Bass Harbor house rental - Front view of McKinley House
Front view of McKinley House
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Bass Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedroom, 2 bath, sleeps 7 comfortably

Perched above Bass Harbor, nestled in the trees, McKinley House offers spectacular sunset and ocean views.

It is conveniently located in the Acadia National Park area - Swans Island Ferry terminal and complimentary Island Explorer shuttle bus to all Acadia National Park destinations are adjacent.

Bass Harbor Head Lighthouse is also within walking distance.

McKinley House is quiet and secluded vacation living on the 'quiet side' of Mount Desert Island.

Only 20 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor and around the corner from Acadia National Park.

Four bedrooms and two baths, with floor to ceiling picture windows affording scenic views of the ocean and an extra large deck across the front.

FRESH LOBSTER DELIVERED to you at McKinley House with a couple of days notice. (available either live, or steaming hot)

8 Reviews of Property 104530 in Bass Harbor, Maine

Spectacular Sunset and Ocean Views overlooking scenic Bass Harbor
average rating of 4.75 based on 8 reviews
business
Spectacular Sunset and Ocean Views overlooking scenic Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104530
207 669-2266
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Ludlow, Vermont
4

Excellent Place for a Stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed at the McKinley House two years in a row. Great location in that you have a nice view, you can grab the ferry boat and you can get to anywhere you want to go on Mt Desert Island. We also asked for some lobsters, which we got delivered to the house, which was awesome. We brought our dogs too, so great dog friendly place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Sunset and Ocean Views overlooking scenic Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104530
207 669-2266
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Ponte Vedra, FL
5

A perfect location in Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
What a great accomodation! We were 4 couples and our stay was excellent. Our first time in Maine and this is a perfect location. The owners are fantastic and they own a restaurant a few yards from the house.The food and service was outstanding ans also they help you pick the right activities for the day. Truly recommend this house Bass Harbor and much prefer it than Bar Harbor.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Sunset and Ocean Views overlooking scenic Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104530
207 669-2266
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Columbus, GA
5

Perfect family getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We traveled to Maine with 4 adults and 5 children and had a wonderful week! The house and property are big enough for everyone to spread out and not feel cramped. We spent almost every day hiking and exploring Acadia National Park. There is a place within 10 miles of the house to rent bikes and the carriage trails in Acadia made great bike paths! I would definitely recommend the "popovers" at Jordan Pond along with the easy hike around it. We'll be back for sure!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Sunset and Ocean Views overlooking scenic Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104530
207 669-2266
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

The most wonderful week ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Clean, cared for, comfortable, convenient, calming - there's little not to like. Owners were readily available and friendly. It's so nice to be immediately able to hop on the Swan's Island ferry or the shuttle (well, it starts the following week, but the potential is there!). Easy to plop kayaks in the harbor, close to the "quiet side" attractions. And, of course, so nice to be right next to "Mainely Delights" restaurant, with the BEST lobster bisque.
We're coming back!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Sunset and Ocean Views overlooking scenic Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104530
207 669-2266
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Omaha, NE USA
5

McKinley House Bass Harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had a terrific time at McKinley House. The accommodations were as presented--great views of Bass Harbor, well-stocked kitchens, comfortable bedrooms and living room. A terrific getaway for sure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Sunset and Ocean Views overlooking scenic Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104530
207 669-2266
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
4

Bass Harbor---The Quietside of the Island

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
What a beautiful view and a sunset every night! The 2 floors of living space provide plenty of room for families or 2 couples. The owner is very accommodating and has lots of suggestions for "things to do". The house is very clean and airy. It is close enough to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park that you can go every day. A beach Lobster Cookout is available with special arrangements.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Spectacular Sunset and Ocean Views overlooking scenic Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104530
207 669-2266
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Tampa/St. Pete, FL
5

Peaceful Setting with Wonderful View of Water

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Located on the "quiet" side of the island, the views were spectacular. Easy to get to all places (hiking, restaurants, lighthouse, Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor, etc) while being in a relaxed setting. The owners, Jan & Karen, took good care of us providing information on what to see and do. All the amenities of home are included. I have stayed here several times and will continue to go back!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Spectacular Sunset and Ocean Views overlooking scenic Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104530
207 669-2266
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Byron, IL
5

Great House in the Harbor!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We rented both levels of the McKinnley House. My parents stayed in the lower level and we were in the upper. The house itself is very nice and has everything that you would need for cooking and relaxing. We enjoyed looking out on the harbor from the huge deck area. The beds were comfortable and easy to sleep in. Our only complaint during our stay was that it rained everyday we were there. Nothing that Janice can do about that. We made the best of it and had a good time anyway.

The location was good for us, we were close enough to the park and especially the Lighthouse to get everything done that we wanted.

Having the split levels worked great for us as my children are early risers, we didn't have to worry about them waking up Grandma and Grandpa. There was plenty of room for everyone to eat upstairs together, also.

Even though we stayed just before regular season was to start Janice was nice enough to offer to cook us up some lobsters. Great Hostess' and very helpful.

If we ever come back to Maine we would stay here again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 7/7