Mount Judea cabin rental - Cabin Front overlooks Cave Creek below
Cabin Front overlooks Cave Creek below
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps17
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Mount Judea Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Sleeps 17, King Master, Up-2 Doubles, Basement-5 Twins & 1 Double , 2 Sleepers

Cave Creek Cabin is an authentic 1840's hand-hewn 'dogtrot-style' log cabin with modern conveniences. It sleeps 17, has 2 full baths and includes 125 acres of private, secluded elk habitat. The property has 3/8 mile of year round creek nestled in an Ozark valley setting for swimming and fishing. Our ridge top location surrounded by the Gene Rush Wildlife Management Area is five miles from the Carver input of the Buffalo National River, known for excellent canoeing & float trips. Mountain breezes, rushing creeks and great views abound in Newton County.. Build memories to last a lifetime around the massive fireplace and outdoor firepit. Moved from Kentucky to this secluded spot, restored and modernized for vacation fun and enjoyment of these Arkansas Ozark mountains, the cabin is very large yet cozy. Full walkout basement, fully equipped kitchen, huge front porch & patio with picnic tables and porch swing. Cave Creek Cabin - for your dream getaway

Informative Details: If you're looking for a secluded mountain retreat from the standard American pace of life, Cave Creek Cabin is for you. Show your city kids what rural country life can be! They'll love it here in the woods of north-central Arkansas! The biggest complaint you'll hear is when you're getting ready to leave for home. We make an excellent location for family reunions, church retreats, ladies or men's weekends out. Elk and turkey hunters love our location too!

Things To Do: We are minutes from Sam's Throne, a little further from Richland Creek, not too far from Hurricane River Cave and Mystic Caverns. Brochures and business cards at the cabin will put you in touch with opportunities for horseback riding, zip-lining and more! Branson is about an hour away if you just have to get back to traffic and crowds!

Etcetera: We regret that our rural location is also populated by ticks, chiggers, poison ivy and oak! Please come prepared to encounter these unwelcome residents, and don't forget to arm the pets too!

More Details
Hide Details

110 Reviews of Property 113504 in Mount Judea, Arkansas

Log Cabin on 125-Acre Elk Habitat - Stay with Us when You Float the Buffalo!
average rating of 4.5 based on 110 reviews
business
Log Cabin on 125-Acre Elk Habitat - Stay with Us when You Float the Buffalo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113504
(479) 667-2368, Paula - Primary
Mount Judea Arkansas
Little Rock AR
5

Guestbook Comment

WOW! The cabin and property are better than the website photos. We brought DVDs but spent our TV time watching your classic movies. Great selection....
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2007
  • Stayed: Jan 2007
WOW! The cabin and property are better than the website photos. We brought DVDs but spent our TV time watching your classic movies. Great selection.

It was so quiet....the perfect place to wind down. The bluffs, visible from the front porch, are amazing. We drove down to the creek and spent several hours exploring the cliffs under the cabin.

The adjoining Gene Rush WMA is a great place to explore...with 4wd!
Thanks for a great time!
Helpful votes: 6/9
business
Log Cabin on 125-Acre Elk Habitat - Stay with Us when You Float the Buffalo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113504
(479) 667-2368, Paula - Primary
Mount Judea Arkansas
5

Fantastic !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Beautiful cabin, area and views. We loved it
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Log Cabin on 125-Acre Elk Habitat - Stay with Us when You Float the Buffalo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113504
(479) 667-2368, Paula - Primary
Mount Judea Arkansas
5

Great place for peace and quiet.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We have stayed at the cabin several times now. Love the place. You can hike the wooded trail that circles the cabin or head down to the creek. Cabin is very spacious and the porch is a great place to hang out and take in some nature. There is also a nice fire pit to stay warm on those cool nights. Just a great place to relax.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Log Cabin on 125-Acre Elk Habitat - Stay with Us when You Float the Buffalo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113504
(479) 667-2368, Paula - Primary
Mount Judea Arkansas
Missouri
3

If seclusion is what you want...this is the place.

