County Clare cottage rental - View of the Cottage
View of the Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

County Clare Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrms ensuite, plus loft w/futon, modern kitchen, tv w/cable/dvd, sleeps 7

Ciunas na gCnoic, Gaelic for 'Silence of the Hills', is a newly built, hillside cottage looking over Liscannor Bay & the Atlantic. Amenities include: 3 bedrooms all ensuite plus loft with futon; spacious living room with cathedral ceiling, fireplace, floor-to-ceiling windows; kitchen with modern appliances; washer/dryer; sky lights in upstairs rooms, stone front & back patios, stereo & extensive cd collection, tv with cable, dvd player & selection of dvd's, WIFI & laptop, library with books of local interest, variety of board games. Within minutes: Lahinch Golf Club, Cliffs of Moher, sandy beaches, famous music centers (Doolin, Miltown Malbay), Lahinch SeaWorld Leisure Center, pony trekking, Aran Islands ferry, gourmet restaurants. Doonbeg Golf Course only 25 minutes drive. Cottage is located on the Burren Way walkers path, great for nature lovers & history buffs. One hour west of Shannon, one hour south of Galway. Renters receive a free guide to area restaurants, pubs, sessions, attractions, etc

Golfing: Wide variety of golf courses near cottage. Lahinch Golf Club (2 18 hole courses) 5 minute drive, Doonbeg Golf Course 40 minute drive, Ballybunion Golf Course 1.5 hour drive. Spanish Point (9 hole course) 20 minute drive. Ennis Golf Club & Woodstock Golf Club 40 minute drive. 2 ocean side par 3 courses (great for kids & beginners) within minutes of the cottage.

Equestrian Activities: There are all sorts of activities for horse lovers. Lots of riding centers, hunting (ride along or follow in car or on foot) from November thru March every Thursday & Sunday), racing in September in Doolin & Kilkee (on the beach), and showing & jumping at a number of town fairs from May - September. World famous horse fairs take place in June at Spancilhill (near Ennis less than an hour from the cottage) & in August at Clifden (Galway) the Connemara Pony Show (about 2 hours from cottage). We provide a detailed guide to the area to renters with specific info on these & other horse events.

More Details
Hide Details

We have family connections to County Clare & came here often from the US. We grew to love this area: beautiful scenery, great music, nice people, a great place to get away from it all & really relax.

Kathleen Bauer purchased this cottage in 2001

We loved this cottage because you feel like you are out in the country but are really only a short drive away from great restaurants, cozy pubs & shopping. And, because we live in the US Midwest, it has ocean views, which as land-locked Midwesterners, we find very special.

We are horse crazy - love riding. And there are lots of opportunities to ride in the area. And lots of other horse activities - hunting, fairs. etc. We don't golf much, but our golfing friends feel the same way about the cottage for the golf.

13 Reviews of Property 106733 in County Clare, Ireland

Light-filled Cottage with Views of Liscannor Bay
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 13 reviews
business
Light-filled Cottage with Views of Liscannor Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106733
630 205-7127
County Clare Ireland
5

Only One Regret... I Wish I Stayed Longer!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This cottage is in a perfect setting and provided a true “home away from home feeling”. The only regret I have is that I was only able to stay one night as I, and my beautiful girlfriend, were visiting Ireland and were on a self-guided tour putting us in a new and exciting place each night (although I admit my best night of sleep was here). Fortunately the 2 days (1 night) spent in the cottage and in the area was packed filled of highlights. We went surfing in Lahinch (only 3 miles away) for the first time and had an unforgettable time with our instructor – I laughed so hard it hurt my sides more than the wipeouts! After an exhausting afternoon, it was delightful to relax in Mike and Kathy’s cottage with some fresh cheese, a loaf of bread, and a bottle of wine picked up from a local establishment. Later in the evening we were able to join some newly made friends to celebrate my birthday before retiring for the evening. The next morning we headed out again on our journey stopping at the Cliffs of Moher (ridiculously close) before enjoying the rest of what Ireland had to offer. From the views of the family room, to the cleanliness of the entire cottage, to the comfort of the bed (just like I was at home), this place is simply exquisite.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Light-filled Cottage with Views of Liscannor Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106733
630 205-7127
County Clare Ireland
5

Real Irish Hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We loved our stay in the cottage! Everything felt welcoming and comfortable. Perfectly clean and great service. The art and decorating pieces added to the feeling of warmth. All details about capacity were accurate and we easily accommodated our family of 6 - M+D, 18, 15 12 and 9yr olds. We were very grateful to have the use of internet.
We especially enjoyed a wonderful meal at Vaughan's in Liscannor - terrific seafood platter!
Would love to return one day and absolutely reccommend the property.
Thanks again!
Travellers from Perth, Australia.
business
Light-filled Cottage with Views of Liscannor Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106733
630 205-7127
County Clare Ireland
West Hartford, CT
5

Lovely home with the best view in Clare (perhaps all of Ireland!)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Thank you Kathy and Mike for providing such lovely accomodations for my mother, aunt and uncle. It was very convenient and great to be able to have a family reunion without everyone being on top of one another. Your home is gorgeous and is appointed with all that is needed to enjoy your stay. It feels like a true home away from home, not a "rental". The guidebooks are very helpful and the location could not be better being close to Doolin, Liscannor and Lahinch but able to escape some of the hustle and bustle of town. I miss my walking and running routes already! This home is by far one of the nicest I have seen in Ireland and a great deal if you are looking for proximity and the ability to enjoy fantastic views with your morning tea or coffee! We only wish we had stayed longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Light-filled Cottage with Views of Liscannor Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106733
630 205-7127
County Clare Ireland
Dublin
5

Lovely home from home in Liscannor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Myself and my family have just returned from three days in this gorgeous home. The house has everything you could ask for. Love the open plan design, big fireplace and with an abundance of windows beautiful views all around. The area is also ideal for seeing all the sights with Lahinch and the cliffs of Moher so close by. I also found the bedrooms all being ensuite a real bonus. Hope to return soon!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Light-filled Cottage with Views of Liscannor Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106733
630 205-7127
County Clare Ireland
Windsor, CO/USA
5

Excellent location from which to truly get to know West Ireland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The cottage is dear, feels like being home and has incredible views from the floor to ceiling living room windows. It was very cleqn and had all the "things" that make travel easier----dishwasher, microwave, oven, washer and dryer, and a bathroom for each bedroom. The owners provide a guide to the area that is as good or better than anything you might buy and helped us so much in actually getting to know people in the villages. The back roads in Ireland are as exciting as any ride at a circus and leave you with many memories and stories to tell. Remember to see the Cliffs of Mohr at sunset.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Light-filled Cottage with Views of Liscannor Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106733
630 205-7127
County Clare Ireland
Pennsylvania, USA
5

A Lovely Home and Amazing Value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My husband and three (almost grown) daughters spent four days at the lovely ciunas na gcnoic. My family was so thrilled with the home and I got major points for such a terrific find. The cottage is spacious and clean and comes equipped with all of the conveniences of home. Also, Kathy, the owner, was so helpful in providing travel tips and local information. I felt like I knew the area even before arriving. Also, we rented a navigation system with our car rental, so getting to and from the cottage was really easy. We loved Ireland and would definitely love to stay in this beautiful home again. Would definitely recommend this home to other travelers!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Light-filled Cottage with Views of Liscannor Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106733
630 205-7127
County Clare Ireland
Ontario, Canada
4

Our three day stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
With just two of us, there was lots of room. Clean, well maintained. Friendly caretaker dropped by to check on us, but was not overbearing. Somewhat difficult to find in the first instance, but easy after. Close to various scenic sites. Nice view, close to shopping and amenities. Lots of brochures and travel tips in the owner package and at the cottage.

We recommend this property to anyone visiting this area of Ireland.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Light-filled Cottage with Views of Liscannor Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106733
630 205-7127
County Clare Ireland
Gouda/Netherlands
4

great location, high comfort

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
This house is located very conventiently to explore all of Clare country, very close to Cliffs of Moher but also the rest of the Burren. The house is equipped with every comfort. Really a nice place to stay. We enjoyed our vacation togehter with our 2 children aged 6 and 8!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Light-filled Cottage with Views of Liscannor Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106733
630 205-7127
County Clare Ireland
Charlotte
5

Wonderfully Equipped Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Our family of 6 had a wonderful stay in this clean, spacious home. There was plenty of sleeping space, and every convenience was provided. The location near the Cliffs of Moher is excellent. A great place to stay. Highly reccommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Light-filled Cottage with Views of Liscannor Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106733
630 205-7127
County Clare Ireland
5

Silence of the Hills

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This is a fantastic cottage with great views from all sides - down to the sea and across the bay to Lahinch on one side (there's even a telescope) and to the countryside out the back. There is a lovely feeling of space due to the clever design with the cathedral ceiling/gallery. It is very well furnished - quite modern with lots of light but also 'homely' with books, cds and games. The kitchen is very well equipped so it's nice to spend time in the cottage. It's in a very good location for visiting beautiful County Clare and is really peaceful. Myself and my family would love to come back to stay here when we return to Ireland.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway