Bath cottage rental - Edgewater as seen from Float
Edgewater as seen from Float
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Bath Cottage Rental Photos and Description
4BR Oceanfront Vacation Rental Bath, Maine USA

Edgewater is a classic 1920's Maine coast cottage which has been recently updated with new systems and appliances. It has been restored with an eye to retaining its original cottage appeal while meeting today's standards of comfort. It is located 20 feet from the water's edge in a quiet coastal setting. The cottage is on a private half-acre lot, which abuts a small Audubon sanctuary.

The first floor is an open concept design. There is a sitting area with a stereo CD player, a living room with a wood stove, a television with a satellite dish and DVD player and a well-appointed kitchen. There are newly finished hardwood floors, and water views from every area.

On the ocean side of the house, the front door leads to a large screened-in porch. The porch wraps around from the western side of the house (which faces the water) to the southern side, and has over 500 square feet of screened-in outdoor living and dining space. Pets considered on an individual basis.

4 Reviews of Property 104525 in Bath, Maine

Vintage Waterfront Cottage, Dock, Float & Mooring
average rating of 4.75 based on 4 reviews
business
Vintage Waterfront Cottage, Dock, Float & Mooring
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104525
+1 2074427321
Bath Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Wonderful week back in our home state!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My sister and I grew up in the area and wanted to rent a house for the week with our husbands and my 3 year old daughter so we could spend time with our local family in a beautiful setting. We had a fantastic time at Edgewater! It was the perfect house for us for the week and included all our requirements as far as bedrooms, living space and of course being on the water! The water aspect was the best of both worlds being saltwater and oceanfront but with a calmer lake/river feel. We spent a lot of time on the dock during the day watching the birds and boats and lots of time at night watching the gorgeous sunsets and then stargazing! The kitchen equipment was very impressive for a cottage rental. We stayed in and ate home almost every meal and really had a great time cooking all together either in the kitchen or using the charcoal grill. And the brand new washer dryer was a huge plus. The description of the house is very accurate with even more pluses than listed. The outdoor living space was probably the best part of the cottage! We ate almost every meal on the gorgeous screened in deck. The cottage was very clean and tidy. The owners truly have thought of almost every little thing one would need to feel at home and be comfortable. And they are so nice too! We had the best time watching our 3 year old daughter enjoy my beautiful home state! She loved combing the beach at low tide, playing on the dock, exploring the sanctuary, and just playing with our family and friends at "the red vacation house". It can't get better than that! While we visit Maine quite often, we can't wait to spend another wonderful week at Edgewater!
Thank you so much Barbara and David!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Vintage Waterfront Cottage, Dock, Float & Mooring
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104525
+1 2074427321
Bath Boothbay Harbor Area
Georgetown, Texas USA
4

Great Anniversary Escape

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We just returned from celebrating our anniversary and enjoying the cool Maine weather (we had over 20 days of 100+ in Texas). The Edgewater is and easy drive from Portland, is accurately described in the listing, and we found the property quiet clean and well-maintained. It is obviously fitted for a much larger group, and we found the rustic atmosphere delightful. A kayak rental place (delivery included) is located nearby at a very reasonable price, and the local restaurants are relatively good. Nonetheless, we chose to acquire fresh lobster, scallops and fish at the local fish monger and mostly cooked for ourselves. I did catch a large striped bass off the pier. The drawbacks from the other HomeAway rentals we have leased: no TV reception (so bring your own DVDs); linens are not provided; and no washer/dryer. Regardless of these shortcomings, I would definitely recommend the Edgewater to a friend. The owners are easily accessible by phone, but don't bother to use email.

Tip: Be sure to try Byrnes' Irish Pub on Saturday night for good music and tasty food.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We have added WiFi, a satellite dish for TV and a washer/dryer not long after this review was written.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Vintage Waterfront Cottage, Dock, Float & Mooring
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104525
+1 2074427321
Bath Boothbay Harbor Area
vermont
5

Father/son trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
My son and I just returned from a father/son get away at this wonderful waterfront property. The home is everything that I hoped it would be - rustically charming, comfortable, quiet, private. Great porch space, well equipped for preparing meals etc and a great selection of board games. We also enjoyed Bath and Brunswick (Bowdin college). The 2 towns nicely complement eachother...Bath was more quaint while Brunswick was more of a substantial/larger town. Did some great road biking and kayaking, had some great seafood. Our weather was not very good, but there was still plenty to do. Hope to return with the rest of the family at some point.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Vintage Waterfront Cottage, Dock, Float & Mooring
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104525
+1 2074427321
Bath Boothbay Harbor Area
SLC, Utah
5

Great location, wonderful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
This house is exactly--if not better-than the pictures show. My family was completely comfortable in this house. It was big with plenty of rooms, plenty of beds. We used the fireplace and there is seating set up all over to look at the view onto the water. The house is stocked full of books, which we read while we were there, and brochures of things to do in the area, and the furnishings are quaint and comfortable. One of the best parts is the screened-in wrap around porch that's huge, which a whole sitting area as well as dining. The dock is just feet from the house and we spent a lot of time on the little rocky shore searching for shells and rocks. My family had a wonderful vacation and if I were to return to Maine, I have no doubt I would stay here again.

The only drawback might be that there's only one bathroom and it's downstairs, while the bedrooms are upstairs, but it was definitely doable for a week.

Oh, and the sanctuary within walking distance of the house was a plus too.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 19/19