Jefferson cabin rental - The Lodge view from the lake
The Lodge view from the lake
 
  • Bedrooms10
  • Sleeps20
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Jefferson Cabin Rental Photos and Description
10 bedrooms, 7 bathrooms, sleeps 20 in four buildings

Sunset Lodge, built in 1919, will return you to a bygone era. Sited on the Eastern shore of Lake Damariscotta on 1 1/2 acres of rolling lawn and woods, with 330 feet of pristine water frontage (with great fishing and fabulous swimming directly in front of the property), two dock/floats, a small sandy beach and beautiful sunset views to the west, this property is perfect for family reunions or for several families who want to vacation together, enjoying the peace and serenity of one of Maine's most beautiful lakes. The Lodge has an 80 ft long screened porch for eating or just sitting in the evening to hear the loons. The Lodge has 5 bedrooms (all with a view of the lake); 4 bathrooms, a newly remodeled large and well-equipped kitchen, a large room for group activities, and a new 620 square foot game room with pool and ping pong tables. The Lakeside cabin has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There are 2 small 1 bedroom cabins with bathroom. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen with stove, refrigerator, microwave, utensils, barbecue and wood stove for cool evenings. All cabins have screened porches. There is a shuffleboard court. There are canoes, kayaks and a sunfish to rent, for an additional fee.

Great Fishing: Sunset Lodge is fortunate to be located on Damariscotta Lake, one of the great fishing lakes in Maine. It was sited in 1919, so it's one of the best on the lake. At over 4,000 acres,the lake is large enough and varied enough to please any fisherman, as it has pleased this fisherman for over thirty years.

Take your kids, a few worms, and motor down only a couple of minutes from the cabins. Schools of perch feed in the evenings. Small mouth and large mouth bass can be found along the shorelines throughout the lake. If you like to troll, brown trout, lake trout and land-locked salmon hide in the deeper parts of great bay, straight out from the cabins. There are also large yellow perch, catfish and pickerel. Over the years, it's been a pleasure to fish this lake. Come to Sunset Lodge and share the pleasure.

-- Don Dougherty

Great Swimming: The water is great. Swim off the beautiful new docks or from the shore. Take a morning or evening swim up or down the the lake with its interesting shoreline and eagles flying overhead.

Great Boating: You can't beat the Damariscotta Lake for boating. Sailboats, motorboats, rowboats and windsurfing all popular on this 10 mile long lake.

The property has a shuffle board, a ping pong table, a pool table and lots of games and puzzles.

More Details
Hide Details

Sunset Lodge is owned by four families who have vacationed together on the lake for 20 years, first renting and then at Sunset Lodge which they purchased in 2002. Restoring the Lodge to its former glory has been a decade long process.

Sunset Lodge is unique. It is large enough to accommodate family reunions and groups, and provides four separate buildings for sleeping. It was orinially built in 1919 when they had their pick of sites on the lake. The Lodge is sited on the eastern shore at the widest part of the Great Bay where the lake is a mile and a half across, and the sunsets are glorious.

12 Reviews of Property 106791 in Jefferson, Maine

SunsetLodge Rustic Lakeside Cabins & Lodge with Sunset Views for Reunions/Groups
average rating of 4.909091 based on 12 reviews
business
SunsetLodge Rustic Lakeside Cabins & Lodge with Sunset Views for Reunions/Groups
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106791
510 524-5277
Jefferson Damariscotta Lake
5

A Family Tradition

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Sunset Point has become a tradition for my family of 4 – our first stay in the Lakeside Cabin was in 2007, and we’ve returned every year since. (That says a lot, because we usually prefer visiting “new” places instead of repeating our tracks.) But we can’t get enough of this piece of heaven on earth! The lake views, shoreline, and sunsets are beyond compare, often with loons calling in the background, bald eagles soaring nearby, and an occasional turtle or mink in the foreground. The setting is incredibly peaceful.

