Saint-Jean-de-Braye cottage rental - The cottage ' Le Pot Vert ' in June .
The cottage ' Le Pot Vert ' in June .
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Saint-Jean-de-Braye Cottage Rental Photos and Description
- 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms sleep 6 adults ( + 1 cot )

Loire Valley : only 1hour from Paris, the land of great Chateaux, the 'garden ' of France, and the country of sweet French way of life ...

This property is different it's your chance to experience France at its best! This is a spectacular house set in grounds so beautiful they have been used over the years as a film set (the 2 houses and gardens). This is 'real' France with a chance to live in peaceful tranquil surroundings created with loving care by generations of the owner's family (8). In a 17th century property, the cottage 'Le Pot Vert,' which used to be the vineyard's house, is located in a residential peaceful wooden area in a 10,000 sqm ground with a wood, large yarns, old century trees, pool, kitchen garden, with its separate entrance and parking, from Le Cormier, the main house where live the owners Remi and Frederique.

Pool and Gardens are Shared with the Owners .

SUCH A CONTRAST to the usual places that are just furnished for letting ...

The beautiful gardens and the pool (heated if necessary) close to the cottage is enclosed with a fence . The cottage is rented with self-catering breakfasts: homemade jams, coffee, tea, milk, juices and fresh bread and croissants for the 1st day with a first meal in the fridge, a well stocked pantry, and many, many special other attentions & unique extras (as drinks, wines, flowers, candles, books and guides in English, homemade drawing stationery, stamps, CD, DVD)

Our website : ASK US FOR OUR OWN WEBSITE .

Most of the villages in the area have markets, and you are never far away from excellent and fancy restaurants .

There are 8 golf courses in and around Orleans , riding stables 5 kms away , canoeing or kayaking on the Loire and boat trips on the Canals ( Orleans and Briare ) Some marvellous walks and rides along the 2 paths by the River Loire ( Unesco World Heritage ) You can also take a gentle balloon flight and see the countryside and chateaux hidden among the forests from the air. Loire Valley wine road , by Cheverny, Chinon, Saumur, Sancerre etc...and Vouvray ( which produce the best sparkling wine outside Champagne )

NEW in JUNE 2012 : Opening of the TRAMWAY LINE easy going to ORLEANS City in 15 minutes .

More Details
Hide Details

29 Reviews of Property 116703 in Saint-Jean-de-Braye , France

Beautiful cottage with pool , LOIRE VALLEY close to ORLEANS .1 hour from Paris .
average rating of 4.724138 based on 29 reviews
business
Beautiful cottage with pool , LOIRE VALLEY close to ORLEANS .1 hour from Paris .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116703
+33 (0)6 89 20 89 72
Saint-Jean-de-Braye Loiret
5

A bit of French country paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Pot de Vert is even better than its fabulous web description. Every convenience is provided to the guests! The location is ideal; if you wish to have a retreat from the world, you can do that here-if you wish to combine country living with access to Orleans and Paris, you can have that here-if you wish to visit historic sites and engage French history, you can do that here.
The owners could not have been more helpful. As I developed a medical problem, they eased the situation with helpful advice and assistance. The cottage is full of travel guides and maps and the owners are happy to provide additional suggestions.
I would, and intend to, recommend this property to family and friends. We hope to return ourselves!
We enjoyed visiting chateaus, ancient ruins, the Loire Valley cities, a Gregorian Chant mass at a small church that contains the bones of Saint Benedict, and even a day trip to Paris. Food in all the restaurants we tried were excellent. There is a nice Sunday Market in St. Jean de Braye, and I enjoyed playing Julia Childs a few times.
Bon Voyage!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your nice review, I'm so glad that in spite of this rest due to medical reasons , you'll have good memories of your stay in le Pot Vert .
Please comeback some day again !
Frederique .
business
Beautiful cottage with pool , LOIRE VALLEY close to ORLEANS .1 hour from Paris .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116703
+33 (0)6 89 20 89 72
Saint-Jean-de-Braye Loiret
5

Ein Kleinod!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Ein verwunschenes Häuschen in einem Park, ein Pool daneben, der Kühlschrank schon bei Ankunft gefüllt mit Leckereien und wundervolle Gastgeber, was kann man mehr von einem Urlaub erwarten? In der Umgebung jede Menge Sehenswürdigkeiten (mein Favorit: Die Kirche von Germigny-des-Prés), schöne Restaurants (gut und günstig: Les Toqués direkt an der Loire) und sehenswerte Städte. Das Haus hat unsere Erwartungen noch übertroffen. Hinfahren!
Owner's Response: Vielen Dank Chris for our 1st review in German !
business
Beautiful cottage with pool , LOIRE VALLEY close to ORLEANS .1 hour from Paris .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116703
+33 (0)6 89 20 89 72
Saint-Jean-de-Braye Loiret
5

A beautiful French holiday home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was our first family trip to France and it could not have been more perfect accommodation. The house and garden are very beautiful and comfortable. We all loved using the pool during the gloriously hot weather. It was a relaxing and peaceful place to stay where all you might need has been provided, including the gorgeous fresh and larder food (and wine!) on arrival and stamps. Frederique and her family were friendly and helpful throughout. Many thanks indeed for giving us such a memorable holiday.
Owner's Response: Thank you Sally, I'm glad that you'll have good memories upon your Pot Vert Stay for your 1st family trip in France .
Hoping to seing you back some day again ,
Kind regards,
Frederique .
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful cottage with pool , LOIRE VALLEY close to ORLEANS .1 hour from Paris .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116703
+33 (0)6 89 20 89 72
Saint-Jean-de-Braye Loiret
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My wife and I and two friends stayed at "Le Pot Vert" for a week in May and it was everything we could have hoped for . When we arrived Frederique had stocked the shelves and the refrigerator, there was even a bottle of wine waiting for us. It was cool and rainy during our stay and we made good use of the fireplace in the evenings. The cottage is well located for visits to the chateaus and sites of Loire. We also enjoyed relaxing days at the cottage with a walk to one of the bakeries for breakfast in the morning and a visit to the local crepe shop just a 1/4 mile away. If you are looking to experience France and French hospitality this is a great way to do it. Thanks again Frederique and Remy and we hope to see you again. We will never forget how you saved us during the "wine outage" on the unexpected Bank Holiday give Valentine a scratch for us.

Mike and Marlys
Owner's Response: Many tanks for your nice review Mike and Marlys, hoping that after here, you had very good sunny time in Burgundy !
Hoping to seing you back in Le Pot Vert... some day.
Kind regards,
Frederique .
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful cottage with pool , LOIRE VALLEY close to ORLEANS .1 hour from Paris .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116703
+33 (0)6 89 20 89 72
Saint-Jean-de-Braye Loiret
St. Helena
5

So French!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband & I and my daughter and her fiance spent 5 nights in this beautiful cottage. We loved the coziness and all of the amenities. We were greeted by Frederique upon arrival. She also had the fridge fully stocked for us! She was our personal concierge in making dinner reservations as well. The entire property is beautiful -- the gardens spectacular -- the cottage is very quaint. The location is very central to Sancerre, the castles, chateaus and Paris. We had a delightful time!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review, I'm glad that you had a good time in spite of an unusual rainy weather ,the sun is back this week ! Hoping to seeing you again some day , here or ...in California ?
Frederique .
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful cottage with pool , LOIRE VALLEY close to ORLEANS .1 hour from Paris .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116703
+33 (0)6 89 20 89 72
Saint-Jean-de-Braye Loiret
4

Delightful Family Stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Our Australian family of 2 adults and 3 children aged 12-15 enjoyed two wonderful weeks at "Le Pot Vert" late November/early December 2012. It is a unique property brimming with character, comfort and space.
St Jean-de-Braye is an ideal vantage point for visiting the chateaux and countryside of the Loire. Its new tramline also provides easy, comfortable and very affordable transport into the pretty city of Orleans, inextricably linked to Joan of Arc.
The benefits of staying at "Le Pot Vert" were numerous. Communication before and during arrival was easy and friendly, secure undercover parking was provided, room was spacious for a family, beds were comfortable, the area felt safe, decor and furnishings were tasteful and homely, outdoor spaces were pretty and vast. The pantry was generously stocked with many tasty treats, though the first night's meal that was provided was a simple prepackaged frozen selection comprising pizza, fries and croquettes.
During our stay, we visited the Chateaux of Chambord, Chenonceau and Chamerolles. We also enjoyed tram rides into Orleans ( just over 8 euros for 10 return trips for our family), two visits to Disneyland Paris, a visit to the Palace of Versailles and a longer drive to the war memorials in Thiepval and Sommes. Coming home to "Le Pot Vert" was always a treat and we greatly appreciated the ability to make free international landline calls to friends in Australia.
We thank Frederique and Remi for their warm hospitality and have no hesitation in recommending this lovely character property to those who want comfort and a home away from home on their next vacation.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your nice review , we are happy that you enjoyed the cottage and that you will have good memories about your stay in Le Pot Vert during your long family trip in Europ .Happy new year !Frederique .
business
Beautiful cottage with pool , LOIRE VALLEY close to ORLEANS .1 hour from Paris .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116703
+33 (0)6 89 20 89 72
Saint-Jean-de-Braye Loiret
5

Christmas at Le Port Vert

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This was our first year ever out of the country with our two teenage daughters for Christmas. Spending Christmas in Le Port Vert was wonderful and felt like home. Frederique had decorated the cottage beautifully with a Christmas tree, candle lights in every window and a the fireplace ready to light! The fridge was full, bread and cheeses, wine and the pantry had all the little extras we needed. We felt so at home that we ate most dinners at the cottage, the kitchen is cozy and has all equipment needed to cook wonderful meals. The cottage is warm, we had the fire going most nights for the ambiance rather then for warmth.

There are plenty of places to buy groceries, and baked goods close by, although we would recommend a car (with a GPS). Most days we explored the chateaus near by. Orleans is close by car and a very lovely city to shop and go out for dinner.
The property is beautiful even in the winter and the countryside is pretty for long country walks.
We loved our stay have already recommended the cottage to lots of friends and hope to come back soon!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Jenny for your nice review.I'm happy that your appreciated all our attentions .As you wrote, Le Pot Vert is a real home away home , and is nice to live in at any season, that's why we have Guests all year long .( we'll welcome soon Actors from the famous " Comédie Française " playing Marivaux , here in Orleans ) Xmas was a busy time for us with all the family , and we are so sorry to even didn't have any time to have you at home for "an apéritif " or a dinner !
But you were very busy too ...Really hoping to welcome you again in the future !
All the best for you and your lovely family.
Frédérique .
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful cottage with pool , LOIRE VALLEY close to ORLEANS .1 hour from Paris .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116703
+33 (0)6 89 20 89 72
Saint-Jean-de-Braye Loiret
4

Wonderful stay in France

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Having lived in France years ago and since visited there many times, my dream was to return and rent a quaint cottage in a small village where we could walk to shops, eat in the garden, and fix meals in a tidy kitchen--all of this and more was realized during our stay at Le Pot Vert. The owners, Frederique and Remy were very charming and hospitable, and when we arrived to find a fully stocked pantry and refrigerator, wines, cheeses, and even baguettes and pastries, we were more than delighted! We were blessed with wonderful weather so we could take advantage of walks and bike rides near the Loire, a hot-air balloon ride, visits to several chateaux and wine tastings, and walks to the local Sunday market. We also appreciated Frederique's recommendations for local restaurants which were fun and charming.
I do think a month was a long time to be in one place once the weather started turning a bit chilly and rainy, but over all it was a wonderful experience.
The description of the cottage is accurate (except the furniture in the living room is now different than the photo, but not a big deal). The owners supplied bikes, a garage for our rental car, and free Wi-Fi and international calling which was so appreciated. I would definitely recommend this property to our friends and family.
Owner's Response: Thank you Donna, for your nice review , I'm glad that you appreciated all our "attentions " , we have very often Guests staying even more than a month,( 3 months , 10 months etc...) and some of them come every year , so ...each guests are different !
The only change in the living room are the sofas , which are not coton ones anymore ( because of wet swimming suits ...) but in leather , I will change the picture when I'll be back home . We are by now in Florida dor 10 days off, we love America !
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful cottage with pool , LOIRE VALLEY close to ORLEANS .1 hour from Paris .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116703
+33 (0)6 89 20 89 72
Saint-Jean-de-Braye Loiret
4

