Vineyard Haven house rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Vineyard Haven House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms/3 baths, sleeps 8

*'Tashmoo Hideaway's 'New Wing'

*4 bedrooms/3 bathrooms + outdoor shower

*3 bedrooms w/ AC, 1 w/ ceiling fan

*Sleeps 8

*2500 sq. ft., 3 floors

*Pets welcome

*Skandanavian-style home designed by Norwegian sculptor Ellen Bang

*Organic elements (white pickled wood & natural Indian slate tile), beautiful post & beam joinery, wide plank flooring and profuse natural light

*Open floor plan, kitchen open to dining room

*Dining table seats 8, plus copper top bar w/ 3 stools

*Private outdoor dining area with propane grill and table & chairs (seats 8)

*Fishpond w/bench

*Cable TV & stereo

*Wireless internet

*Full laundry

*House is set back 300 ft from a paved, quiet, residential road, down a long clam-shell driveway

*1 of 3 separate and private rental homes on this large wooded compound, all spaced, oriented and landscaped to afford maximum privacy

*Plantings, fencing and sound insulation separate the Tashmoo Hideaway‘s “New Wing” from the “Old Wing” (#244136)

*In addition to private outdoor space, access to compound’s large shared central green

*Fully winterized (forced hot air heat & fireplace)

More Details
Hide Details

5 Reviews of Property 113222 in Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts

Luxurious & romantic 3 level home near Tashmoo Beach & Vineyard Haven
average rating of 4.8 based on 5 reviews
business
Luxurious & romantic 3 level home near Tashmoo Beach & Vineyard Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113222
+1 774-563-8628
Vineyard Haven Martha's Vineyard
Westwood, MA
5

Will return

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
This property has a wonderful layout, plenty of space and really has a home feeling to it. I went with a group of people and everyone commented on how clean and bright all the rooms were. I especially like that there was a bathroom per 2 bedrooms.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Our reward is the appreciation of our guests. We love to see you happy here. Thank you for letting us know. The bathroom ratio is actually 4 bedrooms to 3 baths, in they New Wing and 3 bedrooms to 2 baths, in the Old Wing.
Welcome back, Ellen & Gary
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Luxurious & romantic 3 level home near Tashmoo Beach & Vineyard Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113222
+1 774-563-8628
Vineyard Haven Martha's Vineyard
5

Above our expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family and I rented the house for a week with the intention of having our friends with their children visit. When we arrived, there was information about the area and a nice sparkling wine left to greet us and the house was very clean with flowers from the garden on the table. The house easily accommodated 4 adults and 3 children. Everyone was very comfortable and thought the house was beautifully laid out. We had the kids on the 3rd floor and they slept easily through the adults talking in the evenings. The house has plenty of space for people to sit and chat, whether it's on the second floor balcony overlooking the yard or downstairs in the living room or on the third floor. The yard provided plenty of space for the kids to safely explore and romp around in without us worrying. The location was great because it was an easy drive to anywhere, a good run into and out of Vineyard Haven, and still very private.

As for practical details, the overall renting and paperwork process couldn't have been easier and smoother. It was all handled very quickly and efficiently. During our stay, we did have some issues with the internet during our stay, but we easily reached the owner and he quickly fixed it. Everyone was incredibly helpful and responsive and made our stay that much better.

Overall, the house was so much nicer and interesting than our expectations and, as a result, we had an incredibly wonderful time on the island. All of us enjoyed the house and count ourselves lucky that we found it!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review Ann! Your time and thoughts are much appreciated. Thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the house and property as a whole. Great feedback. Please come again!
business
Luxurious & romantic 3 level home near Tashmoo Beach & Vineyard Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113222
+1 774-563-8628
Vineyard Haven Martha's Vineyard
4

Very nice....loved the privacy and location...

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
It was a perfect spot for us...lots of room for our family....quiet and private....lovely kitchen and really nice sized rooms...only complaint was mattresses need updating...they were not comfortable...especially the master. But other than that we loved it and would come back again!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review, Jodi. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the house and found it comfortable, spacious, quiet and private. That's the first complaint I've heard about the mattresses. . .and though I am certainly not happy to hear that you found them uncomfortable, I am happy to know about it so that the issue can be resolved. Please come again!
business
Luxurious & romantic 3 level home near Tashmoo Beach & Vineyard Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113222
+1 774-563-8628
Vineyard Haven Martha's Vineyard
5

Tashmoo Hideaway "NEW WING" Review

Tashmoo Hideaway "NEW WING" Review
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I rented this quaint location for a birthday weekend getaway from the city with some close friends during the Martha's Vineyard off-season. This was our second visit to the house and everything about our experiences there has always been excellent!

The house is beautiful and perfect for personal quiet time indoors catching up with friends, but it is also centrally located to the beach, local towns, and many of Martha's Vineyard's visitor attractions. We found everything very clean, well organized, and even aesthetically pleasing...unlike many rental locations which feel like staying at a '70s garage sale. Staying at the Tashmoo Hideaway truly feels like vacationing at your own home.

Working with the renters has always been a wonderful and easy experience. The owner Gary even personally dropped by the house during our stay to extend a welcome and to see that we were doing well.

I would highly recommend considering this rental for your next vacation escape, except for the fact that you may be taking a weekend that I want to return again in the future!
business
Luxurious & romantic 3 level home near Tashmoo Beach & Vineyard Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113222
+1 774-563-8628
Vineyard Haven Martha's Vineyard
5

We Loved It!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My family simply loved this house! It is large, airy and very comfortable - great for families.

While the house is in a quiet and wooded area, it is still a short bike ride from downtown VH and Tashmoo Beach. The location allows you to avoid a lot of the congestion in town, which is great for people who know the island.

Gary, the owner, was great. The experience was a bit like staying in a guesthouse. Gary was there for anything that we needed, yet at the same time we had complete privacy.

This was the second year that we rented from Gary (Old Wing in 2009) and my family looks forward to our next trip!
Helpful votes: 2/2