Akumal condo rental - Oceanfront Patio with palapa covering off the living area; Beautiful sunrises!
Oceanfront Patio with palapa covering off the living area; Beautiful sunrises!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Akumal Condo Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms 3 bathrooms, 2 level, Honeymoon master suite, sleeps 8, 4300 sq ft.

THE BEST VIEWS IN ALL OF AKUMAL

This spacious oceanfront, two-level penthouse has it all: marble floors, granite counter-tops and walls of glass giving panoramic views of the Caribbean. Sliding glass doors open on to wrap-around terraces that have tables and chairs, lounges and hammocks, from which you can enjoy both ocean sunrises and jungle sunsets.

The Kitchen, living and dining area is a huge open plan space enclosed by two walls of glass giving guests a 180 degree view of the ocean.

The well-stocked kitchen with large wrap around granite counter top and bar, allows you to enjoy the ocean view and entertain while you prepare meals or mix drinks. Beyond the kitchen area is the entertainment center which has over 7 dozen DVDs, a stereo and CDs, games and a large selection of books and tourist guides. The glass top dining table is up a step, and overlooks both the ocean and Akumal village. You can leave the glass sliders open to enjoy the Caribbean breezes or simply eat outside at the table on the terrace. The dining area also has a day bed to give large parties extra flexibility in sleeping arrangements.

Master bedroom

Located on the upper level this honeymoon suite has a beamed cathedral ceiling, air conditioning, king size bed, glass sliders to a private ocean front terrace, built in closets and vanity, and an en-suite stone bathroom. The bathroom has double vessel sinks and a unique private open-air shower with views of the jungle and bay.

Bedroom 1

The Iguana room on the lower level; has air conditioning, a king size bed, built in closet, small balcony overlooking the jungle and large window with ocean views. En-suite tiled bathroom.

Bedroom 2

The Dolphin room also on the lower level; has air conditioning, two full beds, built in closet, with small balcony overlooking the jungle. En-suite tiled bathroom which has an extra door to the hall.

The penthouse unit is on the third and fourth floor and is only accessible by stairs (30) it also has open stairs and stair well and low walls surrounding the terraces which may make it unsuitable for young children. Rental includes daily maid service (except Sundays) and 24 hour on site caretakers who will help you with your luggage.

The common areas include a large infinity pool, shaded open lobby, lounge chairs and gazebo, and parking spaces.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband (John), American, is recently retired from the IMF. I (Rosemary) am English and a retired Nursery School Director. We searched for 5 years for a Caribbean beachfront location to spend several months each year during our retirement. When we accidentally found the gem that is Akumal along the Riviera Maya in Mexico we knew we had found our second home.

Rosemary Johnson purchased this condo in 2013

Akumal is an exceptionally friendly, quiet little beach town, with fabulous snorkeling, offering coral reef and sea turtles right from the beautiful white sand and palm tree beach.

Mi Casa del Mar is an attractively designed building of 14 condo units on four levels. The common areas include a large shaded lobby, ocean-front infinity pool, lounge chairs, shaded gazebo and outside shower. The condo is about a 5 minute walk from Akumal village and the beautiful Akumal Bay. It is close enough to enjoy the powder white beach and numerous turtles of the bay and the delicacies of the local restaurants, yet far enough away to enjoy the quiet and peacefulness of being off the beaten track. Walking 5 minutes in the other direction takes you to the picturesque Half Moon Bay and other restaurants and gift shops. About a 20 minute walk from the condo is Yalku Lagoon where for a small fee you can snorkel in the calm, clear waters of the lagoon with hundreds of tropical fish.

