Oyster Pond cottage rental - View from Cottage
View from Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Oyster Pond Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, sleeps 2

The Cottage in St Maarten, ideal for truly romantic, peaceful Caribbean vacation. The St Maarten Cottage at Oyster Pond Estates is part of the Estate Chateau Jeca, a fully gated property in secured gated community . The Cottage offers privacy and beauty. Styled after an old West Indian cottage every detail is included; lap board siding, and traditional wood shutters painted in Caribbean colors.

Don't be fooled by the old traditional style, the cottage contains a modern kitchen with stainless steel appliances; micro wave, wall oven and cook top. The entire cottage is air-conditioned. There is cable with 2 flat screen TVs, 2 stereos, Ipod docking station, wireless Internet. The bathroom is built into the hillside with exposed rock and includes large vanity, sink and self contained shower all from Travertine stone. Amenities include outdoor jacuzzi, sculptured pool bordered with stone and views of Oyster Pond, the Atlantic Ocean and Anguilla.

Three private terraces allow for plenty of relaxing time. Also, you can take time to meander in the lush gardens using one of the many stone paths, or maybe chat with Tina the African Grey. Annie,a pomeranian, that will greet you everyday.

Dawn beach is minutes away and about 20 minutes to Orient Beach (our nude beach) on the French side.

More Details
Hide Details

31 Reviews of Property 107440 in Oyster Pond, St Maarten / Saint Martin

St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 31 reviews
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
Stouffville, Ontario, Canada
5

SPECTACULAR VIEWS

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We arrived at the cottage for a 10 day stay. Jan 30th to Feb 10th 2014 Driving directions from the airport that were given by Robert were PERFECT and we easily found the property.
Robert and Luna were waiting to greet us when we arrived. He showed us through the cottage and all the particulars around the pool and hot tub - then we did not see him again. (if needed - he is just a quick text or email away) Luna however was a daily greeter and a wonderful dog to have a visit with.
We traversed the entire island during our stay, seeking out different beaches and shops etc. Philipsburg has wonderful shopping- just go on line and fine out when the cruise ship schedule is- and go on the days that they are not in port. We had most of the shops to ourselves and likewise for lunch- lots of seating and space.
Our fav beach is Friar's beach. The waves are calm and its really lovely there. A bit hard to find, but a gem when you finally make it. Stay and have lunch- it's delightful.
The cottage itself is very comfortable and EXACTLY as pictured on the VRBO website. I do not have any complaints about this property- except that you will fall in love with the area and find it hard to leave when your vacation comes to an end.
Most nights were spend star gazing while in the hot tub, listening to music or having a glass of wine, there was beyond wonderful.
Lastly, on the day we were leaving Robert had been into town and realized there was a road issue that would cause us some concern with getting back to the airport. He explained an alternate route to me that was clear and easy to follow- and that allowed us to deliver our rental car and return to the airport with lots of time to spare and stress free.
Thank you Robert for opening your property to travellers, looking for a rejuvenation to their souls. We would LOVE to return!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Cottage and
on St. Maarten. Also your kind words are appreciated.

We hope that indeed you decide to come and visit again. Good luck
with the new home.
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
5

Future renters Beware!!! Part 3

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Addiction rules...

Robert, I must say thank you once again for your warm welcome and for a wonderful third-time-around-stay at your cozy little peace of paradise. We depart well rested with beautiful memories to cherish on those remaining winter weeks ahead of us.

Our morning coffee on the upstairs patio with nothing but the vista all around and the lights at night In the manicured garden, while enjoying the spa, were moments that we've truly come to enjoy. We did also share a few good times with our brave friends and with family, who defied the cold weather, to join us this year, on the Island, and had wonderful meal at Big Fish, down next to the marina, and at La Voile Blanche, Orient Bay.

We've traveled around the world, and found something special in SXM, something worth coming back. The cottage is one of the reasons we feel the need for more.
Why must you say ?
Because it is very well maintained and has all the comforts of home. Prepare yourself to have an amazing time !

We leave with a smile on our face, knowing that we will be seing you again next december for 4 additional weeks in paradise.
Until then, take care and enjoy your home sweet home.

