Bass Harbor cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Bass Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 large bathroom with whirlpool tub, sleeps 6

Enjoy beautiful views from this newly renovated home with country kitchen, spacious livingroom, an enclosed sun porch. Decks and stone patio offer plenty of room to relax surrounded by lovely gardens (included in the Island's 2009 Garden Tour). After watching the sunset over the harbor or walking back from dinner, relax with a soak in the whirlpool bath or in front of a fire on a chilly evening. Very child friendly.

All within 500 feet of water's edge!

16 Reviews of Property 106984 in Bass Harbor, Maine

Aisling Cottage - Harbor Views from Every Room
average rating of 4.5625 based on 16 reviews
business
Aisling Cottage - Harbor Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106984
+1 207 460-8485
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Loved our stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
My husband and I stayed at Aisling in August 2008 with our 2 year old son. He loved walking down to the water to watch the ducks, running around in the back yard, and playing with the toys in the house. We'd recommend (for any kind of travel) to take a "white noise" travel clock to help infants sleep sound. The property was very clean; I appreciated the newer model of coffee maker. The owners provided books and pamphlets with restaurant reviews and information about the area.
I'd definitely recommend this cottage to friends-- even those with one or two young children.
It might not be up still, but on our way to Bass Harbor-- coming from Southwest Harbor-- there's a handwritten sign that says "GIANT CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES". We followed the sign to a house, and this woman sold us the most delicious cookies known to man or woman. I think Sawyer's Market in SW Harbor carries her cookies too. Also, A & B Naturals in Bar Harbor has an incredible selection of food and natural medicine (if needed) considering the size of the store. Also in Bar Harbor: the Bagel Factory! It's hidden, but if you can get there early, it's worth it.
We really had an incredible time; we'd love to go back and stay at Aisling again. Thank you to the owners for all of the extra amenities.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Aisling Cottage - Harbor Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106984
+1 207 460-8485
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Florissant, Missouri
4

Wonderful Maine Cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
If you want to be on the quiet side of Mount Desert Island, this is a great place to unpack for your stay. Walking distance to the ferry, to restaurants, and boat tours. The owners are right next door, so if you needed anything all you had to do was call. The cottage was very clean and well-maintained. There are flowers all around making it so inviting to just sit outside and relax with a good book. If I ever go back to Maine I would try and rent this cottage again. So peaceful!
business
Aisling Cottage - Harbor Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106984
+1 207 460-8485
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Clean, cozy, comfortable cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The owners put their heart and soul into this cottage and it was evident as soon as we walked through the door and saw a personal note and fresh flowers on the table to welcome us. The cottage is simply but beautifully decorated. The kitchen is perfectly equipped with everything necessary to make home cooked meals, the bedrooms are comfortable and restful with beautiful linens. The bathroom is large, pretty and contains fluffy towels. We enjoyed sitting on the deck watching butterflies flitter from flower to flower in the gorgeous gardens while our children practiced their instruments on the balcony off the master bedroom. The free bus stopped right in front of the cottage to whisk us off to our daily adventures. The owners are delightful, generous, informative people. They lent us their great bikes to ride the carriage roads and a lobster pot to cook delicious, gigantic lobsters we purchased from Rich's down the road. The pictures depicted on the website are exacly right. The cottage was even better than we expected or imagined. Thank you Victoria and David for allowing us to have a peaceful, wonderful vacation. We'll be back next August - already counting the days!

P.S. I don't where the person was staying that gave the negative review because it certainly was not at Aisling Cottage!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Aisling Cottage - Harbor Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106984
+1 207 460-8485
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
United States
5

Authentic Cozy Maine Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
As soon as we walked in the door, we were greeted with a lovely message from the MacDonalds and fresh cut flowers, making us feel warm, welcome, and right at home! The cottage provided us with all the necessary amenities to cook several meals including a terrific lobster dinner! The cottage is quaint, quiet, and within walking distance of the Swan Island Ferry and wildlife excursions! Bass Harbor and Aisling Cottage is on the "quietside" of Mount Desert Island but all destinations of the island (Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park, etc) are within an easy drive or Island Explorer bus ride. The owners are very accommodating and accessible. We enjoyed our stay so much, that we are planning to return to Aisling Cottage in the spring! Thank you David, Victoria, Logan and Rosie for making this our best vacation experience! See you in the spring!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Aisling Cottage - Harbor Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106984
+1 207 460-8485
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Bolton-est, QC. Canada
5

Aisling Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Nous avons passé une très belle semaine.
Aisling cottage a tout ce qu'on peut souhaiter. Très propre, hôtes charmants, disponibles, discrets.
Bass harbor, un village authentique loin de la cohorte des touristes et si près de tout, idéal pour les activités de plein air.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Aisling Cottage - Harbor Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106984
+1 207 460-8485
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Arlington, VA
5

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Just stayed here for a week with my family of four (including 4 and 1 1/2 year old daughters). We loved it - we felt right at home with all the toys, fresh flowers, and immaculate house. We also enjoyed being on the quieter side of the island, and close to the tide pools at the end of the Wonderland trail! Thanks for a great week! (Also, I would not concern yourself with the one negative review on this site - clearly nothing would have pleased this person - the cottage is great...)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Aisling Cottage - Harbor Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106984
+1 207 460-8485
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Garrettsville, OH
5

Wonderful Aisling Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We had a wonderful week for our first trip ever to Maine with our kids (ages 5,4,3). The kids cannot stop tellling people about their "new house" that they stayed in at Maine! We had a great time and appreciated all the little details put in the cottage such as the kids' table and chairs,the lego blocks and the fresh flowers. We spent our week exploring Acadia and Bar Harbor. We also tried out kayaking and had great success! We had a super relaxing week and would definitely choose to stay in a cottage over a hotel anytime now. Our expectations have been set very high for our next vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Aisling Cottage - Harbor Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106984
+1 207 460-8485
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Israel
5

We had a great time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
It is not easy booking through the net. The main thing we look for is that the owners be honest. Victoria and David are and that is priceless. The description of the property was very accurate. The "quiet side" of MDI was agood choice. We walked the three minutes down to the harbor, which was great and found a lot of interesting things in close proximity. The drive to other sites can be 20-30 minutes but staying at the cottage was well worth it. We found everything in the cottage to be in good condition, exactly equiped as a family needs. They thought of everything! Victoria and David were warm, open and pleasant and and made us feel right at home while respecting our privacy.
Seafood Ketch is really nice for a dinner by the harbor and don't miss the live music on Friday nights at Captain Nemo's Bar which is a three minute drive.
My only regret about this cottage is that we did not book for two weeks!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Aisling Cottage - Harbor Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106984
+1 207 460-8485
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Pasadena, CA
5

Fall Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
Aisling Cottage was a true pleasure on our Autumn trip to Maine. The cottage was immaculate and thoughtfully appointed. The owners were a delight; available, helpful, yet unobtrusive. Bass Harbor is a half hour away from the tourist craziness of Bar Harbor and the main part of Acadia, but has a lighthouse, beautiful trails and a lovely harbor, all close at hand. Don't forget to ask for the big lobster pot set up after you buy that four pounder down the street - yum! I know we'll be back! (a cautionary note: the only bathroom and all bedrooms are on the second story, for those with mobility issues) Go, relax and enjoy; we did!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Aisling Cottage - Harbor Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106984
+1 207 460-8485
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Connecticut
5

Stay at Aisling

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
We just returned from a week long stay in Aisling Cottage, this was our second trip there. We were very happy that the place was as perfect as we remember it. If you want a slice of life on the rugged Maine seacoast, then this would be it. The owners have obviously gone through the time and effort to make the stay as comfortable as possible. What a pleasure it was to come back after a day of sightseeing and be able to relax. The bed and the furniture were very comfortable, and the outside gardens a beautiful surprise. Aisling is a special place on a special island!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4