East End condo rental - View coming down the driveway
View coming down the driveway
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights
 

East End Condo Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, 2 people

At Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina the view is absolutely breathtaking, offering a post card view of St John and the British Virgin Islands. Our condo is located about fifteen feet from the waters edge on the second floor. The view makes it look as though you are floating on the Caribbean Sea. You may spend your evenings sitting on the chairs on the balcony and taking in the view, the lights on the other islands twinkling in the distance and the pleasure boats entering and departing the marina. The resort offers two fine beaches; one for swimming and the other in front of our building which is better suited for snorkeling. The fresh water pool is only 150 feet away.

Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina is located at the East End of the Island, we are approximately 12 miles from Cyril E. King Airport (45 minute ride), we are known as the shopping capital of the Caribbean offering Duty Free shopping in Charlotte Amalie 30 minutes away. In the section of the island known as Red Hook, five minutes away from the condo, you can catch the Ferry to St. John, Tortorla, Virgin Gorda and Jost Van Dyke. Attractions offered by the island include Atlantis Submarine, BOB Underwater Adventure three and a half hour aboard 60 foot yacht, diving and snorkeling, Coral World, Divi Carina Bay Casino, Casino in St. Croix, Pistarckle Theater, Theater in Tillett Gardens, Air conditioned theater with more than 100 seats, Skyride to Paradise Point, and V.I. National Park on St. John. For the golfers in the group Mahogany Run, 18 hole golf course.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I have been married for 39 years now, we have two daughters and 8 grandsons and 3 granddaughters. My husband is retired from the Bridgeport, Ct fire department but owns a construction company which pours concrete for house foundations and additions. I work for eleven different small building companies doing bookkeeping. We have owned at Sapphire Beach for 22 years now and still continue to love it.

The Owner purchased this condo in 1989

Went there on a vacation with our children 23 years ago now, they were still in the process of building the condo's. We fell in love with the peacefullness and beauty of the area. When you sit in the condo it looks like your on a cruise ship and your just floating on the water, that's how close you are to the beach. Now our grandchildren love going, in fact they think we can't go without them.

Quiet, peaceful, beauty, most of the year a wonderful breeze. The friendliness of the local people. The activities available jet skiing,fishing, snorkeling and diving. I can still stay in contact with the world with the high speed internet service, so I'm able to continue working.

33 Reviews of Property 111171 on East End, Virgin Islands

Peaceful with a Gorgeous View at Sapphire Beach
average rating of 4.818182 based on 33 reviews
business
Peaceful with a Gorgeous View at Sapphire Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p111171vb
+1 2033942919
East End St. Thomas
Ballston Spa, NY
5

Awesome views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We loved Marsha's condo! It is very comfortable, clean, cheerful and tastefully decorated. The kitchen is well equiped and we enjoyed cooking some of our meals. The bathroom is spacious and we especially liked the double sink and the large step-in shower with new tiles. The king size bed was very comfortable. We had our morning coffee and an evening drink every day in the high back chairs on the balcony and admired the ocean and beautiful islands. The beach is very quiet but the ocean was still chilly in March on the east side of the island so we swam in the pool.
We did not think that we would feel comfortable driving on the left so we did not rent a car. Sam was very helpful: he picked us up at the airport and took us to the supermarket to buy groceries on the way to our condo.We were within walking distance from the restaurant and bars in Red Hook but the roads are narrow with no shoulder so we hopped on the little open air bus that runs right by Sapphire Beach Resort.
It was a wonderful, peaceful vacation and we would rent Marsha's condo again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 14/15
business
Peaceful with a Gorgeous View at Sapphire Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p111171vb
+1 2033942919
East End St. Thomas
5

beautiful view, well decorated

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The condo is located on the more quiet side of the beach next to the marina. It is close to the water with a lovely view of St. John. The deck is equipped with a table, 3 chairs and a lounge chair and is shaded in the afternoons. The unit is quiet comfortable. The wifi speed is rather slow, making streaming of video difficult. There is no dishwasher and was no pad to use to scrub dishes, though there was dishwashing liquid. This was only a minor inconvenience. The fact that housekeeping services were not provided during my stay was not an inconvenience, but I learned from others renting in the complex that this was not the norm. Off the Grid (food van) up the hill from the condo was awesome. The Sapphire Bar and Grill above the marina was convenient and friendly with acceptable food and good drinks.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful with a Gorgeous View at Sapphire Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p111171vb
+1 2033942919
East End St. Thomas
4

