Muskegon house rental - Parking for three cars and/or vehicle with boat trailer off the street
Parking for three cars and/or vehicle with boat trailer off the street
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Muskegon House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 7(Next Door to #121177)

DON'T MISS OUT on staying in both our cottages that are only a few feet from each other. We have accommodated several large or multiple families that like the idea of having 6 bedrooms and room for 13 guests(more if any children are less than one year old). It's almost like having your own little vacation compound along Lake Michigan & Muskegon Lake's Bluffton Bay. The bonus is also having a lot of outdoor space around both cottages to call your own for a week. Check out Pedler's Paradise(#121177) and see if it would be ideal for your large group along with this cottage--Plum Hollow.

This very clean and spacious home is located just a few yards from Muskegon's Pere Marquette Beach on Lake Michigan. The historic Bluffton neighborhood is surrounded by forested dunes next to the most beautiful and cleanest beach on Lake Michigan & Muskegon Lake's Bluffton Bay . Go to the beach along the Bluffton Beachwalk from the cottage in only a couple minutes. Closed Bluffton Elementary across the street has basketball goals, softball diamond, and large area for play. Sitting around the wood stove outside is a perfect day's end after dinner is cooked on the grill. This cottage is laid out with plenty of room for all to gather and still have privacy. Sorry, ABSOLUTELY NO PETS on the property. Access all around the cottage to High Speed Wireless Internet. Relax while watching the 42' Cable HDTV. Our REVIEWS tell the whole story as to why this place and our care is well worth your choosing to stay here. ALL REVIEWS are submitted by GUESTS ONLY & NOT THE OWNERS. After reading our Reviews, we hope you will want to join us during 2014 and celebrate the start of another decade during our 11th Year Anniversary. Annie & I feel we have gotten better each year at making your vacation a comfortable one. We continuously upgrade our furnishings and decor to make our guests feel very much At Home while Away.

Plum Hollow Amenities In Bluffton: The Bluffton neighborhood is safe, friendly, and quiet. Neighbors welcome visitors with open arms. Their friendliness is one of the many reasons people love living here. The easy access to both lakes & so many other valuable amenities are only a few of the many pluses. This 3 bedroom home features a sun-filled living room and dining room with table and chairs for 6-8 people. There is a full service kitchen with a small table and chairs. The Malt Shop(breakfast nook) with a booth provides more seating during meals or a place for the kids to play board games. The summer breezes off the lake whisp through this retro decorated area that overlooks the bird feeders. The basement is where the laundry area is located with a washer/ dryer & large double sink. The full bath has a tub/shower. The master bedroom has a king bed & includes a sink & private toilet. Old oak and beech trees are all around property.

Outside & In Plum Hollow: Across the street is the old Bluffton Elementary with basketball courts and a softball diamond beside a large sand dune. Ample parking for 3 large vehicles off the street and next to either entance. Extensive library of novels with plenty of coffee table reading materials. Always the latest in current magazines. VHS movies, cassettes, DVDs, and CD's are also available. Volleyball net, lines, & ball are provided for your choice of any one of the 40 sand courts just around the corner. Lots of choices of recreational or beach toys. Some wood provided for a couple evening fires in the outdoor stove. Your choice of gas or charcoal grill. Picnic table, Adirondack style chairs, lawn swing, and other seating makes the yard a relaxing place to enjoy in sun or shade. A few beach chairs are available if needed. Very little automobile traffic flows by the cottage since it is just off the main artery to the beach(Lakeshore Drive). Abundant potted annual flowers compliment the established perennials. We are always proud of our configuration of plants we arrange in the front area for the Summer Seasons.

More Advantages To Enjoy: The bedroom that has the queen bed is quite large with an open ceiling & overhead fan. There is plenty of room to set up the roll-a-way bed and use the reading chair. The smallest bedroom utilizes the space well with a trundle bed and medium sized dresser. The living room tv area has plenty of seating with a large couch, matching loveseat, and 2 chairs with footstools . A bench seat is handy for the 'out-of-the-way' traffic to use the front door to stop by for a quick glance at the exciting part of some sporting event. The Master Bedroom & 2nd bedroom also include dressing chairs.

More Details
Hide Details

Stan is a retired high school and middle school teacher, coach, and part-time administrator. Raised in Speedway, IN and attending Ball State University he chose to start a teaching career in Muskegon in 1968. Also, after retirement in 1995,

he substitute taught at many other area schools. Running many volleyball leagues and beach tournaments were a favorite pastime. Now, running & biking are his exercise passions.

Annie got her degree at Western Michigan University after being raised in nearby Whitehall, MI. Instead of teaching, she travelled the world and lived many years in the Caribbean and out west in Colorado & Utah. She settled back to her home area to be with Stan around 1990. Annie loves to cook for friends. Her exercise is pool aroebics & yoga. Our photo location is Zion National Park in Oct. 2012.

Stan & Annie Denman purchased this house in 1982

Stan bought this property after living all around the Muskegon area. There's no other place in the area that comes close to how nice it is to live in the Bluffton Neighborhood. The neighbors are the most friendly ever experienced anywhere, plus the amenities outdoor are endless. Fate was on Stan's side the day he was able to buy Plum Hollow and live full time in the neighborhood. Prior to that he had stayed with friends briefly that had lived here for several years. This will always be home for the rest of his life. Annie has grown to love it too. After building another home only 1/2 mile away for Annie's Mom it became imperative to live there 24/7. Although Crezens has passed, we stay in the house we built & keep providing the opportunity for others to stay in Plum Hollow Cottage and enjoy our beautiful area.

Just look at Bluffton's history and it's no mystery why Buster Keaton and his family loved staying in the neighborhood over 100 years ago. It is not only ideally located on a peninsula with beautiful lakes on both sides, but it is relatively crime free. Neighbors know each other and not only look out for their welfare, but are genuinely friendly. At the same time, they are not nosey and intrusive in any one else's personal lives. The area is very unique in many special ways. The Plum Hollow property is the closest rental in the neighborhood to Lake Michigan. The yard is a good size for the area & off street parking is plentiful. House is well suited for a family of 6 to stay in comfortable beds with the privacy of their own bedroom. No hide-a-beds in the living area to cram all the guests in like sardines. There's room for a 7th guest with a rollaway bed that can be used in either of the large bedrooms. Since there are 2 large bedrooms, there is enough room to have an 8th guest, if it were to be an infant less than 1 yr. of age.

33 Reviews of Property 114779 in Muskegon, Michigan

WHY WAIT? A Few Good Choices Left For Your Weekly Stay By Lake Michigan In 2014!
average rating of 4.939394 based on 33 reviews
business
WHY WAIT? A Few Good Choices Left For Your Weekly Stay By Lake Michigan In 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p114779
+1 2317550911
Muskegon Western Michigan
Three Rivers, Michigan
5

Great location and a nicely kept summer home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderful stay at this nicely kept summer home only a short distance to Pere Marquette Beach. We spent most of our time on the beach or riding the many bike trails in the area. We also spent a day at Michigan Adventure which is less than an hour away. The home has everything you need and plenty of room for the family. Stan was terrific and took care of everything we needed. He checked with us several times to be sure we had everything we needed. We ran into Stan at a local restaurant (Mangos) and he talked with the owner and we received a 10% discount on our bill. Thanks Stan and Annie for a great week!
business
WHY WAIT? A Few Good Choices Left For Your Weekly Stay By Lake Michigan In 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p114779
+1 2317550911
Muskegon Western Michigan
Metro Detroit, MI, USA
5

Wonderful home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed for 5 days in June 2013. If you're looking for a hotel-like ambience with the latest decor and amenities, this isn't it. It's more like borrowing a friend's vacation cottage, except probably better maintained and cleaner. The cottage is very well equipped, and like other reviewers, we enjoyed breakfasts on the closed-in porch, aka the Malt Shop. It was not hot during our stay, so we can't comment on the sufficiency of the A/C. Our only complaint is that the king bed was a bit soft for our taste. My husband preferred the probably less used double bed in another bedroom.

We had hoped to have a lake view, but really didn't miss it much. Your are indeed very close to both Lake Michigan (and the park boardwalk) and Lake Muskegon. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
WHY WAIT? A Few Good Choices Left For Your Weekly Stay By Lake Michigan In 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p114779
+1 2317550911
Muskegon Western Michigan
Clinton Township MI
5

Didn't Want to Leave!

Didn't Want to Leave!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We loved our stay! We were greeted by Stan and Annie upon our arrival and they spoiled us with muffins, strawberries and fresh flowers. They were always just a phone call away and were very helpful with advice about the area.

The cottage was very CLEAN and comfortable. The description and pictures are very accurate. They have equipped the cottage with everything you might possibly need for your stay. Our stay was early in the season so we experienced a wide range of temperatures and weather. When the evenings were too cold for a stroll on the beach the many books, movies, and games kept us entertained. The Bluffton area is so convenient. The beaches and bike paths in the area are amazing! In addition to enjoying the Muskegon area we traveled up and down 31 and explored many other popular nearby communities.

There is something for every age group and interest here. We recommend Plum Hollow as a vacation destination and will definitely return ourselves.
business
WHY WAIT? A Few Good Choices Left For Your Weekly Stay By Lake Michigan In 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p114779
+1 2317550911
Muskegon Western Michigan
5

Great for Families with Little Children

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I normally don't write reviews, but I caved and wanted all families to know what a great time we had. The cottage was emaculate and our kids just loved the quick walk to the beach. My sister and her family rented Stan and Annie's other cottage next door and we had the best of both worlds. The yard for the kids and the dining area for a larger group. Stan and Annie work hard to make you feel welcome and at home. Well worth every penny!! If you are looking for a relaxing getaway close to the beach, some history (the submarine visit was really cool), fishing and also super close to Grand Haven........this is it!!
business
WHY WAIT? A Few Good Choices Left For Your Weekly Stay By Lake Michigan In 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p114779
+1 2317550911
Muskegon Western Michigan
5

