The owners are very nice and made an effort to address some of our needs. But nevertheless, in our opinion, the the unit is over priced. Here's what we encountered.
The unit is new, clean and well built. It's a nice neighborhood and close to the beach...a 5 minute, pleasant walk. Kailua bay beach is one of the nicer beaches on the Island.
1) The property is right on the corner of a very busy street. If you're sensitive to traffic noise, this is not the right place for you. We slept with ear plugs.
2) The DVD player doesn't work. Neither we nor the owner could get it to work.
3) At 6:30 A.M. on Sunday morning, we were awakened by the sound of the washing machine, just below our bedroom. I had to get dressed and go ask the owner to shut it off so that we could get a bit more sleep.
4) Please read the contract carefully. There are a couple of zingers that we didn't notice.
a. Check out time is 10:00 A.M. We've visited hundreds of hotels, inns and guest houses around the world and have never been asked to vacate at 10:00 in the morning.
b. There's a substantial "cleaning fee" which much higher than many other VRBO and seems particularly excessive for a unit that small. So be sure to figure that into the nightly rate.
Owner's Response: Our unit was designed with double glazed windows to minimize street noise and we are sorry this was not sufficient.
Our check out time is printed in bold and appears just above the signature line on our contract. The cleaning charge is clearly shown on the contract and we are again, sorry this information was apparently overlooked by the renter when he signed and returned the contract.
Our unit does not come with a VCR but when upon arrival they asked for one, we offered one we no longer use and were not sure worked. We tried to accommodate their request and am sorry it did not work.
We try very hard to make sure our guests enjoy their stay in Kailua and are disappointed their stay was less than perfect.
Did you find this review helpful?