Craftsbury cottage rental - Front view
Front view
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Craftsbury Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom plus loft, 1 bathroom, can sleep 6

Sunset Cottage has been described by people who have visited as quaint, cozy, romantic, bright, peaceful, relaxing. There is one bedroom downstairs and additional sleeping in the loft area. This fully furnished cottage has lots of light with 2 picture windows on the first floor and one on the second facing South and West with great views of the open fields, trees and the Green Mountains. The cottage has a cathedral ceiling with a large loft area that is a TV/Sitting area and can be used as a sleeping area. There is a Vermont Castings gas stove which heats the cottage with additional heat in the bathroom, which has a tub/shower and washer/dryer. Downstairs also is the living room/ kitchen area. The kitchen is complete with a full size refrigerator, gas stove with oven, microwave, coffee pot, etc. Linens are provided. Nearby are country stores, fine dining, churches, libraries, post office, groceries, beverages. etc.

Summer Sports: Craftsbury Outdoor Center provides bike rentals. Also the cross country ski trails are used for biking trails. The Center also provides professional sculling lakes and instructions.

Snow Mobile: We are located by the trail! Park your trailor and you can ride from Sunset Cottage.

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 110596 in Craftsbury, Vermont

All Season Vermont Vacation Cottage
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
business
All Season Vermont Vacation Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110596
+1 802 586-2886
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Montreal
5

Great spot for x-country skiing or just a retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
The cottage is really nice, bright and definitely warm in the winter. The kitchen is well equipped for a cottage (microwave, decent selection of utensils, etc.). Bring bottled water and you will be set. There are a few staples in the cabinets, but I brought my own oils, spices, etc. The bed in the master bedroom is great!

I had a great week. Went alone, with my dog, and got a lot of writing done. I am not a nervous person about being alone in the country, but for those who are, this might be a good spot, because there are other houses quite close, but far enough away that you have great privacy. The property is quite large and the view to the north is lovely.

It's an excellent spot for x-country skiing, because there are two centres with groomed trails nearby. It is (sort of) midway between two small towns, one of which was the location for the Hitchcock film The Trouble with Harry. One of the key locations is actually just down the road.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 14/14
business
All Season Vermont Vacation Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110596
+1 802 586-2886
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
MA
5

Rural Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I stayed at Sunset Cottage for a glorious fall weekend. We brought our dog, who definitely loved playing in the huge, well groomed yard. We enjoyed eating an apple from the apple trees alongside the driveway. The cottage is clean and sunny, with lots of windows and a good basic kitchen and bathroom. The location is on a dirt road not far from a dairy farm. You get beautiful views of the mountains while driving to the cottage. It is a short drive to a small village; the Craftsbury General Store has excellent sandwiches and pizza, and a great selection of local beers. There is lovely scenery all around the area, but it is at least 20-30 minutes to a get to a small town (as opposed to a village with just a gas station, general store and post office), so it's best for those who really want to get away from it all. We appreciated that the owners are truly dog-friendly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
All Season Vermont Vacation Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110596
+1 802 586-2886
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Portland, ME
4

Quiet country setting!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Owners: 10/10 - John was very nice and helpful when internet wasn't working
Privacy: 9/10 - Would be more private if further back from the road. Even though the gravel road the house is located on doesn't get a lot of traffic, it does get about one car every few minutes which you can pretty clearly hear go by from inside with the windows open. Other than that really quiet!
Internet: 5/10 - Barely better than dial-up speed unfortunately, but better than nothing. Averaged around 150 Kbps.
Cleanliness: 7/10 - Not as clean as a nice hotel, but probably cleaner or as clean as the average person keeps their house (not me, but I'm a clean freak!)
Location: 7/10 - We had to go to Hardwick (about 20 min away) to get groceries. We also watched a fireworks show there on July 4th which was spectacular!

Overall we enjoyed our stay here, grilling outside, walking through the thick green grass, listening to the little stream right outside the house, and our cat loved doing daredevil walks on the upstairs balcony rail. -_-
Owner's Response: We are always happy that our guests enjoy there stay. A couple of comments: I am always trying to get the fastest internet connection but we are in rural Vermont and this is the best we can do at this time. As for groceries, there are two stores in Craftsbury village just 5 minutes away. Craftsbury General store has a large selection including organic, fresh fruits, vegetables, local bread, etc plus beer, wine, soda and a take out deli - pizza and sandwiches made to order. A menu is in the cottage.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
All Season Vermont Vacation Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110596
+1 802 586-2886
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
5

Vermont Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
This was a perfect retreat for my mom and I and our dogs. The cabin was really bright, cozy and spacious all at the same time. She took the bedroom and I slept in the loft. The setting was gorgeous. We found a long dead-end road to walk our dogs along. It was also convenient to Crafstbury common as well as the general store. It was clean, well equipped, the internet worked. We've stayed in other places in and around Craftsbury and this was by far my favorite! I would be happy to return there again and again.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
All Season Vermont Vacation Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110596
+1 802 586-2886
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
5

Great cottage in beatuful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My family really enjoyed staying in John's cottage. This is the third cottage we've stayed at in Vermont and easily our favorite. The wifi and satellite tv were really nice to have, and the kitchen was very functional. We liked the artwork and the decorating. There's a pretty big flat yard that's great for kids. Everything was clean and well-taken care of. Overall it just felt more homey than your typical cottage.

My only minor complaints would be that the bed wasn't very comfortable (mattress is a little saggy and the pillows are flat), and the water heater and/or purifier is right next to the bedroom, and is a bit noisy. But they don't really make noise unless someone is using the water, which doesn't happen overnight.

The location is great -- you can't make a wrong turn in this area. Everywhere you look there's great views to the valleys and mountains to the east and west. There are very few restaurants and stores in the area but you can find the basics at the general store a few miles away. It's about a 50-60 minute drive to either Stowe or Lyndonville But you don't go to the northeast kingdom for shopping and fine dining.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
All Season Vermont Vacation Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110596
+1 802 586-2886
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
VT
5

Wonderful Weekend Retreat at Sunset Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We spent a wonderful weekend at the cottage in Craftsbury celebrating a birthday with friends. What a beautiful location and the cottage was far more than we had expected. It had comfortable beds, all the amenities you could need and a wonderful space to visit by the fire pit. We will return in the winter for a ski weekend. The design is so efficient and cozy and yet it has plenty of space and a good kitchen.
The foliage was perfect in the Craftsbury area and added to the natural beauty. Thank you for sharing
your wonderful cottage with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
All Season Vermont Vacation Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110596
+1 802 586-2886
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Swanton, VT USA
5

Quiet, Peaceful, Well Kept, Country Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We have been making it somewhat of a hobby to visit various cottages across the state and you would be hard pressed to find a better place to stay for this price. My three year old daughter loved the bedroom loft and keeps asking if we can go back. My wife loved the tasteful furnishings and the cottage layout. I would recommend bringing spices (there are some there, more then most places) for cooking and bottled water for drinking. We hope to go back later this fall and watch the stars from the backyard.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9