Great Guana Cay cottage rental - Scotland Cay from Dolphin Lookout's front deck-Wonderful snorkeling/diving
Scotland Cay from Dolphin Lookout's front deck-Wonderful snorkeling/diving
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Great Guana Cay Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 2

Dolphin Lookout(TM) is like a 'ship on land,' anchored and secluded on the southeast tip of this tropical out island coral atoll. This wonderful newer hand-crafted Bahamian cottage, is perched on a bluff, providing spectacular views of the gorgeous Bahamian turquoise ocean and breath taking vistas across Scotland Bay to the beautiful little private coral island of Scotland Cay.

Guana's beaches are 'Fodor's choice' for the best beaches in the Bahamas. Just a few minutes from Dolphin Lookout, begin miles of white powdery sand beaches, where you may only see your foot prints in the sand. A magnificent outer reef, which is the 3rd largest in the world, runs the entire length of Guana Cay, and within a 'stones throw' from this very special oceanfront cottage are numerous inner reefs and coral gardens teaming with colorful marine life. Extraordinary white sand beaches, reefs, coral gardens, snorkeling, swimming, diving, kayaking are accessible by foot or golf cart and are only a few minutes from Dolphin Lookout.

About 2 miles west of Dolphin Lookout(TM) is a quaint, picturesque settlement, home to 100-125 permanent residences, descendants of loyalists, who migrated to the Bahamas from the Carolinas, Virginia and New York during the revolutionary war.

Here in the settlement, you will find Guana Harbour grocery store, several great restaurants, Donna's golf cart rentals, the upscale Orchid Bay Yacht club and Marina, a dive shop, boat rentals, and Milos fresh fruit and vegetable stand. Yes, this out island experience may be the closest thing to 'heaven on earth' for ocean lovers. To us it continues to be a fairy tale experience. Dolphin Lookout may well be that vacation or retirement home away from home you have been dreaming about. Sound and look to good to be true? Please note the comments by Dolphin Lookout guests, the additional photos below, and then you decide.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

35 Reviews of Property 113398 on Great Guana Cay, Bahamas

'Dolphin Lookout'- Oceanfront, Breathtaking Panoramic Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 35 reviews
business
'Dolphin Lookout'- Oceanfront, Breathtaking Panoramic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113398vb
Ben/Cathy Hickman (520) 407-6022(Arizona, USA)
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Orlando FL
5

2nd trip was even better!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We visited Dolphin Lookout last spring (see my review from May of last year) and this trip was even better than the first. So relaxing. There's nothing better than the view of Scotland Bay from the deck.
And there were some nice improvements to the house, including a new mattress and some new kitchen appliances and gadgets. Very clean and comfortable. We had some great snorkeling off Caysera beach, in Scotland Bay and off the dock by the breakers. We saw a few sharks from the dock and a beautiful spotted eagle ray floated right under us one evening. We went diving with Troy one day and it was fun but the snorkeling was so good by the house that I could have skipped diving altogether and just snorkeled again. We went to Baker's Bay a couple of times and their breakfast was awesome. Now that the other breakfast place closed down it's really the only place you can eat breakfast on the island. Overall I have nothing but glowing reviews for the Lookout and for Ben. Be back next year!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Dolphin Lookout'- Oceanfront, Breathtaking Panoramic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113398vb
Ben/Cathy Hickman (520) 407-6022(Arizona, USA)
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Bloomington, Indiana
5

