Freeland cottage rental - Hot tub is under pergola, sitting on one of 5 decks guests can enjoy
Hot tub is under pergola, sitting on one of 5 decks guests can enjoy
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
Minimum Stay nights
 

Freeland Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

The custom built and completely remodeled cedar clad cottage, sits on a low bank lot overlooking Holmes Harbor, with a westerly exposure. Extremely quiet and private. The properties on either side are vacant. Brand new Six person hot tub just steps from the French doors, on one of 6 private decks, comprising 2500 square feet. Teak main deck has spectacular view of the water. Quality teak and aluminum deck furnishings, including two stainless steel barbecue grills, and outdoor fireplaces on three of the decks. The beach is predominantly sand, with some rocky areas, depending on the season.

The cottage is furnished with good quality English antiques. It has dozens of hand made, stained glass lamps and panels. All rooms are paneled in knotty pine or clear cedar. Oak or teak plank flooring in lower level. Quality Wool oriental rugs on both levels. Appliances include dishwasher, compactor, dual zone wine chiller,new glass top range. All rooms except one have superior water views. Stone fire place has been converted to propane logs.

Owner had Labrador retriever, so entire property is fenced for pet protection. Steps lead directly to privately owned beach. There is a 50 X 15 foot deck at waters edge, that has separate sleeping quarters for kids in a tastefully decorated 12 X 10 feet room, with king-sized sleeping loft. A small kitchen and a glass covered eating area, as well as a stainless barbecue and and refrigerator and a outdoor shower are on this deck, as is the boat launch with electric winch. Two fiberglass row boats are for the use of guests, as well as two stainless crab pots,a crab cooker and clam digging gear. A mooring bouy is available for your boat, that can be moored directly in front of the property.

Clams, Mussels and Dungeness and red rock crab are available in Julu until Labor day, and in the winter, if regulations permit. Salmon fishing can be good when the season is open. Your animal neighbors include gray whales in the spring, along with California sea lions, sea otters, harbor seals and bald eagles, king fishers and great blue heron.

This truly is living in paradise,on a perfect private crescent beach. No noise, no crowds. Enjoy sunsets as spectacular as exist anywhere in the world, framed by the Olympic mountains and reflected by the beautiful harbor.

Keywords: Waterfront Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

Owners are a retired professional couple, married for 45 years. We have spent most of our adult lifetime rebuilding and furnishing this cottage as a sanctuary from living and working in a major metropolitan area. We have equipped it with amenities that should satisfy anyone, whether a gourmet cook or avid boater and fisherman or nature loving beach bum. We love to fish, and have personally caught a few thousand fish, primarily blackmouth salmon, in the harbor in front of our home. We have also caught hundreds of Dungeness crab in the bay in front of our home. We have left all of the antiques and art works for our guests to enjoy, taking with us only our family pictures and our memories. Please make some of your own.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 1971

We bought this home 40 years ago from a beloved family member. I have come to this beautiful place for almost 68 years, and it has been our haven since we were first married. It has a sandy beach (sometimes)and a westerly exposure, and is only an hour away from Seattle. Not much rain here, since it is close to the 'rain shadow' of the Olympic mountains, and it provides a perfect place to relax and enjoy life with ones family. I can go out my french doors to a boat in 2 minutes, and drop a crab pot in the water in 10 minutes. We have completely rebuilt and expanded the indoors and outdoors living areas over the years. It is functionally like a new home, yet has the charm of an English cottage. The last of the 2,500 square feet of wooden decks and walkways was completed in the spring of 2010. We now can enjoy the wonderful property from 7 different levels, from the waters edge to our parking area off Beach Drive, the road that leads to our home.