With anticipation,

Mireille and St├ęphane.
Owner's Response: Guys good to see you again and look forward to your next stay. As always appreciate your kind words and pleased you enjoyed your time at The Cottage.
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
Greenville, NC
5

Wonderfully Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I don't even know if I have the words to articulate how wonderful our vacation was. I was even sick the last two days and it was still that great! My husband and I arrived for our 8 day vacation on 11/21. After a long day of travel, Robert's directions were spot on. We arrived with Luna there waiting to greet us. Robert took us on a tour of the cottage and property and explained everything we needed to know. Then we never saw him again. Not that we would have minded, that's just how private it is. Any time we had questions, we emailed and got quick, warm responses. The cottage is perfect for a couple and has all the amenities of home. We even traveled to the fish market and cooked at home several times. The island is breathtaking. The cottage was quaint and romantic and exactly what we were hoping for. Robert was the perfect host. And Luna was the perfect compliment. Make sure you pick up some bologna for Luna. She came every morning for her daily treat. The only thing I would change, coasters. The cottage needs coasters. The furniture was so nice I was always afraid I would leave drink rings through the paper towels. Thank you so much for such a wonderfully perfect vacation!
Owner's Response: Guys,

Glad you enjoyed yourself. Thank you for the kind words.
Coasters are going in tomorrow. Lol

Hope to see you again in the future.
Robert
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
5

Perfect romantic getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We were hosted here at the Cottage guest house of Chateau Jecca. It was the perfect getaway for our 15th anniversary. Every piece of that cottage was so well planned out and beautifully made - it was the perfect ambiance. The multi-level design made it very spacious on the inside, and we never felt cramped. The grounds of the estate are stunning tropical gardens, craftsman stonework and breathtaking views of the rural part of the island on the facing hills, and Caribbean below. Quiet and private and perfect. The guests have total access to the pool and hot tub and privacy while doing so. Luna the German Shepherd puppy is a lovely quadrapedal ambassador and cohost. The loving care that the family has given the property for so many years comes through for guests as beauty in every direction you turn your head. We loved the second floor bedroom balcony for evening wine and cheese and the tropical garden encased front porch for coffee. The owner, helped my husband arrange to have anniversary champagne and roses waiting for us upon arrival. He was wonderful to deal with as we planned the trip, and we absolutely will return to this spot. The Cottage has become the new default setting for where to go for the just-the-2-of-us getaway. Great experience all the way through thanks to the professionalism in the business arrangements and the lovely personalities on site during our stay. Gorgeous, private, perfect, romantic spot. Venez ici, restez ici, revenez ici - parfait!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. So
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

You guys were perfect guests.
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
Vancouver, Canada
5

Awesome Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Thank you Robert for a great stay at "The Cottage"
The accommodations were just as wonderful as stated in the descriptions. The villa was clean and very well equipped.
The location of this villa was perfect, as it allowed us to jump to our favorite beaches, shop till we dropped on Front Street and dine at our favorite restaurants Mr Busby's and Mama's Pizza.
We will definitely recommend this villa to our friends and hope to return soon.
Thanks again.
Paul & Chantalle
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
5

Tropical Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My wife and I chose Chateau Jeca for our third trip to St. Martin due to it's location in the Oyster Pond area, our favorite area of the island, and because of the great reviews it has received. From the moment we drove through the gate, we were amazed by Robert's creativity and vision with what he's done with the property and the cottage! The gardens, stonework, paths and sitting areas are amazing. There are multiple decks, terraces and gazebos with beautiful views of the property, island and ocean, as well as a hot tub and pool that are available for your exclusive use during your stay. Robert was there to greet us and show us around when we arrived and had stocked the refrigerator with some beer, soda and wine...a very nice touch after a long day of traveling! After that, we felt like the place was ours and we rarely saw anyone with the exception of our new friend Luna, Robert's dog.

The cottage is well appointed and no detail has been forgotten. We chose to visit one of the many amazing restaurants each night that are within a very short drive of the cottage, but if you like to cook and eat in, you won't be disappointed with the kitchen and utensils. The bed was so comfortable that we actually had to check to see what brand of mattress it was!

We love the Oyster Pond area because it's much more serene and beautiful than most areas of St. Martin, yet still within a 10 to 15 minute drive of Philipsburg, Dawn Beach, Orient Beach and several of the best restaurants on the island. Chateau Jeca provided us with a wonderful home base for our daily and nightly treks.

Robert - thank you for helping make our stay so carefree and enjoyable. We hope to see you again in the future!

Mike & Susan
Owner's Response: Mike and Susan,

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you guys again in the future.

Stay well,
Robert
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
Middletown, Ohio
5

Great First Visit Made Better by This Amazing Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We made our first trip to St. Maarten from 3/23 to 3/30. I can't stop thinking about our wonderful experience. Our accomodations are right at the the top of our list of what made our fifth anniversary trip truly special.

Prepare to be wowed the moment you pull into the driveway of Chateau Jeca. The landscaping from the natural trees and rocks to the stone walls and potted plants provided a remarkable atmosphere. There are many places to just sit and take in the surroundings of the island - very relaxing. The pool was fantastic to lounge around and the jacuzzi was nice to use after a day of zip-lining at Loterie Farm. The inside of the cottage was also very nice...much bigger than you would expect from seeing the pictures. You walk into the living area with the galley style kitchen on your left. You then go up a few stairs and the bathroom is on the left. Once in the bathroom, the shower is down a couple stairs as kind of a "dungeon-style" on your left. It was really neat. The bedroom is up the stairs further outside the bathroom.

Robert was a great host. He made himself available if we needed him or had any problems, but we didn't see him otherwise...he left us alone. The Oyster Pond area is a ways away from most everything on the island, but we liked that. And it wasn't any longer than a 30 minute drive to Phillipsburg or Marigot. Very easy to get around.

Thank you Robert for your wonderful hospitality and allowing us the use of your beautiful property. You made our trip very enjoyable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Guys,
Thanks for the kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your vacation and the time at The Cottage. Hope we see you again.

Robert
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

The Cottage

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Robert-


The Cottage is an indoor/outdoor architectural masterpiece. Robert has done an amazing job creating this very unique environment and the view from the deck off of the bedroom is fabulous. The interior of the cottage is nicely appointed and very interesting. You are provided with a private entrance off of the road by way of an electronic and secure gate and can park your car just a few steps from the front porch.

Robert is very responsive to emails and was even kind enough to look into what happened to an old friend I had met in Grand Case some years ago. Sadly the news was not good.

The daily morning walk into Oyster Pond is a great way to start the day but be aware that the walk back can be a challenge! Our only disappointment was that Robert was stateside during the first part of our stay so we only had one opportunity to sit down and chat with him. This is a very nice place!


Scott
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
5

Future renters Beware ! Part 2

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Addiction did occur.
This is our second stay at the cottage, as we were here last year, same time of year, escaping from the cold and the snow of Quebec. Looking for the warmth of the caribbean, the comforts of the cottage at Chateau Jeca, and the friendly welcome of Robert, our host.

As soon as you put your luggage down, you realize that this cottage is growing on you, for it is rapidly becoming a home away from home. We are still "sous le charme". Luna was a joy. This peaceful retreat is what you would expect and so much more. Our host, Robert is discrete and always available. We had a great time, returning to the places we know and enjoy on the island. But still, after numerous stays on St Martin, we never get tired of the diversity and are discovering new things to see and do.
This Island is full of surprises !

Once again, Robert, we can never thank you enough for a wonderful stay, as we realize that efforts are needed to keep Chateau Jeca and its cottage, clean and comfy.

We were glad to be back and are eager to come again next year.
Stay tuned for part. 3 !
Merci beaucoup.
Owner's Response: It was great seeing you both again this year and look forward to your next stay. I am glad you enjoyed yourself fully, since vacations usually come once a year.

Cannot wait for part 3

Take care,
Robert, and Luna
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
5

Great Honeymoon Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had a wonderful stay at Chateau Jeca for our honeymoon in early November. The listing was accurate on all accounts; very clean and modern. Robert did everything to make our vacation as comfortable as possible. The location is great, very close to Orient Bay, where we spent most of our time. It was very easy to cook at the cottage if we wanted to or eat at any of the great restaurants (we liked Chesterfields in Philipsburg and Paradise View on the way to Orient Bay) or Lolos in nearby Grand Case. And we loved hanging out in the hot tub or pool in the evenings. We would definitely recommend this rental to anyone who is looking for privacy, a great view, the comforts of home, and a unique St. Maarten experience. Thanks again for a great vacation!
-Maris and Andrew Mokey
Owner's Response: Maris and Andrew,

Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your vacation (honeymoon). Look forward
To another visit.

Stay well,

Robert
Helpful votes: 2/2