22 Reviews of Property 108367 in Akumal, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Oceanfront Penthouse -4300 Sq Ft,2 Level -Mi Casa Del Mar
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
Oceanfront Penthouse -4300 Sq Ft,2 Level -Mi Casa Del Mar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p108367vb
+ 301-530-8445
Akumal Quintana Roo
Denver, CO
5

Akumal

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
This property is beautiful. Beach on one side, jungle on the other. I love falling asleep at night to the sound of the waves. The master bathroom is a real treat - shower in nature! The property was fully equipped with lots of current dvd's which came in hand on the cloudy days. Eating breakfast on the patio was a great start to the day. The staff are incredibly kind and helpful. We hired them to cook one night and what a treat. There are no peddlers on the beach pushing goods. The local town people are kind and eager to please. The snorkeling is great. The Beaches are white, clean, and so peaceful. This is my new found paradise and I can not wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your comments! Akumal is a hidden gem and our condo is a treat! We treat our repeat customers with great deals!
Helpful votes: 7/9
business
Oceanfront Penthouse -4300 Sq Ft,2 Level -Mi Casa Del Mar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p108367vb
+ 301-530-8445
Akumal Quintana Roo
Chevy Chase, MD
5

Gorgeous property - extremely happy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed just over a week in the condo. Four people so more than enough room for everyone. Akumal is a delightful town we've been going to for years - full of snorkeling, scuba diving, fishing, and within driving distance of a number of more land adventures. The condo itself is huge and has several gorgeous outdoor terraces where we would spend quite a bit of time. Pool shared among the eight condo units but we were then only ones ever in it while there. Only slight negative is that the wifi was a bit spotty - only matters if you need to check in for work though.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for this - We hope you'll come again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Penthouse -4300 Sq Ft,2 Level -Mi Casa Del Mar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p108367vb
+ 301-530-8445
Akumal Quintana Roo
Central Nebraska
5

Perfect 'home away from home' in a little piece of paradise...

Perfect 'home away from home' in a little piece of paradise...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and I stayed here over Christmas with our 2 adult children and 2 of their friends (all in their 20's). This condo was perfect for 6 of us. It's centrally located within the village and only takes 5 minutes or so (walking) to go south to the beach and little market or to the north to La Buena Vida (a must). We actually did rent a golf cart and 2 bicycles and they were great. It made exploring the area, hauling our stuff to the beach and back, and going to the market for supplies much easier. We went through Akumal Guide and lined them up before we left home. We highly recommend them, and make sure you do this before you go because they don't have many and they're highly requested.
All of the bedrooms in the condo have air conditioning, which helps for sleeping at night. It was in the 80s while we were there but very humid. The kitchen is fully stocked with cookware, dishes, silverware, etc and we appreciated the supply of coffee, filters, sugar, creamer, etc.
The view from the condo is magnificent - ocean on one side, jungle on the other. Large patios with lots of lounge chairs and seating. The open air bathroom and shower in the master bedroom is something everyone needs to experience.
We were in contact with the owners of the condo by phone and email many times before we left and they were very accommodating, offering a lot of information and tips on the area.
We arranged transportation from the airport in Cancun to Akumal through USA Transfers, also before we left home, and they were awesome. Because of the massive amount of people in the airport due to the Christmas season there were huge lines going through immigration and customs which delayed us over 2 hours and they were still there to get us to our destination. They will also make a stop in Playa del Carmen for groceries. This we highly recommend!! The markets in Akumal are very very expensive. Because of our delay we couldn't stop that night and had to take a taxi to Puerto Aventuras the next day for supplies. This was still better than paying the prices in Akumal.
One note to add to this review and to show how much we recommend this condo is to say that - If you have to get hit with the influenza bug while on vacation, which some of us did, we couldn't have asked for a more welcome and comfortable home to be in.
Thank you John and Rosemary!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for writing this review. We are sorry to hear about the flu but glad that you were still able to enjoy your time in Akumal.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Penthouse -4300 Sq Ft,2 Level -Mi Casa Del Mar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p108367vb
+ 301-530-8445
Akumal Quintana Roo
Davenport, Iowa
5

What a great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed at Mi Casa Del Mar for 10 days. It was myself, my wife, our 3 children ages 5, 5 and 7 and my wife's parents. There was plenty of room for everyone to have their own space and it was very comfortable, especially the beds! The master suite is awesome, with the amazing view from the bed to the indoor/outdoor master bath overlooking the jungle.
The location was great, a 5 minute walk to Akumal beach or half moon bay, or you can just enter the water right in front of the condo to snorkel. At Akumal beach, we saw tons of turtles, stingrays, squid, tuna, reef fish, etc.. Just an awesome variety of marine life to experience! We were all in awe every time we entered the sea.
We all loved the infinity pool, especially the kids, they would have spent their entire vacation in the pool if we would have let them! Their favorite thing to do was try to feed the iguana's around the pool, they loved the banana's.
Lots to see and do in the area, we bargained with a bus driver in Akumal for his services for a few days to use him and his van/bus for going to Coba, Tulum ruins and to La Bella Vita beach club in Tulum.
The condo had everything we needed, the staff was great, always keeping us stocked up with water and Maria kept the place spotless! An absolutely great vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for Chris for this great review. We are glad that you enjoyed Akumal and our condo. If you ever want to return please contact us, we are happy to offer a discount to returning guests.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Oceanfront Penthouse -4300 Sq Ft,2 Level -Mi Casa Del Mar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p108367vb
+ 301-530-8445
Akumal Quintana Roo
Delaware
5

Best vacation ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our party of 8 had a wonderful time at Pam's condo in Mi Casa Del Mar. The condo is beautiful with awesome ocean views and breezes. The kids loved the infinity pool and the outside shower. I loved the hammock on the deck. Our familys first trip to Mexico and we will definitely be back to Akumal and Mi Casa Del Mar. The snorkeling was great at Akumal bay, lots of fish and turtles and even a few rays. We also went ziplining and swimming in the cenotes. In addition, we drove to the ruins at Coba and Tulum. The kids had a wonderful time climbing the pyramid at Coba. So much to do in the Mayan Riveria and Akumal is the perfect place to stay with its quaint feel but yet wonderful shops and restaurants. A great vacation!!!! Thanks for your place Pam, our home away from home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Penthouse -4300 Sq Ft,2 Level -Mi Casa Del Mar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p108367vb
+ 301-530-8445
Akumal Quintana Roo
5

Fabulous condo with amazing views!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a fabulous time staying at your condo Pam. The living areas were spacious and comfortable, the master bedroom was gorgeous and the master bath was great, what an experience showering in the outside shower looking at that beautiful view! The best thing of all though was the outside space, the terraces are just wonderful. We loved the views ... the ocean, jungle and views over the bay are amazing. It was so peaceful with just the sounds of the ocean and jungle. Akumal is lovely, so relaxing ... the beach is beautiful, the people friendly, the little shops were great to browse around, the restaurants were fantastic .... we loved the food. Can't say anything negative. We had some great day trips and especially loved Chichen Itza, Ek Balam and Tulum. Hopefully we will get the opportunity to stay at your condo again ... before you retire there!!
Christine and family
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Penthouse -4300 Sq Ft,2 Level -Mi Casa Del Mar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p108367vb
+ 301-530-8445
Akumal Quintana Roo
5

Amazing Vacation in Akumal in SPECTACULAR condo!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Well, we are just (very sadly) back from our best vacation ever! Pam's condo is everything the website says and more.....nothing beats waking up to a beautiful ocean view from your bed and having coffee on your bedroom deck in your p.j.'s; or taking a shower in an open bath that overlooks the jungle (had to get over my shyness!); or opening all the patio doors when you come home and having the cool ocean breeze and sounds wash over you. The condo has everything you need to eat at home, go to the beach, and enjoy quiet evenings at home. We even had two loads of laundry done for $10 usd plus a tip--Maria is amazing and kept the condo spotless. The caretakers helped us with whatever we needed, Jorge peeling fresh coconuts for us to eat and drink and Epy looking after any concerns with the condo and giving directions to special places. We always felt like we were coming home when we got back from a day of exploring the area, welcomed by the resident cat at the bottom of the stairs.

