Lo De Marcos villa rental - Dining room deck with view or eat inside if you prefer!
Dining room deck with view or eat inside if you prefer!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Lo De Marcos Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.25 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

Villas Susana consists of four open air buildings which are perched on the ocean bluff overlooking your own private sandy/rocky beach below. Your family/guests will have their choice of: the second story Peacock Villa with its own living room, the centrally located Iguana villa just one building up from the living room villa, and for those who really want to be close to the waves, the lowest villa, Butterfly, enjoys vistas of Pelican Rock to the north, as well as your own beach below. The fourth villa is the very large kitchen/dining/living room.

All three of the bedroom villas have two double beds (side by side), rock mosaic floored showers, toilet, sink, and generous closets. The living room villa has plenty of room for eating, drinking and playing, and includes a lit deck should you decide to spend the night outside under the stars. There are 1800 square feet of covered living area, plus multiple decks. The buildings sit on 3/4's of an acre in tropical jungle foliage; all with spectacular ocean views.

Sit up in your bed and watch the boats and whales go by, drink margaritas while in the pool on one of several large decks and watch the sunset, or just laze in the hammock and listen to the ocean waves. Bring your fishing equipment and catch your dinner on the beach below!!! The villas are beautifully landscaped with hibiscus, bougainvilleas, and other tropical flowers to enhance the lovely and lush surroundings. Lit brick pathways join the buildings. Pick your own bunch of bananas off the trees to eat later. The only sounds are the waves crashing below and jungle birds. There is a full sized heated infinity pool overlooking the bluff, and professional landscaping has added to the natural beauty. The villas feature full solar power to lessen our environmental impact and also guarantee electricity during the common brown and black/outs occurring in the jungle.

This piece of paradise is located out in the jungle 2 miles north of the quiet friendly town of San Francisco. Remain on site for peace and quiet or go into town and enjoy the many restaurants and activities. You have steps down to your private beach which varies between sandy or rocky. There are larger permanently sandy beaches 5 minute walks to the north and south, accessed only by paths so semi-private. Las Clavillinas beach (one of these) is the best swimming beach in San Francisco with gentle waves in a secluded cove.

My availability calendar is kept up-to-date--please check before emailing. THE VIEWS ARE SIMPLY SPECTACULAR!!! Photos do not do the villas justice; please also read my guest reviews.

Keywords: Villa

More Details
Hide Details

Hola from sunny San Pancho! Bob and I have been married for 38 years and have three kids (two grown). We totally love relaxing at Villas Susana instead of our faster paced lifestyle in Washington state. Even cooking and cleaning take on new dimensions when you're doing it in an ocean front villa. Besides hiking or walking the beaches, we enjoy snorkeling right below the villas or bird watching.

The Owner purchased this villa in 2006

After vacationing in Puerto Vallarta for 10 years, while looking for a 2nd home we fell in love with San Pancho's friendly small town living. We were lucky to find this perfect spot in the quiet jungle with lots of room for our family and friends. No roosters at 2 a.m. and vendors at 5:30 over loudspeakers for us!! Just ocean waves and jungle birds. Now we hate to go into Puerto Vallarta with the traffic and congestion.

We love being right on the ocean. First thing in the morning, you sit up in bed and check out the view: are there whales going by, fishing boats, calm waves for a snorkel trip, or something else exciting? You cook watching the sunset with the ocean breeze keeping you cool. The views are always spectacular, and ever changing. In five minutes we can be at sandy beaches without seeing a soul. A favorite is the 4 mile jungle loop hike to spot birds and other wildlife.

24 Reviews of Property 110138 in Lo De Marcos, Mexican Riviera

Oceanfront Villas-Infinity Pool--Solitude Plus Jungle Nature
average rating of 4.904762 based on 24 reviews
business
Oceanfront Villas-Infinity Pool--Solitude Plus Jungle Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138vbi
(360) 629-1046 (Washington, USA)
Lo De Marcos Nayarit
5

Jungle retreat - the "real" Mexico!!!

Jungle retreat - the "real" Mexico!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Beautiful retreat! Jungle setting with all the modern amenities - this is the Mexico I love! GORGEOUS secluded beaches. The pool is awesome, the kitchen great to cook in. San Pancho is a lovely town and just down the hill (10 min drive) with wonderful and affordable restaurants and very quaint atmosphere. The road up to Villa Susana was fine in a sedan, but that will depend on rainfall. Highly recommended
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Villas-Infinity Pool--Solitude Plus Jungle Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138vbi
(360) 629-1046 (Washington, USA)
Lo De Marcos Nayarit
Washington State
5

First time in Mexico - Great experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Had a great time! A wonderfully secluded place with modern amenities making my stay comfortable (hot shower a must for me). Nearby San Pancho is a nice little town with very friendly people. Beautiful views from the villas and a short walk down stairs to the ocean beach with warm water. The pool up by the villas was refreshing. Sunsets were gorgeous! A fantastic experience.

The description was accurate. The property was clean and well-maintained. The owner was available to answer any questions. I loved the restaurants in San Pancho...authentic local food.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Villas-Infinity Pool--Solitude Plus Jungle Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138vbi
(360) 629-1046 (Washington, USA)
Lo De Marcos Nayarit
Seattle, WA/USA
5

A Week of Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We (my wife, our 24-year old son and I) spent a week in Villas Susana in January, 2011. We had the place to ourselves and had a great time. We rented a compact car for our vacation, and considering the fact that the condition of the road depends on how the rainy season affected it, I would recommend a larger vehicle. (The road had a huge pothole that we had to skirt around slowly while we were there--it might be much better for you.) The place is way out in the jungle and took us about 15-20 minutes to get to. It's ideal for chilling out and relaxing; not so great as a base for exploring from. Definitely pick up provisions on your way out.

We got to see whales, tejones (you'll learn what they are when you get there), lots of birds, butterflys and tiny lizards. There are a couple of local dogs who like to come around. If you like dogs, they'll be back more often; if you ignore them, not so much. We had no problems with the local wildlife.

In fact we saw almost no one. The pool guy came by while we were there a couple times, but if we didn't go looking for people, we'd have seen almost no one else.

The wi-fi allowed me to upload vacation pictures every day (and metaphorically stick my tongue out at those poor souls back in rainy Washington). If I had wanted to I could have even done some work, but I neither wanted nor needed to.

The pictures are accurate, but until you get there, you won't realize how nice it is to be living in separate palapa buildings, nor how isolated you can feel in your own little place. Relaxing in the common building (Sunflower; kitchen and dining) in the evening was great.

If you're looking for isolated romance and relaxation, this is your spot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Villas-Infinity Pool--Solitude Plus Jungle Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138vbi
(360) 629-1046 (Washington, USA)
Lo De Marcos Nayarit
Seattle, Wa.
5

Perfect mix of jungle and comfortable ammenities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We had the opportunity to stay at the villas for 5 nights and had a great time. The lodging was comfortable and the views amazing. The property was very well maintained and the owners are incredibly accomodating. We felt like we had a personalized vacation. San Pancho is a great town with lots to see and you can find anything you need. The local beaches are beautiful and many small towns around for additional sight seeing.

The photos do not do justice to the views. You have to see it to believe it. A favorite of mine was listening to the waves crashing on the rocks well below the property. The power is awe inspiring.

I would recommend this to people who want the opportunity to stay in the jungle and still enjoy indoor plumbing, shower, bed, cooking facilities and the internet.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Villas-Infinity Pool--Solitude Plus Jungle Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138vbi
(360) 629-1046 (Washington, USA)
Lo De Marcos Nayarit
Freeland, WA
5

Immersion in Mexico

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
On various trips to Mexico I've stayed in tents on the beach, palapa roofed inns and high end tourist hotels. All have something to recommend them, none is ever completely satisfactory. For me the tent came closest.

Now I've found the perfect place, Villas Susana, which combines the best of all three into one luxuriously rustic experience.

With ocean views from every room, terrace and pathway I never had to look away from the sea. Whales spouted every day I was there, sometimes playing offshore in groups of four or five for half an hour.

Avocados and bananas picked fresh from the jungle and shrimp caught by local fishermen featured in most of our meals. The comfortable rooms are open to the air, the views and the sound of the surf and the jungle. Admittedly, the different night sounds can take a little getting used to, but they're also endlessly intriguing and entertaining. Siesta beside the pool is great for catching up on any lost sleep.

The neighborhood offers snorkeling beaches, kayaking and jungle hikes. Two miles or so of dirt road take you to San Pancho for shopping, more beach activities, restaurants - including one that serves amazing Nutella and banana crepes - and a polo club.

Most of all, instead of staying in a hotel room that's much the same as any hotel room in any city in the world, staying at Villas Susana made me feel like I was really in Mexico.

