Rockport house rental - 1
1
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Rockport House Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 1 BA, Sleeps 4 maximum.

Quaint cozy pre-Revolutionary house with priceless view of picturesque Rockport village and Atlantic Ocean. Located on quiet dead-end lane next to tranquil pond and small town park. Two-minute walk to beach and town's attractive Main street with shops, art galleries and restaurants.The new Performance Center offering a variety of

Musical programs which has received national acclaim is just 5 minutes away on foot. A short distance to train for Boston and several of North Shore's historic towns including Gloucester, Manchester and Salem. Charming fireplaced living and dining rooms (which appeared in the Hollywood movie-The Love Letter). Small private backyard for lounging with same ocean view. Pets possible - please ask.

9 Reviews of Property 110138 in Rockport, Massachusetts

The Little Red House with Prize Ocean View
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 9 reviews
business
The Little Red House with Prize Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138
978 546-2615
Rockport Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Boston, MA
5

Historic Home On The Water!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We just got home from one of the best vacations we've taken. We stayed at "The Little Red House" for a week and it was exactly what we had hoped for. The home was built in 1720 and has so much character. We had gorgeous ocean views from the living room and our bedroom upstairs. Our 4 year old son was with us and didn't have a problem with the steep stairs. The house is in an amazing location. You can walk to the beach or downtown in less than 5 minutes. There are several shops and restaurants downtown to keep you busy when you're not at the beach. On rainy days, we explored Hammond Castle and the Historical Museum in Wenham. When the weather was sunny, we went to Halibut State Park and some of the many local beaches.
But the best part of our visit was our tour guide, Judy. She made sure that we had everything we needed in the house and knew where all of the best places in town were. Judy has a lot of pride in Rockport and "The Red House" that she watches over. As Judy mentions, the house is not for everyone. It does not have granite in the kitchen or modern ammenities. But, if you're looking for a charming home with loads of character and in a superb location - the "Little Red House" is perfect! We will definitely return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Little Red House with Prize Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138
978 546-2615
Rockport Merrimack Valley & Essex County
5

A Cozy Piece of History

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My mother, sister and I stayed here for 5 days. We've visited Cape Ann several times over, staying briefly at inns or motels, but never actually lived in one of the charming historic cottages we so admired and dreamed about as we walked around the area. The cottage was everything we hoped for and more - a cute little kitchen with all necessities; a comfy, sunny dining room where we enjoyed our breakfasts, and a beamed-ceiling living room complete with working fireplace for cozy evenings. The 2 upstairs bedrooms were well furnished and cozy as well, and the serene view from the front bedroom and the living room: over the historic cemetery to the ocean, was as inspiring as it was beautiful. The small staircase to the bedrooms is steep, but it was no problem even for my 70 year old mom. The location couldn't be more perfect for walks into town, local day trips and jogging along the coast. Judy, who co-manages the cottage, knows everyone and everything around, is totally helpful, informative and charming. We definitely look forward to staying here again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Little Red House with Prize Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138
978 546-2615
Rockport Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Savannah, GA
5

Loved our stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband, 2 sons and I spent 2 weeks at this house this summer for the first time and loved it! It is in a wonderful spot, especially for a family like us that wants to be very close to the beach and park, but not on the main road itself. Having a dedicated parking space (just down the road, not at the house itself) in Rockport is also a great bonus, as parking can be tricky, especially over 4th of July when we were there. The house itself is old, creaky and very charming. We loved the private backyard for sitting in the evenings. Having some creature comforts like tv, wifi, and a window a/c unit were great when the weather was hot or too rainy for our usual Rockport fun. The quirky kitchen is extremely tiny, so don't plan any all day cooking marathons, but is very functional with a fridge, small oven, and microwave all there. If you want slick modern place, then this isn't for you. BUT, if you are looking for a place that reflects all the charm of Rockport and it's history, then you will love it here. We can't wait to come back in 2013!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Little Red House with Prize Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138
978 546-2615
Rockport Merrimack Valley & Essex County
4

The Little Red House, Rockport

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We stayed at the,"Little Red House" in September, 2011. The house is a historical gem. I felt privileged to stay in a house that is such a real piece of history in the Cape Ann area.
The house is small and feels wonderfully cozy. Although an old building, the house has all the conveniences one needs - a nice bathroom (although you have to go through the second bedroom to get to it) with claw-footed tub, a (quite) small kitchen, a nice dining room and a good-sized sitting room from which you can see the beach.
The furnishings are not "ritzy" but they fit the house very well. Nothing looked out of place. In keeping with this, if one is looking for a "polished" rental, this is not for you, but if you are looking for cozy, warm, and comfortable, this is a great place.
I liked that the house is surrounded by a fence; I could let my dog outside without worrying about her. As well as being very centrally located, the house is also next door to a town park which was a nice place to take my dog and to walk in the early a.m.
Judy, who tends to the property for the owner, was extremely helpful and very accommodating. When I had to stay an extra night, she could not have been nicer or more helpful.
One day the owner, Clif, came by to mow the lawn, and he was very nice - he brought along a pie and some lovely freshly baked bread. I got the sense that he truly loves his, "Little Red House".
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Little Red House with Prize Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138
978 546-2615
Rockport Merrimack Valley & Essex County
England
4

