Monhegan Island apartment rental - Apt. is on first floor left side
Apt. is on first floor left side
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Monhegan Island Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Kendall Apartment is a sunny, spacious, private efficiency apartment which is tastefully decorated by its artists owners and surrounded by lovely flower and vegetable gardens. The apt. space is divided into two rooms, one with a queen size bed with sitting area and small desk and the other is a fully equipped kitchen. Large glass doors open to a private deck with a table for outside dining and a small yard with lounge chairs.. Situated a short distance from the the village, it is a quiet setting to unwind and relax. This is not an ocean front accommodation but Its just a short walk to the hiking trails, shore ,cliffs and spectacular sunsets WIFI. available. Pets are welcome. Rented weekly but shorter stays are considered. A very special get a away for writers and artists and for anyone that wants to unwind and relax.

My husband and I are both artists and have lived on the island since 1982. We love the natural world and intimacy of the island community.

Dyan Berk purchased this apartment in 1984

14 Reviews of Property 106868 in Monhegan Island, Maine

Monhegan Island Charming Efficiency apt.
average rating of 4.642857 based on 14 reviews
business
Monhegan Island Charming Efficiency apt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106868
+1 207 975 5506
Monhegan Island MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Somerville, MA
4

perfectly situated!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We arrived on the island having never been before. A short walk from the dock, we were pleased to finally (we'd been dreaming about this vacation for three months!) see Kendall Apartment. Beautiful wild flowers adorn the yard, and the patio and surrounding yard is as private as mentioned. This apartment is truly bright and sunny. The kitchen and living area is perfect for two. We stocked a large cooler with Trader Joe's treats and had most meals on the deck, watching the Monarch butterflies. Within a day or two, it felt like home.

Location, location, location. Kendall Apartment is conveniently located near Lobster Cove (see it!), The Black Duck (try their pie!) and The Novelty (delicious ice cream; get there before it closes at 8 PM!). Just up the hill from The Novelty is a perfect spot for watching the sunset... and star gazing. We saw numerous shooting stars! If you're an early riser (or even if you're not), be sure to take the Burnthead Trail out to the cliffs for the sunrise. We were also charmed by the colorful chickens in the front yard of the house across the street (their eggs are for sale at Carina).

It was a pleasure to rent this apartment from Dyan and we would definitely recommend it!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Monhegan Island Charming Efficiency apt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106868
+1 207 975 5506
Monhegan Island MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

The best rental property on Monhegan.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
I hate to give away the best kept secret on Monhegan, but I feel I need to share so others can enjoy...I stayed in many private home rental properties on Monhegan, and this one was the very best of all. The apartment is clean and clutter free. I did not feel like I was living in someone elses house, and they were going to come home any minute. The bed was so very comfortable. The kitchen and bath were spotless clean. Fresh cut flowers from the garden always there at my arrival on the kitchen table.The feeling of this apartment is very serene and pleasant. The back deck was my most favorite spot...warm, cozy, sunny, and watching the birds eat from the feeder was amazing. Walk to Lobster cove in 2 minutes. Walk to Fish beach in 5 minutes. The owners take good care of the property and their guests. 5 stars.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Monhegan Island Charming Efficiency apt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106868
+1 207 975 5506
Monhegan Island MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Concord, NH
5

Always a Pleasure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
We have stayed at Kendall Apartment many times and it always feels like home. It is one of the only rare properties on Monhegan that will allow dogs, and our yellow Lab enjoyed his visit as much as we did. Dyan is always so gracious and thoughtful-- fresh flowers from the garden are arranged in the rooms when we arrive and everything awaits us. The bed is super comfy, and though the apartment is just 1 BR it always manages to feel open, roomy, and airy. We go during the bird migration and Dyan's trees host a number of fantastic sightings right outside the porch or kitchen windows-- we've seen dozens of Scarlet Tanagers, Bob-O-Links, Indigo Buntings, Baltimore Orioles and countless beautiful warblers without even leaving the property!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Monhegan Island Charming Efficiency apt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106868
+1 207 975 5506
Monhegan Island MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
4

