North Hero lodge rental - House with expansive decks
House with expansive decks
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps16
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

North Hero Lodge Rental Photos and Description
- 6 BR, 1 Full BA, 1-3/4 BA 1-Half BA, Sleeps 16

Lodge at Pelots Bay, North Hero. A quiet and secluded family lodge situated on 9.5 acres with 1100 ft of lake frontage. This vacation house has 6 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, sleeps 14-18 people and is suitable for larger family groups, small conferences and business gatherings. Layout is open with the kitchen, dining, living and entry areas defined in one 'great' room. Floors are birch hardwood and ceramic tile, bedroom areas are carpeted. The house faces West with a gentle sloping lawn to a fine shale beach and is very gradual and safe for kids. Lakeside features open decks and a large rustic outdoor stone fire box for enjoying outdoor fires.

Pelots Bay is very sheltered and known for swimming, fishing and suitable for recreational water sports. This is modern year-round vacation home with great views of the water from almost every room. The lakeside bedrooms have individual balconies overlooking the bay and its beautiful sunsets.

There is ample dock space for several boats and pleasure craft, and they can be launched right at the beach.

More Details
Hide Details

6 Reviews of Property 113925 in North Hero, Vermont

A Spacious Waterfront Lodge
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews
business
A Spacious Waterfront Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113925
802 878-6146
North Hero Lake Champlain Islands
4

Great great room!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We were looking for a home with at least five bedrooms for all the adult couples in our family. This home was perfect! The property matched it's description and we had plenty of room. Our favorite part was the large first floor with an open plan. The kitchen was large and well equipped, and all 16 of us were able to fit around the large table. We spent memorable evenings on the back deck overlooking the bay, and enjoyed amazing sunsets. We really enjoyed daily bike rides all over the island of North Hero, especially our daily ritual of riding down to Hero's Welcome General Store in the early morning and indulging in their pastries and coffee. Drawbacks were mostly weather related - lots of gnats that screens didn't keep out, and the beach was weedy with high water levels so we didn't spend time lounging and swimming there as we had hoped. Assuming this isn't a regular thing, I have indeed recommended this property to my friends - they were all very envious when they saw our gorgeous pictures!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Spacious Waterfront Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113925
802 878-6146
North Hero Lake Champlain Islands
Boston, MA
5

Great for large families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our extended family (ages 3 through 75) stayed here for a family reunion the week of July 3rd, 2010. We were immediately impressed with the location right on the water. It was nice to access the water right from the backyard rather than across the street like many other rentals in the area. Though it was excessively hot (95 degrees every day), this property is close to all state parks and the fabulous, sandy beach areas at each. We were able to launch canoes and kayaks right from the shale, gradually sloping lakefront and swim to the floating raft. The yard is HUGE and perfect for any kind of lawn/outside games and gatherings, and the lakeside firepit was a great way to spend the evening steps from the water. The house is located in a quiet neighborhood perfect for early morning bike rides. With a couple of oscillating fans and some bug spray, it is impossible not to enjoy this location. Highly recommended, and the owners were very accomodative with our special requests. Another plus we didn't find at other rentals was the water--clean for drinking right out of the faucet with no odor and always hot for showers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
A Spacious Waterfront Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113925
802 878-6146
North Hero Lake Champlain Islands
Colorado Springs, CO
5

I can not wait to return.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
This was our first year we went to the house. It was fantastic and a bit of a surprise for the money we paid. We plan on going back again and again.

There were 6 couples and we all loved the house. The best surprises were the dishes. We could not believe how many pans and dishes were int he house. We had more than enough for all the home renters and our guest that came up to visit. The two large grills on the patio were a great addition. Being a chef, I loved the six burners in the kitchen. Found it odd that the cabinet panel was gone on the additional two burner but really enjoyed having all that space. We baked and cook our time away on the rainy day. The showers had great pressure and we never ran out of hot water. You are going to be surprised at the amount if seating area in the house and out of the house. Couches lined up and a hearth that is great for sitting. The dining table is a families dream come true. One of our night had the table brimming over with 16 people.

Bad news. The beds were pretty loud. I am not sure if this was the frames or the beds themselves. We all were laughing in the house cause everytime someone rolled over, the whole house could hear it happen. With that said, they were very comfortable and there were extra blankets in every closet. The patio door in the bedroom was locked. Three of the four patio doors opened but mine did not. It was a shame not to be able to sit out when the sun is coming up. Last item is the basement. I am living Colorado but I remember growing up in Vermont. This is not a huge deal but I would put something in the basement/crawl area below the house. There is a wicked mole/mildew smell coming out of the door next to the main floor bathroom. It happens...but should be addressed.

Overall, we loved this house, inside and out. The owner was responsive to our request for one more day, I talked to my family in Vermont and we hope to rent this again for our reunion. The amenities were well past what we thought would be there. Wi-Fi is not there and you will get little phone service there. Isn't that a DREAM when on vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
A Spacious Waterfront Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113925
802 878-6146
North Hero Lake Champlain Islands
Littleton,Ma
5

Pelots Bay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
We have been coming to the Lodge at Pelots bay for six years. Very simple review - Outstanding ! If you want to be on the water this is the place. Perfect families and friends to visit because there are plenty of rooms. I just wish we could stay for 2 weeks instead of one.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
A Spacious Waterfront Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113925
802 878-6146
North Hero Lake Champlain Islands
Red Hook, NY
5

Tremendous spot and facility

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
This home is bright, open, and great for a large group entertaining. We really enjoyed the view and peace, quiet. The west facing glass give a tremendous view of the sunset! Swimming off the dock to the swim platform was great and fun with the kids. Gentle shoreline is safe for kids and all had a terrific time. Recommend this place to everyone - enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
A Spacious Waterfront Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113925
802 878-6146
North Hero Lake Champlain Islands
chattanooga, tn
4

Beware of the seaweed and bugs

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
The house itself is perfect for a larger group. There was plenty of room in the house for 20+ people to eat and hang out. The rooms are great and it was nice to have a private balcony. The outside deck facing the lake provided plenty of out door setting. The yard was very large. The only thing the I thought was misleading about the description of the house was "the water is great for swimming". The water was horrible! There was so much seaweed my kids couldn't swim at all! Also, because there is a swap on one side of the house, it gets very, very buggy at night! Like millions of little bugs. If you are not interested in swimming and don't mind the bugs, this is a perfect rental house.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive review and we are glad you enjoyed the house. The location and layoiut of the house as you say is great for large get togethers and informal relaxation. As is common throughout the lake you can get bug hatches that vary from month to month and year to year. This happens to be a problem this year due to non-stop rain. The wetland to the right is actually a good place to explore with abundant wildlife such as Blue Heron, beavers, frogs, etc. The milfoil weeds also varies year to year, and due to constant storms and Southwest wind, the milfoil cut up by boats has blown into our shore area. We employ a weed harvesting barge to manage the problem , and is now operating after a late start. There are great sandy beaches and State Parks to the North and South within a 10 to 20 minute drive if the swimming is not up to par. One thing you failed to mention is that the bay has spectacular fishing if you know where and how to catch bass, pike, sheepshead and walleye.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks,

The owners
Helpful votes: 15/15