Grand Cayman condo rental - Sea Side Back Porch
Sea Side Back Porch
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Grand Cayman Condo Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, sleeps 2-4

Gorgeous white sand beach outside your door ... Peace and quiet ... steady breezes through the sea lodge.

Our back seaside porch opens to NO NEIGHBORS on adjoining property to spoil your privacy or distance view.

Lie on a quiet spot on the private beach, enjoy swimming , snorkeling and scuba diving in our 'back yard ocean'. Snorkel our designated Protected Marine Park, as the underwater life and the reef are amazing. Unwind, de-stress, and get back to yourself in our comfortably furnished oceanfront haven.

Local casual or fine dining. Many books to read. Music, candles, blender Margueritas, lunch on the lanai, peaceful evenings under an open dome of starry skies. Two screened porches. Washer and dryer in the unit. Fully functional kitchen with new granite counter tops. Listen to hypnotic wind and surf: be cooled by the trade winds through plantation shutters. Optional three ceiling fans & air conditioning.

Please read our many testimonials to get a sense of Lucky Dog's true ambiance!

We offer you Soul Lifting Views – Everything You Need Inside: All rooms view the Caribbean Sea, tastefully furnished and decorated, master bedroom with comfortable King Size bed and excellent mattress - next to French doors opening to Caribbean view, overhead fans in each room and new air conditioning. Small complete kitchen w/ new granite counter tops, microwave, stove, refrigerator, blender (no dishwasher), 1 bathroom with combination tub/shower.

In living room, a full-size futon sofa converts to comfortable double bed with good quality mattress. Wireless internet for your laptop, in-unit stackable washer and dryer, good linens and towels provided, discerning reader's dream beach-reading library of two large bookshelves, 2 screened porches, beach lounges and patio furniture, stereo CD system, optional grocery service, great dive trips can be scheduled with Ocean Frontiers: a reasonably priced and well-respected dive shop nearby, airport pickup and rental car delivery available. Ask!

Stuff To DO !!!: Lots to do besides bronze on the beach with your book!

Plenty of local events: Pirate's Week in February, marathons, Pedro's Castle, horseback riding, pirate's caves.

George Town: Lots of duty free sales, the harbor, restaurants and night spots.

Explore the community: Visit the Saturday morning Farmer's Market.

Walk to Rum Point: A short quarter mile walk down the beach (15 minutes) or drive (two minutes)!

Schedule a dive with Ocean Frontiers - reliable, professional, reasonable.

Queen's Botanic Park: See beautiful tropical gardens and hopefully, a Blue Iguana!.

Visit the Mastic Trail: This old nature trail that takes you through a variety of the island's various ecosystems.

Kids And Adult 'Kids' :: Walk down to Rum Point's Beach/bar/restaurant... children and grandkids will love the shallow waters and shade there - (especially on weekdays when it's not crowded)....enjoy watersports and take the boat out to Stingray City. Eat your lunch at the colorful picnic tables - reasonable food prices. Visit the Shipwreck Beach Bar, have a drink, get an ice cream, order the turtle soup, have your hair braided, play volleyball, enjoy the shade in your beach hammock or lounge and shop the gift shop for clothing, jewelry, postcards, books, snorkel equipment and other necessities.

Nearer to town, older kids also enjoy the Black Pearl Skate-and-water park next to Hurley's Grand Harbour near George Town. Join Captain Marvin's boat Tours. Take the little ones to the Turtle Farm in the West End. Everyone likes to visit 'Hell' - if only to get the T-shirt. Buy the Tortuga Rum Cake and eat it with whipped cream. Buy Jerk Chicken and fresh fish from the roadside stands. Visit the Saturday Morning fresh food and swap meet near the ocean turnoff to Cayman Kai. No shortage of good times on the island.

More Details
Hide Details

We live in Michigan most of the time, but love our getaways to Grand Cayman, where we once again remember who we are - without all the daily accoutrements and stresses of our ordinary busy lives. The magic happens the minute you step off the plane and hear the steel drum band playing, smell the fragrant air and feel the breeze blowing as you arrive at Owen Roberts Airport.

Paula or Bruce purchased this condo in 2001

We purchased Lucky Dog Sea Lodge after vacationing at the Sea Lodges of Cayman Kai in the late 1990's. It only took one time to fall in love! This place has a special vibe that is totally unique.

Ocean views from every room in this quirky 1960's built white peaked roof, Fred-Flintstone-reminiscent abode make it the perfect island haven! Here you have a sense of living indoors/outdoors in tandem with nature on the sand and sea and this feeling became a standard we could not find anyplace else. Lucky Dog Sea Lodge gives a one of a kind experience.

32 Reviews of Property 105113 in Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Lucky Dog Sea Lodge - Unique, Charming, Oceanfront
average rating of 4.9375 based on 32 reviews
business
Lucky Dog Sea Lodge - Unique, Charming, Oceanfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105113
+1 586 764-5277
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Rochester, NY
5

Lucky Dog Sea Lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
If you like the quiet life, this is the place for you. We were picked up at the airport and taken to the grocery store then right to the condo. It was everything that was advertized and more. It was clean and well maintained. I like the fact that there is no air conditioning, but you don't need it because of the tropical breezes that seem to always be blowing. Paula is wonderful to work with. We have stayed there twice and plan on going back again. I would highly recommend this property.
What more could you ask for than snorkeling 50 feet from where you are staying. The beach is never crowded. We have always had a relaxing wonderful time while there.
If you go, you need to go to the Sunday barbeque at the Driftwood Bar. It is very good, but make sure you get there early because the ribs go fast. Rum point is just down the road and is beautiful. It is close enough to walk to. You can snorkle or just relax and have a drink or lunch. It is also a wonderful place to watch the sunset. If you don't like crowds, stay away from Georgetown especially when the cruise ships are there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Lucky Dog Sea Lodge - Unique, Charming, Oceanfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105113
+1 586 764-5277
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

Delightful Beach Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I just came home from an amazing 4-week stay at the Lucky Dog Sea Lodge and I am already making plans to return. This beach cottage was everything promised on the website and more; great snorkeling out front (check out http://snorkelblog.tumblr.com for details), a quiet setting with friendly neighbors, and morning views of the sunrise from the bedroom windows. It was clean and the furnishings were cozy and confortable – everything I wanted in a beach cottage.

I never turned on the bedroom AC – the ceiling fans and trade winds blowing through the wooden louvered doors and windows kept me cool (even though the beginning of my stay was a little hot and steamy). The sea lodge was well equipped with a comfortable bed and futon, quality sheets and plenty of towels and beach towels.

I spent a lot of time on the screened lanai (facing east) watching the sea break over the reef. The beach out front was cleaned once a week; there were some rocky areas and water shoes were needed for getting into the sea to “play.” There were lounge chairs and covered areas (plus a large umbrella at the sea lodge) for use on the beach.

The wifi connection was a little slow at times, but since I was on “island time” I didn’t care. They provided an island cell phone that I took with me when I left the Sea Lodge.

Rum Point is about ½ mile west and I went there to snorkel, play in the water and have a few Rum Punches. Over The Edge (in Old Man Bay) is a great place for dinner – a copy of their menu is available at the Sea Lodge (as are other area restaurant menus).

Paula was wonderful to work with – she answered my emails promptly and provided answers to all my questions. Barbara, the island manager, was just a cell-phone call away if I had a problem. She also purchased (for a small fee) some food for me prior to my arrival and cleaned the Sea Lodge twice (for another fee) during my stay. Because she also manages several other Sea Lodges she was on-site almost every day if I had a question.

This was the best stay on Grand Cayman that I have had in 20 years. Thank you, Paula and Bruce!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lucky Dog Sea Lodge - Unique, Charming, Oceanfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105113
+1 586 764-5277
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

Lucky Dog Sea Lodge @ Grand Caymans/Cayman Kai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The CONDO we stayed at was beautiful & well kept. Very clean grounds and the native people were fun to talk to! The tradewinds were always blowing so sleeping at night, listening to the ocean, was awesome! We did have some rain, but then would clear up for sunny skies. Rum Point was gorgeous. Beautiful beaches & clear water as far as you could see. We were right on the ocean, just a few steps out our door. The snorkling was a blast, lots of colorful sea life! Would definitely recommend STING RAY CITY. The sting rays were so graceful & beautiful. If you want to see George town or 7 mile beach, using the boats as a water ferry is well worth it! We will defintiely be coming back, we found our "second home" Mike & Kim Hada
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lucky Dog Sea Lodge - Unique, Charming, Oceanfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105113
+1 586 764-5277
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Oakville, Canada
5

Already want to come back

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family of 3 spend unforgettable week at Bruce and Paula’s condo.
This was our first time experience of renting condo for vacation and I’m glad that we did it. All you wish for a holiday to be - owner was exceptionally helpful from time of our first contact, she even contact to Cayman Department of Environment because we found 2 turtle nests build over night and they needed to be visited by experts. Paula provided us all detailed information, she also send us a little brochure with all instruction about condo and Cayman island as well, so we knew what to expect and what to visit.
I’m really glad that we choose this place. The condo located right on the white sand beach in quite area of the island. You can enjoy sunrise and listen sound of waves seating in the private net covered porch.
The condo unit itself suits for vacation perfectly. It has everything that you need from spoons to beach towels, even small cooler which for us came very handy because we traveled to George town couple of times. When we arrived, unit was spotless and very inviting, Barbara even arranged some local flowers. We did not need to contact her or maintenance guy, but we met Barbara when she prepared another condo for guests. We did not use air conditioner – there is no need of it. Fresh air comes through the windows from the sea, which is very refreshing.
Besides our condo beach we liked to snorkel at Rum Point, that was a minute away from us and where we met Stinky, the lonely dolphin and swam with tropical fishes and occasional stingray. You can book some water excursions or rent water scooters from Rum Point. We preferred to go all way down to George town to take the Submarine tour and Sting Ray City tour from Marine Land tour (must visit, their boat is more comfortable than other, with stairs to go to the water. They do not combine this tour with snorkeling at another places)

We definitely will recommend this place to stay and already want to go back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lucky Dog Sea Lodge - Unique, Charming, Oceanfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105113
+1 586 764-5277
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Ohio
5

Our dream come true- thank you!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
On this our third trip to Grand Cayman (2010, 2011) we looked for a place that would meld the many qualities we've come to love in the Caymanian way of life. To our delight we found Lucky Dog #13 and after staying there a week can say it IS that ideal place where water, sea life, and trade winds (ah yes!) abide in harmony.
Having no prior experience with a rental vacation home, nor experience with the quiet side of Grand Cayman, Paula (homeowner) quickly put our minds at rest with a great deal of information that answered many questions; during the entire booking process beginning to end she was attentive and supplied very timely communication via e-mail or by phone. From this information we booked McCurley's (local) car service (round trip transfers, driver's license, brief grocery/liquor store stop, rental car waiting at Lucky Dog) which was a less stressful intro for our first time driving on the left. We'd use their service again.
We found the Lucky Dog as advertised, clean, well maintained, kitchen equipped and more, DVD functional, air conditioned bedroom (didn't use since trade winds provided comfortable sleeping), cell phone provided for local calls and contacting property manager (didn't need to phone her), and positioned (here's the great part) for maximum reef watching. We were utterly fascinated by the action of the waves on the reef at various times of the day and learned when the best time was to snorkel OUT TO THE CORAL REEF (between 1000 and 12noon), which we took advantage of DAILY. When closer to shore we were treated to a spotted eagle ray picking up lunch at a sandy spot, a Southern Sting Ray with its very own Cobia cleaning topside, and even met "George the Barracuda". George was not pleased having just been surrounded by 7 snorklers so we gave him ("the sheriff of the sea") a wide berth. The fish "nursery" exposed rocks (near left tiki) has all manner of reef fish
When not snorkeling at Lucky Dog, we tried Star Fish point (past Kai Bo, yes there ARE starfish and mostly sea grass), Rum Point (nice snorkeling to the right of the dock), and other sites along the Queen's Highway (surprises you can't plan for).
When it rained we visited Queen Elizabeth Botanic garden (blue iguanas), Vivine's Kitchen (near Gun Bay, yes it really is her kitchen), Ten Sail, Lighthouses, and the Blow Holes (rainy weather made for BIG surf and activity there). For dinners out we enjoyed "Over the Edge"- well prepared local fish. We hope to return.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lucky Dog Sea Lodge - Unique, Charming, Oceanfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105113
+1 586 764-5277
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Lakefield
5

16 nights of Bliss

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
All the comforts of home. close to the beach with great snorkelling, swimming and scuba diving. did not miss having a pool. Great owners to deal with and friendly, quiet guests and owners. we'll be back one of these days. thanks Paula!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lucky Dog Sea Lodge - Unique, Charming, Oceanfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105113
+1 586 764-5277
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Anchorage, AK
5

Simply perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My husband and I rented the Lucky Dog Sea Lodge over the New Year holiday and we found ourself to be just that: Lucky Dogs! The accomodations were MORE than adequate. The Lodge was clean, quaint and well appointed. The ocean view porch was fantastic spot for an umbrella drink, card game or sunset bbq prepared on the grill, and the beach was perfectly lovely for a stroll without crowds. There were lots of "extras" around the Lodge (bug spray, sunscreen, lotion, travel books, towels, coolers, chairs) that made our stay more comfortable. It was absolutely everything we were looking for! We wanted a quiet get-away from the hustle and bustle of SMB, and we were beyond pleased with the Lucky Dog. One day we will be back to Grand Cayman, and we will hope to stay at the Lucky Dog again. Thank you for your hospitality and sharing your blissful space with a couple of Alaskans who appreciated it more than you'll ever know! Cheers, until we meet again!
business
Lucky Dog Sea Lodge - Unique, Charming, Oceanfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105113
+1 586 764-5277
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Kentucky
4

Sea Cottage Retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
It was easy to fall into island time here at the cottage. Our 9 day snorkeling vacation on beautiful Grand Cayman literally began out the door & onto the beach from our cottage. We even named the rocks on the right, Eagle Ray Rock, where we encountered the Spotted Eagle Ray!

The cottage reminded me of what island living must have been like for Hemingway...with white swivel slatted shutters that invited in the ever welcomed trade winds. Though I honestly appreciated the a/c bedroom after a day in the sun.

The Sea Lodge was accurate as described by the owners & Barbara the property manager was pleasant, coming by once to check on us if we needed anything. Everything worked fine and we really had no issues other than the wish for less rain a couple of the days:) No worries, we even snorkeled in the rain and I got some awesome photos of rain drops hitting the Caribbean blue! As for beach combing or sunning ourselves, we were often the only ones there.

A rental car is a must (Andy's Rental was right outside the airport & it was a great opportunity to support a locally owned business).

I'm sure we will return again next year...
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lucky Dog Sea Lodge - Unique, Charming, Oceanfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105113
+1 586 764-5277
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
St. Louis, MO
5

Nice and Breezy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We really enjoyed our time at the sea lodge and having the fresh air 24/7 along with a fantastic view of the sea. Everything was nice, clean, and what we expected. The owners were very friendly, helpful, and quick with responses. There were only a couple other sealodges occupied, so it was nice and quiet during our stay. Even though it was quite breezy, we enjoyed the beach, great snorkeling right in front of the sea lodge, sitting on the porch listening to the ocean and watching the stars. We even walked down to Rum Point a couple of times.

We did have an issue with the stove and the phone not working properly. However, Barbara came to check on us and fixed both problems within about 5 minutes, hooking us up with a cell phone to use during our stay! She is great!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lucky Dog Sea Lodge - Unique, Charming, Oceanfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105113
+1 586 764-5277
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Saint Paul, MN
5

Fabulous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The Lucky Dog Sea Lodge was as advertized and more. Quiet, idyllic location away from the hubub of the tourist side of the island, but still just a short car ride away should interest arise. Sandy Point just down the road provides easy, uncongested access to Sting Ray City, and just up the road toward Georgetown is our favorite restaurant, Over the Edge. Facilities were clean and efficient, assistance within reach but not hovering.

We wish we were there.
Helpful votes: 2/2