Swan Lake house rental - Nestled in the trees
Nestled in the trees
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Swan Lake House Rental Photos and Description
- 4 BR,+ Loft + Media Rroom with sofa/bed, 2 BA, Sleeps8-10

This stylish contemporary house provides a serene and secluded mountain retreat on 10 acres of scenic splendor, just steps away from crystal clear waters of Swan Lake. The house has 360 degrees spectacular views of mountain ranges, lake and an abundance of nature at its finest. Perfect for family reunions, romantic getaways & city escapes Over the hill from 250 acre 19th century bucolic farm with barns and grazing cows. Sullivan County boasts some of the best and most varied fall foliage in the Catskills. Pool stays open from early May through September 30th. Stylish vintage modern mixed with contemporary designer furnishings, art on the walls, asian accents, state-of-the-art Bosch and Jenn-air kitchen appliances, 12'X 30' deck , cathedral ceilings, floor to ceiling windows along length of the house and newly finished recreation room . The pool sits on top of the hill, landscaped with flowering trees and newly finished decking and cabana.

Stunning spacious living & dining room with designer furniture, floor-to-ceiling windows, naturally lit office space, Bedroom on main floor has 2 singles, w/ attached bath, dressing room and cedar sleeping den with full bed. Sleeping loft with 2 singles accessed from the cedar den. An additional full bath on main floor, 2 bright & furnished bedrooms downstairs with queen and full beds and laundry room with Kenmore washer/dryer. Morsoe Danish stainless steel wood burning stove on main floor. 5 min walk to Swan Lake. In-ground fenced-in private heated pool ( 40' x 20') sits atop the property with breathtaking views while you swim and soak in the rays. Very private and serene. Large cambara deck with dining table and chairs, bbq grill facing the mountain range. Cabana, hammock , loungers , cedar decking by pool side.

An additional large media rooms with 32' inch tv, pull out sofa/bed

Direct TV, MiFi internet access.

Outdoor Activities

Bicycle riding trails, Bird watching,, Canoeing, Cross-country ski trails, Fishing, Golfing, Hiking trails, Horseback riding,Mountain Bike trails, bacci balls,Thrift Shopping/Antique Stores, Whitewater Rafting

Entertainment:

Trout Parade in Livingston Manor

The Shandelee Music Festival is getting bigger every year and only 15 minutes away.

The Bethel Performing Arts Center on the site of the original Woodstock Pop Festival – with The New York Philharmonic just 25 minutes away!

The Catskill Fly-fishing Museum

Riding Stables

Plays~Musicals~Cabaret Shows Forestburg Playhouse and Tavern

Eagle watching

Rafting & Canoeing on the Delaware

Golf Courses:

Grossinger’s Resort Corp. (845) 292 4000

The Concord (845) 794 4000

Tarry Brae Golf Course (845) 434 26 20

Lochmore Golf Course (845) 434 1257

Tennanah Lake Golf (607) 498 5502

Sullivan County Golf & Country Club (845) 292 9584

Amapro Golf Range (845) 292 9022

Town of Fallsburg, Morningside Park, Railroad Plaza, X-Country: 2.5 miles of trails in parkland, dawn to dusk (weather permitting). Villa Roma Country Club, Downhill: 5 slopes, double chair, t-bar, night skiing, rentals, lessons, 100% snowmaking. X-Country: rentals, lessons. Walnut Mountain Park, X-Country: Park consists of 265 acres. Trails open on weekends during winter. Weekend rental fee: $8 audlts, $5 children. Holiday Mountain Ski Area.

More Details
Hide Details

The house is less than 2 hrs from city, easy access by bus to Monticello, great for groups of 10 or less, and 8 yrs of amazing rental history on homeaway.

Family activities, golf, working farms, exquisite nature hikes, recreational water activities. Winter fun with skiing, sledding, snowboarding. It feels like you've traveled a 1000 miles away and have retreated into a tranquil place with nothing but magnificent nature all around. Bird watch, and gaze at the lovely shimmering Swan Lake, sit on the deck , wrap yourself in the big open skies and enjoy the silence.

This property is unique in its construction, style and ideally located within 2 hrs of the city. There is plenty of acreage for children and pets to run and play freely, and away from streets making it safe. The modern construction, and up to date amenities& decorations set in a rural area makes it that much more unique.

42 Reviews of Property 115539 in Swan Lake, New York

Modern Catskills Mtn Villa , Heated private Pool, 10 acres, views,
average rating of 4.6829267 based on 42 reviews
business
Modern Catskills Mtn Villa , Heated private Pool, 10 acres, views,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p115539
+1 7189165758
Swan Lake Catskills
5

Heaven?

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
When is the last time you went on vacation and thought, “Somehow I woke up in heaven.” What does heaven look like, you might be wondering? Well, there’s plenty of great art on the walls, for one thing. The owner is a Devi (Indian for goddess) and her beautiful visage graces many of her self-portraits. The cutlery is shiny and top notch. The views are out of this world, literally every window is framed by lush foliage and craggy peaks. The floor is boho industrial chic, and as for the floor of the shower? Zen wooden slats with a calming Japanese feel. Let the water run softly around your feet and into the abyss. The TV room is more temple than TV room (there’s even a brass ceremonial bell) with thoughtfully rolled yoga mats and thoughtfully stacked blocks. Likewise the laundry room is stacked with sheets and towels. Mid-century-modernity will be yours with touches like the Eames shell chairs and the Herman Miller Nelson bench, also featuring stylish slats. The mountains are all around, including when you lie by the cute pool. Dive in or wade, the choice is yours. Is that a bird? There are plenty to watch!
Owner's Response: This is truly one of the best reviews.... moved to top of reviews
Thank you for appreciating our efforts to make this a special experience.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Catskills Mtn Villa , Heated private Pool, 10 acres, views,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p115539
+1 7189165758
Swan Lake Catskills
5

A treat to be savored.....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
we were graciously invited by our friends to come spend a weekend with them at this house they had rented last August.. we had a conflict with another rental we had in fire island, and for a variety of different reasons we ended up here. Was a truly delightful getaway. We have just now completed a reservation for a week this summer and so excited. The experience cannot be really captured with the photos, but the home has a gentle soothing comfort to it and the views are indescribable. The nearby towns have a real country vibe, unlike perhaps some of the more developed towns like Woodstock... small and charming without feeling overrun by tourists. Our saturday night dinner at the 1906 restaurant in Calicoon exceeded all our expectations... we really enjoyed the town in general.
A snowy wintry day here in NYC today, no school, and i had to write about this because i cant wait to see our daughter splashing around for endless hours in the gorgeous pool. The owner/landlord has been really easy to work with. I recommend this wholeheartedly
business
Modern Catskills Mtn Villa , Heated private Pool, 10 acres, views,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p115539
+1 7189165758
Swan Lake Catskills
5

We booked our 2014 June weekend -3rd year in a row

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
So excited to have secured our weekend again. Counting the days to sunset bbqs and afternoons of cocktails by the pool
There is absolutely nothing not to love about this home. And No mosquitoes. Its hard to find a place in the summer with no mosquitoes The pool and views are to die for. The owner has a style with the house that is so unique and artsy, and each time we've gone back there is always something more interesting. Even the hot days are very comfortable with the fan and the window portable a/c. And did i say- no mosquitoes!! We can get our twin toddlers to nap in the afternoon which alone is a miracle and a vacation within a vacation.
We rarely leave the house, as cooking is a great pastime for us. But the pizza place Benji and Jake's on Lake Kauengo(sp?) is a great family place. Thin crust pizza, home made gelatos, outdoor seating and music
Anna is so wonderful and has always been a pleasure to work with. 100% recommend.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Catskills Mtn Villa , Heated private Pool, 10 acres, views,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p115539
+1 7189165758
Swan Lake Catskills
5

