Alcanena cottage rental - Front view of cottage
Front view of cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Alcanena Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Sleeps 4-5 with 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms

Cottage sleeps 4 - 5 people:1st bedroom with double bed & en suite bathroom; 2nd bedroom with twin beds + fold-up bed which can be used in any of the rooms; separate bathroom; tiny office/library with selection of books (English & Portuguese) and board-games, living-room with cable TV, DVD player & selection of DVD's and fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher.

Free Wi-Fi internet.

Covered patio with BBQ and original wood oven.

Eco-friendly heating system - solar panels and wood-burning stove (using wood from our own trees) heat water & supply central heating throughout whole house.

Household linen provided.

Vale Florido has a small mini-market, bakery and café. Nearest market town is Alcanena - 15 mins drive away.

I moved to Portugal 33 years ago and the more I live here, the more I love the country, the people and the way of life, The Portuguese are so warm and friendly, so hospitable and easy-going. And the food . . . . deliciosa! Not to mention the wine, of course.

Susan Best purchased this cottage in 2006

Sergio and I originally bought this cottage to restore and resell. However, we fell in love with the place and decided to keep it for ourselves. If or when you come here, you will see why.

The fact that we tried to keep as many of the original features of the house as possible give it so much character and it's just so relaxing to sit outside on the patio listening to nothing other than the chirping of birds. Very quiet, very relaxing - just the occasional tractor or truck passing by to tend to animals in the fields. Or Senhor Eduardo, the shepherd, trekking up or down the lane with his goats.

6 Reviews of Property 1056054 in Alcanena, Portugal

Charming Cottage Set In Natural Park - Great For Walking & Biking
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 6 reviews
business
Charming Cottage Set In Natural Park - Great For Walking & Biking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1056054
+351 965149510
Alcanena Santarem Central Region
5

Charming Holidayhome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is one of the most wonderfull hollidayhomes we have been. The surrounding is great: between olive trees, beautiful garden, tranquility and authenticity. The house is furnished complete and carefully kept.
A good place to relax and have holiday!
business
Charming Cottage Set In Natural Park - Great For Walking & Biking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1056054
+351 965149510
Alcanena Santarem Central Region
5

Beautiful cottage in wonderful quiet surroundings

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is the first time that the property we rented was more beautiful than the photos on the website. Very tasteful decoration with respect for the original state. With all modern comfort from home, like a kitchen with all the equipment you need and more. Two bathrooms, nice bedrooms. Surrounded by a nice garden with several terraces and lovely olive trees.
Prepare for a quiet stay and home cooking. We loved it.
business
Charming Cottage Set In Natural Park - Great For Walking & Biking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1056054
+351 965149510
Alcanena Santarem Central Region
5

TRANQUILA Y MUY ACOGEDORA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Hemos tenido una estancia muy agradable. El entorno y la casa nos ha permitido disfrutar de cosas que nos gustan: ir en bicicleta, hacer footing, tener intimidad y tranquilidad, y visitar pueblos que teníamos planeados en un ratio de 1 hora y media o dos horas como máximo. Bañarnos en playas naturales, es otra de las cosas que teníamos planeadas.
business
Charming Cottage Set In Natural Park - Great For Walking & Biking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1056054
+351 965149510
Alcanena Santarem Central Region
5

Tradition, heart, soul, comfort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
A fantastic place for all lovers of the Portuguese mainland. Charming, comfortable, ultra-well equipped and spotlessly clean. Close to all major attractions but set in nature. One of these rarely found holiday homes, where everything is perfectly balanced. Thank you Sue for a wonderful stay!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Rafal! It gives me such great pleasure in knowing that my guests enjoy their stay in Vale Florido. Hope you'll visit again one day!
business
Charming Cottage Set In Natural Park - Great For Walking & Biking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1056054
+351 965149510
Alcanena Santarem Central Region
4

A wonderful place to stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was a really wonderful stay...the house felt a home, surrounded by fantastically tranquil countryside. Cuckoos calling in the woods, a quite extraordinary range of wild flowers, walks through the stone walled fields, bike rides, places to sit and read in the sun and shade, local villages - all situated in the aptly named Caminho de felicidade: the path of happiness.
business
Charming Cottage Set In Natural Park - Great For Walking & Biking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1056054
+351 965149510
Alcanena Santarem Central Region
5

Family holidays

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We greatly appreciated our stay in the Christmas season. The house is very comfortable and is very well equipped for cooking. The home-keeping was very friendly and always ready to help. The house is tastefully decorated, retaining the original character of the old houses in the area. The surrounding area is very calm, relaxing, with many olive trees and ancient oaks. Ideal for holidays in family. I heartily recommend.