Pavones villa rental - Another beautiful day ending sunset from the back lanai
Another beautiful day ending sunset from the back lanai
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Pavones Villa Rental Photos and Description
Duplex Villas, 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

These properties are magnificent tropical paradises surrounded by modern convenience. These Ocean View duplex Villas sit 400 feet above the Golfo Dulce with a backyard that offers 120-degree view of the ocean and mountains, which are accented by the lush jungle surroundings. The mountains of the Osa peninsula drape the crystal blue waters of the gulf creating a tropical collage. This is truly a place where nature meets its origin. .

When not being entertained by the view or exotic wild life, play a game of darts, horse shoes or stroll the properties gardens and orchard. You can also visit one of the many neighborhood waterfalls, one of which is a 10 minute walk from the house.

The property is quitely situated just a few minutes outside of the main town of Pavones and is easily accessible from the main service road (no off road treking required to arrive safely at this property). It is secured by a full time caretaker, offering peace of mind, privacy and security, so you may relax and enjoy your ultimate adventure vacation

Keywords: Ocean View, Surf, SUP, Fish, snorkel, Horseback ride, zip line, quad rentals, massage, waterfalls

More Details
Hide Details

I am originally from the San Diego area of Southern California. I grew up by the beach and have always enjoyed the life style and abundance of outdoor activities that ocean living provides. In 1978, just 6 months out of high school, I embarked on a 6 month surf adventure, traveling throughout most of the countries in Central America. I was immediately drawn to the people, culture and raw beauty of the land. It was an experience that changed my life. After returning to the states, I dreamed of some day owning a home in the tropics of Latin America. In 2004, I realized my dream by purchasing this magnificent property in the Pavones area of Costa Rica. So far ownership in the tropics has been an incredible experience, an experience I hope everyone has the opportunity to enjoy. Life in Pavones is 'Pura Vida'.

Michael Luke or Elizabeth Gensler purchased this villa in 2004

The area of Pavones and the Osa peninsula have been relatively untouched by development. It is a place where you can go to experience world class surfing and fishing, while being surrounded by broad variety of plants, animals, birds and marine life. It's like being in a zoo without cages. I love the rugged beauty of the area, culture and beautiful nature of the people.

The view of the ocean and mountains is incredible! I really enjoy being able to view a variety of wild life from the house or while wandering the property. The house is easily accessable from the main road and is in the safe and secure neighborhood of Cuervito de Pavones. The property is loaded with fruit trees which make great morning, afternoon or evening snacks. You may be in the jungle, but you won't miss the modern conveniences of home when staying at Paraiso de Miguel.

28 Reviews of Property 104654 in Pavones, Costa Rica

The Ultimate Adventure Vacation!
average rating of 4.857143 based on 28 reviews
business
The Ultimate Adventure Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104654vbi
+506 2776 8374
Pavones Puntarenas
telluride, co, usa
5

epic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
if you like awesome things like hiking to hidden waterfalls and swimming in them, or surfing a point break with just you and your friends, or eating fish fresh off the boat, or riding around the jungle on a quad while scarlett mcaws fly overhead, or leaving civilization behind in search of an epic secluded paradise untouched by urbanity, or picking fruit off the trees for your breakfast, or just having a quiet retreat away from absolutely everything then you will love this place.
if you like partying and lots of tourists and expensive meals then you should check out jaco and good luck with that.

pluses: beautiful home and immaculate grounds, peaceful, amazing views especially at sunset, great hammock spots, fruit everyday from the property, away from the crowds, great kitchen for cooking, lovely neighbors and of course JAVIER!

minuses: a bit remote without proper transport. come prepared with a fourwheel drive car or be prepared to rent a quad.

would i change a thing? no. nada.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was fun hanging out with you and Nicole. I'm glad you got the full month version of the experience, cause there is so much more to see and do than you can possibly fit into a week or 10 days. Hope to see you again in May. Pura Vida
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Ultimate Adventure Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104654vbi
+506 2776 8374
Pavones Puntarenas
ca
5

An adventurous Costa Rican Holiday at El Paraiso de Miguel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
For those who seek an adventurous vacation coupled with leisure and relaxation, You can't get any better than this secluded and scenic paradise. Our host made sure we had all of the amenities to make our stay comfortable, yet provided a significant amount of adventurous options to fulfill our thirst for activities. We arrived during a holiday weekend, yet the secluded nature of the rental property in the southern pacific zone of Costa Rica allowed us to avoid all potential tourist distractions. Within the week, we (a couple in our mid-twenties) had had a healthy dose of everything Costa Rica has to offer. We fulfilled our quest for unbounded nature with waterfall hikes and river tours, saw enough wildlife to make any zoologist envious, and enjoyed the greatest scenery both the jungle and beaches could provide. The adventure we craved was satisfied by horseback riding, surfing and paddleboarding, fishing, and ziplining. Our host provided us with the option of ATV rentals, which provided an extra layer of excitement for everything we did. This was an all-around fantastic vacation and our host was gracious at every turn.

El Paradise de Miguel is far from many of the common tourist areas in Costa Rica. This provides for the seclusion we wanted, but warrants extra travel time; The roads were not paved, and a 4WD truck or SUV is a necessity; either that or rent the ATV's from the host.

The seclusion also makes for a tough time for picky eaters; Our host was kind enough to fill our fridge with many different foods and snacks, and the restaurants were within driving distance, but the nearest supermarkets do not have the best selection of potential foods.

Our host lives on a working farm, located on a large hill. While mobility is not a necessity, the ability to move around and explore greatly enhanced our experience.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hey Chris, Thanks for the wonderful review. Having you and Jess here for our annual New Years Eve pig roast was certainly a great way to start off your Costa Rican adventure. You guys fit in like family, which made the event and your 10 day stay even more special. We appreciated your contributions to the farm during your visit and to our final evening sunset beach BBQ by catching the tuna and wahoo for our meal. Nothing like BBQ'd fish over an open flame on the beach while watching the sun sink into the ocean. Oh, and we can't forget the smore's for desert. Yum! We hope to have you and Jess visit again soon and return with your energy and adventurous spirits..
business
The Ultimate Adventure Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104654vbi
+506 2776 8374
Pavones Puntarenas
5

Relaxation and adventure at its finest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
What's better than an early morning horseback ride down to the beach and then up into the jungle? That was just our first day at Paraiso de Miguel. The breathtaking sunsets both from the house and from the beach are amazing. The best part about the rental is your neighbors, Michael and Elizabeth. They are willing to do whatever it takes to make your vacation the best Costa Rican experince possible. Great people, beautiful scenery,
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
The Ultimate Adventure Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104654vbi
+506 2776 8374
Pavones Puntarenas
5

Amazing Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Paraiso de Miguel was an amazing place to stay! I couldn't have asked for a better view, nicer people, and a true "home away from home" feel. I truly wish I was able to stay for more than 10 days! Having Mike and Elizabeth next door was wonderful, especially since my boyfriend and I have not been to the area before. This is a great area for those looking to surf, hike, spend time at a quiet beach, and get away from a hectic lifestyle. It was amazing to be able to look outside and see stars and a beautiful sunset rather than tall buildings and tourist attractions. Im already looking forward to booking another vacation in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review Kristina! We're glad you had such a good time, from your initial tour through the area to the girls nature-friendly "spa day" up the beautiful river, Rio Claro, and the amazing Super Bowl party in the middle of the jungle, culminating in your exhilarating zip line excursion. We hope you went home with some memories that will last a lifetime. Can't wait to see both of you again and next time, plan to stay longer!! Pura Vida
Elizabeth and Michael
business
The Ultimate Adventure Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104654vbi
+506 2776 8374
Pavones Puntarenas
Indianapolis
4

Glad to have shared Michael's Paradise for a week

Glad to have shared Michael's Paradise for a week
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
After an exhausting day trip from San Jose to Pavones, on my first trip ever within Costa Rica, I reached Peace and Serenity at Michael and Elizabeth's hilltop retreat. Beautifully manicured surroundings with fresh fruit at your fingertips, silence, grand view of what I think Hawaii must have looked like before development (Playa Pavones), and extremely accommodating hosts, my 7 day stay zoomed by. The home is spacious and well-built. You don't know that you're sharing a duplex because of the privacy of the construction. Playa Pavones ranks #1 on my list of beaches and I've seen a few. It's only a 15-20 minute drive from the home to the beach, but beware that you will need a 4WD or quad to reach the home or the beach. It's part of the adventure! Thanks, Michael and Elizabeth - would love to visit again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Ultimate Adventure Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104654vbi
+506 2776 8374
Pavones Puntarenas
Chicago
5

Luxury and Relaxation equals Luxurating..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Where do we begin. Well, I have been going to CR for over decade and dozens of trips, and Pavones area was one of the last frontiers for me to conquer, and this perfect setting made this trip the best yet, I coild not tear my wife away from the tranquil surroundings, the killer view up the coast of Zancudo, and the nice attention yo detail few places get right, but this was a 11, handsdown, just what the DR ordered. We had just spent a week in a beach bunglelow in Montezuma, and that was really what we desired, after a fast and hard cold winter in Chicago, spending Xmas on the beach was bliss. We then made our way here for a week, over New Years, and wanted a more non touristic area with just surfers, raw nature, untamed beaches, and wildlife. Being only a novice surfer was fine, I am not getting any younger, so just having fun is what counts. This villa has everythinf a discerning traveler would require and desire, and more, as the gracious and warm host Mike & Liz, made the stay a inviting, easy going, chill out, take in the local scenery (and people), at your own pace. If I owned this property, this is exactly how I would run it, period, and we travel a lot, not just Central America. I only have one gripe, we couldnt stay longer. This region of CR is the last frontier, its just across from Corcovado, a plsce I have hiked all trails and to all ranger stations, its the real deal. Driving here is best broken up, the landscape makes for some slow going at times, but its all good, promise. Okay, signing off from a hammock along the Rio Colorado, after visiting Las Cruces and San Vito, Wilson Botanical Gardens, La Amistad Lodge, Buenos Aries, Talamanca Reserve at Chirrpo, and now the northeast caribe..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Ultimate Adventure Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104654vbi
+506 2776 8374
Pavones Puntarenas
San Diego
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This place is great. Beautiful views and an amazing property. Being able to walk out and pick a fresh pineapple. coconut, or limes for my drink is my idea of heaven. The house was big and open and clean and I loved being up the hill outside of town where it was quieter and more relaxed. Sitting out on the back patio after a surf session with some food or some cold drinks and just relaxing with the beautiful view and the great sounds of all the birds and monkeys is just what I want in a vacation. I wish I was still there. We only caught a few days of a good swell but wow, what amazing waves.

Micheal was a great host and showed us around the town and answered any questions we had. I am 100% jealous of his set up and plan on coming back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Ultimate Adventure Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104654vbi
+506 2776 8374
Pavones Puntarenas
Ojochal CR
4

Wonderful time

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Great time. Wonderful hosts. Suggestions: Fix microwave, somehow modify the lighting in the kitchen. Very dim for a kitchen. I am use to having some spices maybe (left overs from previous renters) for cooking, salt, pepper etc. Maybe with the high humidity that would not work here in CR.
Refrigerator and freezer lights were burned out. The filtered and bottled water was very nice.
Toilet valve must be partially clogged because it never quite shut off.
We were somewhat taken back when we drove up and saw that the house was a basically a duplex. Not knowing this up front may make some people upset. We were cool with it because we enjoyed talking with you and Lizy and learning more about the area. I also understand the marketing side of things but if I had know that we were 30 minutes (at the speed I drive these roads) from Pavones I would have tried to find something closer. After staying in something closer I might however opt for you home because of the view, cool breeze and wonderful people.
Not sure I would have used the outdoor shower but having the motor in the way pretty much convinced me not to use it. I'd suggest finding some way to keep the guest side of the property truly for the guests, at least prior to arrival. i.e. car/truck, boat motor etc. If you can find the heavy duty retractable screen doors what would be great for the bedroom and living room. During the summer I assume that northwest bedroom gets pretty warm and we were not willing to keep the door open due to Denise's fear of snakes, out dogs and bugs.
The web site showed the wall paintings that I assumed had just been covered over but the girls said that those painting were on your side of the duplex. Just to prevent disappointments, I'd suggest updating the VRBO photos to show the true rental vs. any combination of both that may exist today.
With all this said, we'd stay again. Regards, Denise, Paul, Hope, Faith and Grace.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review and all the wonderful suggestions. We really enjoyed having you Denise and the triplets (Oh, and your three dogs!) on the property and happy that we could accommodate your last minute request for a stay here in the Southern Zone. With regard to some of your observations, one of the benefits of being the owners and living here on the property is that we can respond to any housekeeping issue, spice availability, etc. within minutes as we have before with other clients. We do review the house on a regular basis to take care of burned out lights, fixtures, etc. but as with any household, there are items that can be in perfect working order one minute and before you know it, repairs and/or replacements are needed. We are aware of this and are prepared to make any repairs needed at a moment’s notice. We do try to explain to potential clients that we live here on the property, and the reviews mention this as a plus for most clients. Many people are unfamiliar with the culture, language, and the beautiful remote environment of the Southern Zone, and this unfamiliarity can be overwhelming at times, especially when on vacation. We, as nine year veterans in the area, try to gauge the needs of our guests and provide the privacy and/or guidance that our clients request, acting as an ambassador within the community when needed. With regard to the distance to the well-known break that many associate with Pavones, we do provide a google map on our VRBO site which illustrates the location of the house as well as many points of interest, including other less crowded world class surf breaks between our house, Pavones, and points beyond. As you pointed out, our location has been lauded for the incredible views, the cool ocean breezes and a chance to be slightly distanced from the crowds that can be associated with the downtown area of Pavones, especially during a well-advertised swell. If the cool breezes are insufficient for our guests, the home is equipped with air conditioning that effectively cools the home and the doors can remain closed to any of the jungle critters that may make some nervous, especially at night. Our home is indeed a Duplex, an exact mirror image of one another with the same square footage. The two homes are completely private with their own separate entrances and amenities. The parking area is currently shared and is presently being improved upon in order to accommodate space for more separated parking. We are constant
business
The Ultimate Adventure Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104654vbi
+506 2776 8374
Pavones Puntarenas
Wrightsville Beach, N.C.
5

Verdadero Paraiso

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
If you are looking for a secluded house with amazing views and close to some amazing surf, this is the place to be. The owners' of the property are super friendly and have lots of local knowledge. I will most certainly be coming back to this place and can't wait until that day comes. The well manicured surrounding landscape gives way to extensive jungle. There is a small farm on the property and to our surprise when we arrived a bowl of fresh fruit, from the farm, was there waiting for us to devour. This just goes to show how generous and attentive the hosts are. Pavones is such a fun wave and everybody is very accepting to tourists. Get down there and have a blast!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Ultimate Adventure Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104654vbi
+506 2776 8374
Pavones Puntarenas
5

Legendary Pavones

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
There isn't enough praise that I could give for Paradiso De Miguel. First, the property is immaculate. The house is clean and well kept, filled with every amenity you could need or want, and comfortable to stay in; not to mention very safe. Second, the location is amazing. You'll be glad you're up on the hill when the sun and heat come up, when the sun sets over the water, and when the jungle gears up after dark. The view is unmatched and the location is perfect for exploring Pavones and the surrounding areas. Extra perk: there is a fully working farm on site with fresh fruit, veggies, and eggs daily.

Most importantly, in my opinion, is that the owners are the consumate hosts. The owners know everyone in Pavones that you would want/need to know and can make your vacation a one-of-a-kind experience where you do all the things you ever wanted and more. I arrived with a large group of rowdy surfers and Michael put us on amazing waves, showed us how to navigate the area, and went out of his way to provide extra boards. We literally could not have had more fun.

If you're going to Pavones you better know what you're in store for. If you want fine dining and shopping around town then you're going to the wrong place. But, if you're looking to explore one of the last great wild areas of Costa Rica, have an epic adventure, and stay in first-world luxury with hosts that can help you do it all then stay at Paradiso De Miguel. I know I'll be back, and everyone in my group will likely return too. Frankly, I already miss it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Zac, you guys were awesome guests! We can't wait to have you back for a return visit. We love what we do, so its always a pleasure to share our little piece of paradise with other like minded people. We try to enhance the experience of our guests by sharing the history of the area and showing them some of the hidden gems that you normally wouldn't see during a week long visit. We're also happy that you had the opportunity to reap some of the bounties from our land.

Although most people come to Pavones for the incredible surf, which you guys had a chance to enjoy, there are also a variety of equally impressive places and activities to experience during an adventure vacation. I already have a few picked out for your next visit. Thanks again for choosing Paraiso de Miguel for your bachelor party and congrats on you up coming nuptials. Michael
Helpful votes: 1/1