Just as I had it pictured!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My husband and I stayed the last week of February and everything was exactly as it appears online. It has a gorgeous view, right on the ocean. The condo has a nice kitchen, bath and outdoor patio. Bed was a little hard for us, but we slept fine. Great location, close to Red Hook but you cannot walk there! The property is a little run down on the outside, but we loved the fact that it wasn't busy. Met some nice people also staying there and the snorkeling is good, we just tried to go in right in front of the condo and it was too rough and didn't want to step on the coral. I guess the better spot is down on the other side of the pool. Very peaceful, quiet and felt very safe with security around all the time. If you want a lot of action, stay somewhere else. The harbor is awesome and so beautiful to watch the boats coming and going and we did buy some fish from a fishing excursion. Sapphire Beach itself is nice and they keep it clean, woke up the first morning to a worker raking the beach. Good food at the Banana Cabana and we would definitely go back to the same spot if we ever go again. Trunk Bay in St. John is a must see! The most beautiful beach we have ever seen! We loved St. John and the ferry is very close in Red Hook and inexpensive to ride over and back. Owners are helpful and answered all of our questions. The worst part of the trip was flight delays and ended up getting there a day late. I would suggest staying at least 10 days if you are going to travel that far.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful with a Gorgeous View at Sapphire Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p111171vb
+1 2033942919
East End St. Thomas
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This property is exactly as described. Very clean, well maintained and comfortable. Right on the beach with an excellent view from the balcony!! Very close to snorkel beach, pool, and swim beach. If you aren't renting a car, be prepared for several taxi rides. Although there is not a restaurant on the property, since there is a full kitchen, once you make it to the grocery store, that's not a problem. The owners were wonderful, answered every question. I highly recommend this property to family and friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful with a Gorgeous View at Sapphire Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p111171vb
+1 2033942919
East End St. Thomas
4

Great location with a fabulous view!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Peaceful with a gorgeous view describes this condo exactly. My husband and I stayed here for 9 days and it was perfect for us. The unit was clean and well maintained. By far the best feature of this condo is the balcony! It was such a pleasure to watch the sunrise over the island of St. John every morning while enjoying our coffee. We also ended each day having cocktails on the balcony. The view is so spectacular and it was fun to watch the boats coming in and out of the nearby marina.

The town of Red Hook is right down the road and we did not have any trouble finding taxis to take us wherever we wanted to go. We enjoyed the restaurants in Red Hook (Duffy's Love Shack, Molly Malone's, Island Time Pub, Amigo's Mexican). They were all casual reasonably priced restaurants with outdoor dining. We also enjoyed the Sapphire Bar & Grill Restaurant which was within walking distance from the condo (next to the marina). We took several day trips to the island of St. John via the convenient ferry service from Red Hook. We also did a full day sail on the Daydreamer catamaran which took us to the British Virgin Islands. This was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

Marsha was very helpful in answering all of our questions prior to the trip and also gave us tips on restaurants, grocery shopping, etc. It was also very nice of Bill to call us after we arrived to make sure things were going well.

We would definitely recommend this condo to anyone looking for a place to stay that is quiet yet conveniently located to restaurants, shopping, etc.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful with a Gorgeous View at Sapphire Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p111171vb
+1 2033942919
East End St. Thomas
5

Mr.&Mrs. Just Married

Mr.&Mrs. Just Married
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed at sapphire beach for our honeymoon it was everything you could imagine for a beautiful getaway! The beach is literally right under your feet and the crashing waves on the beach is the perfect noise to fall asleep to! Not to forget is the amazing views of the of the beautiful glowing blue water surrounding the island of St. John you are gazing at as you have coffee in the morning or dinner at night from the view of your second story balcony!! The sunrise and sunset views are a delightful wonder! The beach is soft white powder sand almost like walking on pillows with coral reefs surrounding the shore line providing you with tons of exotic and colorful sea life including sea turtles and sting rays to enjoy while snorkeling in your own serene world!! Or you can enjoy wind surfing, paddle boarding, kayaking or any water sport you could imagine right out your door. Bill and Marsha have their beautiful condo set up with anything you will need to enjoy every minute of your stay at sapphire beach without having to leave your resort and are very informative on giving you details on where to shop and eat that is conveniently close and delightfully delicious!! I would definitely recommend staying at sapphire beach and would like to thank Bill and Marsha for their generous hospitality for allowing us the opportunity to take in all of the wonderful beauty that St. Thomas has to offer and we would love to come back and stay again sometime soon!! Thanks again to the Heller family!! Much appreciation, Mr.& Mrs. Knight
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Peaceful with a Gorgeous View at Sapphire Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p111171vb
+1 2033942919
East End St. Thomas
Colorado
5

