Manchester barn rental - Snowy Vermont at twilight
Snowy Vermont at twilight
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Manchester Barn Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, Loft with 4 twin beds, 2 full bathrooms with one Jacuzzi Tub

On 13 bucolic acres surrounded by National Forest overlooking stocked trout pond. Scented gardens, rustic with all amenities. Cathedral ceilings in living room / dining room, with massive cobblestone fireplace. Glassed screened porch. Free-form decks. Fully equipped. Sleeps 8.

Pampered pets are welcome.

8 Reviews of Property 105110 in Manchester, Vermont

Circa 1840 Hand Hewn Barn
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
business
Circa 1840 Hand Hewn Barn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105110
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Our home away from home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We have stayed with Esther and Its for the past four years. We have come to think of them as family, the are truly wonderful people. We have stayed at all three of there properties and they each have a special something which comes from their owners. This year they surprised us with a Christmas tree at the barn which made our time there so special. Can't wait to go back. If we win the lotto I would make them an offer to buy this barn and the cottage, because we have fallen in love with this place. It is truly our home away from home. Thanks to two very special people. Geralyn a d Michael
business
Circa 1840 Hand Hewn Barn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105110
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Appalachian Trail Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My wife and I had been looking for a cabin close to the Appalachian Trail in Vermont, so we could continue our enjoyment of hiking the AT during the day, but still have the amenities of a hot shower and a comfortable bed at night. We have found that, at our age, that we love the exertion of a 5-10 a mile hike, but love it a lot more with a light day pack rather than a fully loaded backpack!

This place fit the bill in every way! The owners, who, by the way, are two of the nicest people we have ever met, helped with the logistics of dropping us off at the various places the AT crosses roads between here and Killington. We would then spend the morning and early afternoon doing a leisurely walk, followed by an afternoon moseying about southern Vermont. What could be better!

The house itself is wonderful, a post and beam construction built of old barn materials, giving it a charm we have rarely seen in newer structures. We loved the lake view from the sunroom, the large rustic fireplace in the great room, and the personal touches throughout the house!

In short, this has been the nicest place we have stayed at in many years of vacationing. You will not be disappointed with your stay here!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Circa 1840 Hand Hewn Barn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105110
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Our Relaxing and Romantic Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I ...and our 4lb Yorkie, stayed at this beautiful 1840 Hand Hewn Barn and had the most relaxing week in Vermont. We had a vision of the barn based on pictures posted online but once we set our first footsteps through the front door, the old rustic charm from the decor, cobblestone fireplace, wooden beams and beautiful views to the pond exceeded our expectations.

The interior has a well thought out open plan design to showcase the kitchen, dining room and living room with a gorgeous stone fireplace. There is also a wonderful sunroom which was perfect for enjoying sunsets. Views to the pond can also be observed from two bedrooms, one being the master suite which has large glass doors that open to a sunny deck. The beds in each room were extremely comfortable and cozy.

The location of this home is 6 miles from Manchester Center towards Bromley and Stratton Mountains (which would be very convenient for the winter season). The property is adjacent to the Appalachian Mountain trail for hiking and just few minutes away from great dining at several restaurants along Route 30 and shopping at Manchester’s designer outlet stores.

Upon arrival we had the opportunity to meet both owners who were very hospitable and accommodating. It was clear that love and thought was given to decorate each room, display each antique and create a warm atmosphere.

We were extremely pleased with the choice we made to stay in the Beaver Dam Lodge. The cozy rustic decor, hand hewn wooden beams, dim evening lighting and a gorgeous stone fireplace made our stay a wonderful unique experience, one that no one should miss.

This was a true Vermont experience! and we are looking forward to returning to experience a relaxing cozy winter.
Owner's Response: Ir is indeed gratifying to find guests appreciate the work , effort and imagination necessary to provide a one of a kind vacation experience here in Vermont. We wish to thank you for the positive review.
Ester and Ira Wickes
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Circa 1840 Hand Hewn Barn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105110
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
US
5

we just had a perfect time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
we spent 4 nights and we had such a great time.The cottage is beautiful, very well decorated and super cozy.
We loved the fireplace.The cottage was cleaned and the owners were very friendly and helpful.
We loved the location, it was convenient for hiking and restaurants.
The town of Manchester was few miles away.
We will sure come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: It is indeed grateful to have guests who appreciate all the effort it takes to make their stay enjoyable. We welcome all to come visit us here in Vermont
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Circa 1840 Hand Hewn Barn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105110
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Charlestown, MA
5

Our summer retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Each year my daughter competes at the Vermont Summer Festival, doing the jumpers. For the past six years we have rented this property for the month of July. We are city people with dogs and love that we can be in the woods, in a private location where the dogs never have to be on leash. The beds are extremely comfortable, and the master suite is delightful. Our favorite spot in the house is the sun room, overlooking the beaver pond. The dogs spend most of their time in the beaver pond, or hiking the Appalachian Mountain trail, (adjacent to the property) and we do an occasional paddle in the canoe. If you enjoy shopping, you are a straight shot down the mountain to some of the worlds finest designer outlets. Restaurants are abundant, but eating at home is what we did most of the time. This is a rustic location, so if you live in fear of woodland creatures it may not be the spot for you, but if you want a true VT experience, this is one you should not miss.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/9
business
Circa 1840 Hand Hewn Barn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105110
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Deerfield, Ma
5

Love at First Sight

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
From the moment we entered the barn we knew this was the vacation place we were looking for. An escape from the fast paced lives we live,rustic yet refined.That was ten years ago and it was the best vacation of our lives. We have been coming back every year since and have shared it with friends, family and co-workers, who have all found it equally as special. Our children have grown and now bring their friends .It is extraordinary with handhewn beams, wide pine floors, large belgium block fireplace, and a solarium that overlooks the pond with beavers. We have seen the moose come up to the window, what a thrill!! Read a book,eat,drink,shop,do nothing,cook,buy a homemade pie at Duttons,sit outside and smell the air, listen to classical music and sip on wine, or play a board game by candlelight. No matter what you do you are sure to have a great experience and leave feeling rejuvenated.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Circa 1840 Hand Hewn Barn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105110
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Narberth
4

Great location but really needs some TLC

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Visited Aug 09.
The barn is in a fantastic location with short wak to private lake and walks on Appalation Trail and other walks. Nearby lots of good parks with walks, swimming etc.
The house itself needs some care. Furniture old and some falling apart, screens on windows buckled and let bugs in, too much food in cupboards and no space for our own groceries. Whole house could do with a thorough clean. Given all that it is was great venue for us - 4 adults and 3 kids and once we had settled in we had a very enjoyable holiday.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Our barn evokes a sense of cozy, comfortable and intimate living, surrounded by decks and lush perennial wildl flower gardens. We did a deep root cleaning and refurbished wide plank floors and painted ceilings and walls
Inside is appointed with lodgepole furniture, duvets, braided rugs,
The Lodge is not glitz and chrome but a true taste of country living for your relaxing pleasure
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Circa 1840 Hand Hewn Barn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105110
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Peterboorugh, NH, U.S.A.
3

Beaver Dam Lodge; great potential

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
My family and I held a reunion in late June and early July at Beaver Dam Lodge and overall we had a delightful time.
It's location is great for skiers and for those who wish a summer getaway, it is also a find. Fully stocked with linens, cooking utensils, and dinnerware, it is a cozy lodge and the owners are lovely. Manchester is a terrific town; beautiful with plenty to do. Hildene (Robert Todd Lincoln's home) and the Arts Center are very special. Check out the Arts Center for a great lunch.

Our West Highland terrier loved the place! We even had a bull moose come to visit 10' from the rear deck! The trout pond held small (6") trout only. Great swimming hole for the dog.

The downsides are worth considering:
- The place is rustic and in the woods making cleanliness a problem. When we first arrived (bathrooms and kitchen required immediate attention) and all floors needed a vacuuming. Not a great way to begin a vacation.
- The lighting is poor especially in winter when darkness sets in early. This makes reading difficult.
- The seating is very rustic and needs immediate improvement as there are few comfortable chairs for reading or just hanging out with friends.
- The beds are downright hard and for us, uncomfortable.

All of the above notwithstanding, we did have a fine time and thoroughly cleaned the place prior to our departure. With a few modest improvements, this place could be a real find!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 46/47