Kailua Kona apartment rental - Outside sitting and eating area
Outside sitting and eating area
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Kailua Kona Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom with King size bed, living and kitchen area, full bathroom.

Ginger Hale, is a brand new, professionally designed, custom built, very private high-end, one bedroom upstairs apartment. You have your own private motorized entrance gate that leads to your off-street parking and apartment entrance. Ginger Hale is located beachside Kailua 80 steps to the beach access.

You will find a new dishwasher, washer and dryer, and cooktop plus a full-sized refrigerator. Your private garden sitting area is complete with eating area a Weber gas grill.

We provide your paper goods, detergents, beach towels, hair dryer all you need is your bathing suit and sunscreen. Come for a visit.

Keywords: One bedroom apartment

30 Reviews of Property 11678 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

New-custom built, near the beach, perfect for couples, private
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 30 reviews
business
New-custom built, near the beach, perfect for couples, private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p11678vbi
(808) 778-5312
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

What a great decision...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
When I was first searching VRBO for a Kailua rental, everything I looked at early on was already booked well past our travel dates -- what to do? Trying not to panic, I decided to continue on down the list and finally found Ginger Hale. Communications with Susy were easy and professional, always a good sign. But when we actually arrived, we were just simply knocked out! The apartment was exactly as shown (except even better in person), spotlessly clean, attractive and very comfortable (major good bed!!!). At night we could hear the surf through the bedroom window, which was lovely. With this as our base, we went easily all over the island and felt so comfortable with the secure parking for our rental car. My sister, who lives in Honolulu and is VERY picky, was really impressed when she came to see where we were staying. We barely heard Susy and John -- we might as well have been on the property alone, including our own private patio. What a treat -- we would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend it to one and all...Mahalo, Susy and John!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New-custom built, near the beach, perfect for couples, private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p11678vbi
(808) 778-5312
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Boulder, Colorado
5

Our stay at Ginger Hale in Kailua, HI

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Ginger Hale was beautiful, clean and the perfect to retreat to after a day at the beach or exploring the island. Our host was very gracious and all of our questions and concerns were quickly addressed. We loved being so close to the beach and yet so close to downtown Kailua. The bed was amazingly comfortable and amenities were good. We would highly recommend this apartment. We were there for two weeks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New-custom built, near the beach, perfect for couples, private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p11678vbi
(808) 778-5312
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Eugene, Oregon
5

Ginger Hale

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband and I rented this apartment in Kailua to be near my daughter and her family, so the location was perfect for us! The apartment was delightful - comfortable bed and a nice kitchen area to prepare meals. It is a very short walk to the beach. I have already recommended this rental to several friends even though I was tempted to keep it my "secret place"!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New-custom built, near the beach, perfect for couples, private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p11678vbi
(808) 778-5312
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Kailua comfort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a great time. Jon and Susy made us feel right at home and the pineapple and coffee were top notch. The apartment was immaculate and fully equipped. So comfortable and close to the beach.

There's a little street noise but it's mostly muffled by the windows and blinds (and the sound of the surf) and the bedroom is away from the street, which also helps. The street is the main beach road so a little noise is to be expected. Everything else was perfect.

The nearby beaches are among the best we've ever visited and the path is less than a block away. Kailua town is great with a variety of shops and eateries barely a 5 minute drive. Nearby Hoomaluhia Botanical Gardens and the mountains are georgeous. Hard to believe you're just about 20 min. from Honolulu.

We'd stay here again and recommend it to friends and family...and already have.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
New-custom built, near the beach, perfect for couples, private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p11678vbi
(808) 778-5312
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Just lovely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Ginger Hale was great.The apartment was beautiful and comfortable.Beach proximity, ideal. A wonderful vacation!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
New-custom built, near the beach, perfect for couples, private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p11678vbi
(808) 778-5312
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Kauai, HI
2

Traffic Noise

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The owners are very nice and made an effort to address some of our needs. But nevertheless, in our opinion, the the unit is over priced. Here's what we encountered.

Pros:
The unit is new, clean and well built. It's a nice neighborhood and close to the beach...a 5 minute, pleasant walk. Kailua bay beach is one of the nicer beaches on the Island.