Across the Pond

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
What a splendid 2 weeks we had in "our" unique Little Red House with its little green yard: we enjoyed being able to walk to galleries and shops, the memorable Lobster shack and informal restaurants, and the stunning new Performance Arts Centre. We found hidden walks and surprising old quarry pools, and local bus and train services took us to many nearby historic towns. But we were always happy to get back to relax in our characterful 1720 home. It was perfect for 2 wrinklies [but because of the guestroom/bathroom arrangement, you must invite only your closest friends/family to stay!]. The unforgettable, ever-helpful Judy was a gem.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Little Red House with Prize Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138
978 546-2615
Rockport Merrimack Valley & Essex County
norwood, nj
5

Little Red Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We always look forward to our 2 week stay at the little red cottage with great anticipation. After staying there as guests of other renters several years ago, we decided there was no other place that we would rather spend our vacation. The unimpeded views of the ocean from the living room and bedroom make a spectacular way to start the day. The walk to the beach takes only minutes as do visits to the shops on Main Street and Bears Skin Neck. We hope that the builder, when he built this cottage in the 1700's, enjoyed living in it as much as we do!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Little Red House with Prize Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138
978 546-2615
Rockport Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Berkeley, CA
5

Little Red House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My family loved staying in this historic house. Built in 1729 it is the philosophical opposite of today's mini-mansions. The rooms are small but surprisingly comfortable. The decor is charming, kind of Bloomsbury, with its mix of murals, antiques and books. I loved discovering the collection of old cookbooks. But there is the challenging staircase, designed so steeply a rope is provided for assistance and the kitchen is perhaps the smallest area of the house.

The location however is great. Stroll through the graveyard and you're at the beach (how cool is that!). Take a short walk past the pond and you're at the market and cute train station for day trips to Boston. Don't miss the Richardson's ice cream stand next door. The high point of the vacation for my two teenage sons though, was the the quarry. A hike through the woods gets you to granite cliffs for jumping and deep pools for swimming. Just ask Judy, the in-town caretaker for the path. Judy was wonderful, easily accessible for any questions and always offering a personal recommendation for something special, like doughnuts!

We would definitely stay here again, in this unique vacation home.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Little Red House with Prize Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138
978 546-2615
Rockport Merrimack Valley & Essex County
New York
4

Little Red House

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
The house is charming, if small. It is ideally situated next to a Revolutionary War era graveyard with views of the ocean and a path that wends down to a terrific little beach, just a minute's walk away. Those who like history and are not daunted by a more laid back approach to housekeeping will not be put off by the tiny kitchen and clutter. There are neighbors very near by, but they were quiet. The town is just a five minute walk away.

We would certainly consider going back. Maybe, in part because it was a little untidy, we didn't feel we had to spend every minute making sure we kept the house absolutely pristine and could, instead settle in and relax for the week.

The area is exceptionally beautiful, Boston is just an hour away by train, and the station just a ten minute walk away. Don't miss Halibut Point State Park.

Note: the stairs to the upstairs are very narrow. This is not a house for the elderly or infirm or those with young children.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 18/18
business
The Little Red House with Prize Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110138
978 546-2615
Rockport Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Stuttgart
2

Urlaub August 2010

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Wir haben zu zweit 10 Tage in diesem Haus verbracht. Das Haus ist ca. 300 Jahre alt. So alt düfte auch die Ausstattung der Miniküche sein. Auch Teile der Einrichtung sind sicher gewöhnungsbedürftig. Gleiches gilt für die Gartenmöbel. Lediglich das Badezimmer ist relativ neu und ordentlich. Die Innentreppe ist extrem steil, daher hängt dort aus Sicherheitsgründen auch ein Seil. Die Aussicht vom Wohnzimmer und dem oberen Schlafzimmer auf den Strand ist grundsätzlich recht schön, störend ist allerdings, zumindest aus unserer Sicht, ein grosser alter Friedhof zwischen Haus und Strand! Das hat der Eigentümer wohl versehentlich vergessen zu erwähnen. Der Strand ist ziemlich verschmutzt mit Algen und Abfall. Es gibt in der Gegend deutlich schönere Strände, z.B. Plum Beach.
Um das Haus kümmert sich Judy, eine Nachbarin, die sehr nett und hilfbereit ist und alles weiss, was im Dorf vor sich geht.
Rockport ist ein kleines Dorf, von dem man alles gesehen hat, wenn man zweimal durchgelaufen ist. Allerdings ist das Dorf auch in der Hochsaison spätestens um 21:00 "tot". Und aus unserer Sicht benötigt man auf jeden Fall ein Auto.
Alles in allem werden wir dort sicherlich nicht nocheinmal Urlaub machen.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/3