Manchester apartment rental - Main House - Skinner 'Cottage' - Winter
Main House - Skinner 'Cottage' - Winter
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Manchester Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment 2 bedrooms Carriage House 1 bedroom Both kitchen bathroom family room

The beautiful and historic Skinner Cottage (1802), home to Richard Skinner, the 9th Governor of Vermont, is very close to - just two doors from - the famous Equinox Hotel and Resort in the picturesque village of Manchester, Vermont.

The entire third floor 1,200 sq feet of the Cottage has its own entrance and is a lovely, characteristically-VT (greens, reds and wood), clean, comfortable and private two-bedroom suite with a private bathroom, eat-in kitchen, family room with a cozy stove, and lovely window seat with views over Vermont's most quintesential Main Street.

The Carriage House is a separate 800 sq foot 2nd floor clean, comfortable, private, more updated (yet still Vermont in character) 1-bedroom apartment with a private bathroom, eat-in kitchen, family room with a cozy stove, and looks over a newly landscaped garden with mountain views.

The Cottage Apartment-Suite and Carriage-House Apartment-Suite are equipped with all linens, tableware, air conditioning, standard cable TV and free internet.

Stroll along the historic marble walkway and visit the numerous shops, restaurants and various points of interest in this wonderful four season resort community.

I recommend you take a 'Google' at the house: ...: You can quickly take a look at this beautiful house ... by entering Google Maps (in your search), entering '3505 Main St, Manchester, VT 05254', clicking on 'more' and 'street view' ... this way you can see the fantastic, quintesential Vermont village location near the Equinox Resort Hotel ... the beauty of the property and the street ... even 'walk up and down the street' on the site ... there are also some lovely high resolution photographs all within 100 yards of, or right outside, the house.

Brief history of the house - Skinner family:: Richard and Mary Skinner originally built the Skinner Cottage in 1802. Richard was a probate judge in Manchester, Vermont. The courthouse where he served is within walking distance of the house opposite the Equinox Hotel and Resort. Richard Skinner was later elected to the US Congress, was the 9th governor of Vermont and subsequently served as the State’s Chief Justice.

The Skinner family included a son Mark who became famous in his own right as an eminent citizen and public servant in Chicago and in whose name a public school is named to this day in recognition of his leadership setting up the Chicago public school and library system. It is Mark’s daughter who funded, in Mark’s honor, Manchester town’s public library to the left of the house, shortly past the Equinox Hotel and Resort, on the street junction.

Brief history of the house - Pew through Taylors: More recently (since the early 1900’s) the Pew family were decades long owners of the “Skinner Cottage”. Mary Ethel Pew was one of four children of the founder of Sunoco. She and her siblings founded the nationally and internationally influential Pew Charitable Trusts, a NGO founded in 1948 and now a multi-billion dollar philanthropic foundation whose mission is to serve the public interest, improve public policy and civic life.

The house has since had few owners. Ms Newhouse who did much to renovate this historic mansion (and others on Main Street), a caterer who enlarged the rear of the house, and a headmaster and his wife, who previously owned the Ethan Allen Inn nearby Arlington.

The house is designated historic by the Manchester Historical Society, within the Manchester Village Historic District, which was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.

The current owners of Skinner Cottage, the Taylor family, have a decades long relationship with Manchester.

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 117547 in Manchester, Vermont

Two Clean, Comfortable, Private Suites Next to Equinox Hotel and Resort
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 10 reviews
business
Two Clean, Comfortable, Private Suites Next to Equinox Hotel and Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117547
+1 917 6897907
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Vermont Get-Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We loved our stay at the Skinner Cottage. The accommodations were perfect: clean, comfortable and cozy! We were provided excellent service and I would recommend this to anyone looking for a nice getaway. We enjoyed the area and had plenty to do and see. Nice shopping, nice hikes, nice atmosphere, very regenerating. Loved it, thanks!
business
Two Clean, Comfortable, Private Suites Next to Equinox Hotel and Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117547
+1 917 6897907
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Another great thanksgiving at Skinner Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Second year that we rented the Skinner Cottage for Thanksgiving, it was beautiful and clean and everything we expected. A great value in a beautiful setting. Thank You and we will see you soon.
business
Two Clean, Comfortable, Private Suites Next to Equinox Hotel and Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117547
+1 917 6897907
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

