

If you are seeking a relaxing vacation in a beautiful spot Culebra is a terrific destination, and Brisas del Mar is a great home base. We can't wait to return some day soon.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Brisas del Mar - A Private Hideaway with Ocean & Harbor Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118328
+1 718440 x 1089
Culebra Puerto Rico
Fort Collins, CO
5

Great Views, relaxing wonderful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We just got back from 9 wonderful days at Brisas del Mar. The house is on a hill with amazing views of the bay and the sea beyond. From the bottom of the hill, the house is hidden from view by wonderful landscaping which makes it feel very private. The house is light and sunny in the morning and cool and shaded in the afternoons. The breezes kept it comfortable all day, even when it was still and hot down below. We spent most of our time at the house on the deck, reading, looking out over the bay and napping. The deck has shady and sunny places for most of the day including a wonderful hammock and a table for 4. But inside was cozy too for playing games at night or curling up with a good book.

The trip started out well when we were met at the airport by Francie who led us to the house in our rented 4x4 (necessary) and showed us around. She was always available if we had a question and was very responsive. We cooked almost all our meals at the house although there are wonderful restaurants close by. But why eat out when there's such a lovely place to eat in?

Culebra is magical with amazing beaches and incredible snorkeling right off shore. We snorkeled at a different beach each day and even right around Christmas, there were seldom many people there. We took a trip to the even smaller island of Culebrita with Sebastian who lives in the pink house on the hill which was also great.

We were looking for a quiet place to escape and relax. That's exactly what we found at Brisas del Mar.
Jane was very responsive to all my questions and helpful with advise as it was our first trip to Culebra. The driveway is very steep (hence the 4 wheel drive) and there are stairs to the house, so it isn't appropriate for those who have trouble with stairs or hills, but otherwise, that just adds to the charm of the house.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Brisas del Mar - A Private Hideaway with Ocean & Harbor Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118328
+1 718440 x 1089
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

Looking forward to next year

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
I have stayed at Brisas for two - three weeks a year for 3 years now, and I'm looking forward to my next trip in February already! We have been going to Culebra for about 15 years now and have stayed mainly in rented houses all around the island. I love Brisas as it is a quiet location, yet near enough to town that you can walk there if you want. I have also found it peaceful, very reasonable, has excellent views and all you need to do your own cooking. George and Jane have been extremely friendly and helpful, and have done a great job of landscaping the area with indigenous flowering plants that make the place look great - echoing other reviews, you need a four wheel drive to get there!

The description given is accurate - it's a well equipped place in a peaceful, quiet location and has two bedrooms. I would think it ideal for one or two people. I feel the living area inside is small for handling 4 people very long, but the deck overlooking the harbor and sea is large and relaxing. One thing to note, if you are an avid TV watcher, don't go there - there is no TV. Entertainment at the house is enjoying the peaceful, quiet surroundings and music, with an occasional video which are supplied if you so desire. Also, books can be checked out at the "new" (3 year old?) library in town. The "dipping pool" I thought would be a joke before I first went there, but have found it a great place to cool down and relax after snorkeling the areas of Culebra and I highly enjoy it. As I stated, I am looking forward to next year and continuing to rent there in the future--
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! We are very fortunate to have Tim as a regular customer and always look forward to his yearly visits. Jane/George
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Brisas del Mar - A Private Hideaway with Ocean & Harbor Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118328
+1 718440 x 1089
Culebra Puerto Rico
Cincinnati, OH
4

peaceful, relaxing, everything you need

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We had a great time. House is clean and well maintained, in a quiet area, and has everything you need. The owners, Jane and George, were quick to respond to questions before we came via email. They live in Culebra during the high season (lucky them!) and were easily accessible if needed. Cost was reasonable compared to other houses we checked out on the island.

The pictures and description were true to life. Loved the view, and the shaded as well as sunny areas of the deck. Very much appreciated the beach umbrella and beach chairs. You DEFINITELY need a four wheel drive vehicle to get to the house, the driveway is steep and rocky. Everything (Dewey, beaches etc) is a short drive away.

I think maybe a bit more info on Culebra could have been provided. We had to look pretty hard for a laundromat, would have been nice to have that info provided with the other material they had on the island. Also we didn't find the clothesline until about halfway through our trip, but otherwise got a great orientation to the house when we first arrived. Finally, there is one gas station, and they get gas once a week on Wednesdays. We think we tapped them out on Saturday when we left, and we didn't even fill our tank completely. Some of these "insider" things would have been nice to include, but obviously didn't make or break the trip! We figured it out and will be prepared for next time.

We would definitely return to Brisas del Mar - if Jane and George ever want to sell, I hope they'll let us know! I almost want to provide a bad review so no one steals "our" house for next year, but just can't lie!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: What a beautiful review! Thank you so much. We aim to please and are happy when we hit the mark. Just as a matter of interest, the second gas station should be back in operation sometime within the next year. Keep your fingers crossed! George and I feel very fortunate to have such a lovely spot on the hill, as well as very lovely guests to enjoy it. If is easy to have a nice place, when everyone is so respectful of it. Thanks again. Jane
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Brisas del Mar - A Private Hideaway with Ocean & Harbor Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118328
+1 718440 x 1089
Culebra Puerto Rico
Millington, NJ
4

Brisas

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
The location is breathtaking and the house has everything you need. You need a four wheel drive to get up the steep driveway, and the water pressure in the shower is low, but the privacy and fabulous views will be worth it. 5 minute drive to best snorkeling beach I've ever experienced (Punta Soldado). Excellent restaurant at Bahia Marina around the corner. Perfect spot for my 11 year old to explore the reefs. Island is small so in 10 minutes you can drive to any of the other beaches, and 5 minutes to town. If you are seeking a get-away-from-it-all vacation, you can't go wrong renting this home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Brisas del Mar - A Private Hideaway with Ocean & Harbor Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118328
+1 718440 x 1089
Culebra Puerto Rico
Boston
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
Brisas del Mar is in a perfect location - away fron the bustle of town, but only a 5 minute drive. You definitely need a 4 wheel drive car to get up the dirt road. After the first time, it is not so bad!

The place is spotless. Very comfortable set up with all you need to have a great vacation. Kitchen is fully set up so you can eat in if you choose. Bed was very comfortable. Both the living area and the bedroom have sliding glass doors, so we always had a breeze and never used the A/C.

George and Jane live on the island so were very available to answer questions. They spend a lot of time on the property (outside) but were very respectful of our privacy.

A perfect house on a wonderful island!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Happy to say we've never had disappointed renters .... and very grateful for this most recent review ...
We live on a boat in Culebra from late November through early April. When we are in Culebra, we take care of the gardening and property maintenance, and are very careful not to approach the property when renters are at home. When we are not on Culebra, we have very friendly and competent people caring for our home. We have had a wide variety of people stay in our house, with multiple repeat customers, many of whom have left nice comments in our guest book and we hope that you will consider us for your next vacation.
Thanks,
George and Jane
Helpful votes: 23/23