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
For being so remote, this is one of the cleanest cabins we have been to. Bugs were not a problem in the house...well, one or two..no big deal. The creek was nothing special, but it is the summer, and it was mossy and low, but we found two great places on the Buffalo, about 13 miles from the cabin that were excellent. Carver and Hasty put ins...wow!! We spent most of our time between these two places. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen well laid out, and the living area cozy. The main floor tub/ shower was not set up great. There is no good place to put your soap, wash cloth, razor..etc...Wouldn't a shower caddy over the shower head make sense...that would be better, but the shower rod was way to small, not giving you any room to shower...easy to fix...get a longer rod...We had a pretty good thunderstorm while there, so we wanted to locate some flashlights just in case the power went out...There are none to be had that we could find. We went to light the grill for dinner...not one match or lighter in the place. How do you expect renters to use the fireplace, the grill or fire pit that is provided if you don't also provide something to start a fire with? If it had not been for MY emergency kit that we carry with us, we would not have had dinner unless we drove to Mt. Judea for matches...We have never been to a cabin or any rental that did not provide flashlights, batteries, emergency candles and a source for starting a fire or lighting emergency candles...in this remote of a place it is important that these emergency items be on hand...please think about adding these important items..I suggest to anyone renting this cabin to come prepared with your own flashlights, camping lanterns and lighters...
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Log Cabin on 125-Acre Elk Habitat - Stay with Us when You Float the Buffalo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113504
(479) 667-2368, Paula - Primary
Mount Judea Arkansas
5

So glad to be back!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I brought our family here in 2004 and we loved it. Since then we hace tried several times, but the cabin was always booked. This year it was open for our 22nd anniversary. We were so excited to return!! The cabin was as beautiful as we remembered! The view of the creek was new to us and it was spectacular. Unfortunately for us it rained a good bit so the creek was too swollen for wading and fishing. That didnt spoil our trip though. We love driving around on all of the gravel roads and exploring. And since we couldnt fish, we have booked the cabin for the first week in august with our kids. Looking forward to a wonderful family vacation at Cave Creek Cabin!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Log Cabin on 125-Acre Elk Habitat - Stay with Us when You Float the Buffalo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113504
(479) 667-2368, Paula - Primary
Mount Judea Arkansas
Arkansas
5

The best

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This cabin is unreal. The view and attention to detail is second to none. We spent tons of time around the fire pit just listening to the creek flow. Very remote location, I'm talking no neighbors to be seen or heard. Saw several deer in the green fields next to the creek. We will be going back. I would suggest an suv or truck.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Log Cabin on 125-Acre Elk Habitat - Stay with Us when You Float the Buffalo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113504
(479) 667-2368, Paula - Primary
Mount Judea Arkansas
Shreveport Louisiana
5

A sanctuary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We enjoyed an awesome spring break in the Ozarks at Cave Creek Cabin. It was our first time to stay there and will definitely be back next year. We floated the Buffalo and spent a lot of time exploring and playing at Cave Creek-great swimming holes and fishing, panoramic views, wild turkeys, deer, evening fires in the fire pit, fire flies...
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Cabin on 125-Acre Elk Habitat - Stay with Us when You Float the Buffalo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113504
(479) 667-2368, Paula - Primary
Mount Judea Arkansas
Hallsville, Texas
4

Hard to find, extremely remote, and absolutely incredible!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This was my second favorite family vacation ever, which I did not expect. The cabin is in the middle of nowhere, but we found it fine by sticking to the directions. It feels like you are miles from anyone else, which was great. The cabin itself is huge, nicely furnished, and clean. The owners have created a real gem using age-old timbers from an old dog-run cabin they moved from out of state. The weather was perfect during our stay, so of course we spent most of the time either on the porches, around the fire pit, or exploring the property and river around the cabin.

On day one, we made trips to two of the many hiking trails in the area (I highly recommend Glory Hole and the Natural Bridge (Alum??). Both were easy hikes and had a nice payoff at the end of the trail. That night we ate outside, then sat around the fire and ate way too many marshmallows.

Day two, we drove to the river and floated about 12 miles. Absolutely beautiful! We left out of Jasper and used Riverview Canoe Rental to drop off and pick up. I highly recommend them. Ate lunch on a rock ledge overlooking the river and made a short hike during our trip up to one of the many caves that overlook the river. Made the mistake of jumping into the river off a 10 foot overhang, and literally lost my breath the water was so cold (It was mid March). Came back to the cabin that evening, had dinner outside and then again ate way too many marshmallows.

Day three we drove to Ponca and did the canopy tour ziplines...a blast and my first time to ride a zipline or be 40 feet up in a tree. We all loved it. Ate in Jasper at Ozark Cafe...a must do! Skipped the marshmallows because we were too full that night.

But my absolute favorite thing was the mornings. I would get up just before sunrise, make coffee and walk down to the cliff ledge that overlooks both the river (Cave Creek) and a pasture that is apparently maintained for wildlife. As the sun came up, I saw elk, deer, and wild turkeys in the pastures below. It was so incredibly peaceful perched on the edge of that cliff watching the sunrise.