Guests will enjoy complete privacy at our home. You will see bald eagles every day of your stay. In March, gray whales migrate up to their northern homes, stopping by to feed on sand shrimp that live in the sands of our beach. I have seen them hundreds of times. Once, 15 years ago, one passed away on our beach. Forty tons of dead whale gave us our 15 minutes of fame, since the sad event had never occurred before inside Puget Sound, and the media went wild. The view of the water is wonderful from all of the decks. Have a glass of wine while relaxing in our hot tub and watch the spectacular sunsets. If you not sure what heaven is like you will have a better understanding once you stay on Beverly Beach for a few days.

12 Reviews of Property 94079 in Freeland, Washington

English Style Cottage on Private Sandy Salt Waterfront Lot
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 12 reviews
business
English Style Cottage on Private Sandy Salt Waterfront Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94079vb
(425) 644-8331 (Washington, USA)
Freeland Whidbey Island
Seattle
5

Crabbing and relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The house is roomy and we loved the beautiful stained glass and lamps. The kitchen has lots of pots and pans . This was one of the fewer vacation rentals where I did not have to use my own pans because the pans at the house were in very good condition. All appliances worked great and the air conditioning too. But the best part is having a boat (or two) at your disposition and crab cages. Crabbing was good and we had so much fun! Usually we go and visit Langley, Coupeville, Deception Pass and other attractions on the island. This time we felt that we don't have enough time to enjoy the beach and crabbing. We went fishing for salmon at Bush point but only in the evenings (catching the high tide and of course salmon:) ). We loved our stay very much. Thank you Kathy and Bruce!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
English Style Cottage on Private Sandy Salt Waterfront Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94079vb
(425) 644-8331 (Washington, USA)
Freeland Whidbey Island
Pahrump, Nevada
5

The best vacation we've had

The best vacation we've had
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
My wife and I just spent 14 days at this idyllic location. Our 30 year old son joined us for 5 days. The location is serene and spectacular. The weather in late June and early July was cool and wonderful. We had only one day of rain and I was anticipating more (actually looking forward to more). We cannot imagine anything we wanted or needed which was not provided. We loved the deck, hot tub and view. We have returned home to Southern Nevada where todays temp reached 112. We are looking at realestate websites on Whidbey. Thank you Bruce and Kathy for making this wonderful vacation home available. Sincerely, Jim and Sharon
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This is one of dozens of notes to us from our guests expressing their gratitude for being able to stay at our summer home on Whidbey. It is extremely gratifying to be told by our guests that the have enjoyed this place that we love. Thanks to Jim and Sharon for taking the time to tell us their thoughts.
Helpful votes: 9/11
business
English Style Cottage on Private Sandy Salt Waterfront Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94079vb
(425) 644-8331 (Washington, USA)
Freeland Whidbey Island
Vancouver, Canada
3

2013 review

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My friends and I get together every summer for a getaway. This year our stay in Holmes Harbour was a disappointment. The location, view and leaded glass were 5 star but many other things were not. In 2008 this may have been 5 star but in 2013 this cottage is tired cluttered and needing a good cleaning.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: The cottage has had extensive critical improvements to it in the last 3 years, including a completely new septic system, replacing walkways and installing new landscaping and rebuilding many of the decks and installing a new bulkhead. The costs were in excess of $200,000. The cottage has been largely rebuilt and modernized over the last 10 years. The place is professionally cleaned, year around, even though most of the guests opt to clean themselves, some are better than others, thus the need for professional help. In ten years, the cottage has been rented by approximately 800 parties, and there are a book full of reviews at the cottage, as well as a dozen or more on this web site that attest positively to the cottage and the enjoyment of guests of their time at the cottage. About 1 percent of the guests did not enjoy themselves. Scores of them come there time and again. As an owner, I derive much satisfaction from guests enjoying themselves at a place I have spent half of my life time improving, and in those rare instances where the guest had problems, for whatever reason, I do what I can to correct any condition that can be rectified. I am mature enough to understand that not all personalities will love my cottage, as I do. I obviously failed this particular guest, from her perspective.
Bruce Thurston
business
English Style Cottage on Private Sandy Salt Waterfront Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94079vb
(425) 644-8331 (Washington, USA)
Freeland Whidbey Island
Seattle
5

