Northeast Harbor house rental - View from House
View from House
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Northeast Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

-Spectacular views from this one story house sitting on the flat pink granite shores of Somes Sound. Sliding glass doors offer views from all areas of the house.

The large living room with dining area and fireplace opens out onto a spacious wraparound deck. Watch the cruising sailboats and working lobstermen or enjoy the colors as the sun sets behind the mountain across the water. The fully equipped kitchen with island is newly remodeled.

Master bedroom with queen bed and a small den; bedroom with 2 twin beds and a double bed in the loft; Guest bedroom with a queen. 2 full baths.

2 moorings for boats, spectacular swimming off rocks, beautiful Maine woods and Acadia National Park surround the property. Total privacy. Drive or bike to village of Northeast Harbor- 3 miles. Bar Harbor- 15 minute drive. Trails of Acadia National Park at your door. An ideal compound for a family or 3 couples.

Sorry but we are already FULL FOR JULY AND AUGUST 2014.

Very private Guest house has 1 bedroom,w/ full bath w/ pull out sofa in living area w/ 1/2 bath. Full kitchen. Available at additional cost, when renting Main House or as a separate rental. Please email for more info on renting Guest House. The Guest House IS available April - June and again after Labor Day through the fall. It is a small piece of heaven @ $1200 per week

ME lodging tax 8%.

Keywords: House directly on water; Private Guest House also available

More Details
Hide Details

we are a family from Philadelphia originally, who maintain this home built by our mother and father. 4 generations have summered in NEH, and we love sharing our home with others who love Maine & Acadia.

The Owner purchased this house in 1968

our family has summered in Northeast Harbor for close to 100 years. There is no place like it in New England - ocean,mountains, lakes, & Acadia National Park

total privacy, peace, directly on water, beautiful Acadia Park around us, easy house to maintain.

4 Reviews of Property 104254 in Northeast Harbor, Maine

Northeast Harbor, Somes Sound Waterfront, Acadia National Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Northeast Harbor, Somes Sound Waterfront, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104254vbi
Northeast Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
glenview, Illinois
5

extended family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We vacationed at the Reath house in July with six adults and three kids, and could not have been more pleased with the property. The privacy that this location provides is fantastic, as are the views of Somme sound and the sunset. We only used the main house, but larger groups could benefit from using the adjacent "in law" house as well.

We took great advantage of the wrap around deck for reading, playing games, and drinking coffee and cocktails. We also also appreciated the canoes and kayaks that were there for our use, and enjoyed wading and swimming right off the rocks at high and low tide. Our 7, 5, and 3 year old loved exploring the property, playing in the play house, and looking for rocks and shells.

The location of the house was really great, close enough to Acadia that it was easy to get there and enjoy all the activities the park provided, yet far enough away that we were able to enjoy the solitude and quiet of Mount Desert Island.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: so glad it all worked out!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Northeast Harbor, Somes Sound Waterfront, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104254vbi
Northeast Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Middletown, New Jersey, USA
5

Perfect family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our family had a great time and perfect weather for our stay in this fantastic cabin right on the Sound. The location is convenient to the National Park, downtown Bal Harbor and most of the other smaller towns nearby. We loved waking up with our coffee/tea on the deck overlooking the water. We even gotnto see the local lobsterman collecting their traps one late morning. The cabin has all the amenities and if you like to kayak or canoe it is right out your door step. We have older kids(21-25) and they loved the peaceful locations and all of the activities available. We reccomend the hiking in Acadia and any water activities. Also get the fresh lobster(they will steam them for you at not extra charge) for a feast on the sound. Owner has a list of recommended places to see or go; including restaurants, grocery stores, bakeries, coffee shops, shopping, etc. The cabin has it all, if you didn't bring it, you probably don't need it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: thank you Scott!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Northeast Harbor, Somes Sound Waterfront, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104254vbi
Northeast Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Boston, MA
5

a dream place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
nothing like this fabulous compound. Total privacy surrounded by Acadia and Somes Sound. Warm and freindly atmosphere, extraordinary views up and down Somes Sound. Outdoor picnic area w/ fireplace, kayaks, bikes, swimming rocks at high tide cannot be beat. Kiddie play house, hammocks- endess woods. Owners are lovely people, who are very accommodating and interested in your being 100% comfortable. As we said a dream come true on MDI.3 miles from Village of NEH, so easy walk or bike ride.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Northeast Harbor, Somes Sound Waterfront, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104254vbi
Northeast Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Washington, DC
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
If you love Maine and enjoy a cozy fire at night, a good book, a jigsaw puzzle in progress, and a spectacular view of the Maine sunset while you sit on the deck, ponder the day or watch a hummingbird busy at its feeder, this is the place for you. If you want a McMansion with a TV in every room, computer games at your fingertips, and jet skis waiting at your private dock, this house is not for you. It is a simple Maine camp-style place, filled with the memories and values of the familly that built and still enjoys it. This is the best VRBO we have ever rented; and likely to stay that way.
Helpful votes: 3/4