Bailey Island cottage rental - Bailey Island North Cabin
Bailey Island North Cabin
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Bailey Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, Studio, 1 Bathroom, Large Sunny Deck.

This small Bailey Island summer cabin sits on a ledge only 75 feet from the ocean. The breathtaking sunrise will cleanse the soul. Watch the lobster boats pass just beyond your reach as the local fishermen head out for the days catch. Observe as they haul up their lobster traps right in front of you. Stroll down over the rocks with your fishing pole in hand and try your luck. As you cast out your line wondering what you'll reel in (striped bass, bluefish, mackerel) you'll soon think, ''This is the way life should be''. Sorry, no pets.

Sit on the deck and relax. Try your luck fishing on the ledges in front of your cabin. Stroll to nearby Land's End and visit the Bronze statue of Elroy Johnson - a Bailey Island fisherman immortalized in bronze. A dedication to all men of the sea. Go shopping at the Land's End Gift Shop located at the tip of the land (be sure to get some of the home made fudge!). Take a scuba lesson, rent a kayak, rent a power boat, charter for a day aboard a real working lobster boat, go offshore fishing for giant bluefin tuna or sharks.

Ride out to Eagle Island, tour the home of world explorer Adm. Perry. Catch a local art show or visit galleries featuring local artists in oil, water or photo art. Bowdoin College is just a 20-30 minute ride. They have a wonderful museum. Don't miss the Maine Maritime Museum in the shipbuilding town of Bath or visit the Maine Railway Museum in Boothbay.

While in Boothbay grab a berth on the 'Balmy Days' and visit Monhegan Island where time has stood still for nearly 100 years. Visit Boothbay Harbor and go for a whale watch on the 'Harbor Princess' and then shop in the many interesting stores on the Harbor. If you get a rainy day - go to Freeport and see the famous L.L. Bean store. Dining on Bailey Island includes the famous Cook's Lobster House, Morse's Cribstone Grill or The Bailey Island General Store.

More Details
Hide Details

37 Reviews of Property 118009 in Bailey Island, Maine

Bold Oceanfront with Breathtaking Views from our North Cabin
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 37 reviews
business
Bold Oceanfront with Breathtaking Views from our North Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118009
+1 2078335337
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Worcester MA
5

Really sweet retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
We rented this tiny little cottage on the tip of Bailey Island last summer and had a week of gorgeous sunrises, peaceful afternoons, great food and lots of reading. The cottage is very basic and small, one room with a small shower and bathroom, but it has everything a couple needs. Take the boat trip out in Casco Bay...go into Portland on a rainy afternoon...this is a great place to get away from it all!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Bold Oceanfront with Breathtaking Views from our North Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118009
+1 2078335337
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Bowie
5

The Best Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This year was our 2nd visit to this cottage. It's just a pretty little place, very comfortable with everything you need. The view is spectacular, very peaceful and serene. The owners are great. The cottage is always clean, and everything is so well taken care of, and so were we as guests. There's so much to see and do in this area, you never have to leave the island....or there are day trips in every direction to fill your days with everything "Maine"! Just a great place to visit, and this is a wonderful place to stay! My husband and I would definitely recommend it, and have, to our friends and relatives!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bold Oceanfront with Breathtaking Views from our North Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118009
+1 2078335337
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Perfect Get Away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We accidentally found this little cottage on a spur of the moment search for a quick vacation spot. What a find! Beautiful sunrises and sunsets....inspiring views Secluded and private yet near many lovely restaurants. We both loved this cozy place and had a great week. We even got engaged here! We'll be back to relive the memories. Thank You so much.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bold Oceanfront with Breathtaking Views from our North Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118009
+1 2078335337
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Quiet New England Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We were looking for the following requirements for our vacation: quiet, New England, private, romantic, peaceful, ocean view. All of those requirements were met in this cozy cottage by the sea. If you are looking for a peaceful retreat within reasonable distance to conveniences but no where close to commericialism then this is the place for you. We were sad to leave this magical little cottage on the magical little island. We will never forget our wonderful week there.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bold Oceanfront with Breathtaking Views from our North Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118009
+1 2078335337
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Massachusetts
5

A great getaway on a wonderful getaway island.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The cottage was everything we expected. Right on the rocks overlooking the Atlantic, this little gem has killer views. Clean, bright and funky with everything one would need in a cozy retreat. All the coastal Maine "action" is only a short drive away...And the WiFi works!
My recommendation would be...Rent it...Stay for a week and take lots of pictures.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review! Remember to book early for next year - we'd hate for you to miss out!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Bold Oceanfront with Breathtaking Views from our North Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118009
+1 2078335337
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
England
4

Wonderful spot

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
The cabin was small but beautifully formed and the outside views, smells and sounds were wonderful.
Our overall stay could have been improved by having more information about the area eg where to eat, where to visit, nearest supermarket etc.
The owners could put a bit more effort into this kind of thing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Bold Oceanfront with Breathtaking Views from our North Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118009
+1 2078335337
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
mason, oh
5

Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
The North Cabin is a little piece of heaven - the views are incredible, the area peaceful...the cabin was very well equipped, clean and nicely decorated.

Two things that I would suggest:
Maybe a light on the wall by the sofa bed - hard to read in that area - also would suggest putting some non-slip strips in the shower - it was very slippery and it was a bit for my mom to handle.

I would definitely come back to this spot -
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Bold Oceanfront with Breathtaking Views from our North Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118009
+1 2078335337
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Pownal, Maine
5

Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Our week at the little cabin far exceeded our expectations. All details had been carefully thought out and the place was immaculate. The crashing waves, dramatic views and continuous lobster boats passing by where highlights every day. Although, the weather did not cooperate most of the week, we could hardly complain with so much peace and beauty all around us. We hope to return next year and would recommend this cabin highly to those looking for a little serenity. D&J
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Bold Oceanfront with Breathtaking Views from our North Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118009
+1 2078335337
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Hendersonville, NC
4

Great view!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
The property was comfortable and well equipped. It is close to a variety of restaurants and scenic drives.

The owners were helpful when needed and unobtrusive when not.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Bold Oceanfront with Breathtaking Views from our North Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118009
+1 2078335337
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2006
  • Stayed: Sep 2006
We got here at night - black outside, but we could hear the waves. What a delight in the AM looking out and seeing how close we were to the water!!A few days of bad weather - then... glorious sun!A relaxing week and a wonderful place to visit. Thanks!(South Cabin)
Helpful votes: 2/2