le Pot Vert in St. Jean-de-Braye

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband, I and our children (young adults) spent a week at "Le Pot Vert". We chose this property because of the garden and pool. Unfortunately, the weather was not good; we were able to take our meals out in the lovely garden only two or three times and use the pool only once. The property and house are lovely. The house is clean and cozy. We appreciated the kitchen most. The cupboard was filled with all the basic ingredients and more; the pots are good quality and there are dishes, glasses, cups and silverware for a family of twelve! We have rented summer homes a number of times. The hosts at this property are nicer and more generous than any others we have had the chance to meet. We arrived late on a Saturday and found enough fresh food to tide us over until the next day at noon! The pizza with goat cheese was delicious and the rilletes de poulet was a tasty discovery. And the apricots and peaches - also provided by the owners - were fabulous! Mme Archambault let us know upon arrival which bakery in town is best. The living area is stocked with information about food shops, places to see....almost anything you could think of. Since we could not spend much time at the property due to the weather (we escaped to the chateaux on most days), we didn't have a chance to really get to know our hosts. That is the only thing about our stay we really regret.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your nice comments on Le Pot Vert , we are really doing our best for our Guests but unfortunately, we can't do anything about the weather !The week after you was sunny and hot ...Fortunately, there are so much to do in our area ,that rainy days can be bery busy, that's why we have Guests all year long .Hoping to welcome you again in Le Pot Vert and have the opportunity to know you more .Our best thoughts, Remi and Frederique .
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful cottage with pool , LOIRE VALLEY close to ORLEANS .1 hour from Paris .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116703
+33 (0)6 89 20 89 72
Saint-Jean-de-Braye Loiret
5

Our French experience at Le Pot Vert

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My dream - to live as the French do, for a few months at least - came true.
Le Pot Vert provided my partner Ron, and close friends Mary and Jean-Marc and many "in transit" friends from Australia, the perfect haven to come home to after full days of sightseeing, walking, bike riding in the Orleans Forest (bikes provided) enjoying the culinary delights, or doing something as simple as sitting on the banks of the Loire River, soaking up its serenity.
We wanted to be close to Paris, we were - an hour on the train from Orleans.
We wanted to visit many Chateaux, we did - two of the larger ones which are a must see are Chenonceau and Chambord.
One of our favourite smaller ones is Sully Sur Loire and another must see - is Chateau Royal D'Amboise in the beautiful town of Amboise.
Villandry Chateau was built during the Renaissane period and its gardens take your breath away.
We had many day trips by car into the wine regions, the Burgundy region - stunning!
We took a four hour train trip to Bordeaux - an amazing weekend - an easy city to see on foot with wonderful restaurants and shops.
A day trip by car to Versailles and many day trips by train to Paris!
The city of Orleans also had so much to offer, we had many visits on the bus to the daily markets for our fresh produce, attended concerts at the Cathedral and I am sure by now the tramline will be completed from St Jean de Braye.
We did much more over the course of the three months at Le Pot Vert (which we found listed in the Eye Witness Travel Book) and you will find that Frederique and Remi (the proprietors) have provided guests with extensive literature on everything local and beyond.
Every attention to details has been given by Frederique in making the cottage comfortable and her warmth and hospitality shone through.
In Australia our architecture is new and modern, for us living in this 270 year old cottage full of its own history was amazing.
But back to the beginning - one has to make time to sit and absorb the beauty of the grounds surrounding Le Pot Vert lovingly cared for by Remi - enjoy the long lunches and evening meals in the garden and pool area - take time to savour the french way of life - it is truly special and at home in Australia, I think about it every day.
Owner's Response: Thank you SO MUCH Marlene , for your lovely review , we had loved to have you with Ron, Mary and your Australians friends visiting, in Le Pot Vert .
We miss you, and we hope you'll come back some day , Spring is beautiful in the garden !
Frederique .
Helpful votes: 2/2