Acadia National Park cottage rental - Relax and enjoy
Relax and enjoy
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Acadia National Park Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1.5 baths, sleeps 6.

Spruce Shore Cottage sits on a secluded bluff overlooking Goose Cove, on the western side of Mt. Desert Island, minutes from Acadia National Park. The cottage includes everything you need to be comfortable. West Tremont is 6 miles from Southwest Harbor, a town with excellent shopping and several fine restaurants in every price range. Edna's Variety, a fine convenience store, is within walking distance of the cottage.

PETS: Dogs are welcome if they are flea-treated. We ask that dogs never be left tied up outside, and that you poop-scoop as necessary. There is a $50.00 extra charge (per week) for dog guests. The property is dog friendly. If you have furniture sitters, please bring a throw.

7 Reviews of Property 109103 in Acadia National Park, Maine

Acadia Nat'l Pk minutes away, cozy seclusion, beautiful views.
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
business
Acadia Nat'l Pk minutes away, cozy seclusion, beautiful views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109103
207 244-9897
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

An Amazing place to relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Absolutely nothing but positive things can be said about our stay in Acadia and at the Sidon's cottage. The views are amazing from the cottage. As another reviewer mentioned the climb to the water is a bit steep, but it only adds to the charm of the property. The location is private, yet close enough to town where you can find everything you need, from groceries to pizza, even shops within a 15 minute drive. There are more nature trails and points of interest than you can see during a week's stay, only within a 15 mile drive. Be sure to walk the Carriage Roads; they are miles worth of hiking or biking enjoyment. The inside of the cottage is quaint but provides everything you need. We stayed during the cold, rainy season and spent an adequate amount of time inside playing games, watching movies and bonding. If you are looking for a peaceful retreat, you will not be disappointed. If you are looking for room service and catering, stay in a hotel. Though I will mention the Sidon's are very accomodating. They provide free fire wood for the wood stove, and took the time to guide us to a nice place to eat. They were kind and helpful and even took the time to mail back a small item we had forgotten at the cottage.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Acadia Nat'l Pk minutes away, cozy seclusion, beautiful views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109103
207 244-9897
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Traverse City, MI
5

Peaceful and gorgeous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I found the cottage and its owners to be quite lovely. We will forever appreciate the kindness that they offered us at the end of our trip, and that they allowed our dogs to tag along. We enjoyed our view from the home, and spent every day down by the ocean watching the tide go in and out. We saw osprey, eagles, loons, flickers and a huge variety of ducks that we have never seen before. It was amazing to have a place on the ocean, as most people have to drive to places that are heavily populated with other tourists. The Quiet Side of the island blows away Bar Harbor. We really enjoyed getting to know the people there and found the food was fabulous. I read through all of the reviews, and would like to mention that the owners have taken into account any and all suggestions, and made positive changes. Honestly, it was the most peaceful vacation that I have ever been on, thanks in part to the location and the kind, considerate owners.
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Acadia Nat'l Pk minutes away, cozy seclusion, beautiful views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109103
207 244-9897
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Quiet and comfortable, with spectacular views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The cottage was exactly as described, and was clean, private, and very comfortable. The views of Goose Cove were spectacular (especially in the early morning), and Weslea and Curtis were warm and welcoming hosts. We had a great time, and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Acadia.
Helpful votes: 4/7
business
Acadia Nat'l Pk minutes away, cozy seclusion, beautiful views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109103
207 244-9897
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

West Tremont, Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This cottage is lovely. Simple, quaint with a charming history, filled with light, beautiful view, quiet and secluded. Wonderful owners.
Helpful votes: 4/9
business
Acadia Nat'l Pk minutes away, cozy seclusion, beautiful views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109103
207 244-9897
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
4

Nice water view on quiet side of MDI

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My family and I enjoyed our stay here. The cottage is comfortable and it is well equipped with cooking pots and pans and a stove and oven that worked fine. The full size bed is comfortable and you can sit there and look out the window to the water, reading a book and watching the weather change. The other room has a twin bed and a cot, and they were both comfortable. The screen porch is great, particularly because there are too many mosquitoes to sit on the lawn unless the weather is very sunny with a nice breeze. The interior of the cottage is bright, with a high ceiling and plenty of windows. The living room could use another reading chair and a good reading lamp.

The view here is very pretty, and there is plenty of yard around the cottage for our dog to run and play. However, we were very disappointed that there is no easy access to the water. The description of the property suggests that you can walk down to the water, however, the path was overgrown with brambles and it is pretty steep. We thought we would be able to launch our kayaks from the property, but we had to launch them at a different site and paddle them over to the rocky ledge at the base of the property. We cleared the path with some cutting tools so that we could access the kayaks from the house. When we were ready to go home we had to paddle the boats back to the other launch site and have someone else meet us with the car. However, once the path was somewhat passable, it was lovely to kayak from the house around the cove and out into the bay when the water was calm. We saw porpoises, seals, eagles, gulls, terns, herons, and other birds while we were paddling, and there was a deer in the meadow behind the house and a raccoon along the driveway.

Overall, this is a comfortable and pleasant cottage. It's in a very quiet location, the stars are stunning, and the ever changing weather on MDI is always entertaining. The cottage is a good base to explore the island, but if you want to spend a lot of time on the Bar Harbor side it is a little far to keep driving back and forth. Southwest Harbor is within easy reach. We also went to Northeast Harbor and took a spectacular boat ride on the "Sea Princess" up along Somes Sound. Choose a clear day to go, and then drive along Sargent Drive back to Abels Lobster Pound for a casual lobster dinner along the Sound.



The cottage was neat and welcoming when we arrived but it could use a really thorough cleaning.h
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am delighted that our guests found the cottage welcoming and neat. We strive to make it as comfortable and easy to use as possible. As for launching Kayaks, we always advise our guests that the tidal flats that provide such a beautiful ever-changing view--and fantastic bird watching--make Kayak launch difficult and possibly unsafe. We have three public boat ramps within 2 miles, two ocean and one lake, and several others within 4 -10 miles. These provide, safe, easy access for kayaks and canoes, and are not at the mercy of the tides. If you plan to bring a kayak let us know and we'll show you where to find some little known, really great places.
Helpful votes: 5/11
business
Acadia Nat'l Pk minutes away, cozy seclusion, beautiful views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109103
207 244-9897
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Beautiful Serene Setting....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
We had a great time here at beautiful quaint cottage right on Goose Cove in West Tremont, Mount Desert Island (Maine). Cozy fire, and expnsive yard (although mostly covered with snow for us in December), and nice walk down to the rocky shore......with a great view of the Cove/Bay right out your window when you wake up. I can imagine even more impressive a place in Spring/Summer/Fall. Our host Weslea a very nice lady, down the road a piece, but available to help. Would strongly recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/10
business
Acadia Nat'l Pk minutes away, cozy seclusion, beautiful views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109103
207 244-9897
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Austin, Texas
5

Wake up to serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
An amazing, cozy and nice vacation. The proper place for a dream vacations! Plenty of unspoken amenities with the added bonus of the perfect host.

Thank you
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/14