Wellfleet house rental - View from deck
View from deck
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Wellfleet House Rental Photos and Description
- 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 6

Contemporary luxury home on secluded cove with private beach surrounded by National Park and views of Cape Cod Bay. Open floorplan with cathedral ceilings, gourmet kitchen, antiques, private master suite, and wrap-around deck.

10 Reviews of Property 105499 in Wellfleet, Massachusetts

Contemporary Waterfront- Spectacular Views of Cape Cod Bay
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
business
Contemporary Waterfront- Spectacular Views of Cape Cod Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105499
+1 617 593-7071
Wellfleet Cape Cod
Rhinecliff, NY
5

Magical Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
My boyfriend and I rented this house for one week and it left us wishing we had booked for longer. Cathy greeted us at check in and showed us around. The house is located on a hill with stunning views of the Herring River, Great Island, and Cape Cod Bay. The house was clean, well appointed, and so comfortable we quickly felt at home. We had our friends and their little boy stay with us for part of the time. The upstairs of the house was perfect for them: two bedrooms, full bath, and a loft with a television for early morning cartoons. We enjoyed watching the amazing sunsets on the large deck, preparing delicious meals, and cozying up around the wood fireplace. We followed the path down the hill to the beach area to find seagulls, ducks, fish, and fiddler crabs. One day we hiked the Great Island Trail which is a short walk from the house. We discovered you can find tons of sea shells on the Great Island beach during low tide. We also went to my favorite beach, Lecount Hollow/Maguire Landing, with dramatic sand dunes and crashing waves. When the weather was not cooperating or during nap time we just enjoyed the time at the beautiful house. It was a magical vacation! We already booked again for next year, only this time we are staying longer!! Thank you Cathy and Jack for opening your wonderful home to us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/11
business
Contemporary Waterfront- Spectacular Views of Cape Cod Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105499
+1 617 593-7071
Wellfleet Cape Cod
New York City
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family and I spent a fabulous week at this home. It simply is an amazing place. The views were spectacular, the house immaculate, well appointed, tastefully decorated and comfortable. There is a lovely garden in front of the house and it smells of flowers and fresh herbs. Each morning we walked down to the beach and my children enjoyed seeing crabs, turtles and other sea life. I can't say enough about the views from the house...they are just breathtaking. It's a very short trip to the heart of Welfleet and each day we bought incredible fresh oysters from the local seafood shops, which are in abundance. I highly recommend this home and hope to visit again soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Contemporary Waterfront- Spectacular Views of Cape Cod Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105499
+1 617 593-7071
Wellfleet Cape Cod
5

Perfect Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is the perfect home for a vacation. Sitting inside the home, we were treated to the beautiful breezes over the water and the sounds of the birds singing in the exquisite wildflower gardens surrounding the house. It is elegant, comfortable and inviting all at the same time. We've rented quite a few beach homes over the years, and this we would definitely rate among the best.

The house was very well equipped with everything you might need for a relaxing time, and it was all in excellent condition. I can't remember when I've stayed in a cleaner house!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Contemporary Waterfront- Spectacular Views of Cape Cod Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105499
+1 617 593-7071
Wellfleet Cape Cod
Northeast Kingdom of Vermont
5

Beautiful House Fantastic View Glorious Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My family and I experienced our best ever stay on the Cape in this home after a life time of visits. The house is beautiful, the view spectacular, and the owners accommodating. From any point in the house the ever changing view of the bay through enormous windows is like lookining into a painting. This painting changes with the time of day, light, and weather but is always spectacular. The daily view of the oyster fisherman plying the bay, the changing tides, along with the sailboats and fishing vessals far off the coast creat a scene that promotes rest and relaxation. We also from this home we walked to Great Island and up to a seven mile hike around it, biked, from there on highways and byways shared respectfully and safely with the motor vhicle traffic. We visited a number of historical sites within a walk, bike ride, or short drive by car. While staying in this home wefound easy acess to a wide variey of quality restaurants within a short walk or drive. It is easy to access the ocean beaches as well as the fresh water ponds, many of them without ever driving onto Rte 6. We were a pleasant drive from Provincetown and the rest of the Outer Cape and enjoyed our travel greatly.

While in this home you are never away from the sea or it's beauty. We were as isolated as we wished to be and although we had absolutely no problems of any sort, we rested sure that if we did the owners had a contingency plan to address it.

One of our favorite amenities were the gardens which are a part of the house. They are obviously a part of the home and add another layer of beauty that changes as the seasons do.

For our family this was a fantastic home away from home and we would recommend it to anyone with a taste for the beauty of the sea, a quality home, access to a wide variety of experience, and the back up support from the the owners nearby.

Wow!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Contemporary Waterfront- Spectacular Views of Cape Cod Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105499
+1 617 593-7071
Wellfleet Cape Cod
Lexington, MA
5

Perfection in Wellfleet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Do you dream of riding your jet-ski all day? Of gambling all night? Then this is not the place for you!
We loved our week in this house. It is delightfully sited high on a hill with gorgeous views of Herring Bay and Great Island. It is splendidly comfortable and spacious. Wellfleet has beaches and ponds for swimmers, great walks in beautiful conservation areas, good restaurants, and an abundance of art galleries. We enjoyed this opportunity to read, to walk and swim, to be quiet, and to recharge our batteries in quiet isolation. Thank you, Cathy and Jack! You are gracious and thoughtful hosts.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Contemporary Waterfront- Spectacular Views of Cape Cod Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105499
+1 617 593-7071
Wellfleet Cape Cod
Honolulu Hawaii
5