3 adults and one very happy dog

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What a wonderful getaway - peaceful and quiet. We saw an eagle overhead within the first 15 minutes and many herons. Comfortable cottage with all the amenities for comfort. Great beach without any crowds, warm water. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would definately come back again. Highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
English Style Cottage on Private Sandy Salt Waterfront Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94079vb
(425) 644-8331 (Washington, USA)
Freeland Whidbey Island
BC
5

Great Time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I booked the house for a birthday weekend for my wife and we had a great time. We have 2 kids so it was great to spend the mornings on the beach and the afternoons on the patio with the amazing view. We hardly spent a minute inside as there was so much room on the deck and lots to do outside. Other than the weather it was the perfect weekend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
English Style Cottage on Private Sandy Salt Waterfront Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94079vb
(425) 644-8331 (Washington, USA)
Freeland Whidbey Island
United States
5

Awesome Lake House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I am my wife planned a last minute trip to whidbey Island along with 2 other friends. Luckily we got reservations for this property. I must admit, while approaching the inside road which takes you to the property in the middle of the night was excitingly thrilling. We were welcome by the nice ambiance of this house. Hot tub is great and refreshes your senses totally. Next day morning with the sun rise the real Lake view was clear. The environment is serene and i must admit the owner / manager of this property have very well maintained this house and equipped with everything you would facilitate at your own home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: These folks rented the cottage at the last minute when we had a cancellation that made it available. I am responding to this review only because the guests evidently thought that our cottage was just above a beautiful lake, rather than fronting on the salt water beach above Holmes Harbor. We appreciate them taking the time to review our cottage. We do not solicit the reviews, as we maintain a guest book on site for guests to write down their thoughts. The entire book is filled with thoughtful and appreciative comments by our guests.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
English Style Cottage on Private Sandy Salt Waterfront Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94079vb
(425) 644-8331 (Washington, USA)
Freeland Whidbey Island
Pacific Northwest
5

Nice Whidbey getaway.....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Husband and I were able to spend 2 1/2 days at this mediumbank beach house. Very comfy, livable place and beautiful views. Really liked the kitchen area with everything you could possibly need, even a wine selection :). Great views from all the decks and hot tub. Very pretty Heron artwork in the bathroom. If the little sleeping loft down by the water had a bathroom we would have slept there-really a cute little setup --RIGHT at water's edge, older kids and teens would LOVE it.
The weather wasn't too cooperative for us but the views and hottub helped make up for it. We had a little weather break to clam dig and beach walk which was fun but not good enough to take a boat out or enjoy the firepits. Would love to come back during crab season!! Great wi-fi

A couple things to be aware of--we realized how out of shape we were after doing the stairs down to the beach and 'beach deck' a couple times! good handrails both sides but part of them quite steep, our middleaged knees complained --also, the main floor has 2 bathrooms, the master bedroom and another darling twin bedroom, but the other 2 bedrooms that are upstairs (no bathroom) are accessed *thru* the master bedroom up kind of a "ladder stairs"
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
English Style Cottage on Private Sandy Salt Waterfront Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94079vb
(425) 644-8331 (Washington, USA)
Freeland Whidbey Island
Bellevue, WA
5

Cute Couple (Seattle, WA, just trying to get away)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We went on a quick 2 day getaway - we were just celebrating our young 6-month relationship. This place is amazing. Easy to find, (might be hard to find in the dark, we got there at dusk). Very private, clean, well taken care of. lots of beds if you have a lot of guests or kids, and the cabin thing by the beach is cute too for young kids if you want them to have their own place at night; the futon is super comfy as well. The office is perfect for goofing if you forget your laptop, or just need to actually work. The kitchen was fully stocked with cooking things, so making your own meals is very easy there. Brand new appliances, all very well maintained.