Your best choice 2 hrs away from the city!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
As a tradition our family rents a home in the Hudson valley every summer for a couple weeks. We found Anna's home on a Brooklyn parents list, came highly recommended and we had been looking to try out a different part of the Catskills region.
The house is immaculately maintained and we are sticklers for clean. Every room is thoughtfully decorated with true international flair and eye for color. Beautiful muted gray painted floors, vintage green window frames, designer furniture pieces, comfy beds, and great views from every room
We were there for probably 2 of the the hottest weeks of summer, and peak afternoon hours do get really steamy on the main floor of the house. The portable a/c unit worked better than we had expected, the downstairs stayed cool and dry though the poolside is the best reprieve for those times. It cooled off significantly by late afternoon.
We especially fell in love with the area, its rural small town unpretentious charm. We did an exhaustive search for a home up there this fall but the inventory was very disappointing.
We still have our hearts set on a plot of land in Bethel and have been so inspired by this property, we hope to build a modernist home like this one.
The Delaware gap is very accessible from their home,30 or so minutes away and we were able to spend a couple afternoons inner tubing and canoeing. Anna was a great resource and very available to us via phone. An absolute recommend!
Owner's Response: So much luck to you Anne on your search! happy to pass on any recos once you have the plot locked down.
best/anna
business
Modern Catskills Mtn Villa , Heated private Pool, 10 acres, views,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p115539
+1 7189165758
Swan Lake Catskills
5

Beautiful summer memories.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We are Danish family and moved in summer to NYC from Denmark. We were very much looking forward to rest with our daughters somewhere outside of city. Our friends who stayed here before told us about this house and we reserved for September when pool is available to use. We had a wonderful relaxation by pool.The house is very beautiful, clean and style is very European style mixed with Asian art and paintings. We are happy to know about a house we like close to NY city for us to visit again. Only thing we will take with us next time is our pillow and espresso maker. We mostly liked the pool and walks in the fields near the house.There is also a nice farm near the lake, that is close to the house with many sweet animals which our children enjoyed this.
Owner helped us find playgrounds and restaurants in the area.
Owner's Response: Thank you Maria. We still have your daughter's giraffe toy at the house. For the next time.
have a great holiday season.
business
Modern Catskills Mtn Villa , Heated private Pool, 10 acres, views,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p115539
+1 7189165758
Swan Lake Catskills
5

We will be back every year!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I have rented this beautiful home every fall since 2010 to celebrate our anniversary with extended family and friends who come up just for the day. We truly LOVE this home and as soon as we leave long to come back. Its immaculately attended to, with taste and precious details. The bedrooms are quiet, warm and comfortable, the kitchen well appointed and the living/dining perfect for dinners/cards/board games with a wood stove for ambiance. Anna is lovely and kind and her caretaker Tim helped us immensely with setting up outdoor tent, tables and clean up. Really the joy of being here is indescribable. We hope to get back some summer and enjoy pool weather. A true 'gem' like one of the other reviewers wrote.
In the meanwhile we have already put our reservation in for next October!
Owner's Response: Jasmine, was about to email you both. MLK weekend maybe opening up if you are still interested
Thank you for such a sweet review, and you are welcome back every year!
business
Modern Catskills Mtn Villa , Heated private Pool, 10 acres, views,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p115539
+1 7189165758
Swan Lake Catskills
1