Our favorite home in Wellfleet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
We've rented homes all over Wellfleet, on the ocean and bay side, Lt Island and beside marshes and ponds and this one is by far our favorite. This summer was our fifth at the home, with the best of everything we look for in a late summer/ early fall rental.
We love that we can set off on our kayaks for Great Island and points beyond from the beach just below the house. We love falling asleep listening to the ocean and the rising and falling of the tides, watching the moonlight on the water through the bedroom window as we drift off to sleep, and the shorebirds calling in the morning from the mudflats below when the water is low.
The kitchen is exceptionally well appointed for those who like cooking, and we enjoyed numerous gourmet meals at the house indulging our appetite for the seafood and shellfish Wellfleet is famous for. One of the greatest pleasures in the world for us is sitting on the deck here with a platter full of Wellfleet oysters watching the sun setting over the bay with a group of old friends. We fly all the way from Hawaii each year to be here, and can think of few homes we have rented that are more immaculately maintained, or better situated than this one. We met Jack and Cathy for the first time this year, and found them to be gracious and accommodating, visiting the house only a few times and always with ample notice. We recommend this gem to anyone who appreciates the peace and beauty of Wellfleet, as long as you don't book the house the same week we want it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Contemporary Waterfront- Spectacular Views of Cape Cod Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105499
+1 617 593-7071
Wellfleet Cape Cod
Gansevoort, NY
5

Memories of a lifetime

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
My husband, son and I accompanied our friends for a partial week stay at Cathy & Jack's beautiful home.The house was clean and accomodated us quite well. We had plenty of room and privacy. They even provided a crib at a last minute request.

I have to say that this was the most relaxing four days I have had in a long time. We took our son to the beach for the first time, showed him fiddler crabs & a lobster. He loved the openness of the house and played peek-a-boo behind the couches in the living room. During the evening after our son was in bed we would all sit around talking and enjoying the fire. We have taken many wonderful memories back to NY with us and hope we'll be able to join our friends again next year. This is truly a wonderful vacation home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Contemporary Waterfront- Spectacular Views of Cape Cod Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105499
+1 617 593-7071
Wellfleet Cape Cod
5

Beautiful view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
We have rented this house for three years now. We love it for the view of Great Island, the bay beyond, and the inlet in the foreground. It is wonderful to watch the tides come and go from the lovely deck and to have such close access to terrific walks/hikes and fantastic beaches. The owners take great care in their house and the grounds and are happy to share their garden's produce with you - a nice personal touch on top of a very well-kept, airy summery house with lots of light.
business
Contemporary Waterfront- Spectacular Views of Cape Cod Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105499
+1 617 593-7071
Wellfleet Cape Cod
Boston, MA
5

Beautiful Deck House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
I was shocked to read the previous review of this home. My husband and I just spent an intimate week there and had a wonderful time. I spent the mornings drinking coffee and reading on the expansive deck and my husband enjoyed walking down to the beach at low tide and watching the oystermen collect oysters. I was surprised to read the other tenants could not find the beach--seeing as it is right down the hill! The sunsets were breath taking and the home had all of the amenities we could have wanted for a week away. The home is in wonderful condition; clean and well supplied. Thank you for a lovely vacation, we will surely be part of the 50% that return!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Contemporary Waterfront- Spectacular Views of Cape Cod Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105499
+1 617 593-7071
Wellfleet Cape Cod
2

Misadvertised/Owners visit daily

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
This is a very beautiful home with extremely breathtaking views. I was told when renting there was a beach but when my family got to the property and met the owner, she indicated that there was no beach in the summer as it was overgrown with grass. Beach is not even "walk-to", but "drive-to" only. Additionally, the owner was at the property every day. One morning my husband was in his underwear when she knocked on the door in the early morning. The rental amount is exorbitantly high for what was advertised. I would not rent this property again-too much money, no beach as advertised and owner at the property daily (2 days with notice but all others without). Misadvertised and very overpriced for what was offered.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our home. This is a complete surprise to us as we talked with you and your daughter for a good 15 minutes before you left and you had nothing but praise for the house and your vacation ??? We wish that you had indicated to us your displeasure at that time so we could have addressed it then.

This is the first time in the 6 years that we have rented our house that we have received a complaint. More than 50% of our guests return.

To respond to your complaints: Our property is a high waterfront property with a spectacular view: 50' up from the beach. One has to walk down the path to the water. My family, who live in the area, and some guests swim here. It is not one of the best sandy beaches around. That is why I suggested to you that you might enjoy the beautiful National Seashore beach 1/4 mile away.

In the spring and then again when you first arrived at the house, I asked you if it would be OK for me to stop by to water our extensive gardens. It was a hot week: twice I called and asked if it was a convenient time, and you agreed. I also help with the gardening at my brothers house next door. On Thursday I was to meet his gardener there at 9:30: When she was late I knocked at your door to be friendly and to make sure you were having a "good vacation". We like to offer our guests flowers, herbs, and vegtables from the garden when we can. I apologize if somehow I offended you: obviously I unintentionally intruded upon your privacy. Our goal is to make the house and property as perfect as we can.

We realize that you were disappointed that you did not get a chance to use your Jet Skiis while at the house. If we had known that you were going to bring them we could have warned you that they were illegal to use in the National Seashore and the Wellfleet town Beaches.

Our price reflects our land values, location, and beautiful house. Each of us has to make our own decision, based on economic values of how and where we spend our money on vacations, etc. WE believe as do most of our guests that our pricing reflects those values.

Again, though we are both hurt and surprised, we sincerely apologize for any way that we have contributed to your unhappiness. It was not our intension.
Helpful votes: 7/10