Cons:
1) The property is right on the corner of a very busy street. If you're sensitive to traffic noise, this is not the right place for you. We slept with ear plugs.

2) The DVD player doesn't work. Neither we nor the owner could get it to work.

3) At 6:30 A.M. on Sunday morning, we were awakened by the sound of the washing machine, just below our bedroom. I had to get dressed and go ask the owner to shut it off so that we could get a bit more sleep.

4) Please read the contract carefully. There are a couple of zingers that we didn't notice.
a. Check out time is 10:00 A.M. We've visited hundreds of hotels, inns and guest houses around the world and have never been asked to vacate at 10:00 in the morning.
b. There's a substantial "cleaning fee" which much higher than many other VRBO and seems particularly excessive for a unit that small. So be sure to figure that into the nightly rate.
Owner's Response: Our unit was designed with double glazed windows to minimize street noise and we are sorry this was not sufficient.
Our check out time is printed in bold and appears just above the signature line on our contract. The cleaning charge is clearly shown on the contract and we are again, sorry this information was apparently overlooked by the renter when he signed and returned the contract.
Our unit does not come with a VCR but when upon arrival they asked for one, we offered one we no longer use and were not sure worked. We tried to accommodate their request and am sorry it did not work.
We try very hard to make sure our guests enjoy their stay in Kailua and are disappointed their stay was less than perfect.
business
New-custom built, near the beach, perfect for couples, private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p11678vbi
(808) 778-5312
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Jacksonville FL
5

Wonderful choice for a quiet spot close to the beach and lots of shopping and sites

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed only 3 days but found the apartment to be as advertised. Very close to a nice beach. Grocery stores, many restaurants and shopping just minutes away by car. Easy to get to Pearl Harbor, other beaches and downtown sights but have a quiet place to return to. Clean and comfortable. Would recommend this apartment to friends. Great choice if you do not want to be in the middle of the high rise condos and hotels on Wakiki beach.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
New-custom built, near the beach, perfect for couples, private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p11678vbi
(808) 778-5312
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Best place in Kailua

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I have been traveling to Oahu for work and I have stayed at many places over the past year. This is hands down the nicest place I have stayed at. Susy was extremely friendly and helpful and the accomodations were absolutely perfect. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. I can not speak highly enough about this place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
New-custom built, near the beach, perfect for couples, private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p11678vbi
(808) 778-5312
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Los Angeles
5

The best beach in Hawaii

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I stayed at Ginger Hale in August of 2013 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful time! The apartment was brand new, very private, and had everything we could ask for – washer/dryer, beach towels, boogie boards, linens, etc. We loved having a kitchen where we could store groceries and make our own lunches to take down to the beach. Jon and Susy were wonderful hosts and made us feel at home. The best part of staying at Ginger Hale was being so close to the beach. It only takes 3 minutes to walk down and the beach is gorgeous. We’ve visited Maui, Kauai, and Waikiki but Kailua beach is our favorite hands down. The ocean was warm and clean and the beach was never crowded.

Kailua is also great because it’s really easy to get to other parts of the island. We drove to the north shore to see the Waimea Falls and Turtle Bay. There’s a beautiful hiking trail only 12 miles from Kailua that leads you to the Makapu'u Lighthouse.

This place is perfect for relaxing and is not overcrowded with tourists. We can’t wait to visit again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New-custom built, near the beach, perfect for couples, private
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p11678vbi
(808) 778-5312
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Idaho
4

The title fit the description of the property perfectly.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I would definately reccomend this property! The place was clean, well stocked, and easy to find. I loved how close it is to the beach. Susy was amazing! She went out of her way to accomodate my 18 month old. Susy had toys, books, and a pack n play waiting and ready for our arrival! She even had beach toys for my toddler. This property is close to town. Very private. The only downfall, was the people right next door to the property were loud. I would definately stay at this property again! Very well priced for what you get.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: My neighbors did have a party while our guests were staying a Ginger Hale. Once a year they have family and friends over for a lovely party complete with beautiful live Hawaiian music. The party ends early, by 9:00pm, that is a "silent rule" in our neighborhood.