The apartments are great

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Thanks again for a nice space. It is lovely.
business
Two Clean, Comfortable, Private Suites Next to Equinox Hotel and Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117547
+1 917 6897907
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Boston
1

2 bedroom unit is an absolute dump

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The 2 bedroom rental unit in the back of the house was an overpriced dump. Virtually no hot water, a trickle of a shower, and limited cable. It was so dusty it triggered both my husband's and son's allergies. It appears as though nothing - including the sheets and towels - have been updated for 30 years. A disgrace!
Owner's Response: We've never received this kind of feedback. Our 2-bedroom rental is the full 3rd floor of our house. Everyone's been very positive (over 50 guests each year) about the atmosphere, cleanliness, location and large apartment size for the cost. This is the only time a tenant complained about water heat or pressure. The cable is standard (and we have free internet). The apartment is cleaned professionally (and, as to allergies, we don't allow pets). We have added new sheets, comforters and towels. My and our house-keeper/manager's phone and pager numbers are in the apartment so we can resolve any issues that may arise for guests. This guest did not call us. (We also subsequently found out this family damaged one of our couches -- which we have since replaced.)
Update: Since this review the apartment has been upgraded, including repainting, and new living room furniture, carpets, curtains and stove.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Two Clean, Comfortable, Private Suites Next to Equinox Hotel and Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117547
+1 917 6897907
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

We had a great time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
A roomy, very well kept suite in the heart of Manchester.Wonderful value. Looking forward to our next stay.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Two Clean, Comfortable, Private Suites Next to Equinox Hotel and Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117547
+1 917 6897907
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Excellent value and perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
The accommodations were perfect. Just as described. We will be happy to use this rental property again in the future.
business
Two Clean, Comfortable, Private Suites Next to Equinox Hotel and Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117547
+1 917 6897907
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
NYC
5

love this place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I stayed in the third floor apt of the Skinner House while in Manchester on business. I was totally happy with the location, condition of the apt and thought the value was incredible. The yard was amazing, the apt was immaculate and there was plenty of space for 3 adults. Reliable wireless internet was very important to me on this trip and unlike many moderate to expensive hotels, we had no problem at all connecting. I travel to Manchester a few times per year and would absolutely return to the Skinner House!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Two Clean, Comfortable, Private Suites Next to Equinox Hotel and Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117547
+1 917 6897907
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Philadelphia
5

Great Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
Stayed here for a week with my wife and 2 teenagers. This apartment has almost everything you could ask for, large rooms, very clean, short walk to town center, close to ski areas and great resturants. I say almost because thers no on site laundry. The best asset to this great apartment are Sandy & Ray the owners who live down stairs. They made our stay great with helpful hints on things to do, see and places to eat. We all loved it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Two Clean, Comfortable, Private Suites Next to Equinox Hotel and Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117547
+1 917 6897907
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Sacramento, California
5

Great Place, Great Owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
Stayed there during the fall colors. Very nice place and great owners. Clean, nice and warm. They new the best places to eat and what to see besides the fall colors.
Would definitely recommend this to fellow travelers. Plenty of room to spread out with two couples.
Would like the second bedroom which is a twin room made into a king when you know you have two couples staying there. It can always be moved back for two kids.
Just keep that in mind.
kathy
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Two Clean, Comfortable, Private Suites Next to Equinox Hotel and Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117547
+1 917 6897907
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
South Hadley, MA
5

great family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
My husband and I with our 2 kids stayed for 6 nights and had a wonderful time. The apartment was a great size and had everything we needed. It was very clean. The location was great and the owners (who lived downstairs) were extremely helpful and gratious. They even gave us a list of ideas for things to do that weren't in the usual travel books which made our experience there unique.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3