Our stay in St Thomas was wonderful time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I stayed in this beautiful condo. It was everything that the owners said it was! It was clean, comfortable and with everything we needed. The view from there deck is gorgeous!! Over looking the beach and ocean! It was so majestic! The location is nice because it was close to Red Hook Bay where there is good restaurants and the ferry to go to St John. I would highly recommend this condo! We would love go back again. Thank you for making this a wonderful vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our condo it means a lot to us to have our guest happy. It's also nice to know that they love it as much as we do.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful with a Gorgeous View at Sapphire Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p111171vb
+1 2033942919
East End St. Thomas
-
5

AWESOME< AWESOME CONDO (even better view)

AWESOME&lt; AWESOME CONDO (even better view)
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Look no further this is the condo you want to rent! It is, without question, the closest condo you can get to the water anywhere on St thomas!! The condo is all marble tile with first class linens on a super comfortable king size bed. Theres pocket type doors that can be closed to seperate the bedroom from the living room. It was great to keep the sun out in the early morning. The balcony offers an incredible view of St John. Man, I loved sitting on that balcony with an ice cold beer watching the sun dance off the crystal clear water 25 feet away! WOW! The pictures are very accurate- everything is exactly as iit appears in the photos. The snorkeling directly in front of this condo was as good as anywhere else we've snorkeled. Tons of fish just a few feet off shore. This condo is also located next to the marina. It was great to watch the boats come in and out of the marina and imagine what it would be like on one of the yachts that were bigger than my home. Another plus of being by the marina is that is secluded and out of sight of where the cruise people get dropped off. We never saw the cruise ship people unless we walked towards the dive shop. My wife and I estimated that we had the beach in front of the condo totally to ourselves 95% of the time. Perfectl! If you want more action- beach volleyball, yoga,food and drinks served to you on your chair ect you simply walk 150 yards towards the dive shop. But in all honesty its not very crowded even when cruise ships are there. There is a little bar/restaurant on the other side of the marina- great pizza and good burgers. The jalepeno poppers may be the best in the worlld. There is also nightly entertainment there -usually an acoustic guitarist. The town of red hook is less than 1/4 mile away. Contrary to other reviews it is VERY walkable. The first 100 yards or so is rough but then there are pathways that act as side walks. Many people have said that renting a car is a must while on St Thomas we never felt the need for one due to the proximity to Red hook. $4 cab ride is much cheaper than renting a car. In all honesty, I wouldnt have been comfortable driving on the left. Too confusing for me. I was there to relax - not stress about driving. We had absolutely no issues with the condo. Everything was perfect. Cant wait to go back in November!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review, we really appreciate it when our guest love our place as much as we do. Even though Red Hook is within walking distance it's not advisable to walk down there in the evening hours. It's best to take a taxi.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Peaceful with a Gorgeous View at Sapphire Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p111171vb
+1 2033942919
East End St. Thomas
5

Great Stay With Amazing View!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We really enjoyed staying at this condo. The view was spectacular and the condo was very clean and had everything we needed for our trip. Marsha was very helpful while we were coordinating our trip and learning about St. Thomas. The Sapphire Beach Marina was steps from the condo which allowed us to go on a chartered tour to the BVI's and a dinner cruise. Highly recommend taking a trip to the BVI's. The condo is also a very short distance from Red Hook, where you can take a ferry or car ferry to St. John's. We also really enjoyed taking a day trip to St. John's, very beautiful beaches and nature trails to explore. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative, we were very glad we chose to stay in a condo rather than a hotel.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful with a Gorgeous View at Sapphire Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p111171vb
+1 2033942919
East End St. Thomas
IN
4

View fantastic!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We enjoyed the condo & the view. This condo is right on the beach and a very short walk to a marina for boat chartering & personal watercraft rental. Lovely spot & very nice condo with all you need for a great vacation. We loved it there!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway