Ingonish cottage rental - The ocean front side of the cottage.
The ocean front side of the cottage.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Ingonish Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 3-7)

Neil’s Harbour Cottage on 1.5 Acres of Private Oceanfront Property - Spectacular Views!

Enjoy amazing views, roaring waves, wildlife sightings, and shooting stars while you stay at this lovely, meticulously maintained cottage on over an acre of private oceanfront property. From the cottage, walk the short path lined by windswept grasses and wild flowers to the stunning water’s edge. Marvel at panoramic views of the rocky Atlantic shoreline from the upper deck.

From the master bedroom deck, listen to the waves, spot whales, eagles, gannets, and seals. The beautiful master bedroom includes a futon and a half-bath and is located on the second floor. On the first floor, enjoy the spacious and bright eat-in kitchen. The kitchen is fully equipped with a large table and new appliances. The lower deck is equipped with a gas grill and overlooks a beautiful lawn and the natural landscape of the shoreline.

Relax in the living room in front of the large screen TV while viewing the ocean through the sliding glass doors. The spacious living room features a full Simmon’s pull out sofa bed and a gas fireplace. The front bedroom includes a comfortable day bed with detachable twin trundle bed that reaches full bed height and can be rolled away from the day bed. Full bath and laundry room are also located on the first floor. We have also added high-speed internet.

In the distance, view the light house and quaint working fishing village of Neil’s Harbour. You will appreciate the convenience of the short walk to the grocery store. The restaurant, hospital, and post office are all located within two miles. The Cottage by the Mighty Blue is on the east coast of Cape Breton Island and only minutes off of the Cabot trail’s beautiful hiking and vistas. Kayaking, hiking, bicycling, outdoor adventures, a swimming beach and quaint restaurants are all within 10-20 minutes. Enjoy sailing, whale watching, and world-class golfing within 30 minutes.

Linens and maid service are provided.

SEE MORE PHOTOS BY CLICKING ON THE LINK NEAR THE BOTTOM OF THE PAGE.

You will love it here!

Nearby Activities:

Golf, sightseeing, restaurants, kayaking, sailing, boating, swimming, biking, cross-country skiing, snowboarding, fishing, and more.

Enjoy the seasons:

September is a beautiful month and is known for its humpback whale sightings. Come witness the stunning fall foliage and enjoy the world famous Celtic Colours Music Festival in October. After the holidays enjoy the INVIGORATING cross country skiing which is growing in popularity. Or stay at home and warm your toes by the cozy gas fireplace with a cup of tea and a good book.

Cape Breton Island was rated the #1 most beautiful island by Conde Nast Traveller magazine. Cape Breton island was also rated as having the 2nd most friendly people by Conde Nast Traveller Magazine.

Cape Breton Island National Park was rated the #2 best national park in North America, 2005 National Geographic.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 113635 in Ingonish, Nova Scotia

Neil's Harbour - 1.5 Acres of Spectacular Private Ocean Front
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Neil's Harbour - 1.5 Acres of Spectacular Private Ocean Front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113635vbi
(902) 336-2812 (Nova Scotia, Canada)
Ingonish Cape Breton Island
Montreal
5

Amazing stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The house was very well located and we liked that we had our own privacy in the back yard and as close as next door to the coop for the grocery. The cottage is not far away to different trails.We even spent an afternoon at the beach in Neil's Harbour. I would recommend the cottage because with the kitchen that had different pots and plates we could cook everything.Thanks to Ron and Kathy for the feedbacks and concerns that we had before arriving at the cottage.The restaurant and the ice cream parlor is a most in Neil's Harbour.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Neil's Harbour - 1.5 Acres of Spectacular Private Ocean Front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113635vbi
(902) 336-2812 (Nova Scotia, Canada)
Ingonish Cape Breton Island
Ohio
5

A wonderful place to stay in CBI

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I don't know why there aren't more reviews of this place as it is wonderful. We stayed in August 2013. It would have been perfect for a week, but unfortunately we could only have it for 4 days. The house is very private and quiet, you can see and hear the ocean from every window in the back of the house. Ventilation is great so the house was never hot. The ocean waves will lull you to sleep at night, and watching the stars from the upstairs balcony was magical.

Everything is spotlessly clean, the kitchen is very well stocked with everything that might be needed. Best for us was the washer and dryer as this was a mid way stopover on a two week stay.

Neil's Harbor well situated for a stay along the Cabot trail. It's an easy drive to Ingonish - the beaches and hiking in the park. White Point is not to be missed and it's an easy hike. Have ice cream at the Neil's Harbor light house, and snow crab at the Chowder House.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Neil's Harbour - 1.5 Acres of Spectacular Private Ocean Front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113635vbi
(902) 336-2812 (Nova Scotia, Canada)
Ingonish Cape Breton Island
Cohoes
5

Lovely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Another great review...

We were delighted to find such a wonderfully well-maintained and private home for us to stay during the first few days of our honeymoon.