A Home Away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My family of five had the most wonderful stay at Plum Hollow! My 3 year old son keeps asking when we can go back to the other house. A perfect location, lovely, clean home! Stan & Annie have provided a great atmosphere for a relaxing vacation; while making you feel completely "at home". The kitchen is fully stocked with nice cookwear, not like most places I have stayed. We were able to make home cooked meals everyday.
We spent 4 days at the beach ( a less than 5 minute walk) and 2 days at Michigan adventure. Only a mile form the historic USS Silversides, fun for everyone.
The Malt shop had to be my favorite spot. Love the feel of the room, and the breeze while enjoying a relaxing breakfast. This home is very spacious. We had another family of 5 join us from Grand Rapids for the day and there was plenty of room for all of us around the picnic table! I highly reccomend a stay at this home. I have rented vacation homes before and this one is by far my favorite. I hope we can make a trip back next year!
Thank you Stan and Annie!
business
WHY WAIT? A Few Good Choices Left For Your Weekly Stay By Lake Michigan In 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p114779
+1 2317550911
Muskegon Western Michigan
5

Bob and Adrienne Boyd

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our son, daughter in law and our two young grandaughters stayed at Stan and Annie's wonderful cottage this year with my husband and myself. We enjoyed Plum Hollow from the very start. We were warmly welcomed with muffins and sweet cherries upon arrival. Stan helped guide us in when we somehow missed a turn. The house was clean and equipped with everything we needed they simply thought of everything. We walked to the beach and enjoyed dinner outside everynight at the picnic table. The Swing and yard provided a great place to gather and visit. Our 2 y.old grand daughter loved the playgrounds right across the street. The neighborhood was quiet and offered lots of interesting streets for our stroller rides. It was such a great vacation. We will return.
business
WHY WAIT? A Few Good Choices Left For Your Weekly Stay By Lake Michigan In 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p114779
+1 2317550911
Muskegon Western Michigan
4

Muskegon Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We've never stayed in a cottage before (always rented hotel rooms). It was so nice to have everything we needed on hand. The cottage was spacious, clean and inviting. We had 3 pre-teens and 2 teens with us and everyone was very comfortable. Stan met us upon arrival and was very nice and informative. When booking, my main requirement was air-conditioning. We were nice and cool the entire time! We grilled, had campfires, watched the large screen tv. It was so nice to have a washer and dryer on hand too.

The beach was beautiful and a short walk around the corner. Michigan Adventures was close, shopping and dining too.

Thank you Stan and Annie for making our stay so comfortable. Look forward to seeing you again!

Leo and Heidi
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
WHY WAIT? A Few Good Choices Left For Your Weekly Stay By Lake Michigan In 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p114779
+1 2317550911
Muskegon Western Michigan
5

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This cottage was greatly maintained & clean. The owners were very hospitable when we arrive there were homemade muffins on the kitchen table & Michigan cherries in the fridge.

The location was great being located only a couple blocks from Lake Michigan. At the time we stayed we were seeing record heat (100 degrees) but the cottage was kept very cool with the air conditioners that were provided.

We would definetly stay here again!
business
WHY WAIT? A Few Good Choices Left For Your Weekly Stay By Lake Michigan In 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p114779
+1 2317550911
Muskegon Western Michigan
5

All the positive reviews are for real!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Plum Hollow was perfect for our needs. We had 3 adults and four kids ( 8-12) and never felt crowded. The kids loved the porch "Malt Shop " room for breakfast and lunch and the dining room was big enough for all 7 to gather and talk and play games. The air conditioning was a real blessing on the few hot days we had.
If Lake Michigan is too cold, take a short trip to Duck Lake for some warmer water.
business
WHY WAIT? A Few Good Choices Left For Your Weekly Stay By Lake Michigan In 2014!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p114779
+1 2317550911
Muskegon Western Michigan
Maarssen, The Netherlands
4

July 2010 Lake Michigan

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We stayed at “Plum Hollow” July 2010 for about 2 weeks. From “Plum Hollow” we made sightseeing tours throughout the Muskegon surrounding places of interest. The house is situated very quietly at walking distance from Lake Michigan beach. Being in the house we expected any moment Fonzie (happy days) to stay in the door opening. Even though the house was a little bit older, everything was working fine and we felt at home immediately. Stan and Annie were very friendly and made us feel special guests, but I’m sure everybody is treated the same friendly way. I made a bicycle tour with Stan around Muskegon Lake – kind of a private tour – and Stan explained me some of Muskegon “City”. As I am from the Netherlands the chance of being there for a second time is very small, but if I am, I certainly will try to visit Stan and Annie.
We were overwhelmed with loads of information about Muskegon, Michigan and places we planned to visit during our “Great Lakes tour” all sent by Stan. (Even for the part of our tour in Canada!)
If I ever was in Muskegon for business and had to choose between the Local “Holiday inn” and “Plum Hollow” I would choose for the last one.
Stan and Annie thank you very much for everything! (Apologize for the late review).
Hans, Michaela, Uschi, Ernst and Michael.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2