We loved the town of Akumal and did actually see giant "tortugas" (sea turtles) when we were snorkelling at the main beach in Akumal. All the restaurants in town were amazing....Lucy's homemade salted caramel ice cream cones and fried fish tacos, La Buena Vida's ribs, fajitas, and happy hour complete with swings and treehouses to drink from, Turtle Bay bakery's amazing breakfasts and desserts, the best fresh cooked fish you will ever have at La Cueva del Pescador, and a Cuban band and 5 star meal at Lol-Ha on the beach. We also loved Tequillaville in Akumal pueblo where we met and visited with the owner Ken and loved the food, and Loncheria Akumalito where I had chicken enchiladas in a mole sauce. Mmmmm....

We rented a car (great prices on Priceline) and took day trips to Tulum, Dos Ojos Cenote, Playa Del Carmen, and Yal Ku Lagoon where there was amazing snorkelling. One week is just not long enough to take in all the amazing sites, but we did a good job of going out on morning jaunts and then taking siesta's in the extremely hot afternoons in our wonderful king size bed and air-conditioned room in the condo. Quick shower and change and off to a delicious dinner!

We can see why you chose this special spot to be your retirement home, Pam. I could live there forever and never want to be anywhere else. Thank you so much for sharing it with us and letting us make memories that will stay with us forever.

Greg and Bernadette Schmidt
Kamloops, BC Canada :)
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Penthouse -4300 Sq Ft,2 Level -Mi Casa Del Mar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p108367vb
+ 301-530-8445
Akumal Quintana Roo
-
5

Wonderful Place to Relax!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
What a fabulous place to end our month in Mexico! After travelling from Playa to Cozumel and finally landing in Akumal, Pam's penthouse at Mi Casa del Mar was absolutely wonderful. The condo was spacious and well appointed. The decor was a funky blend of "eclectic beach" and every corner begged for you to lounge and read, nap or simply watch the waves outside the floor to ceiling windows. There must be over 100 DVD's and CD's for you to watch! The staff at the condo building were very helpful and attentive from the moment we arrived in Akumal and Pam was great to talk to both over the phone and by email. You can't beat the snorkeling in the bay - so many fish, rays and turtles. There are wonderful restuarants in town within walking distance and we found them to be very reasonably priced. Thank you Pam for a wonderful stay. We'll be back soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Penthouse -4300 Sq Ft,2 Level -Mi Casa Del Mar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p108367vb
+ 301-530-8445
Akumal Quintana Roo
Vernon, British Columbia
5

We'll be back

We'll be back
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Well It's been four days since we've been back home in Vernon and I cannot stop thinking about the fantastic time we spent in Akumal and at your condo. From the moment we arrived and met Epe and Jorge I knew we had made the right choice. My wife and I would like to thankyou for allowing us to share in your little bit of heaven.
Thankyou,
Domenic and Leslie
Owner's Response: thanks! We love Akumal and hope to retire there someday if our children will ever complete college! Please come back-We love repeat guests! Pam
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Penthouse -4300 Sq Ft,2 Level -Mi Casa Del Mar
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p108367vb
+ 301-530-8445
Akumal Quintana Roo
5

Still Smiling When I Think of "That View"!

Still Smiling When I Think of "That View"!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Spent a sunny, breezy week at this fabulous penthouse, Feb 18-25/12. The outdoor shower is amazing, the view from all the bedrooms – jungle or Caribbean side is fabulous, and you’ll never tire
of the crashing wave sounds from the patio. Jorge and Maria took great care of us; the property is in great shape and no, the pictures don’t do it justice. Shopping locally and cooking was a treat with so many fresh ingredients to be found. Akumal is a friendly, laid-back village. Be sure to try the ice cream at Lucy’s and snorkelling at either beach – turtles seen at both! Don’t delay – book this place today. We’ve stayed all over the world in high-end rentals and the view and ambience at this place is the best yet.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks! We love Akumal and hope to retire there someday if our children will ever complete college! Please come back-We love repeat guests and always offer discounts. I enjoy talking tand assisting in your vacation plans .Pam
Helpful votes: 3/4