Malibu cottage rental - Ocean View from Cottage Master Bedroom
Ocean View from Cottage Master Bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Malibu Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5)

Feel your spirit soar as you gaze out the floor-to-ceiling windows of our house - a charming beach cottage (1000 square feet) located on Latigo Shore, a private beach in the heart of Malibu. Sip your morning coffee on the upper deck while watching dolphins, whales, and seals frolic in the surf.

At low tide, you can explore the tide pools just outside your door. Catch a few waves on surfboard or boogieboard when the tide rolls in, or take a walk to Paradise Cove Beach Cafe and back.

Our darling beach house is located at the end of a private road, well off Pacific Coast Highway. This offers privacy, easy parking, and plenty of serenity. It has been newly remodeled and features a sparkling new kitchen, a dreamy master bedroom with a California King bed and sliding glass doors that open to a sweeping ocean view. At night you can enjoy the twinkling lights of Santa Monica. Directly across the bay you can see Catalina Island.

A second bedroom has a Queen bed and a twin bed with direct access to a darling enclosed patio. The home also has a single car garage, cable television and wireless internet connection. You will often dine outdoors in the large private patio, complete with outdoor dining table, chairs, and gas barbecue. A heated shower on the lower deck allows you to rinse off the beach before heading inside.

Gorgeous tide pools, surfing, and sea kayaking are awaiting you, just steps from your door. Nearby you will find many fine restaurants, chic shopping, a movie theatre, and adventurous hiking. (Solstice State Park is less than a mile, with its historic trails and waterfall.)

Whether you are a couple looking for a romantic getaway or a family of four looking for some fun in the sun, our Malibu beach house offers something for everyone. You will not be disappointed when you step back to old Malibu, when cottages, not mansions, were the accepted standard for Hollywood stars who wanted to 'get away'!

Keywords: Vacation Beach Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

This property was owned by my grandparents for many years and where I grew up going to the beach. It is still owned by the family and enjoyed by 10 grandchildren and 20 great-grandchildren when not in use by our guests.

If you are looking for a peaceful, cozy location, this is it. The property is not fussy or overly commercial. We make every effort for you to feel truly at home in our home. It is not ostentatious, but it is wonderfully soothing and relaxing. You may even find that you don't want to leave the beach for any side adventures you had planned, instead, opting for relaxing days enjoying the sound of the waves, soft breeze and peaceful rejuvenation the beach always brings.

We are near the end of a dead end road, so there is no traffic. The parking is easy and the neighborhood safe.

6 Reviews of Property 116837 in Malibu, California

Oceanfront Malibu Beach Cottage on Private Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Oceanfront Malibu Beach Cottage on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116837vbi
+1 (760) 644-8040 (California, USA)
Malibu Los Angeles County
United States
5

love this cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
this is our second time renting this cottage .There is a very comfortable ,at home , feeling to the cottage. The location is perfect . The cottage was very clean and had everything necessary for a great vacation .We had an opportunity to meet the owners which was a nice surprise. They are lovely people and Heidi is so helpful and easy going . My family and I love our time here . We are from the east coast and really enjoy having the ocean on the other side !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Malibu Beach Cottage on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116837vbi
+1 (760) 644-8040 (California, USA)
Malibu Los Angeles County
Hong Kong
5

Malibu

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The house was delightful and comfortably appointed and we had a wonderful stay at the beach. It was a pleasure to interact with the owners who were extremely helpful and even the neighbors were friendly to us and our kids. We would gladly return and highly recommend the property to anyone looking for a quiet beach getaway.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Malibu Beach Cottage on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116837vbi
+1 (760) 644-8040 (California, USA)
Malibu Los Angeles County
Melbourne
5

Wonderful cottage by the sea

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The cottage was right on the waters edge with wonderful ocean views. In a quiet and secluded street, we found that it provided us with everything we needed. We shall certainly return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Malibu Beach Cottage on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116837vbi
+1 (760) 644-8040 (California, USA)
Malibu Los Angeles County
Dallas, Texas
5

Could have stayed all summer!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was the cutest little beach cottage. It was also very comfortable for our family of 4, and very well stocked with beach toys, beach chairs, beach towels, really everything we needed inside as well.

The absolute best part about it though is the location on the beach. As soon as you open the front door, you can see the ocean right out the sliding glass doors of the living room. That's just heaven on earth to me! We kept the doors to the living room and master bedroom open the entire time we were there. The sound of the ocean was so soothing! The beach was really nice and there was always plenty of room to set up chairs on the beach. It's a very long beach with lots of great sea life to watch so we took long walks every morning and watched the surfers and paddle boarders in the afternoon.

It's located on a fairly private beach so there wasn't a lot of activity, and it's in a great location in Malibu since many beach houses are right off the Pacific Coast Highway, but you turn off the highway down another street until it dead ends to get to this house. It felt very peaceful. We also loved Malibu and can't wait to go back to both Malibu and this house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We would love to have you back!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Malibu Beach Cottage on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116837vbi
+1 (760) 644-8040 (California, USA)
Malibu Los Angeles County
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
5

Don't Hesitate

Don't Hesitate
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
What an awesome cottage...everything you need for a perfect holiday. The home is on a quiet road off the busy highway so all you hear to lull you to sleep are the crashing waves! The cottage is perfect for a family of four. The kids loved the beach and exploring the tide pools...and the adults loved being able to watch them from the private sunny deck while enjoying a cup of coffee or glass of wine. There is a great surf break right outside the cottage so if you're a surfer bring your board and wetsuit! A true gem...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We hope you can come again sometime!
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Oceanfront Malibu Beach Cottage on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116837vbi
+1 (760) 644-8040 (California, USA)
Malibu Los Angeles County
Ramona, Ca
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
What a fabulous experience! The views are breathtaking & it was so amazing to see the pod of dolphins swimming by every morning. My kids had an amazing experience exploring in the tide pools & boogie boarding. Waking up every morning to sip coffee & watch the sunrise & cocktails while the sun set were highlights of our stay. Everything was just as stated & our stay was everything we had hoped it would be. We will definately be back :)
Helpful votes: 4/5