We had an amazing time, the hot tub worked great, beautiful view of the bay while relaxing in a covered hot tub while it's raining? Just amazing. Long walks on the rocky beach during low tide. I could see myself bringing a boat to go crabbing as well, although I didn't do it on this trip.
I can't wait to come back.
:)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We really appreciate reviews from our guests, and do not actively solicit them. preferring to maintain a guest book for comments from guests. We have a book literally full of dozens of guest comments at the property that are unedited expressions of their experiences at our cottage, so if you book our place, you will find an entire book full of other favorable reviews. We hope you will want write your own in our guest book.

This guest really did not need to bring a boat to go crabbing, since we provide two fiberglass boats that work just fine for fishing for crab in season. One just pushes the larger boat down our ramp at high tide, and uses the pots we provide to fish for fresh Dungeness crab. Our cottage is in the center of some of the best crab fishing found in Puget Sound. Buy a little cat food for bait, use one of our outboard motors available (if you post a deposit), and you can set a couple of pots in 10 minutes. We even have a provided crab cooker to boil your catch. It is ugly, but it works well, having been used a few hundred times. If you can find better food than fresh Dungeness crab, especially if you catch it yourself, I would be amazed. Just crack the cooked crab,extract some crab meat and dip in melted butter. It is much better than frozen anything, including lobster tail.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
English Style Cottage on Private Sandy Salt Waterfront Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94079vb
(425) 644-8331 (Washington, USA)
Freeland Whidbey Island
San Antonio, TX
5

Absolutely Fabulous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Took a quick 3 day getaway - would have loved to have stayed longer. Perfect spot. Easy to get too - close to everything but far away from it all. Very private. Very Clean. Cozy. Well taken care of. Master bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. Kitchen had everything we needed and much more. It's just a lovely place and a lovely spot.

I did not check the Age 55+ only because it is a steep stair climb down to the beach but the stairs are well maintained and easy enough so the 55+ should maybe be 80+ and I should have checked. And I did not check Families with Young Children only because of the beautiful lamps throughout the home. Had we brought our kids - we would have moved them and it would have been fine.

Thank you for providing a fantastic get-a-way. Cannot wait to return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
English Style Cottage on Private Sandy Salt Waterfront Lot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94079vb
(425) 644-8331 (Washington, USA)
Freeland Whidbey Island
Nipomo, CA
5

An idyllic, homey haven full of charm and personal touches

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our entire family (canine members included, happily) spent an idyllic week at the Heron House and it felt just like home to us. The weather was incredible, the views unbeatable, we enjoyed long walks with the dogs in the woodsy Beverly Beach neighborhood and on the beach, we boated, we crabbed, we clammed, we barbequed, we sat for hours just looking out to sea, watched raspberry sherbet-colored sunsets, built fires at night in the fire pit on the lower deck and enjoyed all the amenities of this wonderful place. Every detail has been attended to in this haven, and Bruce and Kathy's hospitality and welcoming spirit is evident, as are their personal and artistic touches throughout the cottage, which only serve to complement and enhance the wonderful northwest island nature environment. The kitchen is well-stocked and there are enough plush towels and sheets sets for an army! I really appreciated the dreamy memory foam toppers on the beds and even on the futon where my sister slept, what a nice touch. My husband needed to do a bit of work remotely while we vacationed and easily accomplished this from the upstairs office/bedroom where he could work undistracted. He very much appreciated the wireless and the free long-distance which saved us from an expensive cell phone bill. My nephew adored the hot tub, and the teenagers really enjoyed the bunkhouse down by the water, as well as the boats. They really got a workout on those stairs, as did I! The dogs loved, well, everything. I forgot to mention the flowers blooming in pots and windowboxes all over the decks, how lovely! And the wine that Bruce stocks in the wine cooler! Did I mention the wine??? We tried a new variety, sometimes two, every evening!

I could go on, but suffice it to say that one week is just not enough in this piece of heaven...we hope to be back when we can spend at least two weeks to do it justice. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable time, Bruce and Kathy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/10