Horrible experience!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed in this house in the second half of June. There were 4 women (3 of them pregnant at this time), three toddlers and one baby. The stay was planned for 5 days, but after two days we we're forced to leave by the substandard living conditions.
The house at first glance appears beautiful, great environment, nice architecture, etc. But in reality it was very dirty and not ready for parents with kids. The house was dusty, the kitchen had unwashed dishes, the bedsheets were obviously not fresh etc... We asked for the housekeeper to come back but the owner said no. We had no choice but to spend the first 4 hours of our stay cleaning - especially the kitchen because we were planning to cook. In addition, we had to change all bedding and do laundry. It took forever.
There was no AC in the house and the only option in the middle of summer was to use dirty and dusty fans. My son got a bad cough and we finished at doctor's office when we returned.
On top of this we didn't have hot water for two whole days and in one of the rooms there was a leak which totally soaked the carpet.
The house was absolutely not ready for us or anyone and nothing was fixed during our stay. We decided to leave.
Besides our disappointment and ruined vacation I want to mention that the cooperation with the owner was horrible. She totally didn't listen to us and it seemed that she didn't want to resolve the problem. She was very arrogant, rude and knew everything best. Instead of trying to resolve the problems, she was very argumentative. To say she has poor business skills would be an understatement. We asked for our money back and she refused to pay the whole amount at first. We really wanted to resolve the situation amicably but it was not until FIVE MONTHS later when we decided to sue that the owner finally stopped making excuses and refunded our money. This was a horrible experience and I would never recommend this place to anybody.
Owner's Response: In the 9 yrs i have rented my home on Homeaway I have been very fortunate to have wonderful families come in week after week, every season and have been grateful for amazing reviews. However there is always that one experience that just throws you off, and i feel the need to respond with clarity and dignity. The whole thing has been nothing short of tiresome and painful.Being confronted with lies, extortion, threats was a bit more than i had anticipated and perhaps I responded less than tactfully at times.
Upon this party's arrival I rec'd a text saying that everything was great except that the cleaning lady had overlooked some dishes in the dish machine and they needed help locating switch for the A/c.
I apologized for her oversight with the dishes, and explained how to use the portable a/c. The house does not have central air, and it is not aadvertised as such. They were seemingly agreeable and eager to get on with their stay.
The last of their party arrived 3 days later, and this person was incredibly difficult at which point the situation started to unravel Some tension started brewing within the group, the weather went from sunny to gray/ rainy and one of the kids had fallen ill.
The new member requested that a cleaning person come back and I agreed that she would for a fee as they had occupied the home for over 48 hrs. They requested that their stay be reimbursed as they as a group had decided to leave. I said i would reimburse one of the unused 2 nights as a courtes. Many threatening emails, phone calls and general unpleasantness, they proceeded to open up a claim with small claims court for $3785 which was about 2 times the cost of their entire stay. I arrived for the hearing on Nov 21st with evidence of emails/ txts etc and they were a No show. The case was dismissed and 2 weeks later this one star review gets posted. No additional money was compensated.
Understandably, if you are on a trip with a group of whom some pregnant, a sick child, uncooperative weather and tension among the members- cutting short the trip and returning home would be the right decision. To then turn that around and fabricate stories about the cleanliness of home & mystery plumbing issues is entirely dishonest on their part. My hope is that future renters can objectively look at this situation and see it is an anomaly in the wider context. I take a lot of pride in my home and put a lot of love into it, which is how its been rated a 5 star property for 9 yrs.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Catskills Mtn Villa , Heated private Pool, 10 acres, views,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p115539
+1 7189165758
Swan Lake Catskills
5

Fall Splendor and beyond!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Perfection... the weekend was all that we could have asked for. The home was comfortable, tasteful, clean and a place to surrender all the stress and be just relaxed in a setting that was visually stunning.
Highly recommend for a weekend away from the city. We are considering a winter weekend up with our boys to get them out sledding and perhaps hit some of the nearby slopes.
The owner is kind and communicative, with a fantastic aesthetic.
Owner's Response: Thank you Steve! Thank you for treating our home with such care.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Catskills Mtn Villa , Heated private Pool, 10 acres, views,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p115539
+1 7189165758
Swan Lake Catskills
Queens, NY
5

Kitchen Daydreams! &more

Kitchen Daydreams! &more
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The kitchen is a treasure’s trove for cook’s, including such spices as cloves, cinnamon, seasoned salt, chili powder, and a very generous store of olive oil. A dishwasher? Usually at a vacation home that means whoever got stuck with dish duty, but here it is a real machine that does the work for you! BBQ under the stars. The nearby town has a Taco Bell if you are feeling like Mexican/fast food, and also a farmer’s farket if you are feeling healthy. The Cigarette Depot next to the ShopRite is a smoker’s paradise! It’s only a perfect getaway if everything and anything goes!
Owner's Response: Ha, thank you Mohammed. Glad you liked the kitchen:)
business
Modern Catskills Mtn Villa , Heated private Pool, 10 acres, views,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p115539
+1 7189165758
Swan Lake Catskills
5

Treat yourself! Its Wonderful.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I dont typically write reviews, or read them for that matter. But i have to write about how special this home is. Simplicity, charm and a lot of heart.
Its for someone looking for a special getaway, not the run of the mill home. The owner is sweet and very responsive. It was a week my partner and I will never forget. We wished we had booked an extra week.
Note: it does get steamy hot in the afternoons in the house, due to all the windows, but the pool is perfect reprieve for that time.
A definite recommend.
Timmy
Owner's Response: Tim and Marc
thank you thank you! You guys were so awesome. Please come back anytime.