I loved staying at Villas Susana!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Villas-Infinity Pool--Solitude Plus Jungle Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138vbi
(360) 629-1046 (Washington, USA)
Lo De Marcos Nayarit
Ventura, CA
5

Fabuloso!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
INCREDIBLE best describes this place!! A girls trip that made everlasting memories!! Its like being in a luxury treehouse perched above the ocean with breathtaking views. Just getting to the villas is an experience alone, like a Disneyland jungle ride, but its Real!! You are out there and town is a 15 minute jungle ride away, but stock up on supplies and its the ultimate "chill-out" vacation. (But not to panic because you still have internet!!) We thoroughly enjoyed morning hikes through the jungle, deserted ocean beaches, and the infinity pool is amazing!! I recommend a kayaking trip with the neighbors from Tailwind Jungle Lodge...it was super fun. The outdoor kitchen and grill is perfect for making delicious meals and taking advantage of the fresh seafood and produce that San Pancho has to offer. The pictures cannot capture what this place is really like. The owners were very helpful in answering our questions and concerns. I would highly recommend this place in a heartbeat but only to the adventurous at heart!! No high-heels allowed!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Villas-Infinity Pool--Solitude Plus Jungle Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138vbi
(360) 629-1046 (Washington, USA)
Lo De Marcos Nayarit
West Coast
3

Beautiful Setting but Remote

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
We just stayed two weeks at this property and there were things we liked and things we just weren't prepared for. First of all, the setting is truly exceptional! However, there is not wireless internet access as stated in the ad. This trip required me to be connected and we therefore had to drive to San Pancho on the 2.5 mile jungle road every day which takes 15 to 20 minutes because the road condition is very poor. Be sure to rent a 4-wheel drive or high-clearance vehicle! The beach close to the house is really rocky and the closest one that is acceptable for sunning or swimming is quite a long hike and you have to climb through barbed wire fencing to get there. I would recommend this property for vacationers that really want a remote and natural retreat and don't mind sharing a kitchen with other guests. If you like the night life, just know that there is a long bumpy road between you and any services. Also, due to the fact that the villas are open air, it is really important that you close the mosquito netting around the beds (which are extremely hard). One of our friends that joined us later in the trip was not careful to close the netting completely and he got eaten alive! He ended up leaving a day early because he was just not comfortable with the mosquito bites and hard beds. We look back fondly at this trip and feel like we had two weeks of luxury camping. Next time I would take a foam pad and extra pillows to make it more comfortable. The best part was the views and gorgeous jungle setting! Great for hikers and nature lovers but for those looking for comfort and easy access to towns, you may want to be more prepared than we were.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm not sure what vehicle these guests were driving, but the ones before them did fine on the jungle road in a 7-passenger mini-van sometimes loaded down with 8 people. They scraped on all the speed bumps in town, but had no problem getting to the villas. I don't believe guests need a 4-wheel drive vehicle except during the rainy season (July-October), as the cheapest rental car should be able to make it during the dry season.

The wi-fi internet was up and running as of the 6th of April--brand new modem installed which hopefully should last for a few more years!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Villas-Infinity Pool--Solitude Plus Jungle Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138vbi
(360) 629-1046 (Washington, USA)
Lo De Marcos Nayarit
Isanti, MN U.S.
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Just returned from an Excellent seven days at Villa Susana. The clean ocean air and sound of the surf against the rocks was fantastic, as were the incredible views of the ocean and sunsets. Whale watching was also great fun. The infinity pool was great for cooling off in the warm afternoon sun. Dinner at the Polo club in town while watching the polo game, bird watch hiking, boogie boarding, and swimming in the ocean were just a few of the activities we enjoyed while there. Susan’s facilities are well taken care of, clean, and private. We had no problem with wildlife, despite all of the buildings be ‘open air’.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Villas-Infinity Pool--Solitude Plus Jungle Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138vbi
(360) 629-1046 (Washington, USA)
Lo De Marcos Nayarit
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
On our way in to Puero Vallarta for an
extended stay, we had the opportunity
to stay in these lovely villas for a couple
of days. The setting is amazing! The
pictures simply don't do it justice. It
was the perfect place to stop over after
a long drive south.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Villas-Infinity Pool--Solitude Plus Jungle Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138vbi
(360) 629-1046 (Washington, USA)
Lo De Marcos Nayarit
Oak Grove, MN, USA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Susan,
I loved the solitude, the wonderful weather, the colors of the water and whale watching. Bird watching and the turtle release were great as were the beaches. Thanks for a great time.