One of the best kept secrets on Monhegan Island

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This charming apartment is clean and quiet. The eat in kitchen is a substantial size and there is an extra refrigerator. The owners are so kind, and made sure that all of our needs were taken care of. The bed is very comfortable and the shower works well. The apartment is full of light. There is an attached deck which is lovely on a sunny day, and a private yard with comfortable lounge chairs. The price is right. We would go back in a heartbeat.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Monhegan Island Charming Efficiency apt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106868
+1 207 975 5506
Monhegan Island MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Brooklyn, New York
5

Love this place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I spent a week with my daughter and dog here. It was wonderful. The apartment was spacious even though it was a studio. The eat in kitchen and deck added two extra personal spaces. I would highly recommend it and the owners were lovely and warm but at the same time made us feel like we had alot of space and privacy. I will be going back next year because the experience was so so wonderful and the island is enchanting.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Monhegan Island Charming Efficiency apt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106868
+1 207 975 5506
Monhegan Island MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Hollis, NH
2

Clean, Comfortable, and Affordable Way to Visit Monhegan Island

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
We stayed at Kendall Apartment four years in a row, and we would definitely recommend it to friends and family. It is one of the most affordable and conveniently located rentals on the island. It is perfect for a couple traveling on a budget. It is clean, comfortable, and cute. The owners are friendly and helpful. Enjoy your stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/10
business
Monhegan Island Charming Efficiency apt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106868
+1 207 975 5506
Monhegan Island MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Portland, Maine
5

Private and convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2009
Have stayed here for a few days during spring birding season three separate years. The apartment is always exceptionally clean and well-maintained, comfortable and unpretentious. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Monhegan Island Charming Efficiency apt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106868
+1 207 975 5506
Monhegan Island MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
VA
5

Loved Monhegan

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We had a great time and enjoyed the apt. Especially appreciated the artists/owners living in the attached main house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Monhegan Island Charming Efficiency apt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106868
+1 207 975 5506
Monhegan Island MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Northampton, MA
5

Kendall Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
Great place to stay on Monhegan Island: cozy, yet airy and bright, very clean, with separate kitchen and deck with view of garden. Convenient location to center of town and trails. Owners are very accommodating and responsive. Monhegan is especially nice for hiking, bird-watching, and art.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Monhegan Island Charming Efficiency apt.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106868
+1 207 975 5506
Monhegan Island MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Hollis, NH
5

Bright, clean apartment close to the village

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
We have stayed in the Kendall Apartment four times, and I highly recommend it for a couple looking for a clean, cozy, and affordable place to stay on Monhegan. It is attached to the owner's house, but it has a separate entrance and a private fenced-in back deck. The owners are both artists, and they are kind, helpful, and quiet. Unlike many of the other rentals on the island, this one includes bedding and linens. The bed is comfortable and the linens are always clean and fresh. The location is ideal -- far enough from the village to afford some quiet and privacy, but close enough to walk down for a quick meal or to pick up something from the market. It's close to Lobster Cove, which is a perfect spot to watch the sunset. This apartment is ideal for a couple who doesn't want to blow their entire vacation budget on lodging and plans to spend most of their time out and about on the island -- although it's certainly a comfortable place to laze around on a rainy day.

For activities on the island, I recommend taking a day to hike around the entire island. However, make sure you have a map and lots of water. The trail signs are small and easy to miss. For a shorter hike, take the trail through Cathedral Woods and check out the many fairy houses along the way. For breakfast, I recommend the Monhegan House, which is very close by. For lunch, you can't beat a lobster roll and some chowder at Fish Beach. If you're not in the mood for seafood, get a pizza and some delicious baked desserts at the Novelty. For a special dinner, make a reservation at the Island Inn. Their meals are somewhat pricey, but worth every penny. Enjoy your time on Monhegan Island! It is truly a special place.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11