Friendship cottage rental - The cottage, looking out on Muscongus Bay
The cottage, looking out on Muscongus Bay
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Friendship Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4

This airy and open 1940's cottage sits on 200 ft. of spectacular rocky coastline. The kitchen is separated from the living and dining areas by a large fieldstone fireplace. Two sets of sliding glass doors open onto the deck, where you can breakfast watching one of the busiest lobstering areas on the coast, and enjoy evening sunsets over Muscongus Bay. One bedroom has a double bed, and the second has twin beds. The modern bathroom has a full shower/bath. Pets are negotiable and we limit the number each season; cats are not allowed.

10 Reviews of Property 107956 in Friendship, Maine

Rocky Waterfront Cottage, Sunset Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Rocky Waterfront Cottage, Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107956
410 914-5314
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Peaceful Well Equipped Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Well equipped clean cottage with great entertainment in nature -- beautiful song bird and osprey activity from the deck. The trails through the forest are beautiful and picturesque. The Owner provides great advice on the best places to eat which do not disappoint. Extremely quiet with amazing sunsets.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rocky Waterfront Cottage, Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107956
410 914-5314
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Lobster Boats and Sunsets

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My wife and I have stayed at Westview two years in a row now in the month of October and we just love the place! It is perfect for one or two couples. We love the sights and sounds of lobster boats early in the morning, and the spectacular sunsets over the Medomak River. It is very cozy without being cramped, and is very private. The cottage is well-equipped with every cooking tool we could imagine, including a lobster pot. The beds are comfortable and all linens are supplied. The stone fireplace is absolutely beautiful and very welcome on fall evenings coupled with a glass of wine, a good book, and good company. Being located a pleasant 20 minute drive from Rockland, it does not take long to find the Farnsworth Museum of Art (Wyeth family paintings), the Owls Head Transportation Museum, galleries, great shops and cafes. Camden is only another ten minutes farther up Rt 1 and Mount Battie just beyond is a must see for spectacular views. The Sweetgrass Farm Winery and Morse's Restaurant are culinary treats north of Waldoboro. Pat maintains an information binder with plenty of suggestions for things to see and do. Walking a trail of the Medomak Valley Land Trust is essential, particularly the Clarry Hill trail through the blueberry fields, which has become our favorite. And of course, the lobster is fresh as fresh can be. It's very easy to wind down here, enjoying life as it was meant to be. Pat is always very accommodating and helpful making the rental process very seamless. I'd rate Westview as one of the best cottages we've ever rented, and we rent at least two or three each year.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Rocky Waterfront Cottage, Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107956
410 914-5314
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Friendship

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Rustic cottage in a beautiful spot. Sits very close to water with great water view.

Tom Wilkes
business
Rocky Waterfront Cottage, Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107956
410 914-5314
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Buffalo, New York
5

Perfect Cottage;Perfect Setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Westview is the perfect Maine cottage in the perfect setting. Why the perfect cottage? It achieves a balance of comfort, authenticity, and charm. Some Maine rentals are too rustic, or too suburban, or too fancy -- Westview feels like it belongs in its setting. And what a setting -- the bay, lobster boats, osprey, sunsets and dawns that take your breath away, Every room has a view, and the deck is wonderful. On the practical side: it is well equipped, the beds are comfortable, and the kitchen is stocked with all the necessary tools for cooking. The town of Friendship is away from the tourist fray but within an easy drive of restaurants and attractions is you want to venture out. The owner is helpful and caring. I felt lucky to have spent 2 weeks there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rocky Waterfront Cottage, Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107956
410 914-5314
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Concord, N.H.
5

Peaceful !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed our time at your cottage by the bay. It was comfortable and well stocked, dishes, linens, etc. The bird watching was awesome, especially the osprey diving for fish. Waking to the hum of the lobster boats and watching them thru out the day and walking to the local beach were our main entertainment. So much better than television. The location on the water, the quiet ( no traffic noise) and the beautiful sunsets definitely make it a wonderful get away. Thank you , Pat, the customer service was great ! I would definitly recommend to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Rocky Waterfront Cottage, Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107956
410 914-5314
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Hannibal, NY
5

Walt & Gail

Walt & Gail
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This was our second trip to Westview. Our first trip we brought another couple with us. This time it was a relaxing week for just the two of us.
If you are looking for a place away from the tourist, a deck you can sit on any time of the day and watch the lobster boats harvesting their catch, and seeing one of the most beautiful sunsets at the end of the day. Or falling asleep at night listening to the soft sounds of the waves rolling up on the rocks as the tide comes in then Westview might be just what your looking for.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Rocky Waterfront Cottage, Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107956
410 914-5314
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Vienna, VA
5

Just what we needed...and sunsets too

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We spent a lovely week at Westview in Friendship, ME. Lobsters were so cheap, we ate lobster nearly every night. We found Westview well-stocked, clean, and just what we needed. It was just the right size for four adults. We loved the view and enjoyed several wonderful sunsets from the rocks. We did not bring our two dogs for other reasons, but are pleased to know that they might be welcome in the future. We also loved hiking the trails on Martins Point. The moss was particularly vibrant green and especially spongy. Very pretty. The raspberries, beach peas, and blueberries were all ripe, too.

We did kayak to the cottage, but did not attempt to disbark on the steep rocks, though it might be able to be done.

We could hear the neighbors, but trees mostly hid the neighboring houses.

Westview is very cute, in good condition, and is well-stocked with appropriate amenities. It was nice to have tools, extra light bulbs, basic cooking ingredients, linens and towels already there. It was perfect for 4 adults.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Rocky Waterfront Cottage, Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107956
410 914-5314
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Brookline,NH., USA
5

Get-a-way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
This will be our 6th year at Westview and every year we start looking forward to going back about a week after we get home. We love waking up to the sounds of the lobsterboats checking their traps and watching them while we have our coffee on the deck. The fieldstone fireplace gets used almost every morning and every evening even if only for the ambience. We use this place as a laid back get-a-way and have established a routine of going to the Montstweag flea market, shopping in charming Wiscasset, visiting various antique shops and roaming around Rockland. There are plenty of things to do and great eateries to try. We consider this our knitting vacation and try to get some of that in as there are some great yarn shops around. We also collect sea glass from the nearby beach! So glad to be away from the TV!! Westview is not a fancy place, it's a charming old fashioned Maine cottage. It's clean, bright and airy. Recommended for anyone who likes to experience the sights, sounds and smells of the sea and still be close enough to visit many of the other attractions in the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Rocky Waterfront Cottage, Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107956
410 914-5314
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
5

Our Honeymoon Cottage -Westview Friendship ME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
We were married June 28, 1952 and spent a wonderful two weeks as "Westview" cottage. It wasn't modernized as it is today but the location facing west right on the rockbound cosat of Maine was just perfect.
About 6 years ago we discovered the cottage was available for rent and have been spending a week there every summer since then. It is the perfect place, quiet, and secluded, with all the comforts one needs to make it a just right place.

The cottage is clean and well cared for and I would strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to find a secluded quiet cottage with beautiful sunsets.
It lives up to its name "Westview"!

What sold me on it back in 1952 was the picture taken then from the same place the picture (above) was taken. Actually the area at Martin's Point where the cottage is located is almost the same as it was back in 1952.
We spent August 2-9, 2008 (last year) there and will be there again this August 15-22nd.

If you want the perfect place in non-commercial Maine right on the water with lobster boats within 100 feet of the cottage pulling their traps, this is the place for you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Rocky Waterfront Cottage, Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107956
410 914-5314
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Brooklyn
5

Best of both worlds!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
This is a perfect Maine getaway spot. The house is right on the water with spectacular sunsets to dine al fresco. It is very quiet and private while being in close proximity to many touristy Maine towns and restaurants, etc. Also right by the house itself there is are nice nature walks too.

The main bedroom faces the water and sky for star gazing at night and or waking up with the lobster boats (if you like). The linens are quality cozy and the kitchen is well stocked... so is the wood for evenings by the fire. The owners have really thought of everything you could need while you are there and they even allow dogs! What more could you ask for!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9