Amazing views at Dolphin Lookou

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Dolphin Lookout exceeded my expectations for privacy and fantastic views of the ocean and the bay all from the deck and kitchen table. The caretakers Gina and Ron were very nice and were more than willing to help in any way possible, all we had to do was ask. Ben & Cathy the owners provided detailed information once we made our reservations and this info was very helpful in familarizing ourselves with DL and GGC in advance of our trip. Once we arrived via the ferry and docked at GGC Gina and Ron were there to greet us and take us to pick up our Donna's golf cart for our transportation for the week. They led us out to Dolphin Lookout through the gate of Orchid Bay and showed us around and instructed us on the workings of DL and how to access the dock and kayaks. If you are single or a couple looking to escape to an island paradice without TV and phones then DL is the ultimate place to do this. Of course your computer and cell phone will work at DL but once you are there they slowly but surely seem to loose their importance in your daily life at DL. My wife thought that she would check her work e-mail daily and ended up only checking one time while we were there. Swiming and snokeling off the private dock was easy and the bay was usually protected from the wind and waves of the ocean side. While we were there for 7 days there was a Rage going on and the ocean side waves were 6-8 feet for 5 of the days, finally subsiding to 4-6 the last two days. All this time the bay was still accessable for snorkeling, swiming and fish viewing around the rock out croppings and small coral heads nearby. DL is secluded on the extreem end of GGC but it is still only a short 8 minute golf cart ride from the settlement with all the restaurants,bars and grocery store. The restaurant in Orchid Bay, The Sunsetter, had just opened up the week or two before we arrive and the food we had the two times we dined there was fantastic. Great sunset views and a great staff and we were totally refreshed and relaxed with only a short cart ride back to DL. Barefoot Man was at Nippers on Friday afternoon on the 15th. and was really entertaining and the people watching at Nippers was shall I say, "Interesting and Entertaining" as well. The 5 different beaches we walked on GGC were all beautiful with some still showing signs of damage and debris from Hurricane Sandy. The two closest beaches to DL were soft sand and beautiful ocean views and very secluded. Dolphin Lookout is a great trip!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Dolphin Lookout'- Oceanfront, Breathtaking Panoramic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113398vb
Ben/Cathy Hickman (520) 407-6022(Arizona, USA)
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Atlanta Ga.
5

Relaxing Week in a great cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My wife and I went to Dolphin Lookout to get away and relax. Boy did we, Ben & Cathy's place is made just for that! Ben has done a great job of thinking about everything you would need. The pictures are exactly what you will see. Like a few other people have said, if your looking for the night life, Great Guana is not for you. Dolphin Lookout exceded our expectations and hope to be back in the near future. Thanks Ben & Cathy
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Dolphin Lookout'- Oceanfront, Breathtaking Panoramic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113398vb
Ben/Cathy Hickman (520) 407-6022(Arizona, USA)
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Brewster, MA
5

Cape Codders away from home....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Our experience at Dolphin Lookout was nothing less than perfect. The cottage and its bluff-top location are beauty filled and have gifted us with enough inspiration to maintain warm, peaceful thoughts throughout the remainder of our New England winter. Thanks to Ben and Cathy for sharing such an amazing place. We will return.
B and C
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Dolphin Lookout'- Oceanfront, Breathtaking Panoramic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113398vb
Ben/Cathy Hickman (520) 407-6022(Arizona, USA)
Great Guana Cay Abaco
5

Already looking forward to going back

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We stayed in May and loved it so much we have already talked to Ben about staying next year - but this time for two weeks! It was that great. Dolphin Lookout already has so many nice reviews and they use words like wonderful, heavenly, peaceful, amazing - and I agree with ALL of them. I just want to add a few tips/comments for future visitors. First, Ben is awesome and he'll give you a booklet with a lot of good tips about DL before you go. This was hands down the easiest trip to plan, pay for and prepare for that I've ever taken. And his love for Dolphin Lookout really shows. You can't help but fall in love with DL before you even get there. Caysera Beach is gorgeous and quiet (think Corona commercial) and it's easy to get to by golf cart if you go to the Orchid Bay beach cabana (off the cart path heading into town). The snorkeling just off shore at Caysera is phenomenal - we are scuba divers but we cancelled our dives and just snorkeled every day within minutes of home. Snorkeling off the dock is great too - especially by the breaker off to the right. We saw sharks, huge spotted rays, parrot fish, even little octupus in the evening. Sunset off the dock is beautiful - one evening a big ray flew out of the water twice right in front of us. Get the kayaks - kayaking in the lagoon between Guana and Scotland Cay is beautiful - we saw a lot of turtles and rays and a couple of sharks over there, plus it's just a great place to relax. We were really happy we got the 'big wheel' golf cart - the path to town is a bumpy one. Nipper's, Grabber's and Pirate's Cove didn't blow us away with their food but they are each worth visiting - certainly stop long enough to get a drink and some conch fritters. Nipper's has a great beach view, Grabber's has the good sunset view, and Pirate's Cove is like having dinner at a friends house (they're so nice). As for the house itself - our favorite things were the outdoor shower and of course the views. The infrequent power outages, slow wi-fi and lack of cell service did not bother us - we were there to get away. This is definitely not the trip for everyone but if you love being on/near/in/around water nonstop and don't mind roughing it a little, it is absolutely perfect. Only two complaints... A tropical storm came through on the few days we had rented a boat so we could not explore the other cays, and two... no dolphin sightings! We had high hopes given the name. :) Looking forward to spring already. Thanks Ben!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
'Dolphin Lookout'- Oceanfront, Breathtaking Panoramic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113398vb
Ben/Cathy Hickman (520) 407-6022(Arizona, USA)
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Philadelphia, PA
5

...A perfect setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Hi Ben,
We enjoyed every moment of our stay at Dolphin Lookout. Every day we woke up to a beautiful morning surrounded by the brilliant blue water, and enjoyed relaxing on the front deck with a cup of coffee, watching the island come alive.
Our absolute favorite activity was using the kayaks. We would go out early and paddle to the lagoon area where we spent hours snorkeling, exploring, watching the maine life, undisturbed. We saw sea turtles, sharks, rays and so many beautiful fish feeding in the reef. It was magical.
If you enjoy looking for shells or sea glass, this is the place to be. Never have we been on a beach with such beautiful and plentiful shells.
We also appreciated the "stocked" pantry as it had quite a few essential items such as olive oil, vengar, spices, foil.......
This is the best location on Guana Cay. It is hard to put into words the beauty that surrounds the home. You feel like your are a part of the island, undisturbed from all of the hustle and bustle of everyday living. What a wonderful home. We loved every minute at Dolphin Lookout-it is a little piece of heaven!.
Mike and Molly
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
'Dolphin Lookout'- Oceanfront, Breathtaking Panoramic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113398vb
Ben/Cathy Hickman (520) 407-6022(Arizona, USA)
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Green Valley, CA
5

The most amazing place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My Husband and I went to Dolphin Lookout for our honeymoon from 10/1 to 10/8 and we wished we stayed that extra day! The location was perfect, very private and the views were amazing! The locals are very nice and helpful. The restaurants were just a 10 minute golf cart away and the ride really added some adventure to the trip. The dock was a great place to fish, we saw 3 sharks, caught a barracuda and several smaller fish. The dock was also the best place to watch the beautiful sunset. The property was just lovely, the villa is stocked with all the basic amenities so you can cook for yourself, there is an outdoor and indoor shower, and if you need anything Sydney and Pat are a phone call away.

If you’re looking for a secluded place, with great views and great people… STOP LOOKING, you found it! We will be back to Guana again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Dolphin Lookout'- Oceanfront, Breathtaking Panoramic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113398vb
Ben/Cathy Hickman (520) 407-6022(Arizona, USA)
Great Guana Cay Abaco
5

Fantastic, Private Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We celebrated our 25th anniversary the second week of July at Dolphin Lookout. If you are looking for a cozy cottage and private getaway, this is the place for you. The owners have thought of everything and the cottage is very well maintained and clean. The outdoor shower is a great amenity after sunning and swimming. Views from the deck are beautiful and we spent many hours on the deck, reading and enjoying the views and full moon. Pat and Sidney, caretakers, met us at the dock with our golf cart and gave us a quick tour of the Settlement where we could buy groceries, alcohol and dine out. They then escorted us to Dolphin Lookout and showed us around. The private boat dock is a short golf cart ride away, where you can swim and snorkel. You could walk to it, but if you have very much to carry, you'll want to take the cart. They also have their own walking path leading to the bay in front of the cottage where you can snorkel. This was a very easy access point and the snorkeling was very nice. A 5 minute golf cart ride takes you to a wonderful beach access point where you can walk and snorkel for hours. We did not rent the kayaks, but the weather this time of year would have made it very do-able. The seas were calm all week. We also chose not to rent a boat, but we might on our next visit, just so we can see some of the other Cays. We are divers, but found the snorkeling to be very good near the cottage, so we did not go diving. We only dined out three times: lunch at Grabber's and dinner twice at Pirate's Chest for NY strip, ribs and shrimp. We liked going to Nipper's to get drinks, then took them down their stairs to the beautiful beach. Crowds were never a problem and in fact, during the afternoons at Nipper's we saw two groups of Boy Scouts on snorkeling trips. The evenings there are probably very different! We took the golf cart across the island (maybe 30 minutes) to Baker's Bay and enjoyed some beaches there. The weather was in the high 80's all week with very little breeze. Coming from the Texas heat wave of over 100 degree days, we weren't complaining! We were amazed at how few people we actually saw on the beaches and roads. Each morning we took a long beach walk and never saw more than a couple of people. We have lived in Hawaii and visited St. John and the BVIs. We will definitely add Great Guana to one of the best beach vacation spots! Thanks Ben and Cathy for sharing your cottage! We will return!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
'Dolphin Lookout'- Oceanfront, Breathtaking Panoramic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113398vb
Ben/Cathy Hickman (520) 407-6022(Arizona, USA)
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Littleton, Colorado, US
5

Celebration of our 30th anniversary at Dolphin Lookout

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Dear Ben and Cathy,
We can't thank you enough for opening your island home to us. We honestly have never had a better vacation. It was the most comfortable place we have ever stayed. Every second was wonderful. Waking up to the view of the beautiful sunrise, walking the beach for as long as we wanted, snorkeling the fantastic reefs right in front of the house, kayaking the shores of both Scotland and Guana Cay on the sea side, watching the amazing sunsets, reading, napping. The views were intoxicating. We spent hours at the reefs in the Atlantic just ourside of the entrance to the bay between Guana Cay and Scotland Cay. No, we didn't see any sharks but saw a few baracuda bearing their teeth at us. The plant life was amazing and we saw tons of fish. We have never had such an untouched and wild snorkeling experience. We loved the outdoor shower and privacy. We were very impressed how tastefully decorated your home is. I even took pictures of your drawer pulls in the bathroom. The bed was amazingly comfortable. There wasn't a thing that we were wanting. The cottage is very well stocked and well kept. We were appreciative of your medicine cabinet as we needed the swim ear.
Thank you for making the celebration of our 30th anniversary very special.
John and Lisa
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
'Dolphin Lookout'- Oceanfront, Breathtaking Panoramic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113398vb
Ben/Cathy Hickman (520) 407-6022(Arizona, USA)
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Sammamish, WA
5

New Years at Dolphin Lookout

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
This was our 2nd trip to Great Guana Cay and after staying at Dolphin Lookout, we will never stay anywhere else. We absolutely loved it. From watching the sunrise while laying in bed to sunsets on the dock, life does not get any better. The highlight of our trip was sitting on the dock sipping champagne while watching dolphins swim by at sunset. We enjoyed New Years at Nippers and Pirates Cove but our favorite times were just hanging out looking at the gorgeous views from the deck. Having the use of kayaks was a great addition and they were easy to access. Pat and Sydney were great and full of helpful information. We will be back. Bruce and Cindy
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6