We would go back in heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Neil's Harbour - 1.5 Acres of Spectacular Private Ocean Front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113635vbi
(902) 336-2812 (Nova Scotia, Canada)
Ingonish Cape Breton Island
Stouffville, Ontario
5

A Great Find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
What can we say? Beautiful views, comfortable, clean, and well equipped! Private and yet next to grocery and amenities. We loved it! Great location from which to explore Cape Breton. Darryl and Kathy were friendly, accessible, and helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Neil's Harbour - 1.5 Acres of Spectacular Private Ocean Front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113635vbi
(902) 336-2812 (Nova Scotia, Canada)
Ingonish Cape Breton Island
Toronto, ON
5

Wonderful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I just came back from a week-long family vacation in Neil's Harbour where I stayed at the Mighty Blue Cottage. We all had a wonderful time.
The cottage is clean, comfortable and very well-equiped. It has everything one needs, from barbecue to binoculars to watch the ocean! It is both central (a few steps from the co-op and the harbour, with its restaurants and even a whale watching cruise tour) and private, which was very important to us since we went there to take a break from the noise of the city. The cottage is right in front of the ocean: incredible view and sunsets!
It is perfectly located, which allowed us to fully visit Cape Breton Island, from Ingonish to Cheticamp and of course, the national park.
Kathy and Darryl are very nice and helpful. Always available for us.
I highly recommend it, especially for family gatherings or romantic gateways! And I will definitely come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Neil's Harbour - 1.5 Acres of Spectacular Private Ocean Front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113635vbi
(902) 336-2812 (Nova Scotia, Canada)
Ingonish Cape Breton Island
Edmonton Alberta
5

Great accomodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We would highly recommend this cottage. The listing description is accurate - it is very clean, comfortable, well maintained and the views and quiet location were the icing on the cake. Darryl and Kathy were very reasonable to deal with and very helpful. We had a great vacation on this gorgeous island and this cottage played an important part in that. Highly recommend the Skyline and Coastal Trails, seeing Louisbourg and the Graham Bell Museum.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Neil's Harbour - 1.5 Acres of Spectacular Private Ocean Front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113635vbi
(902) 336-2812 (Nova Scotia, Canada)
Ingonish Cape Breton Island
Mobile, AL
5

Wow! What a Great Find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Whether it was luck or fate that led us to Neil's Harbour, all my wife and I could say was "Wow!" In need of a place to stay for 3 nights in the midst of Cape Breton Highlands National Park, this cottage (really a house!) was perfect. Immediately next to the Atlantic's waves, it provided terrific views of the ocean, sunrises and the most beautiful full-moonrise we'd ever seen over an ocean. Even during the cool May evenings, we kept a window or two open to just listen to the crashing surf.

The location was excellent -- perfectly placed far enough off the main highway for privacy, but easily accessed for the many visits around the park for sightseeing the majestic highlands.

The cottage itself was exactly what you would want for a vacation home-base -- full kitchen for cooking your own meals if you want, a private room for two upstairs, and plenty of room downstairs for relaxing, watching tv, playing video games, taking advantage of the speedy wifi and whatever. One of the downstairs rooms has a daybed that could easily be converted to an extra bedroom for one or two adults -- really would be perfect though for a couple of kids.

Though it was too cool for us in May to make much use of the deck outside, we thought it would be great during the summer months to just sit, use the grill, drink a beverage, and enjoy watching the world float by. Did we mention the great location and the view?

And the final touch was a washer-dryer in the laundry room for that mid-vacation pile of clothes. If we had known before we left home about this added feature, we would have been able to cut the amount of clothes we'd packed in half!

One more thing -- your hosts, the managers of the property, are terrific. They were full of helpful information about the community and the people, really aiding us in finding our feet and getting around in a new place.

Will we be back? You bet! We highly recommend this to anyone trying to find the perfect location for a getaway to great scenery, great activities, great lobster, and a great place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Neil's Harbour - 1.5 Acres of Spectacular Private Ocean Front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113635vbi
(902) 336-2812 (Nova Scotia, Canada)
Ingonish Cape Breton Island
Kitchener, Ontario
5

Awesome spot for all ages

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
I had a great time. It is my fourth straight year staying in Neal's Harbour, and first time at this place. It was great, and as always Darryl and Kathy were fantastic! Neil's Harbour is one of the gems in Cape Breton that so many tourists overlook. And if you continue up the White Point Rd, the scenery is unbelievable. I like to stay at a place a week at a time to use as a home base, and this place was perfect! It is close to many of my favourite spots....Neil's Brook, beulack ban falls, White Point, Meat Cove, Pleasant Bay, and the highlands in general. And you are only about an hr and a half from Cheticamp --- another of my favourite spots. Your house is a great spot, with great views! The skies in Cape Breton are amongst the best in the world..... day and night. Fantastic sunrises right from the deck....and unbelievable stars!!! Very private spot.....I highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Neil's Harbour - 1.5 Acres of Spectacular Private Ocean Front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113635vbi
(902) 336-2812 (Nova Scotia, Canada)
Ingonish Cape Breton Island
Clarksburg, WV
5

We Lucked Out

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Spent several nights there this summer when someone else had cancelled at the last minute. Loved the cottage, the comfort and solitude of the place, yet proximity to town and grocery store. Perfect place for exploring the park or driving to Meat Cove. Hosts could not have been nicer.

Highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Neil's Harbour - 1.5 Acres of Spectacular Private Ocean Front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113635vbi
(902) 336-2812 (Nova Scotia, Canada)
Ingonish Cape Breton Island
Halifax, NS (originally from Denver,CO, USA)
5

The perfect beachfront getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Our family of four enjoyed this wonderful beachfront home during the Thanksgiving Weekend. The property is meticulously maintained with all the modern conveniences you might need for your stay. It was so warm and cozy on those chilly, rainy mornings. We look forward to staying there again in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway