Tenants Harbor cottage rental - Cottage in afternoon light
Cottage in afternoon light
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Tenants Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 full bath, front porch, screened porch, limited harbor views

Sunny, immaculate well-equipped cottage 150 yards from harbor. Furnished front porch. Limited harbor views. Shady back deck with screened porch with a dining table and comfortable wicker chairs. Large living/dining room, galley kitchen well supplied with cooking utensils and a lobster pot. Bath with tub and shower. One bedroom has twin beds, the other a double bed and child's cot. Bedroom ceiling height 6 1/2 feet sloping to 4 1/2 feet. The bedrooms are accessed by an open staircase with handrail, as shown in the 'Dining Area' photo.

Gas stove with fireplace opening; perfect for cool June & September evenings. Cable TV & DVD; Wi-Fi. Scenic 1/2 mile walk on quiet harbor road to charming village. Screened porch; Webber charcoal grill. Beaches, lighthouse, museum, art galleries, kayak rentals, restaurants in Port Clyde and boat to Monhegan. Many cultural activities, including the Farnsworth Museum's multi-generational Wyeth collection in Rockland, art galleries, theaters, many restaurants and golf in Camden, Rockport and Rockland.

Sheets & towels to be supplied by renters. No smoking. No cats; dog with owner's permission.

See, too, Rockport listing 24285, which has a country setting, fully-equipped cook's kitchen, spacious living rooms, gardens, including a vegetable garden for your picking, and is a lovely walk to Rockport Harbor or to Beechnut Hill with panoramic views of harbor.

Tenants Harbor amenities: Tenants Harbor has a well-stocked grocery store, post-office, and several restaurants, including Cod End on its own pier (chowders, clam, shrimp, and fish baskets, steamed lobsters and lobster rolls, home-made pies, and more) and a full-service inn with pub. It also has an excellent library, a town pier/boat ramp, and a little beach when the tide is down between Cod End and the town pier.

More Details
Hide Details

25 Reviews of Property 104767 in Tenants Harbor, Maine

Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
average rating of 4.631579 based on 25 reviews
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
northern Virginia
5

Kane Cottage Experiences since 1988

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2005
Location, Location, Location!

Starting in summer 1988, we have been staying at the Kane Cottage in Tenants harbor every few years. Why? The quiet and convenient location a scenic, short walk from the village center. The rustic appearance is deceiving since everything is there, including a well-stocked kitchen with pots, pans and utensils for Maine breakfasts and dinners on the front porch or back deck. Fresh fish steaks and filets from the town dock can be grilled on the Weber grill and enjoyed in a pleasant setting.

Easy access to nearby places such as Port Clyde, Sprucehead, Thomaston, Rockland and Camden provide pleasant daytime outings. The Maine state ferry provides a 2 hour bay crossing to Vinelhaven Island, in time for a blueberry muffin and a picnic lunch, with an afternoon return. Day sailing schooners sail from Camden for a unique experience to many. Shops in Rockland and Camden leave the mall chain store mentality for a unique personal shopping experience. Museum visits to the Farnsworth Art Museum (Rockland) or to Cushing to view Andrew and James Wyeth art and settings for some of the scenes.

For the more adventurous, a daytrip to Monhegan Island form Port Clyde offers some visually impressive scenery and a taste unique birding experiences in addition to the boat trip. Meanwhile, the few rainy days make a trip to Freeport's L.L. Bean main store and outlet shopping as well as Wiscasset or historic Bath offer another unique day trip.

For those who just want to hang out, take leisurely walks or read, Tenant's Harbor's town library provide recent books, classics AND Internet service for the occasional "lazy days of summer" we all treasure. A public beach near Port Clyde has large rocks, a sandy beach (at low tide) and beautiful views and free parking for an afternoon beach outing. Many weekends are opportunities to attend air shows featuring antique aircraft flying demonstrations along with antique auto meets and machinery demonstrations.

Evening dining out can be experienced at local inns such as the East Wind Inn in Tenants Harbor, the Craignair Inn at Clark Island or any number of Rockland or Camden locations. There are some other places in Port Clyde and Tenants Harbor that offer multi-course seafood, steak, chicken and pasta dinners. Try the town dock for fish and lobster and enjoy your meal while on the deck overlooking the harbor.

So why wait any longer? The only decision is whether one week is enough or two weeks is better. One can spend several summer vacations here, returning to old favorites as well as discover new things of interest.

Midcoast Maine and Tenants harbor are ideal destinations for couples and families who want a true Maine experience. The Kane Cottage is very user-friendly, inexpensive and a great place to return to as we have done over a 20 year period.
Try it and I think you will agree. You get what you see.

Best wishes,

A satisfied customer and return visitor looking forward to our next visit!
Helpful votes: 10/13
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
4

A true Maine experience!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We absolutely loved our week in this cottage! We relish the past so we loved this quaint vintage cottage with all it's charm! Since it was chilly while we were there, we especially enjoyed the iron stove, it made the cottage so cozy. We did a lot of cooking and the kitchen was well equipped. We did bump our heads upstairs the first couple of days, and the stair/ladder was also a challenge, but we managed. Those challenges might need to be addressed a little more clearly in your overview of the cottage.
Overall, we loved our stay and the location surrounded by the beautiful woods, was probably one of our favorite features of the cottage. The little village is simply wonderful and we enjoyed some great meals at the local restaurants. The location made it so easy to run out for fresh lobster to cook for dinner, which we did several nights! Thanks for a great vacation week!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We're so pleased by how much you enjoyed our cottage and Tenants Harbor. Your response to the cottage about its simplicity and the location is very similar to ours. We enjoy our walks into the village and the restaurants there, with a choice of two on the water, Cod End and the Eastwind Inn's restaurant and pub. The propane, fireplace-like cast iron stove does comes in handy, especially off-season when it can be chilly at night and sometimes during the day. With regard to the ceiling in the bedrooms, if you're not concentrating, you can bump your head. My husband is much taller than I am and has been known to bump his head once or twice at the beginning of our stay, forgetting that the ridge-line of 6 ft., 6 in. tapers. I'll review the introductory text to see how I might modify that. Thank you for the suggestion.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Tenants Harbor Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My wife and I had lived in the mid-coast area some 30 years ago, so we were familiar with the area. We hadn't been back for a visit in 14 years, so we were looking for a cozy home base in which to explore all our favorite places, discover some new ones, and catch up with some old friends. The cottage fit all our needs and wants wonderfully! It was quiet, simple, and very cozy - exactly what we had hoped for. It was perfect! We enjoyed relaxing in the enclosed screen porch (even in the rain) and had all our breakfasts and several of our dinners out there. There were no surprises - it was exactly as described, and Suzy and Joe were very warm and helpful. We look forward to returning for another stay there, hopefully in the not too distant future. We really enjoyed our stay there!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Of course, we're so pleased that you found our cottage to your liking and that you enjoyed your return trip. We look forward to your return!
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
4

tenants harbor

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This cottage has a lovely private location with a view of the water in a quiet neighborhood. We found it immaculate and the owners very helpful. Would not hesitate to go back.
I would prefer a gas grill vs. charcoal and the stairs are quite steep and were not able to get our suitcases upstairs, but the beds were comfortable and we spent most of our time downstairs, in the screened in porch or on the front deck which has a lovely view. Very relaxing!!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the cottage and location and would not hesitate to return. You will be most welcome!

With regard to the grill, I wonder if you saw the new Webber "chimney" that enables you to have the charcoal ready in 15 or 20 minutes using newspaper and a match - without the use of charcoal fluid. It is in the boat house just as you enter. I'll add a note to our renters' booklet to make sure others are aware of it.

I hope that you unpacked and were then able to tuck your suitcases away upstairs and that you used the two bureaus and the clothes poles, hangers, and hooks upstairs.

So glad you enjoyed the new screened in porch. We look forward to your return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Had a great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This is a great cottage in a wonderful area (Tenants Harbor). Bring a bike.....I biked all around Tenants Harbor. Make sure you go to the Tenants Harbor General Store (great morning coffee). The cottage is rustic, but well appointed. Very clean. My only caveat is that the stairs to the second story are quite steep and somewhat narrow. The owners recently added a new back screened-in porch which is great for eating meals. There is much to do in the area: many art galleries and restaurants (be sure to see a movie at the "old-timey" Strand theater in Rockland). The owners, Suzy and Joe, are very helpful without being intrusive. Highly recommended!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and for your stay at the cottage. We're very happy that the cottage and the area worked out well for you and that you enjoyed the new screened-in porch. We're looking forward to using it ourselves!

I'm glad that you got to the Strand Theater. The Camden Opera House and the Rockport Opera house are two other excellent venues, which have also been beautifully restored.

We are pleased that you'd like to return. We look forward to that.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Brooklyn, New York
4

As Charming as the Picture Looks

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Tenants Harbor and this cottage provided the perfect mix of cool nights, peace and quiet and just-close-enough harbor view for this New Yorker in desperate need of a vacation. I had never been to Maine before and it was a perfect introduction.

Cabin is rustic but has all the comforts you need---for me though, I was so looking to unplug, I didn't even realize the TV was actually used for television and not just DVD viewing until the second day. So it's rustic-looking but still has wifi and even a cute heater that's a faux fire.

Suzy couldn't be a better host--she sends you a beautiful map of the area with great itineraries. Don't miss Monhegan Island off of Port Clyde. A-MAINE-zing.
And if you get into Rockland, Primo Restuarant is a not to miss. They have their own garden they cook from every day. They even raise their own bees!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, Charice. It was a pleasure to correspond with you and talk with you. Your excitement about traveling to Maine was palpable, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and sampled some of the great things that Maine has to offer. I hope this is the first of many trips to Maine and that you got out your paints to capture some of the scenes.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Cottage has modern comforts & old-fashioned charm!

Cottage has modern comforts & old-fashioned charm!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We loved this cottage! We felt right at home the minute we walked in. It retains all the charm of its rustic past but has been thoughtfully updated with many modern comforts. It was clean and tidy, and the location can't be beat. The bathroom is modern, kitchen well-stocked, and cable and Internet worked perfectly. Suzy was very helpful and responsive on email to answer any questions, and provided a lot of information and resources even before we arrived.

Our older two boys (9 and 5) really loved the adventure of sleeping in the "loft" upstairs and the kid-friendly extras like the bucket of vintage Legos and the cork board and chalkboard in their room. They enjoyed playing in and outside of the cottage, and we loved eating meals on the front and back porches too.

The steep stairway and low ceilings upstairs might not be the most convenient things in the world, but even with an 18-month-old and being tall people, we didn't find them to be any problem. After the first day, we all got really good at navigating the sloped ceiling in the bedrooms and going up and down the stairs with ease. There is a gate at the top, and we usually pulled a chair in front of the bottom of the stairs to discourage our little climber. All in all, we found these aspects of the cottage to add to the charm and character of the place. The stairs would definitely be difficult for anyone with mobility problems, but we didn't find them to be an obstacle to being there with young children.

Tenants Harbor is a picturesque village in a stunning setting with a nice mix of summer cottages and working fishing community. We loved that it was a little off the beaten path. The walk along Barters Point Road into town was lovely. We enjoyed the general store, seafood at Cod End, and the library's children's room (on a rainy day). We also loved exploring Port Clyde and Marshall Point Light (gorgeous!), swimming at the lovely Drift Inn beach, and the great seafood at Doug's right near the beach. We had a great time on a Puffin Cruise and going to the Union Fair. For an old-fashioned, family-friendly dinner out, we recommend Elm Street Grille in Camden (in the Cedar Crest Inn).

Our only complaint was that the week went by too quickly! We hope to return next year!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this lovely review. We are always so pleased when our renters enjoy and appreciate the cottage and the area. I smiled when I read about your boys enjoying the Legos. I hadn't thought of them as being "old-fashioned" but I should have, given our young grandson's fascination with Ninjago characters and all the other marvelous kits they produce.

We appreciate your reporting that the open staircase and the sloped ceilings were not a problem for you and your children.

The walk into town along Barters Point Road is one of our favorite walks. I wonder if your children enjoyed the large crab sculpture mounted on the rock above the boatyard about halfway into town.

I appreciate the recommendation of the Elm Street Grille in Camden; I wasn't aware of it so we will have to check it out.

We hope you return next year, too!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
1

Misleading Listing Description

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I found the owner of this, so called, 'sunny cottage' to be misleading in her representation of the property. The location of her house is very wooded; there is little sun, as bright as the pictures seem to be. The entire interior of the cottage is the framing of the house; only the exterior wood paneling separates you from the moisture and the natural environment. Some individuals might appreciate this, but others might not.
From the moment of making my initial inquiry, the owner made sure I rushed into my commitment by telling me that she had someone else interested, and then, after I paid, she asked for an additional tax amount that was not listed in the cost of the weekly rental.
We were allowed to bring our two small dogs, and when we arrived, after making sure we didn't arrive early because the confirmation letter told us that maids would be cleaning until 3pm, the house was dank and dirty. There were cobwebs everywhere, and when we moved the beds to make them it was filthy. There were also containers of ant poisoning everywhere. Our dogs were drawn to it, and it was very worrisome. When I told the owner about my concerns she said that no one else has ever had a problem. She also said that the property had been empty for a week and that that may have been why there were cobwebs.
Furthermore, the only two bedrooms were on the second floor of the property, and it is more like an attic with only a ladder available to get to them. This is described as 'open stairs' in the owner's description, and only elderly individuals are warned that this rental might not be appropriate for them. The owner did describe the low ceiling, but that does not properly describe how limiting the bedroom environments are. We could barely get our luggage up there and my 16 year old son, linebacker sized, was afraid he'd break the ladder. I was just glad my very youthful mother, 65, wasn't with us, because she would never have been able to navigate the ladder to the bedrooms.
Extremely disappointed, we tried to get a hotel nearby and were out of luck. The icing on the cake was the coffee maker not working the next morning; of course, the owner blamed me for this problem, saying that her sister was able to work it just fine after we left.
After telling the owner she needed to be more honest in her description of her rental, she only reacted defensively, not proactively.
Renters be warned!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: My husband and I regret that Ms. H. was unhappy with our cottage. However, we feel that her characterization of our cottage and our interactions with her require a response.

After her inquiry I sent her the rental terms and price including tax. After she agreed to everything, I told her where to send the deposit. The interval between her inquiry and sending the check was several days, ample time for her to review the text and pictures and resolve any questions she might have.

I called the morning after her arrival to check that she was comfortable with the cottage. She was unhappy, expressing concern about her 300-lb. son using the staircase, among other things. It became clear that she had not paid attention to the text and pictures on the website.

Because some people may be uncomfortable with the staircase, it is pictured and described on the website. The stairs have 6-inch deep treads with sturdy handrails all the way up.

As shown, the walls are beaded board with open studs; the kitchen and bathroom walls are fully finished. The cottage is dry, with no mold or mildew, and the thermostatically-controlled propane stove keeps it comfortable. The second floor is not full height; the exact height dimensions and pictures are shown. Her use of the word 'misrepresented' came into use only after we pointed out the information on our website.

When the sun is shining, the cottage is bathed in light from early morning until mid-afternoon. Later, the back deck is shaded by trees and the front porch by the cottage itself. Ms. H. arrived about 3:00 p.m. and it rained the next day.

I learned that Ms. H. left the cottage 24 hours after the fact. The cottage was inspected within a few hours; it was clean except for dust under one bed and a couple of cobwebs. The coffee maker, which I had offered to replace, worked. Ant traps are in common use in summer cottages, and previous renters with dogs had no problems. Surprisingly, Ms. H. left a plastic bag with dog feces on the front porch table.

We have rented this cottage to vacationers since 1988 and use it ourselves. It provides us with much pleasure, and the reviews on this website show that many others feel the same way. It is our goal and in our best interest to represent this rental property accurately and to do all that we can to make people's vacations here enjoyable. We will continue to work to achieve that.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Laval, Qc, Canada
5

Lovely Cottage Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family of 4 had a wonderful time at this Tenant's Harbor cottage. It is quaint, clean and well appointed. Although the bedroom ceilings are quite slanted, you do have 2 separate sleeping areas and the use of fans in the windows keep you very cool at night.
We really enjoyed hanging out by the harbor near the cottage and ate our meals on the front porch for the smell of the salt air and the little ocean view. It is a pleasant walk to the little town and the children enjoyed playing at the playground at St George's elementary school. It is a short drive to Port Clyde where we took a puffin cruise and enjoyed amazing ice cream!
Local Drift Inn Beach is fun for beach combing and Doug's Seafood stand just past the beach is a delicious place for sea food.
The cottage is also very close to Thomaston, Rockland and Camden. We enjoyed visits to all of these places and the kids enjoyed Laite Beach in Camden. We even took a day trip to Freeport for some great shopping!
All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and found the owners very helpful and pleasant. We hope to return one day!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Daria, for contributing a review. I think you made the most of your week at the cottage with a blend of outings and enjoying the cottage and Tenants Harbor itself. I'm glad the cottage and our area worked so well for you, your husband, and your young children. We'd love to have you return!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Sunny, Comfortable Cottage, Tenants Harbor with wi-fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104767
+1 2077665571
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Wonderful spot for a quiet, relaxing getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I was looking for a quiet, comfortable spot where I could do my own cooking, not spend a ton of money, feel safe as a woman traveling alone,and enjoy a peaceful, pretty setting. This cottage fit the bill perfectly. The description in the listing I found very accurate. The cottage was lovely, clean, with all kinds of dishes and kitchen utensils. You could have cooked just about anything! They have cable TV and wifi (which I did not use, so can't comment on its speed, etc.).

A couple of things to be aware of, which did not bother me at all but might some people. The stairway to the bedrooms upstairs is quite steep and narrow. It is a bit of a challenge to haul a suitcase up there. Young children or anyone with a mobility problem would not do well, and there is no other place to sleep. Also, the roofline slopes steeply, so the ceiling upstairs is low in a good portion of the bedrooms. Beware for your head if you are tall.

The owners were very helpful answering any questions I had and provided lots of information about things to do in the area. You definitely need your own transportation, but there is no lack of activities, sightseeing, etc. close by. You can walk to Tenants Harbor, and it is a short drive down to the tip of the peninsula to Port Clyde or back up to Route 1 at Thomaston. Rockland is also close, and it has lots of shops and restaurants if you want more variety.

All in all, I had a wonderful time and would go back any time I wanted to stay in the area.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you, Kate, for describing your stay at our cottage. I'm very happy that Tenants Harbor and our cottage worked out so well for you and that I was able to provide you with the information that enhanced your stay in beautiful Tenants Harbor. I enjoyed hearing about your travels from Port Clyde, too, and the Puffin Tour that you took.

With regard to the staircase to the second floor, it is an open staircase, which I describe and point to the photo on the website. I also say in the description of the cottage that the ridge line of the ceiling upstairs is 6 Ft. 6 inches sloping to 4 1/2 ft. You're right, the ceiling along the periphery of the upstairs is low.

With regard to the staircase and children, for prospective renters with children, we provide a gate at the top of the stairs; also, there is a door that folds down so the staircase opening is totally closed like the rest of the floor. Parents do have to keep their eyes on their children if they like to climb up the staircase during the day. I know that my grandson loves it.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our cottage - electronically, that is. I rarely get to meet our guests, which is something I miss.

Thanks again for choosing our cottage and for writing a review.
Helpful votes: 1/1