Ocala cottage rental - Front Porch & Den Facing lake
Front Porch & Den Facing lake
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Ocala Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1Bdrm, 1Ba, Big Den

Totally charming and well-maintained, this cozy cottage is in a wonderful lakefront setting with 300 feet of shoreline outside your door. With a substantial dock, clean beach, and a concrete boat ramp, you can enjoy this spring-fed natural lake.

The cottage's interior boasts hand-finished tongue and groove pine paneling, and every room has a view of Miles Kale Lake!! A breezy screened porch overlooks this special place as well. This sand-bottom lake is clean and wonderful for fishing, swimming, and boating. Our whole family learned to ski here.

Exactly half-way between Ocala and Gainesville, you can be in either city or Palatka in 30 minutes for dining, shopping, entertainment, cultural events, or health care. Or, drive 55 minutes to Daytona Beach, or less than 2 hours to Disney attractions. This serene setting is for those who like to be close to nature with the advantages of cities nearby.

Great summertime place for the family - you commute to Gainesville or Ocala or P

Fantastic winter haven from the frigid north!! Wonderful Central Florida retreat for retired couples or family who are sick of go-go attractions.

Centrally located: this wonderful lake home is centrally located between Ocala, Gainesville, and Palatka, Florida. it is one mile from the intersection of Marion County Roads 318 and 315.

OTHER OPTIONS: I have two other homeawayc.om lakefront properties: Listing/property ID 127321 on the acre next door and Listing/property ID 910353 on the next lake over. Both of these listings are larger homes with many fine amenities as well. All 3 are close in case you wish to have a large group or family reunion.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 117133 in Ocala, Florida

Lakefront Cottage Near Forest & Cities
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
business
Lakefront Cottage Near Forest & Cities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117133
214-884-8894
Ocala North Central Florida
5

Beautiful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was perfect for my husband and myself along with our Boston Terrier. We were visiting his niece and nephew in Ocala. We even hosted them at the cottage for a day! Everything we needed was provided. We'll definitely co e back when we come down again from Ohio.
Owner's Response: Super!! Thanks!!
business
Lakefront Cottage Near Forest & Cities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117133
214-884-8894
Ocala North Central Florida
5

Peace and quiet...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We loved the little brown cabin on the lake. We were looking for a getaway, and we found it. It was clean, peaceful, quiet and all we needed to relax. We loved canoeing on the lake and just sitting on the dock. We will definitely be back!
Owner's Response: Much thanks... That is our objective.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Lakefront Cottage Near Forest & Cities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117133
214-884-8894
Ocala North Central Florida
5

Relaxing Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This cottage is perfect if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway. The size of the cottage is just right for a small family, and it is fully equipped with everything you need from the kitchen to the washer & dryer. As soon as we arrived, my kids insisted on going out on the lake in the canoe. My daughter was fascinated by the lily pads in the lake. I enjoyed just sitting out on the dock in the sunshine listening to the birds. It was nice to be able to cook meals in the kitchen; it is stocked with very nice cookware and dishes. During our stay, we went snorkeling, horseback riding, and to the local speedway. All of these places were about 30 minutes away, which isn't bad considering the serenity of being away from it all. Also, the owner is extremely helpful and will provide you with all the information you need, including a map, things to bring, instructions for the water heater, Wifi, etc. He is very responsive to inquiries and it's obvious he cares about the comfort of his guests. I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone!
Owner's Response: Thank you. Happy guests are my objective.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Lakefront Cottage Near Forest & Cities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117133
214-884-8894
Ocala North Central Florida
Dade City ( Ridge Manor ) Florida
4

Little Brown Cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Thank you for great hospitality and a wonderful stay. The cottage was neat and clean, and much more spacious than the pictures indicated. The central AC/Heat worked well even though it was unusually cold outside for Florida. The small lake is down, but quite pretty. We definitely hope to return soon!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Lakefront Cottage Near Forest & Cities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117133
214-884-8894
Ocala North Central Florida
Wimauma, Florida, USA
5

Very clean and well kept

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My stay was extremely pleasant and enjoyable. The home was very well kept and maintained. Everything that one would need was on hand except the (food) lol. Would go back again. Great place to just get away and relax.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words ...... we work hard to make the visits special.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lakefront Cottage Near Forest & Cities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117133
214-884-8894
Ocala North Central Florida
Canada
4

Lakeside cottage in central Florida

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We enjoyed our month in this rustic cottage by a small lake in central Florida. The cottage is very comfortable, with spacious rooms and very good furniture, and very good kitchen equipment. It is in a lovely setting under a lot of old oak trees - lots of atmosphere and birdlife. It has a screened porch facing the lake, which is very nice for sitting outside. It has a good quality washer and dryer, plus an outside clothesline. The cottage is also very clean. We were very comfortable and enjoyed the quiet setting. The cottage has a landline phone, so it did not matter that we did not usually have cellphone coverage.
The one problem is that the internet service is not reliable or adequate. We could do our email, by waiting until there was enough signal to send messages, but we could not do financial or booking transactions as the service kept dropping and then resuming and dropping and then resuming. It is not possible to download movies, for example, or even to surf for information enjoyably, as it takes so long to bring in a web page and more often than not the service drops in the middle of the download. We called the internet service provider, but they just said that it was the location.
Aside from that, we liked the cottage a lot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased that my guests love the lake, the comfortable, well-equipped cabin and the setting in nature. Folks in this lake region were ecstatic to get digital Internet access a year ago!! For years it only "dial up" was available. The Internet service for this cabin comes from the larger cottage next door and is WiFi. The signal is sifficient for email and normal transactions. It works best in the family room. I installed a booster in the closest spot to this cabin to try and increase the signal. Being a rural setting, the economies of providing super high speed streaming do not exist. Besides, the purpose of this setting is to get away from it all. All in all, it is fantastic!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Lakefront Cottage Near Forest & Cities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117133
214-884-8894
Ocala North Central Florida
Maine
5

Just Like Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We are experience house renters in Florida and were looking for a long stay prpoperty that would replicate our rural everyday home. We were looking for a property that would allow our dog to travel with us and invite the comfort of our everyday life. The little brown cabin has this ambiance and the grounds and neighborhood provided that "just like home" feeling. The cabin has just enough room, bedroom, storage, laundry, etc. The beds are comfortable (an issue we have had with other homes we have rented), in fact was a determining factor in our interest in renting. We were not so much interested in many of the local attractions but they are plentiful. It was fun to explore Gainesville and Ocala/Silver Springs. We made it to Palatka twice as well. While it is a drive to get to many locations it is pleasant not to be in heavy traffic all the time. We enjoyed the very small enclave of Orange Springs and my husband loved the Backyard Barbeque restaurant that was about 8 miles away. Our month long stay was only marred by the very cold 2010 winter that Florida experienced. My fished everyday to no avail - in fact the worms froze one night. Mr. Wynne is the most wonderful host - his information, communication and concern for his guest is both personable and very professional. all in all, our stay felt just like home and if I had not become ill later in 2010 we would have looked to repeat our stay in 2011.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lakefront Cottage Near Forest & Cities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117133
214-884-8894
Ocala North Central Florida
Gravenhurst, Ontario, Canada
5

"A Surprise a Day" at the Little Brown Cottage

"A Surprise a Day" at the Little Brown Cottage
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
On arrival, we fell in love with the property before we even went inside. The overhanging oaks, the lake and the water’s edge, and the wooded areas at the sides made for peaceful surroundings. These features also attracted the birds which we hoped to see.

During our 3-week stay, we saw four types of woodpeckers, sand hill cranes (even performing their dance!), eastern bluebirds, cardinals, kingfisher, ibises, great blue heron, and a first for us, a snowy egret wearing his yellow rubber boots – just some of the daily surprises we enjoyed.

Inside appears rustic, but has all you need for comfort. The beds were a joy to go to each night. The kitchen was well equipped for everyday cooking, and then some. The décor is charming with thoughtful touches – no sterile feeling here. We loved the shower, although someone taller than 5’10 might be cramped. Like Goldilocks, we thought it was “just right”.

We did take drinking water, but did not find the minimal odour of the well-water an issue for showering, doing dishes, or laundry.

Florida experienced a cold period while we were there, so we did not swim in the lake. The lake was very low. There were lots of water toys, but we stuck to the binoculars and the camera. There were fishermen regularly plying the waters.

We enjoyed the Orange Springs Restaurant and recommend it. It’s casual and friendly. A real find was the Lazy River Cruise near Dunnellon on Hwy 200, leaving from Stumpknockers Restaurant. It’s about an hour from the cabin. Make a dinner reservation for after your cruise. It’s great. One more find when you are checking out the springs east of Ocala is Sparky’s Restaurant in Astor. Lots of interesting items on the menu, and great pizza.

We swam in Alexander Springs and enjoyed watching a pair of river otters at play and fishing for their dinner. We found birds in numerous spots including the Kenwood Recreation Area,a boat launch into the Rodman Reservoir. Bass fishermen and women no doubt know about its reputation as a place to catch the big ones. If you go, stop on the roadside and admire the animals in the game farm, and the long-horned cattle.

We recommend you arrive by daylight, and use the owner’s directions, not your GPS.

You could not deal with a more helpful and accommodating owner. He initially endeared himself to us by responding to our inquiry promptly. His info packet was most helpful. Our fond hope is that we will be able to stay another time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Great guests from north of the border, and I am glad they enjoyed the nature the area has to offer
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lakefront Cottage Near Forest & Cities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117133
214-884-8894
Ocala North Central Florida
Land O Lakes, FL
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My husband, myself, and our two children ages 14 and 11 stayed at the Little Brown Cabin for a week and had a very relaxing time. The location is very quiet and the lake was the perfect size for lounging, swimming, and canoeing. The cabin was also the perfect size for us. The only drawbacks we could find were the smell of the water and the shower was a bit small; my husband is a larger man and had a very hard time fitting in the shower. All in all we had a great time! This is a perfect vacation if you just want to relax and spend time tgether as a family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I apprecate the fine comments. I pride myself in provinding a clean, well-appointed lake place with many amenities in what appears to be a rustic cabin, yet it is very comfortable with upscale bedding and all the conforts of home. The outdoors are wonderful. Being in a rural setting near many underground springs, the well water is pungent and full of minerals and sulfur. That is why I encourage guests to bring bottled water to drink. While the spring water is healthy, it does have an odor.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lakefront Cottage Near Forest & Cities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117133
214-884-8894
Ocala North Central Florida
port charlotte fl
5

TIME BY THE LAKE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
We rented the house for too weeks and were very happy with the house.nice setting close enough to be far enough
away from work.
there was a lot to see and do around that aerea alot of springs to swim in some good places to go biking around eg palatka welaka silver springs.
the owner was very helpful and his cleaner was heplful too
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6