Monteverde house rental - Magnificent panoramic mountain & Gulf of Nicoya view/rainbows/sunset views
Magnificent panoramic mountain & Gulf of Nicoya view/rainbows/sunset views
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Monteverde House Rental Photos and Description
1st House, 3 Bdrms,2 Baths//2nd House 2bedrms, 1+bath

Rainbow House has 3 bedrooms, , 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, laundry area with wash machine. Two story, upstairs has ping pong table, balcony great for watching wildlife. an extra double bed. This house can accommodate a large group.

Cloud Forest Cottage has 2 bedrooms, one bathroom, large shower, vanity with sink between the two bedrooms. Kitchen has hot water sink, microwave, electric stove with oven, toaster, coffeemaker, refrigerator. Breakfast bar, large windows for viewing mountains and Gulf of Nicoya; spectacular sunsets and rainbows: comfortable enclosed porch with large windows. Linens, dishes and cooking utensils provided. Sofa in living area opens to accommodate sleeping. Beautiful gardens. Walking paths on 7 acres.

.

Many up to date dvds are available. Manager lives on same 7 acres and speaks both English and Spanish. Telephone and computer available in his home.

All tiled floors, very new and clean. We are located near Santa Maria Night Walking Tour and Don Juan Coffee Farm & Tours. Private and secluded houses in a safe and friendly area (tranquil rural setting) near village of Santa Elena with large supermarket and many small restaurants, stores & souvenir shops and places to arrange tours. Manager Richard can also arrange tours, guides & get you discounts to the attractions and sometimes can arrange transport for guests on trips to Selvatura and other attractions and to view live volcano, Arenal. Woodworking souvenir shop with free orchid garden within walking distance. Also a nice bakery and small grocery nearby. Paradise for wildlife watchers and artists - 7 acres of guava trees and many other native berry & fruit trees and bushes bring the animals, birds and butterflies sometimes right past our windows! I often hear the song of the manakin, the bell bird, warblers, the chitter of the variegated squirrel. There are several cleared paths to walk, one even goes down to the quebrada! Located on a private road off the road to Tileran and Las Juntas, only 1 1/3 miles from Santa Elena.

Keywords: Charming & secluded 'treehouse-like' cottage

More Details
Hide Details

29 Reviews of Property 106066 in Monteverde, Costa Rica

2 separate houses on wooded 7Acres Gulf of Nicoya View, walking paths
average rating of 4.862069 based on 29 reviews
business
2 separate houses on wooded 7Acres Gulf of Nicoya View, walking paths
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106066vbi
(941) 792-8719 (Florida)
Monteverde Puntarenas
Deadwood South Dakota
5

A perfect start to a 2month vacation in Costa Rica, the best stay we had in country.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We spent 3 1/2 weeks in the Rainbow House and it was pure delight. The kitchen was well provided with utensils and appliances and Richard even built us a new one. It was a rack for a coffee sock that made the best coffee I have ever drank. I am back in South Dakota drinking a cup of that sock coffee right now. The oven and the stove were the best we had anywhere in Costa Rica during our 2 month stay. We walked a great deal, to Monteverde, to a wonderful bakery about 10 minutes away, to the coffee plantation about 8 minutes away for good coffee and a wonderful view of the Gulf.
Our favorite view was at dawn looking over the Nicoya Gulf and Peninsula from the living room of the Rainbow House. We walked all over the property and saw numerous wildlife and birds. The entire stay was the most relaxing of our lives. A cool 64 degrees to a high of 92 made the mornings and night cools and the days warm in the afternoons. We would carry a light jacket on our morning hikes.
Our favorite adventure was the train ride in the Cloud Forest and we stayed for lunch after. The day we rode the train Richard arranged the transportation, got us a discount on the fare, and went with us to Monteverde to coordinate the shuttle to the train station. The heavy clouds on the ride covered Arenal Volcano at the top overlook so Richard arranged a trip to another overlook a couple of days later and the volcano was very visible. He went with us that day.

We really enjoyed exploring the area and Santa Elena. We found great restaurants, coffee shop with monkeys, grocery stores, pharmacy, bakeries, pizza place, dance bar and restaurant, an orchid farm and Rosewood shop that Richard suggested.

The taxi service that Richard recommended was inexpensive and more dependable than the other company. The water in the showers in both bathrooms was hot and plentiful. The washer took a little instruction from Richard to run, but was very dependable. The dryer was mother nature on the top floor clothes lines. The balcony up there had a hammock and an even better view of the Gulf.
The only complaint we had in 3 1/2 weeks was ants hit the kitchen, but Richard wiped them out with some chemicals outside at their source. The last day we were there our taxi let us down. We arranged a 4am ride to the bus stop and the driver didn't make it. Richard got up and helped us carry 150lbs of luggage about 200 yards to the stop. We learned to take less next trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
2 separate houses on wooded 7Acres Gulf of Nicoya View, walking paths
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106066vbi
(941) 792-8719 (Florida)
Monteverde Puntarenas
4

Great Place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This rental is in a great location. We were in the cottage, and enjoyed its privacy and incredible view out to the Nicoya Peninsula. The bed and kitchen were very good with adequate space. All in all a great value. Richard was most helpful in orienting us and making suggestions for restaurants; and he arranged a Curi Concha tour for us with Adrien, who is an excellent guide. We saw a Quetzal and a lot of other exotic birds. Richard showed us the two waterfalls on the property and went out of his way to be helpful. For those of you who have never gone to Monteverde and are planning to drive yourselves, be ready for the extremely rough dirt roads into the area. However, you will eventually get used to this and will even become nostalgic about the remoteness of the place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
2 separate houses on wooded 7Acres Gulf of Nicoya View, walking paths
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106066vbi
(941) 792-8719 (Florida)
Monteverde Puntarenas
BC , Canada
4

Fun in the Cloud forest

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at the cloud forest cottage. It is very private and the view from the cottage is beautiful. The humming birds in front of the windows are amazing and beautiful to watch.
Richard was a great source of information about the local area. The cottage was very clean and the kitchen had everything we needed.
Would definitely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
2 separate houses on wooded 7Acres Gulf of Nicoya View, walking paths
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106066vbi
(941) 792-8719 (Florida)
Monteverde Puntarenas
Texas
5

GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Spent five nights here with our two kids and the views from the sun room were amazing. We sat in there the first morning with our coffee and spotted a variety of birds, butterflies, and hummingbird moths within minutes. Every additional morning was spent in the sun room having coffee and taking in the view. We enjoyed having the kitchen to prepare our evening meals which we sat down for with a wonderful view of the hill side and gulf. Many hours were spent wandering the trails on the cottage grounds were we spotted a variety of birds including the Emerald Toucanet, Toucan, Manakin, and Motmot. Our care taker Richard was very knowledgeable of the area and pointed us in the right direction every time. He even took the time to take us on a night hike which was a great experience. Town is a short drive with a variety of restaurants, shops, and grocery stores that met our needs. Richard was AWESOME and very hospitable taking care of our every need and ensured we had everything we needed for a clean comfortable stay. I highly recommend staying at the Cloud Forest Cottage and WHEN we return we will be sure to check availability for another pleasant stay.
Additional info… all the sites we saw in the area was a short drive and the following attractions are all kid friendly and HIGHLY recommended. Our favorite hiking trails were located in in the Ciri Cancha Reserve (recommended by Richard and much better than the Monteverde Reserve) where we saw a variety of birds (to include a hummingbird area that was a great carry in lunch spot), capuchin monkeys, a pit viper, and agoutis. Selvatura Park had an amazing zip line tour and the canopy bridges trail system was amazing. Their humming bird garden is swarming with hundreds of hummers and even Coatis licking up the feeder drippings. And for any Geocaching enthusiasts… there are even a few caches to venture out and seek.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
2 separate houses on wooded 7Acres Gulf of Nicoya View, walking paths
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106066vbi
(941) 792-8719 (Florida)
Monteverde Puntarenas
Toronto, Canada
5

Great Service/Great View/Great Value! Edward+Ilona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We stayed for 2 nights in the Rainbow House and couldn't have been happier with our stay. Richard was huge help with setting up a night walk/zip lining and suggesting restaurants worth checking out in the area. He was also nice enough to take us on a walking tour of his property which was truly enjoyable. The house itself was very clean and had all the necessary accessories we needed. If I make my way back to the area I will be staying here!

The view was to die for!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
2 separate houses on wooded 7Acres Gulf of Nicoya View, walking paths
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106066vbi
(941) 792-8719 (Florida)
Monteverde Puntarenas
Newport, OR
5

This is a must for Monteverde!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We spent two weeks in what we now call "our lil casita." If you want to truly experience this area, this is the place to stay. The house is very cozy and had everything we needed for an extended stay. We say more wildlife on the property than all of the parks we hiked combined. Richard is a great host and he took us on a night hike and spotted a three toed sloth! It's just far enough from town center to have some privacy, but close enough to stroll into town everyday. If we go back I know exactly where we'll be staying! Thanks again Richard! Bo & Cass Whiteside
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
2 separate houses on wooded 7Acres Gulf of Nicoya View, walking paths
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106066vbi
(941) 792-8719 (Florida)
Monteverde Puntarenas
Portland, Oregon
5

A Fabulous Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My family thoroughly enjoyed the comfort, beauty and peace in the Rainbow Cottage. Richard, the caretaker, couldn't have been more helpful! He took us on a nature adventure hike and recommended nearby activities, including the zip line, the Cloud Forest hike, the neighboring coffee tour, and the wood shop down the street (complete with a resident sloth, orchid garden, and bananas for the picking). Though we were close to Santa Helena, we felt like we were miles away. There was so much to see right there on the property, including views with plenty of birds.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
2 separate houses on wooded 7Acres Gulf of Nicoya View, walking paths
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106066vbi
(941) 792-8719 (Florida)
Monteverde Puntarenas
Halifax, Nova Scotia
5

Plenty of Pura Vida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We recently spent two nights at this cottage in the cloud forest. The amazing view out the window was the first thing we noticed when we walked in the door; we watched humming birds, rainbows and clouds drift by that window throughout our stay. We loved the area and found the location great for the activities we wanted to do but secluded enough to be quiet and relaxing. Richard was very helpful, he set up a night hike for us which we could walk to (saw lots of creatures) and also arranged a discount at Selvatura where we did the hanging bridges and ziplining (both awesome). He also took the time to guide us on a very enjoyable walk along the river on the cottage property. The cottage is very well maintained and clean. We really liked the wooden furniture and carved door - lots of character! Slept very well in the comfortable beds and the two bedrooms were perfect for our family of four. Great value for money and we highly recommend this cottage and the Monteverde area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
2 separate houses on wooded 7Acres Gulf of Nicoya View, walking paths
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106066vbi
(941) 792-8719 (Florida)
Monteverde Puntarenas
Morrison, CO
3

Great spot, helpful manager, but cold!

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We spent 4 nights at the cottage over Christmas, 2010. There are 2 bedrooms, comfortable for a family of 4 with teenagers. The bathroom is kind of spread out over the whole house - sink between the bedrooms, and on the other side of the house separate rooms for the toilet and shower. The TV comes with tons of movies, which was great after a day of local activities. Richard, the onsite manager is truly helpful, arranged a discount at Selvatura where we spent a day zip-lining and a day walking over the hanging bridges (both great activities - highly recommended). We also spent a day walking through the Monteverde preserve, which was a disappointment - we saw more animals in the hummingbird coffee shop at the base than the rest of the preserve. Perhaps we should have hired a guide. The coffee tour at Don Juan was overpriced - an hour or so of describing the coffee growing and making process for $25 - nice to know about I kind of thought it should be free as you load up on their coffee at the end (quite good). Be prepared for cold however, the house is not heated, and to actually close it up you need to shut off the lovely view. Nor are there any laundry facilities so we ended up hanging our wet clothing on the back of the fridge to dry which didn't work well. The cottage could have used some comfortable chairs as well - there were wooden benches and plastic chairs, none real comfy. But, if you are prepared for these inconveniences, this is a lovely spot and Richard is a gem, and during our stay we inherited a house cat who entirely charmed our daughters. Be aware there is no gas for sale in Monteverde so fill up on your way there. The grocery store in town just next to the rainforest cafe is good - the Don Juan restaurant noisy with poor lighting but great steak.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
2 separate houses on wooded 7Acres Gulf of Nicoya View, walking paths
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p106066vbi
(941) 792-8719 (Florida)
Monteverde Puntarenas
Raleigh, NC
5

If You're Going to Monteverde, This is the Place to Stay

If You're Going to Monteverde, This is the Place to Stay
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
My mother and I recently stayed in the small cottage on the property for five days. The cottage is absolutely charming. The views from the sunroom and the master bedroom are splendid - unbeatable. If you're going to Monteverde, this is the place to stay. The cottage was the perfect fit us. It had everything we needed plus a great shower and a stockpile of movies - much appreciated after a long day of sightseeing. Another great extra is the trails around the property, making it really convenient to go animal spotting. But what really made our stay in Monteverde was Richard. He's better than a concierge! Even in rainy season, we were pleasantly surprised that we had plenty of time to do all of our activities plus some extras. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3