The location is perfect for swimming, fishing, and boating, no matter what your age. My boys were 5 and 6 during our first visit, and this year they’ll return as 10 and 11 year olds – as eager as ever to find their seats on the dock and around the campfire. In some years, their grandparents have joined us too, so we have three generations sharing time at the lake or taking easy drives to Damariscotta, Camden, or Pemaquid Point, where there are restaurants, museums, bookstores, hiking paths, etc.

The cabins are comfortable and have all that’s needed in terms of basic requirements (hot water, coffee pots, cooking utensils, blankets, books & games, etc.). If we’re not outside, chances are we’re on the large screen porch, playing games or gazing at the lake. There’s no TV in the Lakeside Cabin (thank goodness!) and we leave our computers home, so this is one week of the year when we truly “un-plug” from the usual fast pace of life and enjoy the tranquility of the best of Maine.

Over the years, the property owners have made improvements and upgrades to make things even better for guests (drinkable water, new bathrooms, new stove, new docks). It’s clear that they love the place, are good stewards of it, and enjoy sharing it with others. Whenever we have questions or needs, they are quick to respond.

The only downside is that our week there always flies by! So when it’s time to go, we cheer ourselves up by thinking about next year… We’re never disappointed and feel so fortunate to have discovered this lovely place.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
SunsetLodge Rustic Lakeside Cabins & Lodge with Sunset Views for Reunions/Groups
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106791
510 524-5277
Jefferson Damariscotta Lake
4

The Perfect Rustic Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had our first stay in the Lakeside Cabin at Sunset Lodge in late September, 2012, and I'm already trying to think of times and occasions when I might return. It is everything a rustic retreat should and shouldn't be. It's peaceful, comfortable, and has everything you need for a restful, contented stay without having any of the fancy distractions that just add up to so much busy-ness.

We were two couples and one twenty-something young adult in the Lakeside Cabin, and there was plenty of room in this well-equipped cabin. We were treated to gorgeous sunsets, blissfully quiet dark nights, and a curious loon who came near the dock to check us out.

Sunset Lodge and Cabins is a treasure of a place, and I'm thankful the owners have taken on the enormous task of preserving this remnant of a bygone era. Their willingness to continually make upgrades and repairs gives me hope that visitors like us will have a chance to enjoy this little piece of
heaven for many years to come.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
SunsetLodge Rustic Lakeside Cabins & Lodge with Sunset Views for Reunions/Groups
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106791
510 524-5277
Jefferson Damariscotta Lake
Stoneham, MA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
Our family had the pleasure of staying at Sunset Lodge twice. Our first stay was in September. Our second stay was during Columbus day weekend. I had been looking for a place on the water and found the Lakeside cabin on the internet. From the minute that we pulled into the parking lot we knew that we had found the perfect vacation spot. The Lakeside cabin was just steps away from beautiful Lake Damariscotta. The grounds are surrounded by beautiful pine trees and a large green lawn. We were fortunate enough to see a pair of bald eagles nesting in a tree during our stay. We enjoyed sitting around the firepit at night. And the sunsets are breathtaking! The cabin itself was well equipt and very comfortable. We highly recommend the Sunset Lodge to others. I am already in the planning process to rent all the cabins/lodge with a group of friends for next Spring/ Summer.Dont forget to take a ride to Pemaquid Lighthouse. It was amazing!!!The Dampolo's
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
SunsetLodge Rustic Lakeside Cabins & Lodge with Sunset Views for Reunions/Groups
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106791
510 524-5277
Jefferson Damariscotta Lake
St. Petersburg, FL
5

Guestbook Comment

Our families came from Austin, TX, Memphis, TN and St Petersburg, FL for a beautiful week at Sunset Lodge. The lodge is quite rustic and every enjo...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2006
  • Stayed: Aug 2006
Our families came from Austin, TX, Memphis, TN and St Petersburg, FL
for a beautiful week at Sunset Lodge. The lodge is quite rustic and every
enjoyable. All the kids loved swimming in the lake while the adults enjoyed
using the boats to see the beauty of the lake and our surroundings. We had
breakfast cooked over the open fire and a wonderful lobsterfest one evening. We
only wish it could have lasted longer.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
SunsetLodge Rustic Lakeside Cabins & Lodge with Sunset Views for Reunions/Groups
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106791
510 524-5277
Jefferson Damariscotta Lake
New York & Florida
5