I won't mention the historical significance of the caves down below, but you need to go see them and then read the book on Newton County history in the cabin!

My only gripe was there were wasps inside the cabin. Apparently this is normal (although I too live in the woods and there are plenty of wasps around...just not in the house). Maybe the old logs just have too many nooks and gaps.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Log Cabin on 125-Acre Elk Habitat - Stay with Us when You Float the Buffalo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113504
(479) 667-2368, Paula - Primary
Mount Judea Arkansas
midwest
2

Our Experience

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Comment Text: Our experience: The nearly 5-mile off-road drive to get to the
cabin was along crude, narrow, gravel rural lanes - fortunately we did not bring
our good vehicle! Upon arrival, the creek could not be seen from the cabin
front porch - the "vista" was of heavily treed forests all around. About
100-200 feet from the front porch, thru the heavy brush, we reached a 500-feet
tall (+/-) cliff. At the bottom is Cave Creek. The only way to access Cave
Creek, is to travel back off the property, down another rougher gravel lane,
approx. 1 mile, across a field - absolutely requiring a high-clearance 4x4,
unless you are a teenager or hale/hearty adult hiker. Water was low, muddy,
with algae/weeds - hardly a swimming hole; but, the bluffs were pretty -
somewhere up there was the cabin.

Back at the cabin, we were a group of five, including us two parents, our 2
young children and a grandparent. The grandparent needed to sleep on the main
floor near the bathroom, as was planned, yet no sheets were provided for the
sofabeds, as advertised. The VCR was not operable/cables missing for the kids
movies. The kitchen was less than clean. Doors to the basement bathroom and
laundry were locked. The first evening, the caretaker received our call for
sheets and access to the only usable shower (downstairs), and did not return our
call. (The shower head for the claw-foot tub/shower was hanging off the wall
attachment). We were later told by the Manager that the caretaker notified the manager/owner that night, who also did not call us at the mobile
number/email we supplied.

We left early, because the views were not as expected, we were unable to take
walks down to the creek daily, nor were we able to watch our movies, as planned.
We needed to run laundry, from all the chiggers in our clothes. And, the cliff
siting was dangerous for our young children and dog, and the grandparent had no
sheets.

Manager later apologized to us for our inability to "relax and enjoy" the cabin. . . Owner unwilling to work out remedy; non-responsive.
Owner's Response: From owner: Cave Creek Cabin offers 125 acres of wilderness in an authentic huge and modern log cabin that has been professional rebuilt with modern amenities like central heat/air, washer/dryer, complete kitchen, 2 full baths, ceiling fans, oversized covered porch, huge picnic table with fire pit overlooking the beautiful Ozark Mountains. The owner has a significant invested in the property and surrounding. The property is in a Wildlife Habit Program and offers a unique experience. This client complains about lack of water in creek, this summer was one of the dryest on record, the creek can reach widths of 40-50' during periods of rainfall and is typically at least 20' wide. Client complains about bluffs being dangerous but they are very far from cabin. No child is going to accidentally be in danger unless you let them get lost in the woods where any child lost in woods is in danger. There are two TVs in the cabin and if a cable was inadvertently missing as a result of a prior guest they still had the ability to watch their movies. Client complains about bugs...and that is another reason they left early and wanted a refund. This client obviously does not understand nature; there are bugs, there are periods of dry weather that affect the surroundings, late in the season vines grow, trees have leaves that block views but also provide shade. Private areas of beauty are off the beaten track, and taking hikes to get from one part of the acreage to another should not be something to complain about but to be grateful for. As owner the refund policy is clearly stated and it takes considerable funds to keep this marginally profitable experience available. I hope by reading this review and my response you have a better understanding of the experience Cave Creek Cabin provides and understand that this client was unfortunately looking for a different experience. I also encourage you to read the other feedback on this site and if this is the kind of experience you are looking for you will not be disappointed.
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Log Cabin on 125-Acre Elk Habitat - Stay with Us when You Float the Buffalo!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113504
(479) 667-2368, Paula - Primary
Mount Judea Arkansas
5

Awesome vacation place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We were a group of 10 people for three nights and there is no doubt it was one of the best vacation we had in many years. Cabin is secluded very well to enjoy quiet and relaxing time with family and friends. There are many activities around such as canoeing, kayaking, hiking, fishing, swimming. Not to forget cabin is equipped with all amenities so you don't have to worry about anything other than carrying your food and drinks with you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/5