Manchester chalet rental - Main House
Main House
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Manchester Chalet Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 3 full baths, sleeps 12

Imagine sitting on the wraparound deck enjoying a hot cup of coffee on a fresh spring morning. Or dipping your tired body into the outdoor hot tub after a full day of skiing at nearby Stratton or Bromley Mountains. Even hike bike and shop the summer away in nearby Manchester or take an hour ride over to Saratoga for a fantastic day trip. These adventures and many more can be yours in this 3000 square foot five bedroom, 3 bath log home set on ten private wooded acres. This home has all the amenities and is fully furnished, with fireplace, outdoor jacuzzi hot tub and billiard table. Available by the weekend, week or month.

9 Reviews of Property 104693 in Manchester, Vermont

Log Chalet in the Woods
average rating of 4.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Log Chalet in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104693
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Kensington Ct USA
5

What a great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
We have spent four summers here and have had a wonderful time. The log cabin home is large and well kept. The hot tub is brand new. The kitchen is fully equipped with a Jenn- Air stove There is plenty of activities for children and also for the shopper. There are restaurants for all tastes. What great place to stay!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Great renters and nice people.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Log Chalet in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104693
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

The Perfect Chalet !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This chalet is still in superb condition. My wife and I stayed here 15 years ago before we got marrried and just recently came back with our kids. We had a blast. Manchester is only about 10 minutes down the road. The hot tub and fireplace were very relaxing at all times of the day. The house now has direct tv which was nice. The house has tons of room for a chalet (3 levels). 4 bedrooms have queen size beds and then there is a bedroom for the kids that has 2 bunk beds (4 mattresses). The kids absolutely loved it. There is also a pull out couch downstairs that could be used for a bed. Tons of activites to do in Manchester (new ice skating rink, outlet shops, skiing, restaurants etc.).We can't wait to go back !! Great trip !!
Owner's Response: Still a great house after all these years! Thanks!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Chalet in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104693
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

The Perfect Chalet !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This chalet is still in superb condition. My wife and I stayed here 15 years ago before we got marrried and just recently came back with our kids. We had a blast. Manchester is only about 10 minutes down the road. The hot tub and fireplace were very relaxing at all times of the day. The house now has direct tv which was nice. The house has tons of room for a chalet (3 levels). 4 bedrooms have queen size beds and then there is a bedroom for the kids that has 2 bunk beds (4 mattresses). The kids absolutely loved it. There is also a pull out couch downstairs that could be used for a bed. Tons of activites to do in Manchester (new ice skating rink, outlet shops, skiing, restaurants etc.).We can't wait to go back !! Great trip !!
business
Log Chalet in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104693
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
short Hills, NJ
5

Great VT Ski Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We had a wonderful time at the Log Chalet. The home was clean and had everything we needed. The bedrooms were comfortable and quiet. Everyone loved the hot tub. The pool table was great entertainment for our teenaged kids. We had dinners in Manchester (10 min drive) and skied each day at Bromley. Great location. Easy to get to both locations. Owner was very accommodating.
Owner's Response: Thanks for a gracious review.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Chalet in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104693
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Ramsey, NJ
4

Rustic Southern Vt Get-A-Way

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Basically furnished chalet in a wooded setting 12 minutes from Manchester and 20 from Bennington. Very roomy and comfortable for two or more couples with or without chiidren. Pet friendly. Owner was very responsive to two minor issues that arose during the stay and were resolved. Large Jacuzzi on deck is definite plus as is the pool table, two flat screen tv's and a spinet for those diligent to practice. Excellent location for fly fishing and skiing. Would recommend highly but could benefit by better indoor lighting..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Log Chalet in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104693
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Albany NY
2

Log Chalet in the Woods - Renter beware...

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
Our party of 8 adults arrived January 23, 2009 for a ski weekend.

Pro's: Chalet style property with traditional open floor plan, 5 bedrooms, on 3 floors, 4 have queen size beds, the 5th has(two) bunk beds. Good for adults and those visiting with kids. The hot tub on deck is very nice. Two flat screen tv's one on the 1st floor is wall mounted for use in the room with the pool table, the other also wall mounted on the second floor in the 'great room', Good cell service, and WIFI reception for laptop computers. Lovely functional fieldstone fireplace.

Con's: Property not cleaned, cobwebs and dust on every surface: walls, furniture,floors, the phone book on the coffee table looked like it had a fur cover. Black mold inside the shower on the 3rd floor and water damage (mildew and mold) visible on the floor beside the shower next to the toilet.

Owner did not advise of the poor condition of the pool table; there are no pockets and who ever decided plastic tumblers shoved into the pockets was an acceptable solution has questionable problem solving skills. Either way, they did little to improve functionality, but we did get a good laugh out of the "repair."

The pictures of the property provided are very dated and the location is listed in Manchester, which is also misleading, it is in Sunderland. All of the sofas/chairs are all in poor condition having holes and threadbare. The table in kitchen has been replaced; however, at best there is room for 6 regular size adults, not 12 as indicated.

Bedding should be replaced, blankets/quilts/sheets all pilly, faded and uncomfortable, very unappealing.

The flatscreen TV's are new but there is no cable or local TV reception.

Owner under-estimated distance/time to Manchester and ski areas. Manchester is 15 minutes and ski resorts are 30 to 45 minutes in good weather. Inclimate conditions could easily add 15 to 40 minutes to commute.

Hot tub was nice, however, the deck had not been shoveled making access difficult and dangerous. The shovel left on the deck was broken and there was a large ashtray left on the deck over flowing with cigarette butts.

In all, good company made for a great weekend and the dust might have been easier to over look if there weren't so many other issues. The Log Chalet has the potential to be very charming, so much so that it would be worth being slightly out of the way. Sorry, but there are too many negatives to recommend to others in good conscience.
Owner's Response: This house is extremely well equipped with amenities not included in very many other rentals.It is a large home used by many groups very happily over the years. Getting good cleaning during season is always a problem and will be addressed. The hot tub, mattresses, sheets, fireplace and TVs are all new for this year. It is well noted in the house description that there is no cable or satellite TV, but there is free internet, which this group conveniently decided not to mention. There is a very large dining table with 8 chairs and four stools at the adjacent kitchen bar area. This person with questionable problem solving skills still believes 8 + 4 = 12. The home sleeps 12 is all that is stated. In addition, the hot tub is located two feet outside the house on the deck, accessed through the sliding doors. This home was rented at an extremely reasonable rate that included cleaning fee, to a large group in season. Next year I recommend that this group of perfectionists try a different house and see what they get for their money.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Log Chalet in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104693
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Absolutely Lovely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2007
It does not get any better. So quiet and relaxing.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Chalet in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104693
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
New York, NY
4

Great Time

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
I was part of a group of 8 who went up early this summer. The house is big and clean with plenty of room to hang out and relax. The house has a great wraparound deck with a brand new jacuzzi. One of the guests left some items behind and the owner was very quick and courteous in getting them back to us. I would definitely recommend the house to anyone heading up to the Manchester area.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Chalet in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104693
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
NJ
1

Wanted to Run Away

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
Very disappointed. Looking for place to call home for our yearly ski trip to VT and this will NOT be it. Sinks leaked on to floor, TV did not work (problem when traveling with children), DVD did not work, ENTIRE house was extremely dirty! Brought plenty of food, only had to clean fridge before putting anything in it. Pool table had no pockets so you chased the balls all over the dirty floor. Dead bugs in many places. I would not recommend this to anyone I considered a friend.
Owner's Response: This group did complain about a leaky sink and an incomplete cleaning job. Their call was immediatly answered and the cleaning lady was over within two hours to address their concerns. The group did not call back with any further complaints the rest of the weekend. The leaky sink was not able to be fixed until their stay was over, but since the sink had two sides, they could still use the sink. The pool table is from 1904 and parts on on order to fix the pockets. I am sure the group did enjoy the brand new 5 person Jacuzzi hottub and the view of the fireplace while soaking in the tub. This house has been rented for many years to the delight of numerous groups, and it has been featured on the cover of Vermont Rentals. This is an excellent home and remains one.
Helpful votes: 3/3