Guestbook Comment

Our family from Texas, Minnesota, New York and Maine all gathered here for a great week. The varied cabins worked well to allow privacy when needed. T...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
Our family from Texas, Minnesota, New York and Maine all gathered here for a great week. The varied cabins worked well to allow privacy when needed. They lodge is well equipped. The weather was typical - sun, rain, winds and clouds but we enjoyed the swimming, fishing, sailing and just "hanging". Hope to get back soon.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
SunsetLodge Rustic Lakeside Cabins & Lodge with Sunset Views for Reunions/Groups
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106791
510 524-5277
Jefferson Damariscotta Lake
Altamonte Springs, FL
5

Guestbook Comment

As a former owner of Sunset Lodge in the mid 1970's I was delighted to find your web site, to view the photos and reminisce about my family'...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2006
  • Stayed: Jan 2006
As a former owner of Sunset Lodge in the mid 1970's I was delighted to find your web site, to view the photos and reminisce about my family's experiences. We hope to return for a visit soon.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
SunsetLodge Rustic Lakeside Cabins & Lodge with Sunset Views for Reunions/Groups
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106791
510 524-5277
Jefferson Damariscotta Lake
Long Island, NY
5

Guestbook Comment

Heaven on Earth. This is the perfect place to spend time with family. The sunsets,the sailing, the lobster, the ideal Midcoast region. Maine doesn&...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2005
  • Stayed: Dec 2005
Heaven on Earth. This is the perfect place to spend time with family. The sunsets,the sailing, the lobster, the ideal Midcoast region. Maine doesn't get any better than this. This is a place to come to year after year!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
SunsetLodge Rustic Lakeside Cabins & Lodge with Sunset Views for Reunions/Groups
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106791
510 524-5277
Jefferson Damariscotta Lake
Long Island, New York
5

Guestbook Comment

This rental is truly a diamond in the rough. Our group had a great time and we are looking forward to a return trip sometime in the near future.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2004
  • Stayed: Sep 2004
This rental is truly a diamond in the rough. Our group had a great time and we are looking forward to a return trip sometime in the near future.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
SunsetLodge Rustic Lakeside Cabins & Lodge with Sunset Views for Reunions/Groups
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106791
510 524-5277
Jefferson Damariscotta Lake
Not Specified
5

Guestbook Comment

FISHING AT SUNSET LODGE Sunset Lodge is fortunate to be located on Damariscotta Lake, one of the great fishing lakes in Maine. At over 4,000 ac...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2004
  • Stayed: Aug 2004
FISHING AT SUNSET LODGE
Sunset Lodge is fortunate to be located on Damariscotta Lake, one of the great fishing lakes in Maine. At over 4,000 acres, it is large enough and varied enough to please any fisherman, as it has pleased this fisherman for over thirty years.

Take your kids, a few worms, and motor down only a couple of minutes from the cabins. Schools of perch feed in the evenings. Smallmouth and largemouth bass can be found along the shorelines throughout the lake. If you like to troll, brown trout, lake trout and land-locked salmon hide in the deeper parts of great bay, straight out from the cabins. There are also large yellow perch, catfish and pickerel. Over the years, it's been a pleasure to fish this lake. Come to Sunset Lodge and share the pleasure.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SunsetLodge Rustic Lakeside Cabins & Lodge with Sunset Views for Reunions/Groups
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106791
510 524-5277
Jefferson Damariscotta Lake
5

Guestbook Comment

Beautiful views, great setting and plenty of room. We had a great time and would definitely go again!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2003
  • Stayed: Sep 2003
Beautiful views, great setting and plenty of room. We had a great time and would definitely go again!
Helpful votes: 1/1